Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

East Wall, Dublin 3

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭population

jkmanc1974 wrote: »
    Seabank House(ex Wharf Tavern) a nice enough pub and definitely worth a visit, whilst both the pubs bordering East Wall on the North Strand(Cusacks and Strand House) are grand enough....

Brgds
    Johnny

It is impossible to go for pints around East Wall due to the fact that you take your life in your hands walking home at night time.

Grew up in a reasonably suspect part of Dublin myself but have NEVER seen dangerous scum kids like I have seen in this area. First month that we moved in I made the mistake of walking to Centra on Church Road at about 8.30 and got assaulted by a gang of scumkids.

Does not matter what your sex or age profile is, I have seen them act up around women trying to get home from work and threaten pensioners.

• Registered Users Posts: 31 catussa

Hey Freddie

I actually liked the flat too, but everything around just pissed me off...coming home from work and the first thing you see is scumbags trying to kick you why you drive by or shouting some stuff at you...One day I tried to post a letter in Church St (at about 6.30 pm) and I was actually too affraid, my boyfriend went with me and they really just offended him, speaking bad about his motorbike. When he gave back ("well it is my motorbike, I do not care if you like it"), they were already trying to play their fists...
    ahh I just hated feeling unsecure, not welcome at all, affraid of leaving the house, tensed all the time with the smallest noise in the flat during the night, when my boyfriend was working. Especially because months ago they broke into two flats in the buiding and the welfare people in Block 1 seem to make big parties on expense of all other residents...I realise that it is getting worse everywhere with criminality, but management companies and landlords should act on that and not wait until the next damage/theft is done...

Just sick of everything that happened there...:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Freddie B

Hi Catussa

Not great what happened to you and your boyfriend, I know the scum to see but thankfully never had any confrontation with them. I guess I also never went down Church Road as would always head down East Wall rd when walking anywhere.

There does seem to be a growing divide in most new apartment developments because of social housing. Social housing spongers couldn't give a f*ck and seem to get away with it too. The apartment I rented was in Block 2 so I guess was fortunate not to be stuck with them all. It was actually v quiet in Block 2.

It's incredible that Dublin City Council is not taking responsibilty for the anti-social behaviour from its tenants and the property management agency in the Lighthouse (ODPM I think??) and probably all other developments throughout the city have no control over the situation either. The nice, civilsed residents who probably paid big bucks for their gafs should revolt.

But then, is there a decent property management company/agency out there that actually knows how to handle the anti-social behaviour situation??....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Freddie B wrote: »
    There does seem to be a growing divide in most new apartment developments because of social housing. Social housing spongers couldn't give a f*ck and seem to get away with it too. The apartment I rented was in Block 2 so I guess was fortunate not to be stuck with them all. It was actually v quiet in Block 2.

Normally a member spouting that crap would receive a warning/infraction here, but since your new with only two posts just consider this a shot across your bow's to modify your language and be a little less insulting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Freddie B

Sorry Makikomi, you're right of course, I just get enraged by these things because my sister has had big problems in her apartment complex in north Dublin over the last few years. Wouldn't mind but I joined Boards only to get info on moving to Oz (which I am next month) but somehow got diverted into the East Wall chats.

The other thing I was supposed to say was Cusacks on North Strand is a great pub and the chinese take away across road from Fire Station at annesley bridge v good too.

I shall say no more on the East Wall debate. But give it a chance, those teenage scumbags will get what's coming to them one day. Power to the people and all that.

I'll go find out Oz things now. :cool:

Freddie B wrote: »
    Sorry Makikomi, you're right of course, I just get enraged by these things because my sister has had big problems in her apartment complex in north Dublin over the last few years. Wouldn't mind but I joined Boards only to get info on moving to Oz (which I am next month) but somehow got diverted into the East Wall chats.

The other thing I was supposed to say was Cusacks on North Strand is a great pub and the chinese take away across road from Fire Station at annesley bridge v good too.

I shall say no more on the East Wall debate. But give it a chance, those teenage scumbags will get what's coming to them one day. Power to the people and all that.

I'll go find out Oz things now. :cool:

While some people here think 'Lightening' and myself might be seeing Dublin and East Wall with rose tinted spec's, you'd be wrong.

I lived in East Wall for seven years, I know what Church Road is like. I know the utter scumbag families in the area - its awful.

Join in the discussion by all mean's, but just bear in mind that not everyone on social housing etc are scum and using language like that here is likely to offend the decent people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 digstr

I don't believe that the decent people will be offended. As long as they know where their kids are and what they are up to then they should have a clear conscience. I have lived here 7 years also and I think things are getting worse. More and bigger gangs of kids in the street late at night, don't they have school the next day? After smashing the windows of the local shops and take-away, putting graffity everywhere, including the Church, the latest trend seems to be walking on the train tracks and throwing huge rocks & bricks at houses' windows and at cars, judging by the state of West Road!! A lot of people I speak with feel like they can't have anything nice and that is not right. Time to enforce those Compulsory Parenting Courses for "the utter scumbag families in the area" you mention, no?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,198 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Anyone experiencing difficulties with anti-social behaviour should ring the Gardai every single time something happens. You should also constantly ring/e-mail your local elected representatives to inform them that not enough is being done... only then should you come onto an internet forum and complain about it.

People have no right to complain about something if they don't try and change it.

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭Dmaurice

i keep hearing about all these gangs etc...myself and my girlfriend have been living there for 6 months now and although we've seen the odd bunch of kids messin around...we havent had any trouble at all with them, or any issues of the kind i keep hearing about...maybe we are just lucky or as the area on east road now has a much higher footfall with all the new apartments they have just moved to somewhere quieter for their mischief.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭donaghs

I've seen the gang of kids who hang around Church Street. And they tried to egg my car once when I was driving thru. If you've never experienced any hassle yourself, you should still be alert to this problem after they harrassed and then shot dead one of their neighbours!
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/1208/dublin.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 thereyeare

i once could identify and name most of these thugs and visiting eastwall 5 years on i still see the same scumbags a little older and more devious still getting away with their constant antisocial behavior.

I'm at this stage puzzled as to how the good people of eastwall are still laying down to this crap.

My way of tackling this crap was to first of all contact the local community garda identifying who the thugs are.
    THEN if no response or if the the problem still exists write to the superintend of store street stressing why this problem hasn't been dealt with after your complaint.
    Most of the time if the allegations are serious enough their will be an investigation into the people involved.

This will keep the heat off the alleged victim until they are unlucky enough to experience the harassment again.

ps - Hopefully the residents of eastwall wiil stand up to this poxy little gang of scumbags(you know who they are) - - before they ruin your excellent reputation.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,410 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

I'm not too sure about the 'excellent reputation' line as I've personally never come across it. However I do agree about reporting anti social behaviour.
    I did just recently come across a very funny (and true) story.
    When the boats would come in the usual stevedore/gangers etc. would club men in to unload. They'd often front up cash for fags/booze porn and what not...well in the early '50's a Portuegese boat entered the docks for the first time. The East Wall dockers did the usual and approached the boat's hands for a good price on contraband. Goods were exchanged and cash moved from palms. The East Wallers smoked away whilst the Portugese tried to buy pints across Dublin with Monopoly money.
    The Guard charged with the investigation only cribbed to the dockers that they'd created a whole lotta paper work for him.

Funny stories from a funny place. I'm originally from the area. Ok my friends do laugh when I state this as I didn't live there long, but my family is from there and I can't ever recall an 'excellent reputation' being exclaimed.

I bought my first house in eastwall and lived there for 7 years. Before i bought i asked the same questions that everybody asks when moving to an unfamiliar area.
    At the time its reputation was of a community which gone through serious problems(drug pushers) but survived and come out the other end.
    When i walked around the eastwall area for the first time i was charmed by the elderly people and equally found the residents very helpful in fact the type of people who would go out of their way to help.
    The same decent community still exists but its being ruined by a small gang of scum.

I've met a lot of people over the years who had nothing but good to say about the majority of the community of eastwall(scumbags aside of course)
    I thought eastwall was a place up and coming and an area which people identified as having problems but nothing that could be sorted with a little time and effort.

Okay fair enough taking the gang of scumbags into account Eastwall has terrible reputation but not allowing the whole community to be tarnished with same brush and leaving these scumbags aside eastwall in my experience was an excellent place to live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Walsh

Lovely, some rational stereotyping is great. Every kid in East Wall are utter scumbags who don't know their arse from their elbow, sure they are arrested every night and all.... Fúck off. Most of the kids from the area are very well brought up respectble kids, why put them all into one small group of thugs? Idiots.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

The thing i dont understand is this.
    If everybody knows who these little pricks are(and they seem to) why the fcuck havnt they been run out of the area?
    I dont understand how people can willingly let a small number of arseholes ruin an area and harass people with inpunity...people should get together and put a stop to it,its the only way to deal with the situation.

Degsy wrote: »
    If everybody knows who these little pricks are(and they seem to) why the fcuck havnt they been run out of the area?
    I dont understand how people can willingly let a small number of arseholes ruin an area and harass people with inpunity...people should get together and put a stop to it,its the only way to deal with the situation.

You live in Finglas?.

Run out your own little ****ers first, in the mean time - lads this was a good thread, how about we get back on to discussing EastWall and leave the scumbag issue for another thread because its a fact that this and successive governments have allowed law & order to decend into the gutter.

EastWall - discuss or we can lock the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Walsh

The community centres all weather pitch is a great addition :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,198 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

I'm 6 months in East Wall and have to say I've come up against no problems and no scumbags... at least no more than any other area. I feel completely safe walking around the area and have been made more than welcome in the local pub!

One thing I don't understand though is why the hell is there so much dog sh1t in the area???!!! Seriously! I've never seen so much dog sh1t anywhere than in East Wall - especially around the Docklands train station!!!

There also seems to be a shocking loud noise whenever Everton score as well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Degsy wrote: »

Its a generalational thing. One group grows older and settles down from their wild ways but eventually a younger group will step in to take their place. It seems to go in cycles like this with a new group emerging every fifteen years or so (it would make a good Antropological study). The solution is not to run them out of the area as you say, but to put measures in place to stop it reocurring. In my opinion urban developement and facilities in the area would have a huge impact on youth crime. These teenagers seem to have nothing to do. Or just send them to Anto Byrnes kickboxing classes and they wont have the energy for anything else.

East Wall is a super area and with Fairview pk so close, it brilliant for the dogs too. Ive met and spoke to so many sound people while walking my dogs in that park (compared to the black mile in st Annes). There are a small group of lads who hang around Church road and the shops but ive never had any problem with them. There is also a strong Gardai presence in the area with patrols being more frequent these days, that and the unmakred car too.

East Wall is a great place-close to the beach, the seafront, the park and so close to town.
    My parents are from the North Strand so I know the area well.
    As I have said I lived there the last 7 years. We were very happy up until things went terribly wrong.
    We had to replace our windows five times.

One night we were sitting in our front room when the windows were smashed in just missing my 6 week old baby boy.
    That was it we had to leave.

We had built up a great life with good neighbours. But no-one would acknowledge who had done the damage to our property. The basic problem was FEAR.
    So we contacted Store Street(still keeping the curtains open of course).
    They did their best but they warned us- they knew who it was as we described but they said we were dealing with generations)
    Anyway we managed to sell the house and were happy now.
    But I dont know what the solution is for these youth- personally I have to say I blame the parents because they are getting this attitude from somewhere and its not right'
    Theres no excuse to say they have no amenities because they have everything there on the doorstep= its a disgrace.

• Registered Users Posts: 404 ✭✭pampers1

Does anyone have a list of classes that are held in Eastwall Community Centre. I'm looking to start doing maybe an aerobics class or yoga or something during the week there. Even a phone number would be of great help as I can't seem to find one online anywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

You're right about the good price.
    The 20mins walk from town you're also correct on.. however, it's not the most pleasant walk, and if it's late at night you have to walk through some not-so-nice areas..
    I convinced myself when I was looking for a place to rent, that it was close to town and that I'd settle with it as a nice comprimise. I wouldn't live there again. I just took a serious dislike to the place. I also found the area very grey and depressing.. :(

On the positive side, you will have the new apartments just off East Wall Road, and also the new Crosbie's Yard apartments.. so maybe it'll be nice someday..

Kevin.
    Have to say, the people there for the most part are very genuine. best mate used to live there.

• Registered Users Posts: 32 Tracy Jacks

Hi

Just wondering if anyone else lives in Alexandra Place (new apartment block on East Road) and is experiencing problems with the gas? For the last 9 months, it's been constantly breaking down and we refused to pay the first invoice for gas because of this. McGinely have now put up notices in the building that they are going to cut off our water and gas on Tuesday if these bills aren't paid. What makes me laugh is that the gas isn't working at the moment anyways! Is anyone else in the apartment complex having these problems or is it just our block?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 ildamiano

I'm 6 months in East Wall and have to say I've come up against no problems and no scumbags... at least no more than any other area. I feel completely safe walking around the area and have been made more than welcome in the local pub!

One thing I don't understand though is why the hell is there so much dog sh1t in the area???!!! Seriously! I've never seen so much dog sh1t anywhere than in East Wall - especially around the Docklands train station!!!

There also seems to be a shocking loud noise whenever Everton score as well!

Amen, bs81 - the dog **** problem is ridiculous. All over the pavements and covered in flies - disgusting, and can't be healthy, especially with so many kids playing on the roadsides.

ildamiano wrote: »
    Amen, bs81 - the dog **** problem is ridiculous. All over the pavements and covered in flies - disgusting, and can't be healthy, especially with so many kids playing on the roadsides.
    get on your newly elected local td about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 esmerelda80

Hey catusa in regards to ref to the so called welfare block and those in block one live off the expense of others........i prob work harder in a day than you in a prob do in a week and so do most people that live in so called welfare block a you seem like such awell educated person and so full of personality i really cant understand why you got such a hard time................:eek:

:mad:I live in the lighthouse apts and iN the social block or as some small minded snobs have addressed it the WELFARE BLOCK...... I wonder do these people who post there discrimantive comments know any of us personally ??? I presume not cause if they did they would realise most work very hard and our block is actually the quietest in the complex....We prob pay more rent than most of there mortgages cost and further more to the point is it just resentment that the bought there apartment at the height of the boom and now its negative equitity for them .... These type of people sicken me its this type of type casting and resentment that has the country the way it is ..... And if our home area i.e east wall is as bad as they make out why not sell up and move on ..... the most anti social behaviour comes from the private sector in our complex something ODPM and MCR security can verify... We cant have wild parties like the rest of the complex as we have young children.......If people in this complex think there so better than us please feel free to introduce yourself and explain why .... Snobs out thats what i say ....

• Registered Users Posts: 915 ✭✭✭whatnext

:mad:I live in the lighthouse apts and iN the social block or as some small minded snobs have addressed it the WELFARE BLOCK...... I wonder do these people who post there discrimantive comments know any of us personally ??? I presume not cause if they did they would realise most work very hard and our block is actually the quietest in the complex....We prob pay more rent than most of there mortgages cost and further more to the point is it just resentment that the bought there apartment at the height of the boom and now its negative equitity for them .... These type of people sicken me its this type of type casting and resentment that has the country the way it is ..... And if our home area i.e east wall is as bad as they make out why not sell up and move on ..... the most anti social behaviour comes from the private sector in our complex something ODPM and MCR security can verify... We cant have wild parties like the rest of the complex as we have young children.......If people in this complex think there so better than us please feel free to introduce yourself and explain why .... Snobs out thats what i say ....[/QUOTE]

This attitude is no better than the one you are complaining about, bit two faced if you ask me.....

Why has there to be an us and them????

You can’t say you "probably" pay more in rent than others pay in mortgages without backing it up. Bit of a non argument anyway.

There are a couple of people in all areas that I'm sure we all wish were not there, but that’s life, and I don’t think it has anything to do with whether they are tenants or owner occupiers.. It more a matter of lack of respect for their neighbours, and that seems to cross all social and economic backgrounds’ indiscriminately.

I'm not looking for an arguement here, but does it make you feel better that some of your neighbours may be in negative equity?

And as for working harder in a day than some one else does in a week, I'll let you draw your own conclusions on what I think of that statement.

In reply to what you said a dont appreaciate our block being classed as spongers welfare and scumbags that party at other peoples expense read the other threads and my mindset is i treat others the way they treat me i have respect for everybody that treats me with it..... Further more i dont wish negative equity on anybody and if you read the thread correctly i said that is prob why they as in a few residents feel like there hard done by and think we have it so easy.....and i work in the nursing sector and i have 3 young children so yeah i would work very hard 7 days a week split shift......and i would like to know how people come to the conclusion they did about our block without any back up as you say .... and further more what kind of person sits in there window taken photos of kids playing chasing to report to a mangement company and incase you dont know under the child protection law no child can be photographed without written consent its illegal ..... and to be honest that is only the tip of the iceberg when it comes to the snobbery we have encountered in this complex....:mad:

Killme00 wrote: »
    Its a generalational thing. One group grows older and settles down from their wild ways but eventually a younger group will step in to take their place. It seems to go in cycles like this with a new group emerging every fifteen years or so (it would make a good Antropological study). The solution is not to run them out of the area as you say, but to put measures in place to stop it reocurring. In my opinion urban developement and facilities in the area would have a huge impact on youth crime. These teenagers seem to have nothing to do. Or just send them to Anto Byrnes kickboxing classes and they wont have the energy for anything else.

East Wall is a super area and with Fairview pk so close, it brilliant for the dogs too. Ive met and spoke to so many sound people while walking my dogs in that park (compared to the black mile in st Annes). There are a small group of lads who hang around Church road and the shops but ive never had any problem with them. There is also a strong Gardai presence in the area with patrols being more frequent these days, that and the unmakred car too.
    "(compared to the black mile in st Annes)"

You cant really compare it to St Annes. Two different areas.