Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where's the strangest place you've slept?

• 12-07-2004 4:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭

Just reading this - http://www.sleepinginairports.net/strange.htm
    and wondering if anyone has any sleeping stories to share.

I can't think of my strangest sleeping experience. Probably just on a sofa in someone's house after a night out which isn't strange at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

in a brewery... I was supposed to be working, meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

in the hall outside my room, on the floor beside my bed or on the stairs.

all of which involved large quantities of alcohol having been taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

outside my locked door naked in a B&B... some how managed, while sleep walking, to climb out the window and get back into the place...

abandoned house, junk yard, parks / fields...... the list goes on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Standing at a bus stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

my bed..........that was one strange night....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,107 ✭✭✭John R

At the wheel of a car doing 80 on a motorway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭calhob_ie

On a couch........which was in the middle of the pavement on a busy road.On my way home pie-eyed,seen the couch and decided to have a little rest and contemplate my next move. Woken up at 10am by the binmen who were attempting to remove my sleeping quarters.

Needless to say there was much slaggin when I finally got home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭ChipZilla

On a building site on the way home from a party in the middle of winter. I curled up under a load of sheets of wall insulation.

Don't try that at home kids, you could freeze to death.:dunno:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Originally posted by ChipZilla
    On a building site on the way home from a party in the middle of winter. I curled up under a load of sheets of wall insulation.

Don't try that at home kids, you could freeze to death.:dunno:

well at home they wouldnt freeze to death :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

I was sleeping in a mates house after a party and there was about 15 of us in this small room and i was the last in so i got the corner with the little box in it. I didn't realise i was sleeping on a small wooden box (about 3 foot by 2 foot from what i can remember of the next morning). Considering im 6foot i was a bit curled up and uncomfortable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

On the ground in Paris, apparently I was told Ministry were playing that night and i drunkenly trotted off to sleep outside the record store for it to open and give me a ticket. And at 9am, they did just that. Then I got kicked out of Gare Du Nord after the gig trying to sleep on a seat.:) :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭Tivoli

wait for this---

we were clearing out the open top slurry pit at home and the brother needed me to keep the pipe from floating and taking in air, so anyway after about 3 hrs doing this the tractor ran out of diesel and i was left waiting for its return, i was sitting on a very dry part of the pit and dosed off waiting for him, probably from the fumes

yep i slept on 4 foot of hard shyte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭echomadman

in classes in school, lying up along a flight of stairs, various airports, montparnasse train station in paris (i got an alsation alarm call), in a flowerbed, in various old castles, in the hall outside my flat after i locked myself out, in an old ruin of a house as i was too drunk to walk all the way home from a mates house,in many cars, in the middle of a forest inside a bivouc bag in a rainstorm....

tbh, its not often i sleep in a bed, even at home, more inclined to fall asleep in a chair or sprawled on the couch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭pork99

Once fell asleep on the 46A in Leeson St. on the bus out of town.

Woke up near Foxrock church on the way back into town. I had slept all the way out to Dun Laoghaire and luckily woke up before my stop coming back in the opposite direction.

I was hammered though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Toliet night club aftershock woke up and people were brushing the floors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

On a snowman in Kilkenny (new years eve a good few years ago), Underneath a Jeep in the rain (another new years eve), and in my ex girlfriend's best friend's bed (I was drunk and thought she was my gf).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭fragile

After drinking all day, I was one of the first into a nightclub with a bunch of mates, I went to the jacks and next thing I know the bouncers are waking me up and the nightclub is empty.....I slept through the whole thing :(

Myself and a mate on the top floor of a building site in Dublin in February, after getting a fire going with timber and rolls of plastic to keep warm...

On a bench somewhere outside Frankfurt at -9 degrees, after getting off a train in the middle of nowhere (it was fu(king freezing)

A bath :p

All the above are of course alcohol related incidents...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

Originally posted by robbie1876
    and in my ex girlfriend's best friend's bed (I was drunk and thought she was my gf).

is that also the reason for her being your ex? :p;)

flogen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

UCD library... repeatedly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Kastro

buildin site and the crain in trinity collage for 3 months.. that was before i realised there was such a thing as a perminent address :D

the building site and crain are gone now.. but they were behing the cricket ground..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

in my shower:dunno:

i'd swallowed a nudge of hash shortly before going to bed...
    i woke up, staggered into the bathroom to take a leak, forgot to turn the light on, closed the door behind me and got lost... i woke up 6 hours later with sunlight streaming under the bathroom door.

the flatmate's shower sponge had a distinct whiff of urine on it:ninja:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Kazu

ya after the first page of this thread :D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

is that also the reason for her being your ex?

Hehe, actually no, she became my ex when she caught me skinny dipping with another friend of hers while we were all on holiday together. Ah, it was worth it though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Boring - on a swing in a playground in Cork.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

Originally posted by robbie1876
    Hehe, actually no, she became my ex when she caught me skinny dipping with another friend of hers while we were all on holiday together. Ah, it was worth it though :D

jesus, what a nark...:p
    (your a man-whore btw, a dirty, dirty man-whore).. only messing...:D:D:D:D

flogen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

In the hotpress. Is a floor to ceiling job and i managed to climb to the top shelf to the blankets and sheets. there was drink taken and i can only presume that i was thinking of the heat in there when i did it.
    Scared the bejayus outta my mother the next morning.

My sister fell asleep in a suitcase before, it was a party trick of hers (she can fit in very small suitcases). either way, while under the influence she got into one and fell asleep. I live in fear that she will be found dead in a suitcase one day and i'll have to explain to the guards that she actually put herself in there, they'll never believe me and somebody will be done for murder. :ninja:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭clearz

Outside the bus station on store street after a tight nights drinking in coppers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭munkeehaven

ever not sleep for more than 2 days? now that aint something ill do again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

In the doorway of Card Gallery on Grafton Street.

I did however pilfer the milk left along Grafton street by milkmen, and raid a bread van while it was delivering to Bewleys. :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

One August bank holiday a long time ago it was Breakfast in Belfast after an all nighter, then I arrived at a Garda station in Sligo looking for a place to spend the night - one of them was going off duty - so ended up on a couch, and a lift back to the station for 7am and the following night we crashed out in a field in limerick..

On a pile of gravel beside a French road - not as uncomfortable as it sounds.

Have also done Gatwick (benches upstairs) and Heathrow (under some stairs).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭clearz

Oh yea In the middle of a football pitch.

In the middle of a halting site 30 miles from home (That was a balls)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭MrBigglesworth

With my head inside a fridge. In Spain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I imbibed too much absinthe at a murder mystery party and woke up in the back garden face down on the decking... it left an imprint on my face for most of the day...

I don't think it was a very good murder mystery party as I turned out to be the murderer.. but I was no doubt far too drunk to give out the clues properly...

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Originally posted by clearz
    Outside the bus station on store street

...Done that, been there. It was after a boards beer, the place I was to stay on the couch of was err… “busy”…

No place too strange really - inside the above bus station, in buss, aeroplanes, cars, trains, on toilets, in fields, parks, outside a house, on peoples couches and floors, when younger and more foolish in a nightclub, but only for minute two

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

whil;e being a scout leader, we were in belgium with about 8 scouts, in belgium, and i was spose to tell them where we get off,

i fall asleep,
    we ended up in bonn, germany,

cost me 160 eouro to p[ay for us all to get back to bruge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

Sleept with my head in a fireplace- woke up the next morning covered in black sh*te all over my head and face.... I have never been so twisted again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LoneGunM@n

On the floor beside the check-in desk [@ the top of the queue] @ Tenerife airport ... I was in agony for the rest of the day :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭jay567

on a ship in greece, under a tale in the bar, and strange thing was no alcohol involved :)

Also in greece on the beach passed out for the night and awoke with a lovley burnt arm pit! (sleep with my arms over my head)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭df001i6876

I went on hoilday to Devon . when i was 23 ; me and my four mates

we all decided too sleep in the car. after i wile i got out and got under the car.

could not go a sleep in the car no room.

but i got a good sleep under the car. untill the guys . decided too go for breakfast,. the guy who was starting the car up said to the others weres dave . with in minutes my hand came up the side off the car . they all had a good laugh.

ive allso fell a sleep down the pit coalmine.

got fine £20 by the manager. and threatend with sack ,

the other place was the bus stop in liverpool town centre i was drunk i miss all my bus to my home .but i was suprised too still see my watch still on my wrist. and my wallet still had my money in it. the other time i was going home on the train too huyton and fell a sleep and ender up twenty odd mile in blackpool, no money had to phone the girl friend. for help. she said sleep on the bench. i got home in the end. she still didnt believe but had a good laugh a bout it. [ guinness work wonders] one to many.sleep any were tha knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Kêrmêttê

I woke up one morning after a party with my head stuck in the record cupboard under my friend's stereo... I can only imagine that I was looking for some tunes and passed out :rolleyes:

Another party left me waking up with my head jammed in the same mate's sink... and by jammed I mean she had one of those central long tap thingies on the sink and my head was stuck between the wall of the sink and this giant tap.

Woke up another time after having gone to the toilet in this pub in town, and decided it would be quicker to get out of the cubicle by scrambling over the cubicle door. Woke up when my friends found me passed out on the floor after having fallen off the top of the locked cubicle door. :ninja: (At least I escaped!)

I also fell asleep in a rather thorny shrub after deciding to take a short cut home over a 15 ft high wall (very tricky task for a short girl may I add). This seemed an extremely good idea after a large bokkle of whiskey. It seemed an even better idea to take a nap after having fallen back where I had just came from and landed in a bush! Poor me ended up having to limp the long way home with extremely ripped and grass stained white jeans :(

I woke up stretched out on a large rock in the middle of a beach in Wexford and had the arduous task of having to find my 2 friends, one of whom had lost 1 shoe and the other was talking gibberish about the moon... the weird thing about that is I barely remember even starting to drink! (Ive lost 18 hours somewhere - eep!) :ninja:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭DamienH

In the centre of my local GAA pitch rolled up in a curtain that I kindly borrowed from a nearby skip. And to be honest the nights sleep wasn't all that bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭Gurgle

I woke up one morning still sitting on my bike in a hedge.
    Alcohol related, of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

I missed the last bus home on a thursday night a couple of years ago..
    Instead of paying the ludicrous amount of money to get a cab home, I figured, 'what the hell, I've to be in work in a few hours, I'll just walk the booze off me'.

Cut to 6am with me trying to sign myself into work, frozen to death, still jarred, and going to sleep in the handicap toiliet. Slept for a couple of hours, and was then sent home when my boss came in and saw my face.. Guess I didn't look too good...:rolleyes:

Kevin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

On Your MA, wha?

Your ma's so slack she's like the port tunnel, wha?

Yore ma's so fat I thought I was ridin the banana in tenereef, wha?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I cannot physically sleep anywhere but in a bed, or a comfy couch in the sleeping position.

Strangest for me was a 13-hour bus trip. I was trying to sleep, and managing to doze for 5-10 minutes at a time. No matter how tired I am, I will not fall asleep unless I'm lying down. Except in circumstances such as above, where I make an attempt to get comfortable and a conscious decision to fall asleep. Even then, it's touch and go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭yossarin

In the corridor of a very crowded train.
    On the deck of a ferry going overnight between greece and italy.

more recently, on a toilet at work having just puked myself down to stomach acid in it (severe jetlag and food poisioning, oh, and booze too).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

In a train station (trains were cancelled for some reason, had no way of getting home), outside a train station (different time), outside another building (couldn't tell what it was, too dark), in someone's bathtub, in my car.
    There's probably ones I was too drunk too remember, but I think that's it.
    Plenty of times on buses, trains, couches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Evil_Bilbo

Was in the Life bar for some party a good few years back - drank 2 bottles of wine before heading down. Halfway through the night I was gonna puke, so I legged it to the nearest jacks - locked meself in a cubicle and started puking. Of course the jacks turned out to be the ladies. I remember sitting on the bog with my head in the sink (yes, there was a sink in the cubicle - classy or what) with puke trickling out of me, and me moaning and groaning and possible sh!tting aswell.

Fell asleep for about an hour, then went back out, and of course there was a rumour going around that there was a wierdo (me) in the ladies toilets w@nking himself.

What a whitener!

Also fell asleep in a shower. Again - trying to get to the jacks to puke. Didnt make it. Woke up in the shower covered in sick and had to be in work in about 10 minutes. Nishe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭fizzynicenice

Dog basket with cat on head, go figure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

- In a skip (it was convienient at the time)
    - On a stairs (I could feel the steps in my back for about a week after)

I was also woken up in a train station by a rifle being poked in my shoulder once too, which was confusing for a second but woke me up faster than 10 red-bulls!

I always fall asleep on the Nitelink home but the drivers know me at this stage and at the last stop they wake me up and then offer to drop me home.
    One fella even drove into my estate and up to my house.
    My girlfriend looked out the window to see me waving goodbye drunkenly to the bus driver!