Where's the strangest place you've slept?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭clearz

Oh yea In the middle of a football pitch.

In the middle of a halting site 30 miles from home (That was a balls)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭MrBigglesworth

With my head inside a fridge. In Spain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I imbibed too much absinthe at a murder mystery party and woke up in the back garden face down on the decking... it left an imprint on my face for most of the day...

I don't think it was a very good murder mystery party as I turned out to be the murderer.. but I was no doubt far too drunk to give out the clues properly...

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Originally posted by clearz
    Outside the bus station on store street

...Done that, been there. It was after a boards beer, the place I was to stay on the couch of was err… “busy”…

No place too strange really - inside the above bus station, in buss, aeroplanes, cars, trains, on toilets, in fields, parks, outside a house, on peoples couches and floors, when younger and more foolish in a nightclub, but only for minute two

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

whil;e being a scout leader, we were in belgium with about 8 scouts, in belgium, and i was spose to tell them where we get off,

i fall asleep,
    we ended up in bonn, germany,

cost me 160 eouro to p[ay for us all to get back to bruge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

Sleept with my head in a fireplace- woke up the next morning covered in black sh*te all over my head and face.... I have never been so twisted again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LoneGunM@n

On the floor beside the check-in desk [@ the top of the queue] @ Tenerife airport ... I was in agony for the rest of the day :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭jay567

on a ship in greece, under a tale in the bar, and strange thing was no alcohol involved :)

Also in greece on the beach passed out for the night and awoke with a lovley burnt arm pit! (sleep with my arms over my head)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭df001i6876

I went on hoilday to Devon . when i was 23 ; me and my four mates

we all decided too sleep in the car. after i wile i got out and got under the car.

could not go a sleep in the car no room.

but i got a good sleep under the car. untill the guys . decided too go for breakfast,. the guy who was starting the car up said to the others weres dave . with in minutes my hand came up the side off the car . they all had a good laugh.

ive allso fell a sleep down the pit coalmine.

got fine £20 by the manager. and threatend with sack ,

the other place was the bus stop in liverpool town centre i was drunk i miss all my bus to my home .but i was suprised too still see my watch still on my wrist. and my wallet still had my money in it. the other time i was going home on the train too huyton and fell a sleep and ender up twenty odd mile in blackpool, no money had to phone the girl friend. for help. she said sleep on the bench. i got home in the end. she still didnt believe but had a good laugh a bout it. [ guinness work wonders] one to many.sleep any were tha knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Kêrmêttê

I woke up one morning after a party with my head stuck in the record cupboard under my friend's stereo... I can only imagine that I was looking for some tunes and passed out :rolleyes:

Another party left me waking up with my head jammed in the same mate's sink... and by jammed I mean she had one of those central long tap thingies on the sink and my head was stuck between the wall of the sink and this giant tap.

Woke up another time after having gone to the toilet in this pub in town, and decided it would be quicker to get out of the cubicle by scrambling over the cubicle door. Woke up when my friends found me passed out on the floor after having fallen off the top of the locked cubicle door. :ninja: (At least I escaped!)

I also fell asleep in a rather thorny shrub after deciding to take a short cut home over a 15 ft high wall (very tricky task for a short girl may I add). This seemed an extremely good idea after a large bokkle of whiskey. It seemed an even better idea to take a nap after having fallen back where I had just came from and landed in a bush! Poor me ended up having to limp the long way home with extremely ripped and grass stained white jeans :(

I woke up stretched out on a large rock in the middle of a beach in Wexford and had the arduous task of having to find my 2 friends, one of whom had lost 1 shoe and the other was talking gibberish about the moon... the weird thing about that is I barely remember even starting to drink! (Ive lost 18 hours somewhere - eep!) :ninja:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭DamienH

In the centre of my local GAA pitch rolled up in a curtain that I kindly borrowed from a nearby skip. And to be honest the nights sleep wasn't all that bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭Gurgle

I woke up one morning still sitting on my bike in a hedge.
    Alcohol related, of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,522 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

I missed the last bus home on a thursday night a couple of years ago..
    Instead of paying the ludicrous amount of money to get a cab home, I figured, 'what the hell, I've to be in work in a few hours, I'll just walk the booze off me'.

Cut to 6am with me trying to sign myself into work, frozen to death, still jarred, and going to sleep in the handicap toiliet. Slept for a couple of hours, and was then sent home when my boss came in and saw my face.. Guess I didn't look too good...:rolleyes:

Kevin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

On Your MA, wha?

Your ma's so slack she's like the port tunnel, wha?

Yore ma's so fat I thought I was ridin the banana in tenereef, wha?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I cannot physically sleep anywhere but in a bed, or a comfy couch in the sleeping position.

Strangest for me was a 13-hour bus trip. I was trying to sleep, and managing to doze for 5-10 minutes at a time. No matter how tired I am, I will not fall asleep unless I'm lying down. Except in circumstances such as above, where I make an attempt to get comfortable and a conscious decision to fall asleep. Even then, it's touch and go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭yossarin

In the corridor of a very crowded train.
    On the deck of a ferry going overnight between greece and italy.

more recently, on a toilet at work having just puked myself down to stomach acid in it (severe jetlag and food poisioning, oh, and booze too).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,303 ✭✭✭✭koneko

In a train station (trains were cancelled for some reason, had no way of getting home), outside a train station (different time), outside another building (couldn't tell what it was, too dark), in someone's bathtub, in my car.
    There's probably ones I was too drunk too remember, but I think that's it.
    Plenty of times on buses, trains, couches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Evil_Bilbo

Was in the Life bar for some party a good few years back - drank 2 bottles of wine before heading down. Halfway through the night I was gonna puke, so I legged it to the nearest jacks - locked meself in a cubicle and started puking. Of course the jacks turned out to be the ladies. I remember sitting on the bog with my head in the sink (yes, there was a sink in the cubicle - classy or what) with puke trickling out of me, and me moaning and groaning and possible sh!tting aswell.

Fell asleep for about an hour, then went back out, and of course there was a rumour going around that there was a wierdo (me) in the ladies toilets w@nking himself.

What a whitener!

Also fell asleep in a shower. Again - trying to get to the jacks to puke. Didnt make it. Woke up in the shower covered in sick and had to be in work in about 10 minutes. Nishe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭fizzynicenice

Dog basket with cat on head, go figure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

- In a skip (it was convienient at the time)
    - On a stairs (I could feel the steps in my back for about a week after)

I was also woken up in a train station by a rifle being poked in my shoulder once too, which was confusing for a second but woke me up faster than 10 red-bulls!

I always fall asleep on the Nitelink home but the drivers know me at this stage and at the last stop they wake me up and then offer to drop me home.
    One fella even drove into my estate and up to my house.
    My girlfriend looked out the window to see me waving goodbye drunkenly to the bus driver!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

In a factory. While I was working there.

In the pub.

In a public seminar that I helped organise. Oh dear...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Sleipnir, do you get the 46N? Cos I remember trying to wake some guy up on that for about ten minutes one night and there was no response from him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Originally posted by Sleepy
    Sleipnir, do you get the 46N? Cos I remember trying to wake some guy up on that for about ten minutes one night and there was no response from him!

Many have tried.....all have failed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Done it myself one night and met some other guy who was conveniently heading for my stop so we were able to share a cab back to Foxrock together. Unfortunately, he had no money left so I had to pay for the full fare but hey, I woulda had to do that anyway... so it was my good deed of the week.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,587 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Originally posted by fizzynicenice
    Dog basket with cat on head, go figure
    Cats like warmth - this is one of several reasons why cats should never be left near babies unattended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭fjon

Many years ago I was working in UCD one night at one of their events (Fresher's Ball or something similar). After it was over at around 3, I stood around waiting to get my pay. Of course they didn't pay us that night, and, being the broke student I was didn't have taxi fare home.
    I walked all aournd the campus looking for somewhere to sleep. I found a few alcoves, but all were too noisy or cold to sleep in. Eventually I found the perfect place right behind the library and settled down for the night. Only to be woken up a few minutes later witha torch shining in my face.
    After an interrogation by the friendly security guards, and having my student card confiscated, I walked down Trimmelstown Avenue to Booterstown, crossed the road, and slept in the Bog/ Bird Sanctuary that's there.
    Students, eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

A park bench a few blocks from Time's Square in New York. Felt quite safe really, more so than I do in Dublin anyway.

Got a very enjoyable 5 hours of uninterupted sleep before I was kindly given my '9am alarm call' by one of the citys helpful coppers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,215 ✭✭✭FX Meister

There's been a few of them but let me see, Bray Wanderer's press box, the golf course in bray, deer park golf course, a train in heuston, a subway tunnel in NYC. The list goes on and on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Number6

Woke up in the cop-shop before, a ditch, the back of a cop car, Angelwhores house!, the back of a Red-Cross ambulance, an empty septic tank, a cupboard, a fridge, a disused chest freezer, about 4 building sites, the back of a van, a washing machine - no joke, an industrial washing machine, a cardboard box in a skip at the back of our house, numerous flights, once on a bus trip to dublin i passed out from booze and fell on the floor and rolled under the seat in front of me...

thats about it :)

[edit] I forgot about the time I woke up in the church loft after a night of heavy drinking and the time I slept on the floor of the showers in my local gym... neither of them trust me with keys anymore [/edit]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Tommy Vercetti

A field in Tallaght surrounded by broken glass which I was later assured was not the result of a violent incident. Also slept on the 42 Nitelink,got a good two hour sleep on it because I fell asleep on the outward journey and was woken by an inspector when it got back into town. He took pity on my sorry and shameful state and let me stay on until I got home on the second attempt. I've woken up beside some horribly ugly women too in my time, still have nightmares about some hideously ugly kid knocking on the door looking for "daddy".