Where's the strangest place you've slept?

• 12-07-2004 05:21PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭

Just reading this - http://www.sleepinginairports.net/strange.htm
    and wondering if anyone has any sleeping stories to share.

I can't think of my strangest sleeping experience. Probably just on a sofa in someone's house after a night out which isn't strange at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

in a brewery... I was supposed to be working, meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

in the hall outside my room, on the floor beside my bed or on the stairs.

all of which involved large quantities of alcohol having been taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

outside my locked door naked in a B&B... some how managed, while sleep walking, to climb out the window and get back into the place...

abandoned house, junk yard, parks / fields...... the list goes on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Standing at a bus stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

my bed..........that was one strange night....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,106 ✭✭✭John R

At the wheel of a car doing 80 on a motorway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭calhob_ie

On a couch........which was in the middle of the pavement on a busy road.On my way home pie-eyed,seen the couch and decided to have a little rest and contemplate my next move. Woken up at 10am by the binmen who were attempting to remove my sleeping quarters.

Needless to say there was much slaggin when I finally got home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭ChipZilla

On a building site on the way home from a party in the middle of winter. I curled up under a load of sheets of wall insulation.

Don't try that at home kids, you could freeze to death.:dunno:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,165 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Originally posted by ChipZilla
    On a building site on the way home from a party in the middle of winter. I curled up under a load of sheets of wall insulation.

Don't try that at home kids, you could freeze to death.:dunno:

well at home they wouldnt freeze to death :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

I was sleeping in a mates house after a party and there was about 15 of us in this small room and i was the last in so i got the corner with the little box in it. I didn't realise i was sleeping on a small wooden box (about 3 foot by 2 foot from what i can remember of the next morning). Considering im 6foot i was a bit curled up and uncomfortable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭Kersh

On the ground in Paris, apparently I was told Ministry were playing that night and i drunkenly trotted off to sleep outside the record store for it to open and give me a ticket. And at 9am, they did just that. Then I got kicked out of Gare Du Nord after the gig trying to sleep on a seat.:) :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭Tivoli

wait for this---

we were clearing out the open top slurry pit at home and the brother needed me to keep the pipe from floating and taking in air, so anyway after about 3 hrs doing this the tractor ran out of diesel and i was left waiting for its return, i was sitting on a very dry part of the pit and dosed off waiting for him, probably from the fumes

yep i slept on 4 foot of hard shyte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭echomadman

in classes in school, lying up along a flight of stairs, various airports, montparnasse train station in paris (i got an alsation alarm call), in a flowerbed, in various old castles, in the hall outside my flat after i locked myself out, in an old ruin of a house as i was too drunk to walk all the way home from a mates house,in many cars, in the middle of a forest inside a bivouc bag in a rainstorm....

tbh, its not often i sleep in a bed, even at home, more inclined to fall asleep in a chair or sprawled on the couch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭pork99

Once fell asleep on the 46A in Leeson St. on the bus out of town.

Woke up near Foxrock church on the way back into town. I had slept all the way out to Dun Laoghaire and luckily woke up before my stop coming back in the opposite direction.

I was hammered though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Toliet night club aftershock woke up and people were brushing the floors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

On a snowman in Kilkenny (new years eve a good few years ago), Underneath a Jeep in the rain (another new years eve), and in my ex girlfriend's best friend's bed (I was drunk and thought she was my gf).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭fragile

After drinking all day, I was one of the first into a nightclub with a bunch of mates, I went to the jacks and next thing I know the bouncers are waking me up and the nightclub is empty.....I slept through the whole thing :(

Myself and a mate on the top floor of a building site in Dublin in February, after getting a fire going with timber and rolls of plastic to keep warm...

On a bench somewhere outside Frankfurt at -9 degrees, after getting off a train in the middle of nowhere (it was fu(king freezing)

A bath :p

All the above are of course alcohol related incidents...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

Originally posted by robbie1876
    and in my ex girlfriend's best friend's bed (I was drunk and thought she was my gf).

is that also the reason for her being your ex? :p;)

flogen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

UCD library... repeatedly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Kastro

buildin site and the crain in trinity collage for 3 months.. that was before i realised there was such a thing as a perminent address :D

the building site and crain are gone now.. but they were behing the cricket ground..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

in my shower:dunno:

i'd swallowed a nudge of hash shortly before going to bed...
    i woke up, staggered into the bathroom to take a leak, forgot to turn the light on, closed the door behind me and got lost... i woke up 6 hours later with sunlight streaming under the bathroom door.

the flatmate's shower sponge had a distinct whiff of urine on it:ninja:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Kazu

ya after the first page of this thread :D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

is that also the reason for her being your ex?

Hehe, actually no, she became my ex when she caught me skinny dipping with another friend of hers while we were all on holiday together. Ah, it was worth it though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,202 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Boring - on a swing in a playground in Cork.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

Originally posted by robbie1876
    Hehe, actually no, she became my ex when she caught me skinny dipping with another friend of hers while we were all on holiday together. Ah, it was worth it though :D

jesus, what a nark...:p
    (your a man-whore btw, a dirty, dirty man-whore).. only messing...:D:D:D:D

flogen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

In the hotpress. Is a floor to ceiling job and i managed to climb to the top shelf to the blankets and sheets. there was drink taken and i can only presume that i was thinking of the heat in there when i did it.
    Scared the bejayus outta my mother the next morning.

My sister fell asleep in a suitcase before, it was a party trick of hers (she can fit in very small suitcases). either way, while under the influence she got into one and fell asleep. I live in fear that she will be found dead in a suitcase one day and i'll have to explain to the guards that she actually put herself in there, they'll never believe me and somebody will be done for murder. :ninja:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭clearz

Outside the bus station on store street after a tight nights drinking in coppers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭munkeehaven

ever not sleep for more than 2 days? now that aint something ill do again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

In the doorway of Card Gallery on Grafton Street.

I did however pilfer the milk left along Grafton street by milkmen, and raid a bread van while it was delivering to Bewleys. :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,586 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

One August bank holiday a long time ago it was Breakfast in Belfast after an all nighter, then I arrived at a Garda station in Sligo looking for a place to spend the night - one of them was going off duty - so ended up on a couch, and a lift back to the station for 7am and the following night we crashed out in a field in limerick..

On a pile of gravel beside a French road - not as uncomfortable as it sounds.

Have also done Gatwick (benches upstairs) and Heathrow (under some stairs).