Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

18 to 25 year olds - Must carry ID

• 31-10-2003 3:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭

Apologies if this is in the wrong section.

I was in my local last night (where I have been drinking for the last 4 years) and I was asked for ID. Of course I was a little taken back. I asked the barman (who I know quite well and vice versa) what the story was and I was told that law now states that all 18 to 25 yo's in pubs or bars must carry some form of ID and if you are caught in a pub without ID you can get an on the spot fine.

This all sounds a little 1984 to me!

Was he talking through his arse or is this a real law?

/Kone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭cartman

it is true,
    It came in about 3weeks ago,

pretty sad really,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Kone

Originally posted by Kone

Apologies if this is in the wrong section.

I was in my local last night (where I have been drinking for the last 4 years) and I was asked for ID. Of course I was a little taken back. I asked the barman (who I know quite well and vice versa) what the story was and I was told that law now states that all 18 to 25 yo's in pubs or bars must carry some form of ID and if you are caught in a pub without ID you can get an on the spot fine.

This all sounds a little 1984 to me!

Was he talking through his arse or is this a real law?

/Kone

So the Gardai now have the power to fine use for not carrying ID? Man that is scarey, the sooner the better I get out of this country!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Mayshine

Just tell him you are 26 and therefore do not need to carry ID. I know I would

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Yeah, how do you prove you're older than 25?
    Cause if you are then youre not required to carry ID?

This could get confusing...

Brings back the old arguements for National Identity Cards for
    everyone... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Kone

Originally posted by ToxicPaddy
    Yeah, how do you prove you're older than 25?
    Cause if you are then youre not required to carry ID?

This could get confusing...

Exactly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

I tried to buy a few cans from Superquinn a while back and was told the same thing. Garda ID, passport or Driver's License. Of them I only have a passport and i'll be damned if I take that out with me everytime I want a few beers.

At 22, I shouldn't have to put up with that kind of nonsense.

When it happened I asked the woman if she thought I was seventeen years of age and though she looked embarassed because of how completely wrong she was, she stuck to her guns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭K2

I know its possible for some young teenagers to pass for 18 /19, but there can't be any 14yo's would pass for 25. Anybody know why they picked such an old age? 21 would have been enough methinks. Isn't that the age limit in usa?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Snaga

In the states youll often be id'd for beer if your grey and balding.

*chuckles at the memory of a friend pointing to his balding head as ID when being carded in the local seven-eleven - he was only 25 - looked a good bit older though*

If you look less than 40 or 45 or something shop owners must insist on seeing a form of identification.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

is it really that much hassle to get an age card & just carry it around in your wallet?
    done that for the last 3 years myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

Total Bull**** im 23 and there's nothing more embrassing than the barman to shout at you in a crowed pub for your ID.

I blame my lovely soft skin :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭vac

is it really that much hassle to get an age card & just carry it around in your wallet?

Its a pain in the ass when you carry a passport and you're too lazy to go get your garda id :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Being old rockS! (but not too much now, brittle bones y'know)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Im fairly sure its 18-21 not 18-25 for whom its compulsory.
    Anyway McDowell is a ****ing lunatic. He needs sacking and fast.
    I doubt most pubs are enforcing this. I mean,how often have you seen the gardai enter a pub?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

It's for 18-21 SO FAR. And here's the appropriate bit from the Intoxicating Liquor Act on the government site
    National Age Card
    The Gardai (Irish police force) operate the National Age Card scheme. These cards are proof that the cardholder is 18 or over. The card will show the name of the holder, his or her date of birth, a photograph and a security feature, like a hologram. The cards are available from your local Garda station and will cost 6.27 euro. Anyone found guilty of forging or altering the details on an official Age Card can be liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding 1,270 euro or to a prison term not exceeding 12 months or to both. Licence holders that allow people between 18-21 years on their premises without appropriate identification can face a fine of 1,500 euro for a first offence and 2,000 euro for any subsequent offences. (Appropriate identification includes a National Age Card, a passport, a driving licence, or a identitiy card issued by an EU member state).

The Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform has recently indicated an intention to introduce new legislation that will extend the requirement for National Age Cards to people up to the age of 25 years. (No date has been fixed when this legislation will come into effect).

So it MAY be up to 25 but not yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭patch

Well, I'm 28 and was asked for id entering a niteclub last weekend. When I protested, the guy said make sure and bring id the next night. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Shad0r

Originally posted by Kone
    So the Gardai now have the power to fine use for not carrying ID? Man that is scarey, the sooner the better I get out of this country!

Its not that scarey really. Lots of other countries have the same laws, Canada being one for example. And the Gards afaik would only have the power to fine you for not having an ID if your in a pub. (Isn't it France that you have to carry an ID around with you all the time?) So you have to bring an ID out with you when you go out drinking....not exactly the end of the world.
    Originally posted by K2
    I know its possible for some young teenagers to pass for 18 /19, but there can't be any 14yo's would pass for 25. Anybody know why they picked such an old age? 21 would have been enough methinks. Isn't that the age limit in usa?

erm K2 I think you've completely missed the point. They havent changed the legal age of drinking, just the age until which a pub must ID you. In other words if they think you look younger than 25 they have to ask you for ID. In the states you cant even get into a bar unless your over 21 to drink.

I would imagine the reason they will try to bring the law in is to try and cut back on underage drinking although all they probably will achieve is to drive it outside to a certain extent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Originally posted by Lodgepole
    I tried to buy a few cans from Superquinn a while back and was told the same thing. Garda ID, passport or Driver's License. Of them I only have a passport and i'll be damned if I take that out with me everytime I want a few beers.

i was refused a few cans at quinsworth, and i had a passport, they wouldn't except it, im a few years older than yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Originally posted by bananayoghurt
    i was refused a few cans at quinsworth, and i had a passport, they wouldn't except it, im a few years older than yourself

If they refused my passport I would go to the local garda station and get them down to quinnsworth to force quinnsworth to accecpt your passport. You can do that with the GardsIDs if you are refused into a pub or nightclub with one for the no id reason.

Do it. Its fun.

GardaID cards should be free. Would give that incentive to people to get one. I know im too lazy and broke to get one right now :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

Ah goddammit, I need an ID which says I'm 18. All of you people should count yourself lucky, valid identification is plentiful. Your not in the worst of situations.

But I still agree against this crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

The reality is, before any of this crap came into being any place in town which really didn't want under agers in didnt have any in!

fireworx, cafe en seine, spirit etc.

Im 21 now and am always amused when I see a nervous fresh faced "18" year old some how get served in a little pub in the suburbs but it just doesnt happen in town anymore!

The problem lies where clubs and pubs rely on under agers to do business! we all know them! -in my under age days it was pegs, the vatican, drumms all the dives that no rightminded 18+ person would bother with!

These places have to be sorted out!

not friggin Q bar where everyone is 20+!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

what is the fine if caught with no ID in a pub and what is the criteria for asking for one, that you dont look 18?

the piece from the Intoxicating Liquor Act on the government site as posted above makes no mention of this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,644 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by Mossy Monk
    what is the fine if caught with no ID in a pub and what is the criteria for asking for one, that you dont look 18?
    None the law merely empowers the publican to ask for ID if you are under 21. I remember going out with friends (who were in college) to a college night out in Harcourt Street and they asked me for ID ... when I was 26. :rolleyes:

And if you can show you are over the age that the retailer states they apply for drink (which can vary), they must sell, otherwise you can object to them getting their licence renewed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,663 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

omfg! 25! That's so OTT it's not even funny. I bet this is largely due to wimmen! It's very hard to tell what age a woman is at times.

I always have my driver's license in my pocket, though I rarely get asked for ID. In fact, I don't think I was ever asked for ID before I turned 21. Usually I think the bouncer is just trying to piss me off if he asks for ID. That, or he was trying to see if I was sober enough to get my license out. I can't believe they're going to waste everyone's time with this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Originally posted by tman
    done that for the last 3 years myself

the longer you go w/out getting one. the less chance you have later.
    Was told be local gardai that I wont get it and I'm 20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Originally posted by f®eak_s©enery
    Ah goddammit, I need an ID which says I'm 18. All of you people should count yourself lucky, valid identification is plentiful. Your not in the worst of situations.

www.fluxcard.com my friend. Its the site that has given a generation of irish kids a social life in these Orwellian ID demanding times.
    It isnt technically illegal,your just supposed to use the cards for novelty purposes rofl.

Some places will only accept official ID,some will let you by with these cards. Ive never applied for a garda ID(Im too paranoid about giving them my details-note lay off the ganja)so I still often use my stundent ID from this place.
    Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

Thanks Tha Gopher, help is really appreciated.
    Could someone tell me if music venues (Whelans, The Village etc.) are cool with forms of identification other than an Age Card, Passport or Driver's License. The venues are the main reason why I need to appear older and I'm fed up of having to compromise with the bouncers every time I go to a concert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

I'm 23 now and I still get hassle on a regular basis. I just carry my passport and it works in most places. I was refused before in Merlins in Waterford because they said they only took the National Age Card. The fine for not carrying ID is a load of bs- just another way for the government to make a few quid!

I dont see what the fuss is all about...a barman you know "quite well" asked you for id? Why? Sounds to me that he was just being an asshole...I've been out in clubs n pubs a fair bit recently and once you're in the place I never see anyone getting asked for id.

Oh and if you're 22 and superquinn wouldn't serve you then it sounds as though the people behind the counter were being assholes too. I'm 18 and I don't even get id'd in offos any more. You should have asked for the manager at least.

BTW f®eak_s©enery, fluxcards are shíte. Pure shíte...and are so fake that you'll be doing well to get in anywhere. Anyone with half a brain can make a decent fake drivers license at this stage (and a nice profit with 5th and 6th years!), and if thats too hard then I'm sure there'll be at least one person in your school that can make them or knows sumone else who does. If you're really lucky you can get a fake garda age card, which a couple of people I know who are over-18 are getting cause they're ready in 2 weeks and the guy charges less than the gardai!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

I dunno what the big deal is....so you carry ID. Its a reasonable request if it helps to stop 16 year olds getting pissed....

I carry my drivers licence around everywhere even when i'm not driving or on the beer.

Anyway, if you're over age then be able to prove it. It will give em one less reason to say "not tonight lads" at the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

whats the craic with clubs being able to set an over 21's limit. Down Under on Stephens Green refused me, and said over 21's only, and i hadn't even shown him my id!! Where is the law on this over 21's crap?

It was the first time i was refused from anywhere!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

VinnyL, afaik, it used to be illegal for them to place age restrictions on clubs etc, but that was stopped earlier this year.

maybe somebody else can clear it up for me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

(4) If—
    (a) the holder of a licence or other authorisation which per-mits
    the sale of intoxicating liquor adopts a policy of
    refusing to supply intoxicating liquor to any person
    below a specified age which exceeds 18 years,
    (b) a notice setting out the policy is displayed in a conspicu-ous
    place in or on the exterior of the premises, and
    (c) the policy is implemented in good faith,
    a refusal to serve intoxicating liquor to such a person shall not
    constitute discrimination on the age ground.
    (5) Subsections (3) and (4) are without prejudice to subsections
    (1) and (2).’’.

i think this means that if you do not have a sign clearly stating that it is an over 21's on the outside, then you cannot refuse an under 21 based on the age grounds.

also, does this mean that they can only refuse to serve me alcohol, and legally i am allowed on the premises??

This might work on the bouncers!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭skipn_easy

There's nothing wrong with bouncers asking you to show id to get in to a place... its easy enough if you're old enough just carry id around with you. In the states everyone under 40 was asked for id when buying alcohol.

What bugs me about the whole thing is that bouncers aren't consistent about it. I used to carry my driving licence with me everywhere until I went to a pub that wouldn't let me in because they didn't accept driving licences, only age cards. I was absolutely shocked about it - the gardai take driving licence as national proof of identity so why wouldn't a bouncer? I was real pissed off about that and decided to get an age card and now I carry the both of them around. But even tonight I went to a bar with a friend - we're both 20 and the bouncer (some old geezer) was telling us that he couldn't let us in cos my friend only had an age card and if we were caught in there the bar would lose their licence. We were just amazed by the stupidity of the bouncer, surely the age cards proved we were legal and so no one could do anything to us or the bar?

The national age card is supposed to be accepted everywhere as far as I know, and I wouldn't want to be bringing my passport on a night out with me. You're bound to lose it! So if you don't have a driving licence and pubs won't accept age cards what are you supposed to do?

it's the age old thing of bouncers just being díckheads...

"It's over 21's now, bud"

"We don't take drivers licences no more, bud. Age cards only"

I've only been refused from one place since I turned 18 and that was reds - over 21's bs...I only found out about the law that they had to have a visible sign saying over-21's a few days later but I couldn't see the asshole letting me in if I had said it.

Either way there's loads of clubs to choose from these days..

My problem isn't that I don't want to carry ID. I generally have at least four pieces of ID on me at any given time, as long as I have my wallet with me.

But...

I won't carry my passport on a night out, because it's just too valuable.

I don't have a driver's license because I don't drive. If I did have one, I would probably consider it the same as I do my passport.

I won't get a Garda ID because I shouldn't have to pay for something to prove my age when I have several IDs that already do this. I also don't want to have to go through the bull**** that the Gardai make you go through to get it.

I have college ID that is virtually impossible to fake. Certainly as difficult as a Garda ID. I have several pieces of backup ID. I have a full beard. I look my age. I do not look seventeen.

I should not be told in off licenses or in pubs that I can't be served based on my age. Because the simple fact is, I am 22 years old. I have official ID to prove it and I physically look the part.

I didn't complain to the manager in Superquinn, though the lady offered to get him for me. I later regretted that, and sent him a letter. I got no reply. I still use the Superquinn for my beer (as I always have done) because there are no Off Licenses in my area. I have made similar complaints to a local pub (2 occasions) and gotten no replies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,092 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

I got Id'd for a cup of coffee in a pub in Waterford last weekend ! HAH :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,211 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Lol utility, redz is *so* not over 21s.

Basically if they dont want to let you in they will use excuses like over 21s or we dont accept this id.

The real reasons they dont let you in:

You're too drunk to buy more alcohol
    You're dressed like a bum
    You're looking nervous
    You look like a knacker who will start fights
    You sound like a knacker
    You look like you have no money to spend

I'm sure some other people saw on the news that a bouncer training course has been started, where they issue certificates. This is long overdue and should be mandatory.

One bouncer said, "You get some people in this business who are only in it because they're heavy handed". With any luck this will help weed them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

picture it

me:can i have a pint of bud and a g&t
    small spotted barman: do u have id
    me: your ****ing joking
    small spotted barman: nop
    /me hands out - 2 usit ids - 2 carlow ids 1 cork id 2 garda ids 1 passport and a prov drivers lisence .
    /small spotted barman: looks throught entire set of ids
    large barman comes over and sez to puny : u know hes almost 7 years older then u r
    small spotted barman: cringes and looks embarrised (sp) hands back all ids and gets drinks

i didnt get mad or anything at the lad i just smiled and said its k . dont worry about it

but to be asked every time now do i have id and the fact that if i dont carry id ill be fined thats just taking the piss

like **** off goverment i dont have to carry the stuff

Originally posted by Sangre
    Lol utility, redz is *so* not over 21s.

yeah no shít...why do you think I said it was bs? Plz read my posts b4 you respond to them.

And even though I was pretty wasted I reckon the bouncer was just being a prick...They're jealous when they see us beautiful people head into their shít clubs to score women they couldn't get near when they were young...

newho redz sucks ass most of the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by Lodgepole
    I have college ID that is virtually impossible to fake. Certainly as difficult as a Garda ID.
    Part of the trouble is that they can still be faked at source. I've 11 UL college IDs, all saying I'm doing different courses (including "PhD in Sciency Stuff" and "Masters in sexual education"), some with different pictures. Took me ten minutes to do the lot. Where did I do them? On the official ID-making machines in UL. They're not "fake" IDs, they're real IDs. They just all lie.

Admittedly this could be done with the Garda IDs too but the college IDs are relatively uncontrolled. And I'm just offering it as an example, I can't disagree with any of your post at all - especially with having to pay for the Garda ID. It's only a fiver in real money but the first one should probably be free (if you lose it you should have to pay for a replacement).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Shad0r

Originally posted by ShriekingSheet
    The reality is, before any of this crap came into being any place in town which really didn't want under agers in didnt have any in!

fireworx, cafe en seine, spirit etc.

Fireworks are pretty strict but I've seen birds in Spirit that were uderage.

Im 21 now and am always amused when I see a nervous fresh faced "18" year old some how get served in a little pub in the suburbs but it just doesnt happen in town anymore!

lol, where are you getting this stuff from? There are at least two pubs in the city centre that I know of that are underage haunts. Or at least were about a year ago.

The problem lies where clubs and pubs rely on under agers to do business! we all know them! -in my under age days it was pegs, the vatican, drumms all the dives that no rightminded 18+ person would bother with!

These places have to be sorted out!

not friggin Q bar where everyone is 20+!

heh, yeah right. You take a census in Q Bar? I'll admit that its not as bad as some other spots but really you cant tell by just looking at the people in the bar, especially the women. If they are done up and they look 18-20 in your eyes the fact is that they could be anything from 16- mid twenties.
    Originally posted by VinnyL
    whats the craic with clubs being able to set an over 21's limit. Down Under on Stephens Green refused me, and said over 21's only, and i hadn't even shown him my id!! Where is the law on this over 21's crap?

It was the first time i was refused from anywhere!!!

I've never been to 'Down Under' but in the 8 odd years (since I was 16) I've been going to pubs there have ALWAYS been clubs and late bars that had different age restrictions. i.e. +21 or +23's. They're looking to attract a certain crowd. I dont see the big deal but I guess then again I never had any problems getting in to any of these places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

You have to pay €6 for the privilege of getting a Garda i.d, with an additional 4 or 5 euro for some passport photographs. I'd have no qualms of applying for a Garda i.d if it was free, which it bloody well should be. That's why out of principle I'll never apply for one. If the state wants you to have one, let the state pay for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭AngelofFire

I always bring my id just in case. its a stupid law. in most countries in europe you can get served without id. but of course ireland has to be the exception.

On most nites redz is over 18s but on busy nites the bouncers are instructed to only allow people with 21+ access to the club

dam OAP nites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭avatar

They won't be f**king happy until they're surgically implanting GPS chips under our skin at f**king birth. Orwell was right, man. The whole 1984 s**t is goin' DOWN, and there's nothing we can do to stop it. They won't stop until they can tell what kind of dreams you're having. Mandatory fingerprinting and s**t. I know I sound paranoid, and maybe I am, but that doesn't mean it won't f**king HAPPEN.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Number6

I was refused drink tonight, with the barman saying i was 17, after i handed him a damn passport of me.. with the birth date saying (which is true i might add) i was born in 1984. FFS, i'm nearly 19 like, the dozy ejjit couldnt work out in is pueny mind that i was nearly 19... not 17. Dozy git.

</rant>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭ciderandhavoc

21 would have been enough methinks. Isn't that the age limit in usa? [/B]

18 to 21 *is* the law. Not 25.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭ciderandhavoc

You have to pay €6 for the privilege of getting a Garda i.d

And wait literally months.

Late bars, until recently when the law was revoked, were legally obliged to admit entry to those 18 years and over. Accepting that they weren't already drunk etc... Dress codes are still not a legal reason for refusal from a pub or late bar. And that includes shoes.

Clubs can be whatever the hell they like. They can be over 30s and accept only those wearing plastic bags on their feet if that's what they decide they want. They don't follow the same laws as public houses and bars.