18 to 25 year olds - Must carry ID

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

VinnyL, afaik, it used to be illegal for them to place age restrictions on clubs etc, but that was stopped earlier this year.

maybe somebody else can clear it up for me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

(4) If—
    (a) the holder of a licence or other authorisation which per-mits
    the sale of intoxicating liquor adopts a policy of
    refusing to supply intoxicating liquor to any person
    below a specified age which exceeds 18 years,
    (b) a notice setting out the policy is displayed in a conspicu-ous
    place in or on the exterior of the premises, and
    (c) the policy is implemented in good faith,
    a refusal to serve intoxicating liquor to such a person shall not
    constitute discrimination on the age ground.
    (5) Subsections (3) and (4) are without prejudice to subsections
    (1) and (2).’’.

i think this means that if you do not have a sign clearly stating that it is an over 21's on the outside, then you cannot refuse an under 21 based on the age grounds.

also, does this mean that they can only refuse to serve me alcohol, and legally i am allowed on the premises??

This might work on the bouncers!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭skipn_easy

There's nothing wrong with bouncers asking you to show id to get in to a place... its easy enough if you're old enough just carry id around with you. In the states everyone under 40 was asked for id when buying alcohol.

What bugs me about the whole thing is that bouncers aren't consistent about it. I used to carry my driving licence with me everywhere until I went to a pub that wouldn't let me in because they didn't accept driving licences, only age cards. I was absolutely shocked about it - the gardai take driving licence as national proof of identity so why wouldn't a bouncer? I was real pissed off about that and decided to get an age card and now I carry the both of them around. But even tonight I went to a bar with a friend - we're both 20 and the bouncer (some old geezer) was telling us that he couldn't let us in cos my friend only had an age card and if we were caught in there the bar would lose their licence. We were just amazed by the stupidity of the bouncer, surely the age cards proved we were legal and so no one could do anything to us or the bar?

The national age card is supposed to be accepted everywhere as far as I know, and I wouldn't want to be bringing my passport on a night out with me. You're bound to lose it! So if you don't have a driving licence and pubs won't accept age cards what are you supposed to do?

it's the age old thing of bouncers just being díckheads...

"It's over 21's now, bud"

"We don't take drivers licences no more, bud. Age cards only"

I've only been refused from one place since I turned 18 and that was reds - over 21's bs...I only found out about the law that they had to have a visible sign saying over-21's a few days later but I couldn't see the asshole letting me in if I had said it.

Either way there's loads of clubs to choose from these days..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

My problem isn't that I don't want to carry ID. I generally have at least four pieces of ID on me at any given time, as long as I have my wallet with me.

But...

I won't carry my passport on a night out, because it's just too valuable.

I don't have a driver's license because I don't drive. If I did have one, I would probably consider it the same as I do my passport.

I won't get a Garda ID because I shouldn't have to pay for something to prove my age when I have several IDs that already do this. I also don't want to have to go through the bull**** that the Gardai make you go through to get it.

I have college ID that is virtually impossible to fake. Certainly as difficult as a Garda ID. I have several pieces of backup ID. I have a full beard. I look my age. I do not look seventeen.

I should not be told in off licenses or in pubs that I can't be served based on my age. Because the simple fact is, I am 22 years old. I have official ID to prove it and I physically look the part.

I didn't complain to the manager in Superquinn, though the lady offered to get him for me. I later regretted that, and sent him a letter. I got no reply. I still use the Superquinn for my beer (as I always have done) because there are no Off Licenses in my area. I have made similar complaints to a local pub (2 occasions) and gotten no replies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,098 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

I got Id'd for a cup of coffee in a pub in Waterford last weekend ! HAH :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,240 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Lol utility, redz is *so* not over 21s.

Basically if they dont want to let you in they will use excuses like over 21s or we dont accept this id.

The real reasons they dont let you in:

You're too drunk to buy more alcohol
    You're dressed like a bum
    You're looking nervous
    You look like a knacker who will start fights
    You sound like a knacker
    You look like you have no money to spend

I'm sure some other people saw on the news that a bouncer training course has been started, where they issue certificates. This is long overdue and should be mandatory.

One bouncer said, "You get some people in this business who are only in it because they're heavy handed". With any luck this will help weed them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

picture it

me:can i have a pint of bud and a g&t
    small spotted barman: do u have id
    me: your ****ing joking
    small spotted barman: nop
    /me hands out - 2 usit ids - 2 carlow ids 1 cork id 2 garda ids 1 passport and a prov drivers lisence .
    /small spotted barman: looks throught entire set of ids
    large barman comes over and sez to puny : u know hes almost 7 years older then u r
    small spotted barman: cringes and looks embarrised (sp) hands back all ids and gets drinks

i didnt get mad or anything at the lad i just smiled and said its k . dont worry about it

but to be asked every time now do i have id and the fact that if i dont carry id ill be fined thats just taking the piss

like **** off goverment i dont have to carry the stuff

Originally posted by Sangre
    Lol utility, redz is *so* not over 21s.

yeah no shít...why do you think I said it was bs? Plz read my posts b4 you respond to them.

And even though I was pretty wasted I reckon the bouncer was just being a prick...They're jealous when they see us beautiful people head into their shít clubs to score women they couldn't get near when they were young...

newho redz sucks ass most of the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,607 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by Lodgepole
    I have college ID that is virtually impossible to fake. Certainly as difficult as a Garda ID.
    Part of the trouble is that they can still be faked at source. I've 11 UL college IDs, all saying I'm doing different courses (including "PhD in Sciency Stuff" and "Masters in sexual education"), some with different pictures. Took me ten minutes to do the lot. Where did I do them? On the official ID-making machines in UL. They're not "fake" IDs, they're real IDs. They just all lie.

Admittedly this could be done with the Garda IDs too but the college IDs are relatively uncontrolled. And I'm just offering it as an example, I can't disagree with any of your post at all - especially with having to pay for the Garda ID. It's only a fiver in real money but the first one should probably be free (if you lose it you should have to pay for a replacement).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭Shad0r

Originally posted by ShriekingSheet
    The reality is, before any of this crap came into being any place in town which really didn't want under agers in didnt have any in!

fireworx, cafe en seine, spirit etc.

Fireworks are pretty strict but I've seen birds in Spirit that were uderage.

Im 21 now and am always amused when I see a nervous fresh faced "18" year old some how get served in a little pub in the suburbs but it just doesnt happen in town anymore!

lol, where are you getting this stuff from? There are at least two pubs in the city centre that I know of that are underage haunts. Or at least were about a year ago.

The problem lies where clubs and pubs rely on under agers to do business! we all know them! -in my under age days it was pegs, the vatican, drumms all the dives that no rightminded 18+ person would bother with!

These places have to be sorted out!

not friggin Q bar where everyone is 20+!

heh, yeah right. You take a census in Q Bar? I'll admit that its not as bad as some other spots but really you cant tell by just looking at the people in the bar, especially the women. If they are done up and they look 18-20 in your eyes the fact is that they could be anything from 16- mid twenties.
    Originally posted by VinnyL
    whats the craic with clubs being able to set an over 21's limit. Down Under on Stephens Green refused me, and said over 21's only, and i hadn't even shown him my id!! Where is the law on this over 21's crap?

It was the first time i was refused from anywhere!!!

I've never been to 'Down Under' but in the 8 odd years (since I was 16) I've been going to pubs there have ALWAYS been clubs and late bars that had different age restrictions. i.e. +21 or +23's. They're looking to attract a certain crowd. I dont see the big deal but I guess then again I never had any problems getting in to any of these places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

You have to pay €6 for the privilege of getting a Garda i.d, with an additional 4 or 5 euro for some passport photographs. I'd have no qualms of applying for a Garda i.d if it was free, which it bloody well should be. That's why out of principle I'll never apply for one. If the state wants you to have one, let the state pay for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭AngelofFire

I always bring my id just in case. its a stupid law. in most countries in europe you can get served without id. but of course ireland has to be the exception.

On most nites redz is over 18s but on busy nites the bouncers are instructed to only allow people with 21+ access to the club

dam OAP nites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭avatar

They won't be f**king happy until they're surgically implanting GPS chips under our skin at f**king birth. Orwell was right, man. The whole 1984 s**t is goin' DOWN, and there's nothing we can do to stop it. They won't stop until they can tell what kind of dreams you're having. Mandatory fingerprinting and s**t. I know I sound paranoid, and maybe I am, but that doesn't mean it won't f**king HAPPEN.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Number6

I was refused drink tonight, with the barman saying i was 17, after i handed him a damn passport of me.. with the birth date saying (which is true i might add) i was born in 1984. FFS, i'm nearly 19 like, the dozy ejjit couldnt work out in is pueny mind that i was nearly 19... not 17. Dozy git.

</rant>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭ciderandhavoc

21 would have been enough methinks. Isn't that the age limit in usa? [/B]

18 to 21 *is* the law. Not 25.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭ciderandhavoc

You have to pay €6 for the privilege of getting a Garda i.d

And wait literally months.

Late bars, until recently when the law was revoked, were legally obliged to admit entry to those 18 years and over. Accepting that they weren't already drunk etc... Dress codes are still not a legal reason for refusal from a pub or late bar. And that includes shoes.

Clubs can be whatever the hell they like. They can be over 30s and accept only those wearing plastic bags on their feet if that's what they decide they want. They don't follow the same laws as public houses and bars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Originally posted by Wyvern
    The national age card is supposed to be accepted everywhere as far as I know, and I wouldn't want to be bringing my passport on a night out with me. You're bound to lose it!

I've heard of that some places won't accept a passport as proof. I knew a guy in secondary school who was selling fake passports, so fair enough - there are fakes out there, but it'd really piss me off if I went to the trouble of bringing my passport and it still wasn't enough. It'd get you into most countries but not some ****ty ass pub :)

I saw a girl using a passport as ID to get into a club a few weeks ago. She was about 29 but she was short, so the dumb ass bouncer couldn't tell the difference. The expression on her face could have been a dictionary definition for FFS.
    Originally posted by Caesar_Bojangle
    I'd have no qualms of applying for a Garda i.d if it was free, which it bloody well should be. That's why out of principle I'll never apply for one. If the state wants you to have one, let the state pay for it.

Nothing's free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭CodeMonkey

You have to pay €6 for the privilege of getting a Garda i.d, with an additional 4 or 5 euro for some passport photographs. I'd have no qualms of applying for a Garda i.d if it was free, which it bloody well should be. That's why out of principle I'll never apply for one. If the state wants you to have one, let the state pay for it.
    And yet you would happily pay the same amount for less than 3 pints... compare to how much most people spend on drinks it's nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭CodeMonkey

Making it harder for young people to get access to alcohol is surely a good thing. But the idea of getting pissed in order to have a good time is so ingrained in the irish culture that you guys are freaking out when the government is trying to do something about it.

I have absolutely no problem with actions that make it harder for young people to buy alcohol.

I am twenty two years old. That's what i'm freaking out about. I don't give a **** how some 16 year old gets their booze, but I take extreme issue when I am put in a spot over proving i'm over the age of seventeen.

This argument has nothing to with the promotion of drink culture. Simply that as an adult, I should be allowed to buy alcohol without the hassle that I sometimes have to go through to get it.

And I know the cost of the Garda ID isn't a lot. But that isn't the point. I already have plenty of ID. I refuse to get another one and I definitely refuse to pay for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭gobby

personally i think the national age card is just an excuse for the gards to get all the young peoples details on file. call me paranoid but there is no way im gonna get one of them.

another thing. how is it that places can refuse a passport?! thats just insanity. a passport can get you into foreign countries but not your local!? whats that all about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭carbonkid

i was woundering what the story was cause ive been noticein signs 2day sayin that you need id if ur 25 or under and i knew i hadnt seen em b4

its just to make it easier for barmen or people in retail to ask for id without offending someone who may look a wee bit older

i used to be a barman and you'd be surprized how mad people got if you asked them for id infront of their friends:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭dNC | Tickle

Originally posted by Blitzkrieger
    omfg! 25! That's so OTT it's not even funny. I bet this is largely due to wimmen! It's very hard to tell what age a woman is at times.

"i swear she told me she was 18 officer!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭DMT

Originally posted by elexes
    2 garda ids
    Why do you have two garda ids?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Lawnkiller

teh law says:
    —Section 15: Persons aged 18 to 20 will be required to carry an age document in the bar of licensed premises;

guess that leave me out of that one...

*source: the 2003 intoxicating liquor act

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭Shad0r

lol. I'm sure 'the state' couldnt give a flying fvck at a rolling doughnut whether you have an ID or not. YOU are the one thats going to suffer by not getting served. Not the state. Also when you say 'the state should pay' you mean taxpayers should pay so that you can drink without hassle?

Really 6 quid is not a big deal. Like the man said its less than two pints.
    Originally posted by avatar
    They won't stop until they can tell what kind of dreams you're having. Mandatory fingerprinting and s**t. I know I sound paranoid, and maybe I am, but that doesn't mean it won't f**king HAPPEN.

lol, dude lay off the weed....
    Originally posted by gobby
    personally i think the national age card is just an excuse for the gards to get all the young peoples details on file. call me paranoid but there is no way im gonna get one of them.

Honestly I wonder how some of you sleep at night!