Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst/Best Radio Ads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Pineapple1

Gwynplaine wrote:
    "Fordy gigs of dayda"

That has to be a Dublin thing?? Was in a phone shop in Castlebar the other day and the woman in front of me who was from Dublin kept saying DAYta and yer man going "DAta".

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Data is pronounced DayTa by those of us that speak the Queen's English; Da Ta by wannabe Americans plus those that know no better, and Day Da by boggers like many of those who inhabit Newstalk Towers.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,521 ✭✭✭paddylonglegs

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Data is pronounced DayTa by those of us that speak the Queen's English; Da Ta by wannabe Americans plus those that know no better, and Day Da by boggers like many of those who inhabit Newstalk Towers.

Nah, us country folk say Day-Ha. A bit like Sahurday

• Registered Users Posts: 12,862 ✭✭✭✭flazio

I blame Captain Jean-Luc Picard for my pronunciation of Data.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭locum-motion

...The guy endorsing the product has such a low voice it sounds like it’s one of those voice camouflage applications you hear on crime watch ...

Morgan O'Driscoll?

He was in my class in school for a couple of years as a kid.
    Didn't meet him again til we were in our late 30's.
    Couldn't get over how deep his voice was. It really is that deep.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,588 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

flazio wrote: »
    I blame Captain Jean-Luc Picard for my pronunciation of Data.

The correct pronunciation is the way Flight of the Conchords do David Bowie saying it.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,833 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

tototoe wrote: »
    That Donnelan Joyce Galway property auction ad is back. His accent wrecks my brain.

It's like he's got a mouthful of marbles.
    "Golway"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭RINO87

I hear “go to hell” instead of “go loud.” It took me a few listens to cop it (not that I had to wait long for a repeat)

Ha, same here, GO TO HELL is all I hear with that ad!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

"We declare the right of the people of Ireland to the ownership of Ireland, and to the unfettered control of"....

Every bloody ad break on TodayFM. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Macdarack

That pink run ad, it's awful, I've pulled my car over to comment! Is he purposely trying to sound like Shirley temple bar. Cringe.
    Theres another one and he's singing to the tune of "head shoulders knees and toes" jesus Christ it's cat.

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Macdarack

Macdarack wrote: »
    That pink run ad, it's awful, I've pulled my car over to comment! Is he purposely trying to sound like Shirley temple bar. Cringe.
    Theres another one and he's singing to the tune of "head shoulders knees and toes" jesus Christ it's cat.

"head to NI climbing frames"
    Awful, just awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭5555555555

The ad where a father discovers his daughter has started smoking.

Calm down man ! Its not like you murdered her !!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 868 ✭✭✭carq

DAY FACTO shaving !

Who is that guy ?

5555555555 wrote: »
    The ad where a father discovers his daughter has started smoking.

Calm down man ! Its not like you murdered her !!!!

And your wan that has to endure a transatlantic flight without a fag break. Spare me.

The My taxi/Free now ad is starting to get on my tits.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,844 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I can't wait to see the spike in fare dodging caused by that stupid name change.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,862 ✭✭✭✭flazio

"I thought you said you were free now"
    Almost as stupid as the diet 7up changing to 7up free.

carq wrote: »
    DAY FACTO shaving !

Who is that guy ?

A raving jaysus bollix with very dubious claims about his product.

And paraphrasing Gilette's slogan at the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

The GAA ad with the young kid saying

"my daddy said the GAA is in our DNA" :rolleyes:

so whats that trying to suggest if you're not into GAA you're not truly irish??

• Registered Users Posts: 38,871 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

fryup wrote: »
    The GAA ad with the young kid saying

"my daddy said the GAA is in our DNA" :rolleyes:

so whats that trying to suggest if you're not into GAA you're not truly irish??

Maybe the kid's Ma was a bit overfriendly with a hurling star? :D
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users Posts: 55,462 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

The Wok of Cashel actually sounds better than the Rock of Cashel.

Does that Aquazone lady talk like that in real life? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,435 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

the copperface jacks the musical ad has been updated...this time it's longer :-(

• Registered Users Posts: 7,143 ✭✭✭plodder

Mr E wrote: »
    Does that Aquazone lady talk like that in real life? :)
    That must take the award for unintentionally funniest ad of the moment. She is trying so hard to keep the pitch high, to sound like a child I presume, but she just loses it a couple of times and seems to give up at the end.

plodder wrote: »
    That must take the award for unintentionally funniest ad of the moment. She is trying so hard to keep the pitch high, to sound like a child I presume, but she just loses it a couple of times and seems to give up at the end.

She's supposedly a frog judging by the intro... rather like that new Galway Races themed filling station ad with a man posing as a horse.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

is that actor Brian Cox doing the virgin media ads??

Another entry for a Paddy voiceover doing a dodgy foreign accent.

The latest Moretti ad goes from "Italian" to Irish to something like Sesame Street's Count Von Count.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭jeremyj1968

Is Deirdre O'Kane actually having a stroke during that latest Appliances Delivered ad?

At this stage I don't know whether to just turn off the radio (as normal) or ring for an ambulance for her.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,487 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Is Deirdre O'Kane actually having a stroke during that latest Appliances Delivered ad?

At this stage I don't know whether to just turn off the radio (as normal) or ring for an ambulance for her.

Any brand that hires her to do their ads should be subject to public boycott.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Pineapple1

I know this is a thread for radio ads but sweet suffering jesus everytime I turn my TV on I see Dermot Bannon's smug face on that Vodafone ad helping the young wan baking in the kitchen. Its the part where he stares down at ya smiling smugly before preceeding to pop a glace cherry into his gob, definition of annoying man.

• Registered Users Posts: 696 ✭✭✭QueensGael

"Are ya goin' to de flahhhhhh?"