Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Off Topic Thread 4.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,501 ✭✭✭swiwi_

molloyjh wrote: »
    Haha, I agree on the lots of garlic front. If you’re ever making anything from a recipe you always need to at least double the amount of garlic. I don’t get stinginess with garlic.

If you want a second kid Molloy you’ll need to review that fondness for garlic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭troyzer

Guys, every mention of burgers from now on will be immediately translated into vagina in my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,867 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

molloyjh wrote: »
    Haha, I agree on the lots of garlic front. If you’re ever making anything from a recipe you always need to at least double the amount of garlic. I don’t get stinginess with garlic.

This. This man right here. This man gets it right 100% of the time. You cannot beat garlic....Ever.
    The local hotel at home used to do homemade chicken kiev which was gorgeous.... Absolutely dripping in garlic. I used to have it with garlic cubed potatoes and garlic bread.
    On a totally unrelated note I never had a girlfriend.

mfceiling wrote: »
    This. This man right here. This man gets it right 100% of the time. You cannot beat garlic....Ever.
    The local hotel at home used to do homemade chicken kiev which was gorgeous.... Absolutely dripping in garlic. I used to have it with garlic cubed potatoes and garlic bread.
    On a totally unrelated note I never had a girlfriend.

Have you tried roasted whole garlic?

Love bringing cloves of garlic back from the south of France.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

swiwi_ wrote: »
    If you want a second kid Molloy you’ll need to review that fondness for garlic.

By cooking for both of us I should be fine. Although it may limit our socialising options. But it’s worth it. My personal favourite is roast spuds with garlic, rosemary, parmesan & apple balsamic.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

It’s very good raw for keeping colds at bay, may have a side affect of doing the same with people though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

troyzer wrote: »
    Guys, every mention of burgers from now on will be immediately translated into vagina in my head.

Greasy and reeking of garlic?! :confused:

Zzippy wrote: »

Greasy and reeking of garlic?! :confused:

Cheers for that image

Can't believe Trump thinks he can just bypass the government process by declaring a national emergency. No doubt he thinks all's wall that ends wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Can't believe Trump thinks he can just bypass the government process by declaring a national emergency. No doubt he thinks all's wall that ends wall.

"I've already done a lot of wall"
    - Donald J. Trump

I think he watched house of cards and thought it was a documentary.

stephen_n wrote: »

I think he watched house of cards and thought it was a documentary.

The issue isn't what he can do with a national emergency. If it is an emergency, he can do what he says he's going to do.

His problem is going to be proving to the courts that it's a national emergency. And he has a conservative majority on the Supreme Court.

This will stand and open the flood gates to the next Democrat declaring an emergency after the first school shooting and banning semi autos. Republicans in the Senate know that and they're terrified that Trump is happy to up the ante to that extent for the sake of a ****ing wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,722 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

The funniest thing about Trump is just the fact all they have to do is go to his Twitter account to find evidence of him saying the exact opposite of the point he's trying to make.

He's declared a national emergency to build a wall to prevent illegal immigrants from entering the country. Yet last year he tweeted saying illegal immigration was at an all-time low.

The funniest thing about Trump is just the fact all they have to do is go to his Twitter account to find evidence of him saying the exact opposite of the point he's trying to make.

He's declared a national emergency to build a wall to prevent illegal immigrants from entering the country. Yet last year he tweeted saying illegal immigration was at an all-time low.

Remember when he said he was going to have a Muslim ban, brought in the Muslim ban and then tried to argue to the courts that it wasn't a Muslim ban and therefore couldn't be discrimination?

Gas craic.

RIP Bruno Ganz.

Your memory will live on in Hitler Speech memes and parodies.

RIP Bruno Ganz.

Your memory will live on in Hitler Speech memes and parodies.

Sad that that's literally his greatest legacy. Not a decades long career as a master actor.

Had brunch there a while ago. The two girls at the table beside me got their food while I was still waiting. They proceeded to take out digital cameras and photographing/videoing the food. Shooting it from multiple angles and various filters. Then took out their phones and did the same. 5 minutes later when my food arrived, they were still photographing the food. If a brunch happens in Dublin and there’s no one there to photograph it, would it still taste as nice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

stephen_n wrote: »
    Had brunch there a while ago. The two girls at the table beside me got their food while I was still waiting. They proceeded to take out digital cameras and photographing/videoing the food. Shooting it from multiple angles and various filters. Then took out their phones and did the same. 5 minutes later when my food arrived, they were still photographing the food. If a brunch happens in Dublin and there’s no one there to photograph it, would it still taste as nice?

Leave them alone, culchie!

He can't possibly be a culchie. Real culchies don't know what brunch is.

Would you prefer if I said full Irish Breakfast after 12 o’clock?

Limerick's current dismantling of Kilkenny is glorious viewing.

• Registered Users Posts: 966 ✭✭✭Scythica

Just had a long weekend in Hamburg.

Recommend it. Quite a 'gritty' city (i.e you can tell people live and work there, rather than just for the tourists) but very friendly and a decent amount to do / see when there.

And not just the Reeperbahn!

Just read an article in the Economist talking about circumcision.

80% of American men are circumcised. That's a mental figure. Apparently they think it's healthier, cleaner and more aesthetically pleasing.

Weird that parents are considering the latter.

Trying to decide how I feel about the citizenship of the ISIS bride being revoked in the UK.

It's a political decision at this stage and one the Tories will benefit from, but there are far, far worse people in prison in the UK that will never be considered for deportation.

I'm not overly familiar with all the details - but I gather the person in question has been unrepentant but have they actually broken any laws in the UK? I presume their association with terror organisations is a crime but were they involved in any actual attacks?

I dunno, I can see the Dailymail getting giddy with themselves but I think it's a questionable precedent.

Trying to decide how I feel about the citizenship of the ISIS bride being revoked in the UK.

It's a political decision at this stage and one the Tories will benefit from, but there are far, far worse people in prison in the UK that will never be considered for deportation.

I'm not overly familiar with all the details - but I gather the person in question has been unrepentant but have they actually broken any laws in the UK? I presume their association with terror organisations is a crime but were they involved in any actual attacks?

I dunno, I can see the Dailymail getting giddy with themselves but I think it's a questionable precedent.

I'm a bit torn over it as well. I'm sure she's prosecutable under any number of anti terrorist statutes. My issue is that while I found her obvious lack of remorse chilling, I also don't like how a minister can remove her citizenship for completely political reasons. The system should be process based or else it's just cruel and arbitrary.

It's why I didn't like it when the Chinese kid from Bray was appealing to Simon Harris for a stay on his deportation. Or how every TD up and down the country manages to grease the wheel for every constituent who jumps up and down because of how long the driving test queue is.

A failure to adhere to the rule of law is cruel and leads to chaos.

The legal loophole Javid (the home secretary) is exploiting here is his power to remove citizenship from a dual national. She's not a dual national but her mother is Bangladeshi and so she's entitled to Bangladeshi citizenship. It'll be challenged and the home office might lose but his point would have been won by then all over the Daily Mail.

I'd take her back and remind her how democracy and the rule of law works. Which includes prison.

I'm a bit torn over it as well. I'm sure she's prosecutable under any number of anti terrorist statutes. My issue is that while I found her obvious lack of remorse chilling, I also don't like how a minister can remove her citizenship for completely political reasons. The system should be process based or else it's just cruel and arbitrary.

It's why I didn't like it when the Chinese kid from Bray was appealing to Simon Harris for a stay on his deportation. Or how every TD up and down the country manages to grease the wheel for every constituent who jumps up and down because of how long the driving test queue is.

The legal loophole Javid (the home secretary) is exploiting here is his power to remove citizenship from a dual national. She's not a dual national but her mother is Bangladeshi and so she's entitled to Bangladeshi citizenship. It'll be challenged and the home office might lose but his point would have been won by then all over the Daily Mail.

I'd take her back and remind her how democracy and the rule of law works. Which includes prison.

Just to tidy something up - that kid from Bray is Irish, has an Irish accent, Irish education and entirely Irish friends. He's no more Chinese than I am and every bit as Irish as my own kids, even if the law says otherwise.

The ISIS bride is still surrounded by extremists so I doubt there is anything she would be willing to say against the party line and I can imagine those who were bombed by US and UK planes see any attack on the UK as justified, not that I agree with them but it wouldn't be an unreasonable conclusion.

I hear what you are saying about the dual citizenship but I think if she was an Irish citizen I'd rather we brought her here to be dealt with.

The more I reflect the more I think it's the wrong outcome.

Just to tidy something up - that kid from Bray is Irish, has an Irish accent, Irish education and entirely Irish friends. He's no more Chinese than I am and every bit as Irish as my own kids, even if the law says otherwise.

The ISIS bride is still surrounded by extremists so I doubt there is anything she would be willing to say against the party line and I can imagine those who were bombed by US and UK planes see any attack on the UK as justified, not that I agree with them but it wouldn't be an unreasonable conclusion.

I hear what you are saying about the dual citizenship but I think if she was an Irish citizen I'd rather we brought her here to be dealt with.

The more I reflect the more I think it's the wrong outcome.

I totally agree and he should be able to stay. This situation should never have happened and the law should be changed to make sure he can stay.

But as it stands, his salvation came at the foot of a public pressure campaign which basically forces the government to subvert the law. This will keep happening. I want our laws to work, not have to work around them.

Same goes for tests, you shouldn't have to wait six months for one.

I agree it's the wrong outcome. I wish she was going back to Britain and straight in a cell.

I totally agree and he should be able to stay. This situation should never have happened and the law should be changed to make sure he can stay.

But as it stands, his salvation came at the foot of a public pressure campaign which basically forces the government to subvert the law. This will keep happening. I want our laws to work, not have to work around them.

Same goes for tests, you shouldn't have to wait six months for one.

I agree it's the wrong outcome. I wish she was going back to Britain and straight in a cell.

There are a LOT of people that would have gladly seen that child sent to China and I was taken aback by how vitriolic people were towards the situation. You wouldn't hear the same rhetoric directed towards the undocumented Irish from anyone here.

The ISIS bride situation is a lot bleaker - sounds like she was radicalised almost within her own family and fled at 15. She's now 18 but is absolutely clueless to the world and what she needs more than anything is an education. Whether she gets that in prison for her own protection or for societies is immaterial.

Her comments about seeing beheading's was the part that gave me the most pause however. I think I'd be damaged for life if I saw something like that but she seemed sincere enough when she intimated that it didn't bother her.

It's a tricky one. She left for Syria as a young child, at the age of 15, and as far as it's been suggested, she didn't hold a passport for any other nation than the UK.

The issue arises in her comments about saying the Manchester attack was justified and that she has no regrets joining ISIS. If she hadn't said anything of the likes to the media, and said she just wanted to come home I would say she would've just been placed on a watchlist and nothing else made of it.

But now the connotations is that the reason she's coming back is to recruit other young woman to join ISIS. And this will be something repeated constantly by the likes of the daily mail. And due to her comments, I would have to agree with this. She shows no sign of wanting to re-integrate with western culture, and is still supporting terrorist actions.

It's one that will probably end up in front of the UN, as she now stands as stateless, because she doesn't hold a passport for Belgium, or the Netherlands where her husband is from.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,290 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I'm pretty unambiguous about it - it's wrong on every possible level.

Knowing what to do about it is tricky and finding a path forward is difficult. Where the line should be drawn between punishment for her crimes and acknowledging that she was groomed as a 14/15 year old is tough. Disowning her and pretending it is not your problem and making her stateless is wrong and the act of cowards.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,846 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

^ lefty liberal bleeding heart !!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Let’s not forget there’s a baby involved here too. About the only things they’ve actually succeeded in doing here is creating 1 more terrorist and giving extremists more ammunition to use against them. They had an opportunity to take the high ground. Use the rule of law to allow the girl to come back to the UK, be punished for her crimes and attempt to re-educate/reintegrate her (and keep a very close eye on her). But most importantly they had an opportunity to prevent another child being born into that environment. An opportunity to save someone. And an opportunity to show the world that they aren’t the monsters they are made out to be.

The whole thing is wrong on every level other than the short term populism BS. And in fairness the message they are sending with this matches the messages they’ve been consistently sending the last few years. The lack of real leadership in the UK at the moment is stunning.

Lads, we can't allow this.

We're all on the internet and seem to agree on the bleeding lefty side of the issue. This isn't right.

Think I'll dip into 4chan for a bit.

The strangest thing about the decision is that the security minister and the secretary of justice both came out and said she had a right to return to the UK, and she couldn't be made stateless.

And the home office are refusing to comment on their decision to revoke her citizenship.

The UK is in such a weird place in general at the moment.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

There are a LOT of people that would have gladly seen that child sent to China and I was taken aback by how vitriolic people were towards the situation. You wouldn't hear the same rhetoric directed towards the undocumented Irish from anyone here.

To play Devil's Advocate, as we're all getting on so well, that was an interesting case.

It was the Mam, I don't know the Father situation, who was being deported and as he was her dependent he would be too. It wasn't the case that he was being sent off by himself, though it did sound like that from what you read.

As the Mam was not an Irish citizen it's safe to assume she was Chinese and as he was her son would be entitled to Chinese citizen citizenship and not being the person of no country you would be led to believe he would from what you read. I assume this so could be wrong.

It's easy to see why it would have gotten some people's back up as we voted, whether you agree with it now or not, directly for this to happen. We didn't vote ages ago for it either, only 14 years.

Then you had so many TDs and talking heads saying we should break the law and even Matt Cooper's The Last Word officially backed the kid too with any dissent deemed racist. Even though it's directly what is the law.

Michael McDowell was on Newstalk Breakfast to discuss why the referendum was held in the first place and fairly handed Kieran Cuddihy's arse to him with what was happening at the time regarding, this isn't a nice phrase but it is the one used, anchor babies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

The strangest thing about the decision is that the security minister and the secretary of justice both came out and said she had a right to return to the UK, and she couldn't be made stateless.

And the home office are refusing to comment on their decision to revoke her citizenship.

The UK is in such a weird place in general at the moment.

It's the Home Office, they're a law unto themselves. Politics trumps actual laws there.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    To play Devil's Advocate, as we're all getting on so well, that was an interesting case.

It was the Mam, I don't know the Father situation, who was being deported and as he was her dependent he would be too. It wasn't the case that he was being sent off by himself, though it did sound like that from what you read.

As the Mam was not an Irish citizen it's safe to assume she was Chinese and as he was her son would be entitled to Chinese citizen citizenship and not being the person of no country you would be led to believe he would from what you read. I assume this so could be wrong.

It's easy to see why it would have gotten some people's back up as we voted, whether you agree with it now or not, directly for this to happen. We didn't vote ages ago for it either, only 14 years.

Then you had so many TDs and talking heads saying we should break the law and even Matt Cooper's The Last Word officially backed the kid too with any dissent deemed racist. Even though it's directly what is the law.

Michael McDowell was on Newstalk Breakfast to discuss why the referendum was held in the first place and fairly handed Kieran Cuddihy's arse to him with what was happening at the time regarding, this isn't a nice phrase but it is the one used, anchor babies.

If I recall correctly I think the number of children born to non EU nationals actually went up after that referendum not down.

Whilst there was obviously people taking advantage of the practice - I'm willing to bet it was also quite overblown similar to the 'Crisis' at the US southern border.

Either way - the referendum aside, that kid is Irish and I challenge anyone to convince me otherwise. He didn't do anything other than be born and sending him to China is an extreme punishment for someone that is entirely innocent in the circumstances.

If that means the mother has to stay here then so be it - but we need to amend the law to facilitate these kinds of situations. It's hard to stay off the grid for any length of time and also legitimately prove you've been in the country or were born here. We can legislate for the outliers - it will almost always turn out to be cases like this or the kid in Sligo.

It's the Home Office, they're a law unto themselves. Politics trumps actual laws there.

It's red meat for the Tories new UKIP base.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

The story of that young woman reminds of a time I got on a train and it left 3 or 4 minutes early. At first you think, 'happy days', this suits me great. But then I thought wait, what if I was only 2 minutes early today? Or just on time? Instability and unpredictability within a political system will favour you until it f**ks you.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,036 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Lads, we can't allow this.

We're all on the internet and seem to agree on the bleeding lefty side of the issue. This isn't right.

Think I'll dip into 4chan for a bit.

I'll fix that for you. She committed treason. Firing squad is the only solution. ðŸ˜

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

If I recall correctly I think the number of children born to non EU nationals actually went up after that referendum not down.

Whilst there was obviously people taking advantage of the practice - I'm willing to bet it was also quite overblown similar to the 'Crisis' at the US southern border.

Either way - the referendum aside, that kid is Irish and I challenge anyone to convince me otherwise. He didn't do anything other than be born and sending him to China is an extreme punishment for someone that is entirely innocent in the circumstances.

If that means the mother has to stay here then so be it - but we need to amend the law to facilitate these kinds of situations. It's hard to stay off the grid for any length of time and also legitimately prove you've been in the country or were born here. We can legislate for the outliers - it will almost always turn out to be cases like this or the kid in Sligo.

Well legally he isn't.

As far as I know the laws we have in place are standard in the rest of Europe too. If we were to run the referendum again I'm not sure if the result would change, it might end up closer but I'm not sure if it would change.

Why is sending someone to China an extreme punishment? I know people who've moved there and seem quite happy.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Well legally he isn't.

As far as I know the laws we have in place are standard in the rest of Europe too. If we were to run the referendum again I'm not sure if the result would change, it might end up closer but I'm not sure if it would change.

Why is sending someone to China an extreme punishment? I know people who've moved there and seem quite happy.

I doubt the referendum result would change, but I'm talking about instances that happen in the grey areas of life and how they are dealt with.

And if you took my child who doesn't speak chinese or have friends in china, out of his school in Ireland and put him on a plane never to come back - that would be a massive and life changing event for a child and if against his will it absolutely is a punishment. The kid in Bray has been here since he was born and would be indistinguishable from any other Irish kid bar he will look of Asian decent.

He has an Irish accent and knows far more about Irish history than Chinese. It would be an extremely cruel punishment to apply to him for something his mam did.

The best example is one I saw online. Drink driving is worse than what that Chinese mother did - but would anyone on here think it's reasonable for the child of a drink driver to be deported to relatives in abroad?

Yes we have immigration laws - but if they are going to be inherently cruel and in particular to a child who has done nothing wrong then we need to have room to manoeuvre within those rules.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Wheeling out a PD, regardless of his legal background, for comment on a social issue is laughable.

• Administrators Posts: 54,097 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

If any of you won that 175 million remember your lovely moderators who have long protected you from trolls and spammers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,867 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

awec wrote: »
    If any of you won that 175 million remember your lovely moderators who have long protected you from trolls and spammers.

My mate texted me at 6 this morning to say he wouldn't be in today because something came up...I'm wondering if it was 7 numbers?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭DGRulz

We have a syndicate in work, got very excited when I saw it was won in Ireland, checked multiple tickets, sadly not us.

• Administrators Posts: 54,097 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

If I won it the secession of Ulster Rugby from its tyrannical oppressors would be pretty high on my agenda of philanthropy.

Ulster rugby CEO Awec in 5 years time:

"Millner-Skudder is no longer welcome in Belfast - someone replaced him on the plane with an imposter, he is released from his contract, ULSTER SAYS NO".

If I won it my corporate box on the halfway line in the new Sportsground would have a Guinness tap made of solid gold...

If I won it my corporate box on the halfway line in Ravenhill would have a Harp tap made of solid gold...

I have aweced your post.