Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
17-05-2021, 13:14   #3091
witnessmenow
Registered User
 
witnessmenow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCross View Post
Thats a bit of a design gap, isnt it?

There must be a proper solution to that as a mower going around in circles and eventually going dead isnt good enough really. The whole idea is that you can let it at it and not have to keep rescuing it.

Any input from the dealer or manufacturer? Or the manual?
Worx told me to do this so I guess this is the solution

https://support.worx-europe.com/how-set-up-island

I have had this setup like basically all of last summer and it was no problem.

The mowers navigation is really simple, they basically have no idea where they are, they drive til the find the wire and follow it anti-clockwise til it finds home. When it finds the large island it doesn't know it's not the actual boundary. The only thing it could do software wise if there is was a max time to go home, and if it spent more than that going home it searched for a new boundary
witnessmenow is offline  
(2) thanks from:
Advertisement
17-05-2021, 14:43   #3092
KCross
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 10,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by witnessmenow View Post
Worx told me to do this so I guess this is the solution

https://support.worx-europe.com/how-set-up-island

I have had this setup like basically all of last summer and it was no problem.

The mowers navigation is really simple, they basically have no idea where they are, they drive til the find the wire and follow it anti-clockwise til it finds home. When it finds the large island it doesn't know it's not the actual boundary. The only thing it could do software wise if there is was a max time to go home, and if it spent more than that going home it searched for a new boundary
Thats a poor solution though. The software should be able to detect that its getting nowhere and look for another boundary.

Fine that it works for you but others could have several islands (thus increasing the likelyhood of the issue occurring) with some of those being in the middle of the lawn area which means multiple strips being left uncut.


Its also another good case for getting a mower with a guide wire to get home reliably.
KCross is offline  
17-05-2021, 15:02   #3093
witnessmenow
Registered User
 
witnessmenow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCross View Post
Thats a poor solution though. The software should be able to detect that its getting nowhere and look for another boundary.

Fine that it works for you but others could have several islands (thus increasing the likelyhood of the issue occurring) with some of those being in the middle of the lawn area which means multiple strips being left uncut.


Its also another good case for getting a mower with a guide wire to get home reliably.
Detect how? The only way would be for it detect its traveled too far/for too long looking for home, it doesn't have any other data points to work with.

I don't understand how it's a bad solution? A mower with a guide wire would probably work (I've never had one) but I think you are over estimating how big of a problem this is. The grass in the gap is cut when you do a boundary cut, which it's recommended you do a couple of a week. It didn't look any different to any other part of our lawn.

The actual negative of this solution is you end up with with a more segmented lawn, in Gaffs image from a few posts up, the mower will now only get to the back section of garden on the right hand side of the flower bed, but in practise it was never an issue for us, the lawn all got cut.
witnessmenow is offline  
Thanks from:
17-05-2021, 15:47   #3094
KCross
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 10,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by witnessmenow View Post
Detect how? The only way would be for it detect its traveled too far/for too long looking for home, it doesn't have any other data points to work with.
That would be a possible solution or something in the menus that allow you to dictate, based on your knowledge of your own boundary, how long you want it to spend looking.

I'm not trying to come up with a solution as the mower is what it is, just saying its not ideal and other mowers dont have this issue (e.g. some have GPS). Its a design gap is all I'm saying.


Quote:
Originally Posted by witnessmenow View Post
I don't understand how it's a bad solution? A mower with a guide wire would probably work (I've never had one) but I think you are over estimating how big of a problem this is. The grass in the gap is cut when you do a boundary cut, which it's recommended you do a couple of a week. It didn't look any different to any other part of our lawn.

The actual negative of this solution is you end up with with a more segmented lawn, in Gaffs image from a few posts up, the mower will now only get to the back section of garden on the right hand side of the flower bed, but in practise it was never an issue for us, the lawn all got cut.
That exactly.

As I said, fine if it works for you in your case, but it may not work for many others.

Basically, its something worth considering when purchasing, in particular if you know you will have "lots" of islands.
KCross is offline  
Thanks from:
17-05-2021, 16:34   #3095
Gaffs89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 317
Thanks for the replies Lads.witnessmenows solution should work for me.
KCross has a good point though ,a guide wire would solve it.
I've adjusted the distance the Mower keeps from the wire.
In the manual it says you can use the "on wire " or V meter method to return to the base.I can't find how to change that setting. The app uses different terms than the manual.unless it's part of the set up the dealer did when he set it up.
All that being said it's doing a great job on my lawn . It's very complex and it's not missing any spots.The diagram I posted was simplified to show this particular issue.
Thanks again.
Gaffs89 is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
18-05-2021, 01:21   #3096
krissovo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCross View Post
Thats a bit of a design gap, isnt it?

There must be a proper solution to that as a mower going around in circles and eventually going dead isnt good enough really. The whole idea is that you can let it at it and not have to keep rescuing it.

Any input from the dealer or manufacturer? Or the manual?
I use the alternative solution for the Worx which is the the off limits module with magnetic wire, not cheap but at least it works......Mostly!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hPwVWMXce9Y

I have a 10x20 island plus a kids play area which is sand/gravel approx 15 x 20 and the off limits works well 95% of the time and certainly not as reliable as the wire. I sometimes find him stuck in the sand of the play area when he has crossed the boundary.
krissovo is offline  
18-05-2021, 12:21   #3097
Midlakelands
Registered User
 
Midlakelands's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaffs89 View Post
Thanks for the replies Lads.witnessmenows solution should work for me.
KCross has a good point though ,a guide wire would solve it.
I've adjusted the distance the Mower keeps from the wire.
In the manual it says you can use the "on wire " or V meter method to return to the base.I can't find how to change that setting. The app uses different terms than the manual.unless it's part of the set up the dealer did when he set it up.
All that being said it's doing a great job on my lawn . It's very complex and it's not missing any spots.The diagram I posted was simplified to show this particular issue.
Thanks again.
I'm new to the ambrogio range and only at the planning stage for installation of an l35 but from what I've been reading doesn't the ambrogios all have a recall to wire feature where you install a small 'spike' on the perimeter wire that is 5cms apart. That causes the mower to take a turn to another part of the garden where it will try to find the perimeter again and continue on its way back to the base. You need to plan them to ensure that the mower isnt going to go around in circles but putting one on a perimeter island might help in this case?
Midlakelands is offline  
Thanks from:
18-05-2021, 16:57   #3098
Gaffs89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 317
In the manual it's not very clear about the recall to wire.As far as I can make out you do that just before a narrow passage to make the Mower travel down the centre. I'll give it a try if it starts to circle the flower bed again.
Dam these things are addictive.Trying to get it perfect.
I can't believe how fast it got the lawn under control and looking well.
Gaffs89 is offline  
18-05-2021, 19:26   #3099
murfler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 43
Hi some advice needed please. After todays torrential rain I noticed some flooding around where I placed my charging station. Water was up on the base of charging station and very close to wheels of mower. I'm wondering should I be concerned of water damaging anything, is the PCB located a few inches up from bottom of station? I ran it all last year with no issues and today's rain was out of the ordinary but still I can't imagine that being great? I can't really raise the station as mower needs ground relatively flat to Dock. Thanks
murfler is offline  
Advertisement
18-05-2021, 19:27   #3100
murfler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by murfler View Post
Hi some advice needed please. After todays torrential rain I noticed some flooding around where I placed my charging station. Water was up on the base of charging station and very close to wheels of mower. I'm wondering should I be concerned of water damaging anything, is the PCB located a few inches up from bottom of station? I ran it all last year with no issues and today's rain was out of the ordinary but still I can't imagine that being great? I can't really raise the station as mower needs ground relatively flat to Dock. Thanks
Sorry I should have mentioned I have a husqvarna 430x
murfler is offline  
18-05-2021, 19:35   #3101
murfler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by murfler View Post
Sorry I should have mentioned I have a husqvarna 430x
Actually just found a YouTube video on how to change the PCB..it seems to be up off of base of station a couple of inches...I don't think the water will ever reach thar point..hopefully
murfler is offline  
18-05-2021, 20:44   #3102
KCross
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 10,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by murfler View Post
Hi some advice needed please. After todays torrential rain I noticed some flooding around where I placed my charging station. Water was up on the base of charging station and very close to wheels of mower. I'm wondering should I be concerned of water damaging anything, is the PCB located a few inches up from bottom of station? I ran it all last year with no issues and today's rain was out of the ordinary but still I can't imagine that being great? I can't really raise the station as mower needs ground relatively flat to Dock. Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by murfler View Post
Sorry I should have mentioned I have a husqvarna 430x
Quote:
Originally Posted by murfler View Post
Actually just found a YouTube video on how to change the PCB..it seems to be up off of base of station a couple of inches...I don't think the water will ever reach thar point..hopefully
You'll be fine. I've had the docking station opened. The electronics are well above ground level... they are roughly at the level where the docking head swivels.
KCross is offline  
18-05-2021, 21:58   #3103
murfler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCross View Post
You'll be fine. I've had the docking station opened. The electronics are well above ground level... they are roughly at the level where the docking head swivels.
Thank you
murfler is offline  
19-05-2021, 18:33   #3104
Boots234
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,089
Apologies, no doubt this has been asked previously but I bought a 315x yesterday and rang about adding it to the home insurance today but they will only insure anything that is left outside to the value of 650 euro. I can't see any option for robot lawnmowers on the gadget insurance website. Just wondering if it possible to get it insured or what other people have done? Is it even needed with the alarm etc?
Boots234 is offline  
20-05-2021, 09:07   #3105
ArrBee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by witnessmenow View Post
Worx told me to do this so I guess this is the solution

https://support.worx-europe.com/how-set-up-island

I have had this setup like basically all of last summer and it was no problem.

The mowers navigation is really simple, they basically have no idea where they are, they drive til the find the wire and follow it anti-clockwise til it finds home. When it finds the large island it doesn't know it's not the actual boundary. The only thing it could do software wise if there is was a max time to go home, and if it spent more than that going home it searched for a new boundary

That link is really interesting. It describes the issue well.
The issue applies for Islands greater than 6m X 6m only
It says there is something in it's software to detect when it has completed a lap around an island and will move of to find the boundary but only if it is smaller than the specified size.

Nice to know and something I'll be testing as I have a worx with large island, but smaller than 6x6

Last edited by ArrBee; 20-05-2021 at 09:22.
ArrBee is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet