Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Royal Canal on a Road Bike

• Registered Users Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

CapnHex wrote: »
    I snuck onto the new section up to Fureys in Moyvalley. The new ramp is still fenced off, the top surface of gravel/grit is required on this section, but I imagine it's not far off completion.

Is it possible to work your way around the fencing at Kilmore Bridge and at the new ramp? I found the unfinished hard core surface just about OK to cycle on last year but I wouldn't want to do the 1.8km and then have to return to Kilmore.

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭CapnHex

To my shame, I walked around/under the ramp, then under the original bridge on the narrow path alongside the canal, and back up the existing ramp to the road at Fureys. I was prepared to go back, but able to get through without disturbing anything.

CapnHex wrote: »
    To my shame, I walked around/under the ramp, then under the original bridge on the narrow path alongside the canal, and back up the existing ramp to the road at Fureys. I was prepared to go back, but able to get through without disturbing anything.

No shame required. I did the same last year but ran into major works a few hundred metres before Fureys. A helpful workman escorted me through to the old ramp and told me about plans for the new one. Neither of us thought it would take so long to complete.

More info from Waterways Ireland:

"You will see on the website (www.waterwaysireland.org/royalcanalstatus) that the sections currently under construction have a completion date of Q3 in 2019, with the aim of launching the fully branded and ready for market Greenway to the public in Q1 of 2020.

The aim is that the 130km stretch from Maynooth to Longford/Richmond Harbour will be ready for market in Q1 of 2020, with the appropriate national Greenway branding including signs, and other marketing materials such as a website, brochures and guides. At present Waterways Ireland does not have a date surrounding the developments taking place east of Maynooth towards Spencer Dock in Dublin, some of these sections have only recently been granted planning, this section of the canal has a much longer completion date.

It is important to note that there are two sides to the canal with only one side under construction, I recognise that a grass towpath is not ideal, but in certain sections it can act as a detour when travelling through the sections which are currently being developed.

I hope this clarifies the current position regarding the development works taking place on the Royal Canal, please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you have any further queries or questions."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭Rechuchote

"The aim is that the 130km stretch from Maynooth to Longford/Richmond Harbour will be ready for market in Q1 of 2020, with the appropriate national Greenway branding including signs, and other marketing materials such as a website, brochures and guides. At present Waterways Ireland does not have a date surrounding the developments taking place east of Maynooth towards Spencer Dock in Dublin, some of these sections have only recently been granted planning, this section of the canal has a much longer completion date."

Hate that way of thinking. When did we become "customers" instead of citizens or residents?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Rechuchote wrote: »
    Hate that way of thinking. When did we become "customers" instead of citizens or residents?

I would guess the marketing speak is coming from the tourism angle but it's telling alright that the provision of something like this is so much more motivated by bagging cash from tourists rather than addressing the chronic lack of infrastructure for local people.

Having said that, I don't really care what speak they use or what *I* am as long as it gets done.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,840 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

which is the best of the 2 canals to cycle this year? is it worth waiting to do the royal next year? will it be a big improvement?

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 954 ✭✭✭caff

silverharp wrote: »
    which is the best of the 2 canals to cycle this year? is it worth waiting to do the royal next year? will it be a big improvement?

Not sure about the grand but you still have the section of the Royal called the deep sinking between Castle knock and lexlip that would be very unsuitable for cycling

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

caff wrote: »
    Not sure about the grand but you still have the section of the Royal called the deep sinking between Castle knock and lexlip that would be very unsuitable for cycling

This is the best bit! I've done it plenty of times on my CX bike with 40mm tyres- no problems at all

• Registered Users Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Royal.

You can cycle 140km from Dublin to Cloondara on the Shannon near Longford, or down to Athlone with a couple of small diversions.

Deep Sinking beside Castleknock can be done on foot, it's about 1.75km at the most to push it - 20 mins.

One or two small diversions between there and Maynooth due to works, the rest is grass, gravel or tar.

From Maynooth to Moyvalley it's all tar or new grit with these two exceptions, the first one can be done on grass on the south bank but it's a bit bumpy.

1. https://www.google.com/maps/dir/53.4197812,-6.7125404/53.4183672,-6.7915376/@53.4186579,-6.7865444,13z/data=!3m1!4b1!4m2!4m1!3e1

2. https://www.google.com/maps/dir/53.4192954,-6.8985429/Fureys+Bar/@53.4218396,-6.909615,15z/data=!4m9!4m8!1m0!1m5!1m1!1s0x485d8974c34789cd:0xb76ada295bbea33c!2m2!1d-6.916129!2d53.429611!3e1

Moyvalley to Athlone or Longford/Cloondara is excellent tar or grit.

Well worth doing. Train accompanies a lot of the route so you can take that if you get tired.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭Rechuchote

What will/should be done about the Deep Sinking? It's such a lovely sinister name!

Rechuchote wrote: »
    What will/should be done about the Deep Sinking? It's such a lovely sinister name!

Check out from post #256 on.

Did Spencer Dock to Cloondara today on my cx bike, great spin -only one slight detour around Moyvalley, otherwise I was on the canal bank the whole time.

Great amenity to have :-)

https://strava.app.link/nPaoTk139X

• Registered Users Posts: 6,482 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

I scouted from North Strand to Maynooth and back last week. I took the gravel bike. It was great fun. There is no way I’d take my road bike from Ashtown on to maynooth.

• Registered Users Posts: 36,164 ✭✭✭✭ED E

colm18 wrote: »
    Did Spencer Dock to Cloondara today on my cx bike, great spin -only one slight detour around Moyvalley, otherwise I was on the canal bank the whole time.

*converts to strava route*

Cheers :D

colm18 wrote: »

Super ride. When you had to turn back at Moyvalley, did it look like there was much more work to be done?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,327 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i'm impressed that someone has managed the deep sinking at 33km/h.

Super ride. When you had to turn back at Moyvalley, did it look like there was much more work to be done?

Sorry, I was too busy giving out to the construction lads about the lack of signage to notice!

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭CapnHex

We did Mullingar to Ballymahon at the weekend. Parked at the Old Rail Trail carpark, which was packed @10:30 am and empty 10 minutes later. There's a park run on the canal/rail trail every Saturday, so be warned if planning to use the Old Rail Trail carpark in that time frame. We noticed that work is underway at Abbeyschrule to extend the cycle track on the north side of the canal, meaning the approach on the road into Abbeyscrule will become redundant for cyclists. A few other cosmetic changes, such as National Famine Way signage and better directional signage in general.

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭CormacH94

Any update on Fern's Lock to Cloncurry? Was last near it around April, didn't seem like there was much work left to do?

CormacH94 wrote: »
    Any update on Fern's Lock to Cloncurry? Was last near it around April, didn't seem like there was much work left to do?

See posts #361 & 365.

• Registered Users Posts: 690 ✭✭✭poochiem

KevRossi wrote: »

Thanks for the replies. I took the train to Mullingar on Saturday then the canal to Cloondara and the route above with a change to visit my Grandfather's childhood home in Leitrim near Roosky/Dromod. The canal is well surfaced but my average speed was really slow tbh, it's just a slow surface in parts. I continued to Sligo and have to say the Roscommon and Sligo road surfaces shook and rattled me to numbness. Road bike with 25mm gatorskins and a full enough load of camping gear etc.

Very enjoyable all the same. Wild camped in Rosses Point that night.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

CormacH94 wrote: »

I passed that way last weekend coming from Enfield. It's still fenced off on the north side of the canal but both fences were easily bypassed and the surface was rideable though still coarse.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭a148pro

Decent argument you should do the barrow way on a bike, with or without the grand canal out from Dublin to Robertstown, as Waterways' plan is to pave the Barrow

You will probably need relatively wide tyres. Hopefully they wont ultimately pave it as its the only actually green greenway I know

(I say this without having done it)

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭Reznorek

I plan to take a route from Dublin to Mullingar on the gravel bike. Start in the morning, stay in Mullingar and come back the next day. Is Deep Sinking the only place through which it will be difficult to drive? The rest of the route is doable in a few hours for an intermediate advanced cyclist?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭De Bhál

a148pro wrote: »
    Decent argument you should do the barrow way on a bike, with or without the grand canal out from Dublin to Robertstown, as Waterways' plan is to pave the Barrow

You will probably need relatively wide tyres. Hopefully they wont ultimately pave it as its the only actually green greenway I know

I rode the Grand canal path, including the Barrow Way to Graiguenamangh about 6weeks ago. Ground is bone dry with much of the route a path worn in grass.
    A very enjoyable day away from cars etc. You won't regret it. Leave early if you plan on doing it in one go. I used a CX bike.

Reznorek wrote: »
    I plan to take a route from Dublin to Mullingar on the gravel bike. Start in the morning, stay in Mullingar and come back the next day. Is Deep Sinking the only place through which it will be difficult to drive? The rest of the route is doable in a few hours for an intermediate advanced cyclist?
    Deep Sinking is a bit technical but I did it recently on a loaded touring bike. It's not far to walk if you need to and you can bypass it on road between Coolmine station and Porterstown bridge.
    The rest of the ride is paved or almost complete. There are two fenced off sections but the fences are easy to bypass or you can ride the grassy opposite bank which is slower but scenic. I'd suggest riding the grassy banks outbound and you can decide which to ride on the way back.

Head a bit west of Mullingar and take a side-trip to Lough Ennell just for the view.

a148pro wrote: »

Make a proper holiday of this:
    • Take a train Dublin to Cahir.
    • Ride the Suir Blueway to Carrick on Suir.
    • Ride south to Kilmacthomas. (On road)
    • Ride west to Dungarvan then back to Waterford.
    • Ride northeast to New Ross. (On road)
    • Ride the Barrow Way to Robertstown.
    • Ride the Grand Canal west to Shannon Harbour.
    • Ride north to Athlone. (On road)
    • Ride Athlone to Mullingar on the greenway. Alternatively ride north on road to Termonbarry.
    • Ride the Royal Canal back to Dublin
    Works out around 600k with max 150k on road...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭a148pro

That sounds like an audax from hell - however, I really like the start of it. Have done a bunch of the other two canals so if I leave those out it could be a very pleasant 3 dayer

Thanks for the suggestion, I may well actually do this

Edit from 2 day to 3 day to keep it "pleasant"

• Registered Users Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

"

At present Waterways Ireland does not have a date surrounding the developments taking place east of Maynooth towards Spencer Dock in Dublin, some of these sections have only recently been granted planning, this section of the canal has a much longer completion date.

"
    I thought the work from Maynooth to Louisa bridge was done? and its fine onto Confey?