Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today Show with Sarah McInerney

• Registered Users Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭deiseindublin

Ah come off it, he came across as a right gombeen. He can call it what he wants but €16.5k extra is a pay rise, no matter how he explains it, and as for him bull****ting on about agreeing with equal pay for equal work, even though he it seemingly wasn't pay.............

He's self serving and will change with the wind depending on what they need any given day.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,057 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Infoanon wrote: »
    You are the one hailing your 'lad' - simple question was everything your 'lad' said today true ?

You are the one implying that someone said “everything he said was true”

Who said that, and we can start from there.

Who said by implication from you “Everything he said was true”?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,619 ✭✭✭Infoanon

You are the one implying that someone said “everything he said was true”

Who said that, and we can start from there.

Who said by implication from you “Everything he said was true”?

Did you not say that voters know the difference between the truth and bluster implying that your lad was telling the truth.

I don't think Alan Farrells contribution today was in anyway helpful - you have a different opinion.

“You can't defend the indefensible - anything you say sounds self-serving and hypocritical.” The “lad” should have heard of that quote, and applied it to his performance today

Infoanon wrote: »
    Did you not say that voters know the difference between the truth and bluster implying that your lad was telling the truth.

I don't think Alan Farrells contribution today was in anyway helpful - you have a different opinion.

You inferred wrongly that that is what I said or meant.Nowhere next or near it.

Now I don’t mind insults, name calling, personal abuse, well used to it.

What I don’t like is folk trying to put words into my mouth.

Please don’t try a stunt like that on me again.

Appreciate that.

I wouldn’t amongst ‘those people’ Ty.

However, and I say this whilst admitting I didn’t fully listen to the show today, given that most discerning folk know the ‘form’ of journalists and which ‘side‘ they are batting from, one would expect the panel to be more balanced.

I mean constructing a panel of journalists like say, Vincent Browne, Gene Kerrigan’ Collette Browne and say Oliver Callan, I think even the most biased observer wouldn’t call that balanced.

Acute observers know well what would be expected from them, I would suspect.
    I totally agree, Brendan — that would not be balanced. And whilst some of us would go out of our way to hear a panel of the socialist left "Dream Team" consisting of the people you've named, that isn't what happened here.

Alan Farrell, possibly the most economically right-wing backbencher of the Dáil in living memory, was there to counterbalance the views of a milquetoast socialist. I hadn't heard the exchange myself until this morning, but I submit there was a balance of views.

You inferred wrongly that that is what I said or meant.Nowhere next or near it.

Now I don’t mind insults, name calling, personal abuse, well used to it.

What I don’t like is folk trying to put words into my mouth.

Please don’t try a stunt like that on me again.

Appreciate that.

Almost as patronising as your lad .

Didn't realise asking you to answer a simple question about your lad was a 'stunt'.

A question you still have not answered.

Championing Alan Farrell as the solution to perceived bias in the media is foolhardy.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

When is the new permanent presenter being announced?

• Registered Users Posts: 20 RayserSharp

I think she's very good. Quite tenacious in her questioning. Just one little gripe; she tends to interrupt the interviewee before the end of a sentence.

I totally agree, Brendan — that would not be balanced. And whilst some of us would go out of our way to hear a panel of the socialist left "Dream Team" consisting of the people you've named, that isn't what happened here.

Alan Farrell, possibly the most economically right-wing backbencher of the Dáil in living memory, was there to counterbalance the views of a milquetoast socialist. I hadn't heard the exchange myself until this morning, but I submit there was a balance of views.

Thanks! I learned a new word today, and what an excellent word it is. I will be using it at least once a day now - until another interesting and apposite word comes into my lexicon.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,987 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Thats not Sarah today!

Edit: Marty? FFS.
    Backfired on RTe today, with such big news to have MM at the helm.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

Did brenda just refer to John Hume as 'Pat'?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,987 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

PieOhMy wrote: »
    Did brenda just refer to John Hume as 'Pat'?

john's wife is Pat.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,703 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

NIMAN wrote: »
    Thats not Sarah today!

Typical.

Rolled the dice on nothing happening on a bank holiday and lost.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

john's wife is Pat.

Ah gotcha- was very confused there!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,675 ✭✭✭serfboard

I only heard the very end of the programme, but Marty seemed alright to me.

But if you didn't like it, The News At One was a very well put together programme, I thought - an hour-long tribute to the man from all sorts of people, with lots of archival stuff as well. Now I know that some of it was in the Obit file that a lot of media organisations keep on well-known people, and particularly older ones, but it was still well done.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭Cole

Sarah's inconsistent 'tough' interviewing (for which she often gets credit) again. The students union rep. wanting the universities to hold their hand and provide everything for them...just bring your mask and wear the fecking thing...it took a texter to state the obvious. Sarah (yet again) picking and choosing who/what to challenge.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Cole wrote: »
    Sarah's inconsistent 'tough' interviewing (for which she often gets credit) again. The students union rep. wanting the universities to hold their hand and provide everything for them...just bring your mask and wear the fecking thing...it took a texter to state the obvious. Sarah (yet again) picking and choosing who/what to challenge.

Is there any chance she sees things differently to you and what is the best way to approach an interview?

All interviewers adapt their style based on the topic, the interviewee and their personal views on the matter.

I wouldn't see it as a weakness unless it is obvious that an interview is a fluff piece purely being held to give the interviewee some free press (what Maria Bailey thought she was getting).

Is there any chance she sees things differently to you and what is the best way to approach an interview?

All interviewers adapt their style based on the topic, the interviewee and their personal views on the matter.

I wouldn't see it as a weakness unless it is obvious that an interview is a fluff piece purely being held to give the interviewee some free press (what Maria Bailey thought she was getting).

While there is no doubt that the interviewer / Sarah does adapt different styles ,there has been a lack of challenging the interviewee over the last two days.

I think there's a very good chance that many people see many things differently, but this is a radio forum for Sarah McInerney's show, where we offer out our views (positive and negative) on her show and how she interviews/handles issues. Isn't that the whole point?

See that's where we clearly differ...and that's okay. Of course she can adapt her style based on the topic/interviewee, but I'm not so sure she should be bringing her personal views to most topics typically covered on this show.

Today's topic (Covid19/public health) is one where she has 'grilled' some guests (and maybe rightly so) but has let others completely off the hook. I think not challenging a student union rep, who was putting herself forward to pose some ridiculous (imo) questions on university policies related to public health/Covid19, is utterly inconsistent...like she did with Claire Daly a couple of months ago.

Imho letting Healy Rae talk yesterday was a good approach but when interviewing Tanya Arwey Sarah corrected Tanya on the travel guidance but didn't challenge Tanya on the key point of the interview - that the government had changed the greenlist - when Tanya should have been fully aware that the Government had always advised the list would change.

Just a suggestion - some of the research team may be away at the moment and hence Sarah is not as well briefed.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I think there's a very good chance that many people see many things differently, but this is a radio forum for Sarah McInerney's show, where we offer out our views (positive and negative) on her show and how she interviews/handles issues. Isn't that the whole point?

See that's where we clearly differ...and that's okay. Of course she can adapt her style based on the topic/interviewee, but I'm not so sure she should be bringing her personal views to most topics typically covered on this show.

Today's topic (Covid19/public health) is one where she has 'grilled' some guests (and maybe rightly so) but has let others completely off the hook. I think not challenging a student union rep, who was putting herself forward to pose some ridiculous (imo) questions on university policies related to public health/Covid19, is utterly inconsistent...like she did with Claire Daly a couple of months ago.

Yes, but if her opinions were the same as yours, would you be posting here saying she shouldn't let them influence her style?

I don't think any host does not demonstrate their own views on occasion, and that is fine, but I do find it interesting that we often read on these threads posts where someone is judged somewhat for doing so while others are on occasion praised for 'telling it like it is'.

The behaviour of the presenter is the same in both cases except the views of the person making the post often dictate which way they feel about that behaviour.

Yes, but if her opinions were the same as yours, would you be posting here saying she shouldn't let them influence her style?

Yes...when dealing with important issues that require balance and consistency, unless it's a (as you said) a"fluff piece" where it's not of much significance what Sarah's taste in movies or music is, for example.

Anyway, I didn't make any point about her opinions in the first place. My point was about inconsistency, regardless of whether I agree or disagree with her (perceived) opinions on the topic.

Yes...when dealing with important issues that require balance and consistency, unless it's a (as you said) a"fluff piece" where it's not of much significance what Sarah's taste in movies or music is, for example.

Anyway, I didn't make any point about her opinions in the first place. My point was about inconsistency, regardless of whether I agree or disagree with her (perceived) opinions on the topic.

Good call mr C .....now I didn’t hear today’s show due to important company business but your general points are ,imo , are good.

People need to be interviewed with similar style and attitude.

You can’t adopt an excoriating demeanor and bulldog approach to those in power and then adopt a powder puff demeanour to their opposition .

An approach well used by Vinnie when he was in his heyday.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Klonker

I just want to say fair dues to John Halligan, he's no longer a TD but is still working to get legislation passed that he thinks will help people. I agree with his bill for the right to die but I have a feeling it'll be at least 10 years until such a bill would be passed in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 349 ✭✭bossdrum

Klonker wrote: »
    I just want to say fair dues to John Halligan, he's no longer a TD but is still working to get legislation passed that he thinks will help people. I agree with his bill for the right to die but I have a feeling it'll be at least 10 years until such a bill would be passed in Ireland.

John Halligan announced in January he was retiring from political life. Unfortunately like most politicians he just can't keep a promise.

As for a right to die bill being passed in Ireland within 10 years, the recent abortion figures would show that life has very little value and any such bill will be heavily promoted as being compassionate.
    In an ideal world many of us would like the option to end our lives if pain or quality of life was significantly impacted by illness. Unfortunately people cannot be trusted and the legislation would be used by some carers, relatives, medics etc. to put pressure on patients to request such a service.

bossdrum wrote: »
    John Halligan announced in January he was retiring from political life. Unfortunately like most politicians he just can't keep a promise.

As for a right to die bill being passed in Ireland within 10 years, the recent abortion figures would show that life has very little value and any such bill will be heavily promoted as being compassionate.
    In an ideal world many of us would like the option to end our lives if pain or quality of life was significantly impacted by illness. Unfortunately people cannot be trusted and the legislation would be used by some carers, relatives, medics etc. to put pressure on patients to request such a service.

Both my mum and my dad spent the last years of their long lives in a state of dementia or Alzheimer’s, both doubly incontinent, at times frightened and unsettled, incoherent and unknowing, robbed of their memories, unable to recognize their children and grandchildren, and finally in good care homes, where they passed away.

In his earlier years, my dad had said to me, of a friend of his whose mother was going through what he was unwittingly going to face himself in later life, “if I get like that, I wouldn’t want to live to an old age”.

Neither of my parents wanted to spend the last years of their life in the way they did. Nor, I can categorically assure you, do I.

I think that a well considered and proper debate needs to take place about dealing with the end of life in terminally ill and serious mental and cognitive situations. It’s mostly an ethical question. But let’s have an open discussion and avoid the histrionics. Not to have the discussion is the worst outcome, in my view.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

bossdrum wrote: »

Euthanasia is compassion, I abstained from the abortion referendum but would vote for the right to die without reservation

Maybe it's because I've lived with chronic pain on and off for year's, people in a much worse situation than me and with no chance of recovery, deserve to be allowed control their suffering

• Registered Users Posts: 930 ✭✭✭Bellbottoms

Is the site on Sean McDermott Street that they are refering to the former Magdeline laundry?

Wasn't there some talk about turning it into a museum.

Edit: It is, Jesus. Imagine turning that into a hotel.

Eoghan Corry and his views on Covid19 and travel advice...come on Sarah do your best combative, grilling interview thing.