Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Diego Armando Maradona 1960 - 2020

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

R.I.P Diego the greatest of all time and good socialist as well fitting he passed on Fidel's anniversary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Iscreamkone

Those who love football will mourn our beautiful Diego.
    He was an artist - our Rembrandt, Picasso and Van Gogh all rolled into one.
    He wasn't afraid of the big teams or bully boys - just give him the ball and everything will fine.
    Wherever football is played or talked about, the story of Diego Armando Maradona will be told.
    Sleep well Diego you will never be forgotten xxx

• Registered Users Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

Packed a lot of living into those 60 years i'd say.
    One of the special ones, never to be forgotten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

I was there too. One thing I remember is it was the days when photographers were allowed into the field of play or at least behind the goals so that they could snap the shots as they went in.
    I don't want to rewrite history but I was sure that match was at the end of May 1979 (that 2018 article says May 1980) when Maradona was 18.

• Registered Users Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Tomaldo

Thanks for the memories God

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭BionicRasher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

"But Maradona had been to Dublin before.

In May 1979, a charity exhibition was arranged to raise money for Unicef and the reigning world champions were invited to Lansdowne Road to face an Irish/Shamrock Rovers XI, the entire event effectively arranged by Rovers’ doyen Louis Kilcoyne.
    Argentina were on a European tour and a few days later, Maradona – then just 18 – would put on a show at Hamden Park and score his very first goal for his country against Scotland.
    But in Dublin 4 that evening, he left quite an impression too, coming on as a second-half substitute. Though the game ended 0-0, he displayed enough flicks and tricks to justify the hype."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭Pasteur.

Someone post up a free kick from his Napoli days

He was amazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

I've watched loads of videos just watching him train. The way he could kick the ball sky high and then just control it perfectly when it came back down. A magician.

Even a tennis ball...even recently

A sad sight though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

He's was the best player I've ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

The true stamp of greatness - getting slagged off by Eamon Dunphy.

Dunphy is wrong about everything nearly all of the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

Never has the phrase "Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam" seemed more apt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,626 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

The greatest.

• Registered Users Posts: 392 ✭✭bewareofthedog

Laois_Man wrote: »

A sad sight though!

Maybe I missed the joke but that's from a film :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

I don't have many sporting heroes, but Maradona was one of them.

Enrxxr3WMAI4mST?format=jpg&name=900x900

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Das Reich

sydthebeat wrote: »
    who would have though in 1997, when he retired, that he would be dead before Pele ???

I think everyone. I did see him personally about 20 years ago I could never thought that man was 40 years old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,355 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

The recent film documentary about him was great. It centred around his time in Naples after his heroics at Mexico 86. He was a god there and was sad to see the Italians boo him in the final in 90 after Argentina knocked them out in the semis. Although it was funny to see, as his National anthem played as the players lined up in the final and the Italian support booing it, he was saying “ye sons of bi+ches....”. What a character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,626 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

seamus wrote: »
    I always found it bizarre how much the "hand of god" incident was applauded and celebrated in the football world as an iconic goal.

It was blatant cheating in front of a global audience and in the highest competition the sport has. It should have been vilified as a dismal failure of the officials and an alarm bell about how normalised cheating and foul play had become in the sport - anything goes so long as you can get away with it.

The other goal he scored in that game though, that was something else.

Well, that's one way of looking at it.

It certainly was blatant cheating, but it is still iconic - one of the most famous goals in history.

I honestly can't remember it being applauded in too many quarters.

But I think it resonates a bit still with people because it gets to the heart of the mystique of Maradonna: the sublime genius mixed with the darkness. Of course he would have to score perhaps literally the greatest goal of all time in the exact same match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,617 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Another example of a fine talent fckued up by drugs.

When i see his name two things spring to mind, hand of god (cheater) and drugs. Not the legacy he could have left but those were his choices.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

RIP - one of the last of the living legends, drinking scoops with Paidí o Sé tonight, the dudes won't know themselves.

BN-UT179_0818DI_H_20170818194712.jpgMaradona-web-2-750x392.jpgmaradona-mural-argentinos-juniors-stadium-buenos-aires-buenosairesstreetart.com_.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,297 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

He ran around a field and kicked a ball and got paid silly money for it. Fair play to him for making a life out of that but it's hardly a real job is it.

Anyway RIP to him.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭mean gene

The best of all time and a character leading napoli to those league titles and Argentinas world cups cements his place as the greatest player to have played the game

Rip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Saw him in the San Paulo stadium in 1990 v Soviet Union. Great team, Jorge, Canniga, Batista, Maradona, class team. Argentina 2 USSR 0.

Lucky enough to be based in Paestum, just outside Naples and went down with a crowd of lads from Ferbane to see the great Maradona in his adopted city.

Great times to be an Irish supporter.

6 wrote: »
    Doubt he was partying too hard as a toddler

ok, 40 or so years.

Of course he was also a very fit man in his twenties, maybe not as fit as footballers today but fitter than most men his age. Cocaine and alcohol are not a good mix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Anniepowaa

_Brian wrote: »

When i see his name two things spring to mind, hand of god (cheater) and drugs. Not the legacy he could have left but those were his choices.

Ha legacy he could have left? He's the most iconic footballer to exist you clown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,617 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Anniepowaa wrote: »
    Ha legacy he could have left? He's the most iconic footballer to exist you clown

Cheats and druggies don’t do it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,526 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Diego's passing was the top story on Nuacht RTÉ this evening. RIP to the hand of god. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Sam Hain

Still think that would be given as a Terry Butcher own goal nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

An absolute magician with a football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

Best I've seen. Sad day. RIP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 725 ✭✭✭ElJeffe

Seen him play at Hampden in the late 70's as a young lad with my dad. Can't say he made an impression in my mind at the time because i was in awe of seeing Kenny Dalglish in the flesh but i do remember my dad raving about him. Probably didn't help that i was only 7 at the time and couldn't see much unless i got on the auld lads shoulders either.

Anyway in my mind the greatest ever for what he achieved with Napoli and of course Argentina . R.I.P.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 725 ✭✭✭ElJeffe

Oh do grow up.

He came from nothing and became the most famous footballer on the planet. He must have been under extraordinary pressure as a human being.

Have some perspective for goodness sake.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

He'll never be matched for the talent, personality and moments of brilliance he created.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,984 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Rip legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

ElJeffe wrote: »
    Oh do grow up.

He came from nothing and became the most famous footballer on the planet. He must have been under extraordinary pressure as a human being.

Have some perspective for goodness sake.

The likes of Maradona can be put alongside those other chipped geniuses such as Best or Alex Higgins. I actually think their failings makes them all the more appealing.
    I thought he was great regardless of what the perfectionists feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,408 ✭✭✭corner of hells

His last comments were that he would like to score against England again , this time with his right hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,021 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Don't mean to be insensitive but does this sad news warrant being the main headline on both the main evening news bulletins, just seems extraordinary with what is going on in the world but more importantly closer to home, Patricia Carrick"s Death, 2 homeless men found dead on the streets of our capital city (One just a few yards from the Dail)

Maybe I'm wrong but WTF is going on in the crazy world.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,734 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

I always think football genius when I see his name. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

The greatest talent the game has ever seen.... Remember Monday nights back in the mid 80's and watching Italian football highlights on RTE 2... What a league that was back then, full of the worlds greatest players and Maradona was head and shoulders above every other player in the League.........

Rip.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭barrier86

The greatest ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,702 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

RIP. :(

1950.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,653 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

The greatest naturally gifted player ever. An actual magician. So sorry to hear but I guess he had a good life. RIP

• Registered Users Posts: 2,898 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Amazing player on the pitch, possibly the greatest ever and my favourite player of all time. Absolutely bonkers off the pitch, he certainly lived a colourful life. Don't think we'll ever see a player dominate a world cup again like he did in 86. Single handedly turned Napoli from also rans to challenge and then topple a star studded AC Milan in the late 80's. As long as the game is played he will be remembered as not only one of the true greats of the game, but, also one of it's most colourful and controversial characters. He leaves behind so many iconic moments. A sad day for football.
    May he rest in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭Esse85

He used get kicked and hacked in most games, very tough player.
    Incredible how he single handedly did what he did for Napoli and Argentina. Not sure we've seen that since or will see it again, much more about a team game today.

Ought to be remembered for the supreme talent he was, an absolute icon, impacted millions in a positive way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

One of a kind, but what an artist. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Laois_Man wrote: »

A sad sight though!

That's not him.
    That is an actor filmed in 2015.
    AMKC wrote: »
    He ran around a field and kicked a ball and got paid silly money for it. Fair play to him for making a life out of that but it's hardly a real job is it.

Anyway RIP to him.

don't care if i am banned or not but qwould ya ever feck off.

He didn't get the millions they do today and had to withstand them kicking lumps out of him every week.
    Then he had to play getting injections for the pain.

He played himself out of poverty in the Barios and captured the hearts of millions that 25 years after his glory days mourn him today.

Another fooking misery.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Ultimanemo

RIP Diego

• Registered Users Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭boardise

Pasteur. wrote: »
    You're so wrong there it wasn't applauded ever

The Brits played it up and downplayed the genius goal

I'm sure lots of Irish fans laugh it off -so easy to do.
    Not too many laughed about Thierry Henry's little manual effort though...
    I wonder what the difference is.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭boardise

[QUOTE=The Tetrarch;115417813

]The true stamp of greatness - getting slagged off by Eamon Dunphy.[/QUOTE]

Correct
    Dunphy -the greatest attention-seeking , windbag of a busted flush of all time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Stunning player

The opposition were kicking lumps out of him at Mexico 86.

He just dusted himself off and glided past them.

While his time in Naples was a great success on the pitch, he got involved with mobsters and drug dealers. Naples was ultimately his downfall.