Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farm Sayings

• Registered Users Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Have you ever seen a rusty man, If a lad was afraid to work in the rain

• Registered Users Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

An old family one I'd forgotten its from the UK and I was reminded of it on BBC Radio 4 today (Gardeners Question Time).

"All behind like a cows tail"

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Jjameson

“Anytime we have lads we”ll have it this evenin”
    A very large industrious farmer with no less than 10 Nuffield tractors would say this to his men to try shorten dinner and Tay time.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Jjameson wrote: »
    “Anytime we have lads we”ll have it this evenin”
    A very large industrious farmer with no less than 10 Nuffield tractors would say this to his men to try shorten dinner and Tay time.

Me father and Uncle would same the same thing at tea time when working when I was a gasun. "Whatever time we have, we'll have it in the evening". Two horses of men to work.
    "Is there wind promised............cos if ya don't fire up a bucket of muck me mortar board will fly away". That or they would leave half a block on the board, stand up for a chat until I twigged that it was me that was the topic of conversation.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,044 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Mechanic friend says when working in a tight spot "you'd want the hands of a midwife" or when the spanners or bolts fall on the ground "just aswell we're not at sea"

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

On judging the attributes of good hunt horse

"The arse of a cook and the head of a duchess"

gozunda wrote: »
    On judging the attributes of good hunt horse

"The arse of a cook and the head of a duchess"

Brilliant!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,186 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

''he didn't lick it was FF the ground'' referring to a young lad that was similar to the father, whether it was lazy, cute, bright or as thick as two planks.

There was an ould lad that if you were filling a trailer with turf used to say ''the sooner it's filled the sooner it's back''. It wasn't much of an incentive when you when you taught about it. Real funny one one day a lad explained on the QT to him that it was better to say
    '' the sooner it's filled the sooner we have a rest''. However he wise'd up the other lad as to what he told him.

As proud as punch he banged out the new punch line.
    '' the sooner it's filled the sooner we have a rest''.

However one of the lads countered as fast
    '' but the sooner it's back Tom''

Everybody burst out laughing except the auld fella

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Fill the back of the shovel. The front will look after itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭JustAThought

gozunda wrote: »
    All fur coat and no nickers - from the OHs granny

Someone who tries to put on a facade despite things being otherwise

My granny used AlWAYS use this - and she was so proper - you’d never expect her to come out with something like this or use the word knickers! I think of her saying it every time I hear it! RIP

• Registered Users Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

My granny used AlWAYS use this - and she was so proper - you’d never expect her to come out with something like this or use the word knickers! I think of her saying it every time I hear it! RIP

Funnily enough its the first expression that comes to mind when I'm driving around country lanes and spot a brand new impressive set of gates and fancy bit of walling for a new house.

There is one I pass regularly that from the road looks really grand but from inside on the drive and looking up from the house all you see are badly pointed concrete blocks.

Wake me up when it's all over.

A cut above buttermilk

An attractive girl would “do for a poke if the telly was broke”

• Registered Users Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Funnily enough its the first expression that comes to mind when I'm driving around country lanes and spot a brand new impressive set of gates and fancy bit of walling for a new house.

There is one I pass regularly that from the road looks really grand but from inside on the drive and looking up from the house all you see are badly pointed concrete blocks.

!! I don’t think my granny ever meant it about men - or property notions - she would Always use this the context of women - all dressed up like royalty but with no knickers on underneath - loose values & ready for action :0
    When she got older we used bring her in magazines to read - vanity fair & cosmopolitan & she would look at the models wearing half nothing draped over wealthy men and say dryly ‘ all fur coat and no knickers that one’.
    Got me every time!!!

Another - it was far from (pasta) you were raised. Or (ski-holidays), etc

• Registered Users Posts: 593 ✭✭✭triona1

Ugly as sin but beautiful money.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,695 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Fill the back of the shovel. The front will look after itself.

I worked with a guy once who would avoid work like the plague. He had every trick in the book to get tru the day doing as little as possible. I watched him once stand beside a computer from about 11am till 5pm when the boss told him he'd be back in a minute and forgot about him. If anyone asked him what he was doing he said he was waiting for the boss.

The funny thing was my uncle knew his dad and he was the same way. He worked for the council on the roads. Every so often, they'd get new shovels but yer man would never take one. One day one of the younger lads asked him why. He said 'look at me with my half worn shovel, I'm shovelling as often as you, but I'm only doing half the work.'
    Your story reminded me of him. He didn't lick it off the road, as they say.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

"He wouldn't work to warm himself", for the fellow standing by the computer all day.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

NcdJd wrote: »

Pressure is for tyres.

And women's bra straps.

He wouldn't work if he'd a battery in him.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

If lying on the bed was work he would lie on the floor

mfceiling wrote: »
    And women's bra straps.

He wouldn't work if he'd a battery in him.

Hmm aren’t we very pc!
    “Pressure is for a traveler woman’s bra straps “is how I always hear it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

Jjameson wrote: »
    Hmm aren’t we very pc!
    “Pressure is for a traveler woman’s bra straps “is how I always hear it.

Christ you reminded me I was in a pub one night and a particular woman with a group of women was the one buying all the drinks for the rest. A roll of notes kept in between her air bags.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

NcdJd wrote: »
    Christ you reminded me I was in a pub one night and a particular woman with a group of women was the one buying all the drinks for the rest. A roll of notes kept in between her air bags.

A high interest rate to be found there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,317 ✭✭✭razor8

Engine is knocking like a skeleton having a **** in a biscuit tin

• Registered Users Posts: 10,695 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

razor8 wrote: »
    Engine is knocking like a skeleton having a **** in a biscuit tin

Or the opposite, engine ticking over like a mouse's heart.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭Toetohand

I’m as weak as a June gosling

I’m so hungry I’d ate the hind leg of the lamb of the God

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭Anniepower

I’d ate Jesus off the cross I’m so hungry.

If you look for trouble you will get plenty of it.

A euro today is worth more then a euro tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Plough a bog and you'll get rushes ...

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Jamesbeirne

He tied a pup to the door.
    He owes money to someone

• Registered Users Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭BnB

That hoor wouldn't hurl spuds to geese

Translated: I suggest that chap is not the most talented hurler on the field

• Registered Users Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭minerleague

"Dacent people aren't exact"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

If he didn't say it once he said it a half dozen times..