Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farm Sayings

• Registered Users Posts: 3,616 ✭✭✭chooseusername

Lad in the next parish nickname is 'Bungalow'
    I asked the auld lad when I was younger how did they come up with that name.
    Well says he, the fella in question hasn't a lot going on upstairs!

Bungalow Bill;
    nothing upstairs but big downstairs,
    according to Joan Collins.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Bungalow Bill;
    nothing upstairs but big downstairs,
    according to Joan Collins.
    Good one I always thought a bungalow was an irish thing, by god we love our bungalows.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

kerryjack wrote: »
    Good one I always thought a bungalow was an irish thing, by god we love our bungalows.

I think I read somewhere the word bungalow is from India, came to us from England I would assume... same with pyjamas (i think) ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

A clap on the back is only 6 inches from a kick in the hole,

• Registered Users Posts: 3,763 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

kerryjack wrote: »

I hate bungalows with a passion even though I’m living in one, I can’t figure out what all the bungalow bliss during the 70’s and 80’d was about because it would’ve been a lot cheaper to build a two storey house, half the floor space and half the roof space.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

Whats in the ram will be in the lamb.

• Registered Users Posts: 510 ✭✭✭westyIrl

You can lead the horse to water but you can't make it think.

What's good for the goose is good for the gander.

Train your pup and you'll have your dog.

Half a loaf is better than no bread.

Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe.

My all time favorite curse "that the collar may light him"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,356 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

You got the first one mixed up think its....

You can take a horse to water but you can't make it drink.

You're probably getting mixed up with the definition of Horticulture attributed to Dorothy Parker

You can take a Horticulture but you can't make her think.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭ruwithme

" He'd drink it out of a wellie "

Fond of the stout.

• Registered Users Posts: 510 ✭✭✭westyIrl

You got the first one mixed up think its....

You can take a horse to water but you can't make it drink.

You're probably getting mixed up with the definition of Horticulture attributed to Dorothy Parker

You can take Horticulture but you can't make her think.

Nope...It's a play on that saying when you have someone who despite all help still fooks it up by way of brain fart, but the original is good too ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

One from the uncle. I think it might be his own though ;)

"Three new tractors won't plow a field"

Meaning that all the new equipment in the world won't get work done without some getup and go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

gozunda wrote: »
    One from the uncle. I think it might be his own though ;)

"Three new tractors won't plow a field"

Meaning that all the new equipment in the world won't get work done without some getup and go.

I've actually seen that in action years ago. The guy in question was a useless fcker. Myself, my brother and his brother had to go up and help him plant his field of broccoli for him. Even his brother said he was a useless cnt.

Pressure is for tyres.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

'Ah sure he got it handy'
    Usually someone jealous of someone else's good fortune.

ruwithme wrote: »
    " He'd drink it out of a wellie "

Fond of the stout.

A sore heel is another one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭BnB

I think I read somewhere the word bungalow is from India, came to us from England I would assume... same with pyjamas (i think) ;)

You're wrong there. The word bungalow did originate in Ireland in the late 60's.

Two lads in Meath were building a two story house when they ran out of blocks only half way up. One lad sez to the other....Sure we'll bung a low roof on it and leave it at that...

I'll get my coat.....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

I live in a Bangladeshi bungalow so.

Plough your own furrow.

This one comes from a book "Plots and Pans"

"Never approach a bull from the front, a horse from the rear, or a fool from any direction"

I especially agree with the last bit :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 447 ✭✭joe35

"Divil and all bad luck go with it"

Grandfather would say this if stock died

"At least it's in the field" grandmother would say

"you could set spuds in them"

If your ears were dirty

• Registered Users Posts: 10,705 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Do they build bungalows in bangalore?

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭jc bamford

Just a few more to keep the ball rolling.....

He would steal the cross off an ass'es back.

He would eat the ass out of the Crib.

He would't shovel s**t from a cuckoo clock.

And on a different vein..

If you cut a thistle before St John, you'll have two instead of wan (one)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,616 ✭✭✭chooseusername

He'd stale the winkers off a nightmare.

Not quite a saying. But one of my favourites especially the collective expression

"Feckin eejits" meaning 'a gathering of fools'. ;)

4o1238.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Jjameson

davidk1394 wrote: »
    A local contractor I used work with had some gas sayings.

If you were hungry and looking for food a saying he'd often use is "an empty sack won't stand"

A friend of mine who started with him a good while ago was looking for extra money, his response was "we didn't all start in sixth class"

One day, one of the machines was giving big trouble and the dealers mechanic came out. Contractor came over to him saying " it isn't a two and six pence machine" i.e the machine isn't cheap

A full sack won’t bend, an empty sack falls over.

Know when to step back from the table!

He wasn't reared on the hind tit.

You wouldn't shove him from the trough

• Registered Users Posts: 5,120 ✭✭✭Grueller

One locally here if a young fella is cute and the auld fella was too
    "I never saw a fox licking a lamb"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Jjameson

Grueller wrote: »
    One locally here if a young fella is cute and the auld fella was too
    "I never saw a fox licking a lamb"

I heard that in reference to a crooked cattle agent with a name not dissimilar to the animal!

Weeding beet for a neighbour back in the 70’s when it was dusk he’d say the man above is turning off the light. If he saw an auld lad walking slow he’d say he is in low gear. His own eyesight is bad now and he says the lamps are bad.