Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

BANDSCAN THREAD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭tiswasfan

107.1 is a great frequency and Phever is looking for a new home....... just putting that out there. #bringbackphever #pheverbeliever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭castle2012

tiswasfan wrote: »
    107.1 is a great frequency and Phever is looking for a new home....... just putting that out there. #bringbackphever #pheverbeliever

Club Fm have been clear they will be back on 107.1fm, There social media has the posts.

castle2012 wrote: »
    Club Fm have been clear they will be back on 107.1fm, There social media has the posts.

Yadda Yadda Yadda, any idiot can put a carrier on any frequency, let's hear some music, jingles, presenters or stfu and make way for a real station. We've had lotsa talk and very little action.

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭Radio fan 88.1

TheBMG wrote: »
    I know this one!

Sure anyone can so its your carrier on 107.1 ?

PARKLIFE!!

Or your just another one of these boards.ie people that sit on there computer typing on here that does noting.

PARKLIFE!!

I know i havent the equipment to put a carrier on so not us all can

PARKLIFE!!

Its true what some people say theres a lot of people on here then can do feck all but can talk the talk

PARKLIFE!!

If its so easy to do whats your station or carrier and your name

PARKLIFE!!

My name is Joe O Sullivan and im a Radio Enthusiast im not hidden behind a username

PARKLIFE!!

Sorry but some people on here really Frustrate me good for typing and giving there Negative views on matters that they could not do themselves.

PARKLIFE!!
    This is what im talking about brain on a 10 year old

And be on fm for how long.
    Whats wrong with the rest of the band
    What happened the last few times phever came back hey
    Wasnt long if i remember they be next on the list 91.6 best place for them i think lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,936 ✭✭✭JDxtra

I'd love to hear Phever and some other alternative stations back on FM. Phever seem happy enough though on their digital platforms and are doing well.

The only city wide FM pirate in Dublin is Hot, and there aren't too many positives to say about that (weak signal, poor playout, limited music selection, too many ads, lack of imaging, poor audio quality and low modulation). It could have done really well with some effort, even if it was left just in automation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭TheBMG

JDxtra wrote: »
    I'd love to hear Phever and some other alternative stations back on FM. Phever seem happy enough though on their digital platforms and are doing well.

The only city wide FM pirate in Dublin is Hot, and there aren't too many positives to say about that (weak signal, poor playout, limited music selection, too many ads, lack of imaging, poor audio quality and low modulation). It could have done really well with some effort, even if it was left just in automation.

Can you even describe Hot as citywide? I’ve a decent car radio and it struggles to get a consistent signal from them in most parts of Dublin.

TheBMG wrote: »
    Can you even describe Hot as citywide? I’ve a decent car radio and it struggles to get a consistent signal from them in most parts of Dublin.

Well, that's true! What I mean is that it's not a low powered/local area only station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,179 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

Well, that's true! What I mean is that it's not a low powered/local area only station.

Why is it that practically all the low powered/local area only stations tend to be over the west of the city??

Coincidence I guess. They generally don't come from high sites, so it's likely just whatever the operators had access to.

The Beach/The Vault on 105.7 were on the south side.

Coincidence I guess. They generally don't come from high sites, so it's likely just whatever the operators had access to.

The Beach/The Vault on 105.7 were on the south side.

It depends on your definition of low power/local only. I would classify that in a third category: not city-wide but covering a relatively large or dispersed region. I would include Chill FM in that and also The 90s Network on the northside. Energy Power AM kind of hovers between citywide and this third category!

Or to put it another way. There are three main types of geographical spreads for the pirates in Dublin.
    1. Only picked up around a specific area of Dublin
    2. Picked up to a limited extent in various areas of Dublin
    3. Picked up more or less citywide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭Max Power 2010

The 90s Network are on the Northside I believe.

That's true but how localised are they? See my previous post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Dipole Keith

Blank carrier on 92.0, No RDS, I’d say it’s Retro radio, Very strong in Finglas

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭radioguru02

Quite simple in terms of Phever and Club imo
    Club on 107.1, Phever on 91.6 both where they were before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,162 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

that is already how things are.
    it's just one individual trying to suggest otherwise to sturr.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Getting Storm NE on 104.2 this evening. Also RetroNow on 102.5 reaching me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭StreetLight

Retro playing on 92.0 with RDS. Good signal in Phoenix Park area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Ronan Raver77

Yea its a pain when im workin/driving around every day with no pirates on guys.. and i prefer listing on fm too... Freedom 92 is back but online only. Myself and a few of the freedom crew back doing shows :) Wish it was on fm but highly doubt it.Had a quick listen to Hot the other day:eek: Hope Club and Pirate fm back soon!!

Yea its a pain when im workin/driving around every day with no pirates on guys.. and i prefer listing on fm too... Freedom 92 is back but only online only. Myself and a few of the freedom crew back doing shows :) Wish it was on fm but highly doubt it.Had a quick listen to Hot the other day:eek: Hope Club and Pirate fm back soon!!
    Freedom sounding great, nice effort put into all aspects of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,247 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Hope Club and Pirate fm back soon!!

Pirate are still broadcasting online; at least it's something.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Bubbles2020

Club Fm back on 107.1

All the know alls
    They said they were coming back delighted to hear them well done lads tuned in now sounding real nice in clondalkin.

All the know alls
    They said they were coming back delighted to hear them well done lads tuned in now sounding real nice in clondalkin.

Take the chips off your shoulders, we're all delighted to hear stations returning.

No chip your know everting but you know noting and that has been proven
    This is what is wrong on this Forum guys like you typing.....
    Its like talking when you should be listening but

There is always a few bad apples you are one mouth that im happy to see wrong
    I did say i would point out when yous were wrong
    At least one thing is we are happy with stations coming back on
    But you were wrong lol 😆 GOOD LUCK AND F YA

You're VERY invested in the goings-on with 107.1 there Radio Fan, keep it classy lol Great to hear the high-quality adverts rocking the airwaves again.

Not really at all i like them all easy is my favourite nite nite...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Ronan Raver77

Club Fm back on 107.1

Extreme FM on 93.2.

Thats funny Did Club not come from the ash's of Extreme wasn't to long Club Coming along after xtreme it was named then if im right saying.

• Registered Users Posts: 11 dbmicrovolt

Signal on 93.2 has the same contour as the previous iteration of extrme fm, I won't give the tx location for obvious reasons (despite it being published on this thread previously by someone who should have known better).
    This crowd hops around the band going on past form.

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭Sunnyboy11

Signal on 93.2 has the same contour as the previous iteration of extrme fm, I won't give the tx location for obvious reasons (despite it being published on this thread previously by someone who should have known better).
    This crowd hops around the band going on past form.

More rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,709 ✭✭✭Infoanon

94.1 Unid back on air tonight
    99.5 Also on this evening

Scan from Liffey Valley this afternoon...

88.1 - Phever (weak)
    91.0 - HOT FM
    93.2 - EXTREME
    98.9 - 80S (weak, local only)
    105.2 - RetroNow (weak)
    105.7 - COAST FM (weak, local only)
    107.1 - CLUB FM

88.1 - Phever (weak)
    91.0 - HOT FM
    93.2 - EXTREME
    105.2 - RetroNow (weak)
    107.1 - CLUB FM
    Great to see them all back on the airwaves

88.1 - Phever (weak)
    91.0 - HOT FM
    93.2 - EXTREME
    105.2 - RetroNow (weak)
    107.1 - CLUB FM

This afternoon from around the Ballinteer area:
    Initially, I think I was picking up BBC Radio One on 88,1 and then I heard dance music - that must have been Phever coming in on it. Weak alright.

Extreme has a very strong signal on 93.2.

RetroNow comes in (very weakly) and out on 105.2.

Phever is stronger than it has been, it's mono at the moment which is why I thought it was just weak (was only listening on the car radio!).

Spirit Radio audio very low and distorted on both 89.9 and 92.2. They had no audio at all earlier.

Stereo carrier on 94.3 ,to confirm JDS report Phever is stronger

Spirit Radio audio very low and distorted on both 89.9 and 92.2. They had no audio at all earlier.

Spirit Radio stream also dead, no audio on FM now (tone noise on 92.2).

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭Sunnyboy11

Phever isstronger than it has been, it's mono at the moment which is why I thought it was just weak (was only listening on the car radio!).

Listening to Phever yesterday on 88.1 in Rathfarnham it’s still very low powered and sporadic which is a pity for such a specialist music station

Spirit Radio stream also dead, no audio on FM now (tone noise on 92.2).

Apparently storm damage

87.6 active this evening, didn't catch an ID - presume it is Chill FM. Retro 92 also on air on 92.0. Something also on 99.5 but it was a bit weak for me (oldies music).

99.5 is the Energy AM relay
    The carrier on 94.1 is gone.

Phever also off and didn't receive anything on 87.6 - Chill would have been receivable here in the past.

Beach also off 105.7

Club Fm 107.1fm sounding fantastic in East meath and South Drogheda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Dipole Keith

Hot FM blank on 91.0 again & Extreme FM playing happy hardcore dance music on 93.2 at 12 O’Clock during the day, My ears lol

Infoanon wrote: »
    Apparently storm damage

Was anybody else on the main 3 Rock mast affected or just them?

Only them afaik - their stream was also down at the time according to reports and other relays where also off so the issue may not have been at 3 Rock (as an aside a problem at 3 Rock could be resolved very quickly )

Regarding Spirit, sounds to me as if they had network/data issues at their studio. Their stream was offline (not just no audio, but source was not connected). It's possible they are a using point-to-point provider for data and the antenna took a knock in the wind.

When there was some audio from Three Rock, it was very low (maybe it was some backup audio?). The audio on 92.2 was worse - like an amplified version of the poor audio on 89.9. Maybe they are using FM re-broadcast receivers at some of their smaller sites?

Regarding Spirit, sounds to me as if they had network/data issues at their studio. Their stream was offline (not just no audio, but source was not connected). It's possible they are a using point-to-point provider for data and the antenna took a knock in the wind.

I can almost hear the chink chink chink of them taking out the begging bowl from under the mixing desk to fund a new WIFi modem; €20,000 should do it.