Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

La Flamme Rouge **off topic discussion**

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,896 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

Can't imagine something like this ever being shown on RTE :(
    https://twitter.com/tomflood1/status/1333427076603506690

Reminded me. Today on the Navan Road / N3 just after coming off the M50, a car in the left most lane indicating to merge into ours. Didn't merge but indicator still on. Kept back just in case (this of course has a knock on effect in traffic flow, neglible if it's just one but it never is).

Anyway, finally decide to speed up, they're headed for the offramp chowing down on a muffin, not paying any attention whatsoever to the road ahead. Stupid and frightening to be honest.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 38,958 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Weepsie wrote: »
    Anyway, finally decide to speed up, they're headed for the offramp chowing down on a muffin, not paying any attention whatsoever to the road ahead. Stupid and frightening to be honest.
    My own car is probably going to be written off because a driver in the lane on my left decided to do a u-turn without looking in their mirrors or using indicators (and it's not like my big red car with always-on headlights wasn't visible to them).

• Registered Users Posts: 17,770 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

My own car is probably going to be written off because a driver in the lane on my left decided to do a u-turn without looking in their mirrors or using indicators (and it's not like my big red car with always-on headlights wasn't visible to them).

If your car wasn't wearing hi-viz it's your own fault

No major damage to you I hope from that? To hell with the car thats what his insurance is for and a write off is probably preferable no?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,478 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

did you have a dashcam? or are you going to be facing a fight over who's to blame?

I have dashcam footage which puts me completely in the clear but thankfully the other driver admitted their error to their insurance company so I didn't need the footage.
    My airbag went off but thankfully neither myself or the other driver were injured.

I'm pissed off at two levels now. Firstly, I can't help thinking that it's not just simple mistakes - it has become far too common nowadays that I believe we are gradually accepting poor driving standards as completely normal. The evening before my car was hit, I encountered this in Celbridge which I believe now was a similar turning manoeuvre and I'm conscious that at some point I'm going to end up injured because of some muppet in too much of a hurry to be bothered with being attentive...

Secondly, assuming it is an economic write off, I'll presumably get some kind of compensation for the damage to my car but I have the added hassle of having to replace it which in reality is now going to cost me.

Some of the **** I saw over the last week or so with major roads works on several roads around me, on the bike, on foot and in the car could fill a whole thread. The level of stupid is unreal, the usual **** you sadly come to expect but add road works into the mix when we're at another level, guys manning a stop/go having to tell clowns who broke them to reverse and then having those drivers argue the toss with them and drivers of other cars being the tip of the iceberg.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,494 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

It must be quite disheartening to be a Garda at the checkpoint on the N11 outside Bray at the minute. They have a sign up saying HGVs stay right. The obvious implication being everyone else stay left, and they wave in a few for checks. i came through the other day and 95% of cars just kept right and went straight through. Some were clearly doing the old, driving on UK plates and not paying VRT and possibly not Insurance. I see them with car seats for kids and around the place all the time. But as a Garda, you must look at them and think, can we not just go after them, they are clearly taking the piss, unlikely to have insurance and so on. This is why i couldn't be a Garda, instructions or not I would be taking notes and going after them, it is just insulting. at least before they got ballsey they attempted to hide it by driving via Shankill or Enniskerry.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,121 ✭✭✭daragh_

CramCycle wrote: »
    Some were clearly doing the old, driving on UK plates and not paying VRT and possibly not Insurance. I see them with car seats for kids and around the place all the time.

Once you start looking out for these it's terrifying how many you see.

daragh_ wrote: »
    Once you start looking out for these it's terrifying how many you see.

And whenever you point it out anywhere, the instant reply is how do you know, they could just be coming down for work. That might be true for some but christ on a bike, there are ones parked outside houses with child seats in, even the odd D4 tractor dropping the kids too school, even beside me, you see them in the morning and if they were coming from the North, they are choosing the oddest direction to drive to where they are going if that were true.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,478 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

there were gardai and an ambulance attending what looks to be the aftermath of a collision between a cyclist and motorist across the road. we see it every year or two (and god knows how often it happens that we don't see).
    thankfully, there seemed to be no sense of urgency, looks like it was a schoolkid on the bike. they've sent the kid off now and the ambulance is gone, looks like his mum collected him, but interestingly have not let the motorist away, they seemed to be paying close attention to his tax and insurance etc. i suspect they're waiting for a tow truck.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,319 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

I've spent the last 20 minutes on the Cycling Out of Context Twitter feed - https://twitter.com/OutOfCycling
    Some funny stuff :D

Am I missing something here?
    N4 J01 -> J02 is dual carriageway and cars, bikes, people, anmimals, spaceships, etc are allowed on it.
    Also, I'd have thought that TII would know the difference between motorway and DC but obviously not - the N4 is not the M4 (I've had drivers argue otherwise before!).

https://twitter.com/TIITraffic/status/1333808875003387906

• Registered Users Posts: 24,960 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

And whenever you point it out anywhere, the instant reply is how do you know, they could just be coming down for work. That might be true for some but christ on a bike, there are ones parked outside houses with child seats in....
    Yes, it's very frustrating. We have several staff at work who continuously drive UK registered cars even though they live in the ROI (all originally from Co Donegal). It's giving the two fingers to those of us who pay our way in society. Any time I brought a car in from the UK, I declared it immediately - off the ferry and straight to the VRT office.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭manafana

Yes, it's very frustrating. We have several staff at work who continuously drive UK registered cars even though they live in the ROI (all originally from Co Donegal). It's giving the two fingers to those of us who pay our way in society. Any time I brought a car in from the UK, I declared it immediately - off the ferry and straight to the VRT office.

its funny how certain things get easily brushed off, lots of northern regs even in our estate of 200 or so dwellings. These people are basically tax dodgers using roads etc without payment

• Registered Users Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭marvin80

manafana wrote: »
    its funny how certain things get easily brushed off, lots of northern regs even in our estate of 200 or so dwellings. These people are basically tax dodgers using roads etc without payment

I presumed revenue did checks. I know of 2 people who were living south of the border going around with UK-plates. One was legit and waiting on the VRT to be processed and the other was fined.
    Revenue were keeping an eye on them and pulled them once they knew the lads weren't UK/NI residents

• Registered Users Posts: 8,054 ✭✭✭buffalo

manafana wrote: »

If they don't pay road tax, does that mean I can do punishment passes on them with my bike?

buffalo wrote: »
    If they don't pay road tax, does that mean I can do punishment passes on them with my bike?

I can guarantee they don't pay road tax in Ireland, as I suspect you well know. VRT can be a few thousand on some of the more modern cars flying around, and every year they can dodge it, it gets less.

marvin80 wrote: »
    I presumed revenue did checks. I know of 2 people who were living south of the border going around with UK-plates. One was legit and waiting on the VRT to be processed and the other was fined.
    Revenue were keeping an eye on them and pulled them once they knew the lads weren't UK/NI residents

Pretty much how it works, basically if you have an attachment to the state, you have to pay the VRT and transfer over. Regrettably I imagine there isn't a huge amount of time for inspectors so it only comes to fruition if they are reported.

I can guarantee they don't pay road tax in Ireland, as I suspect you well know. VRT can be a few thousand on some of the more modern cars flying around, and every year they can dodge it, it gets less.

As far as I can tell from comments on the Internet and letters to the paper, any tax paid on cars is ROAD TAX giving the payer extra rights to the roads.

Silver level payers can park on footpads. Gold level are allowed break red lights. Platinum entitles you to five penalty points off your licence every year.

buffalo wrote: »
    As far as I can tell from comments on the Internet and letters to the paper, any tax paid on cars is ROAD TAX giving the payer extra rights to the roads.

Silver level payers can park on footpads. Gold level are allowed break red lights. Platinum entitles you to five penalty points off your licence every year.

Can't give me penalty points if I don't have a license is where we are with the high level thinkers in some areas ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,720 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

If you go to paid VRT one of the things you need is a dated receipt from the seller.

The VRT is due from the date on this receipt. You can drive around all you like but when you go to pay you won't save anything by waiting a few weeks/months

• Registered Users Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

If you go to paid VRT one of the things you need is a dated receipt from the seller.

The VRT is due from the date on this receipt. You can drive around all you like but when you go to pay you won't save anything by waiting a few weeks/months

I bought a bike in a private sale from the UK, VRT was booked the minute I got back and all sorted before I even had my licence sorted, anyway my receipt was hand written by me and I asked the seller to sign. They were fine with that but wanted printouts of ferry tickets. Depends who you get but very little is verified.

^^^ it took me a second to realise that it was a motorbike you VRT'd

Same here, I wrote my own receipt for VRT purposes. They didn't give a sh1te. I put down the cash price. Showed the website it was on, showed examples of other similar cars and their OMSP. They still claimed it was worth twice as much and refused my appeal.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Same here, I wrote my own receipt for VRT purposes. They didn't give a sh1te. I put down the cash price. Showed the website it was on, showed examples of other similar cars and their OMSP. They still claimed it was worth twice as much and refused my appeal.

Bikes are priced on CC so handy.

Just out of the gym there, so thats three half hour sessions in 2 days. I'm fecked. 12 months ago I was at 3hrs a day. Feck injuries and feck covid.

aldo moser - cyclist and brother of the more famous francesco moser - died today. looks like the pox got him.

https://www.gazzetta.it/Ciclismo/02-12-2020/ciclismo-addio-aldo-moser-corse-coppi-col-fratello-francesco-3901344215822.shtml

I know the man has a long record re: cycling advocacy, what is he a doctor of out of curiosity?

Short answer: he is a doctor of philosophy (PhD) :D

I see on the Trinity site that a former PhD student, Dr Damien O'Tuama, had the following Sociology thiesis title: "Prising Open the Dublin Bikes' Journeys"
    https://www.tcd.ie/sociology/postgraduate/phd/former-students/

Also found this snippet...
    Damien is in the third year of his Ph.D. research into Dublin's public bike scheme. The aims of the research are to prise open the journeys on the public bikes and to investigate the claim that the introduction of the system has created ripple effects over and above that which more traditional transport planning indicators would capture.
    Prior to this research, Damien worked in transport consultancy with a specialism in bicycle policy auditing. He continues to work in this field on a part-time basis.
    https://www.tcd.ie/sociology/assets/pdf/PGBiosCurrent.pdf