Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bag of rubbish dumped in our bin...

• Registered Users Posts: 15,905 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

elperello wrote: »
    An interesting suggestion.

Probably likely to be rejected by some smart civil servant on the basis that it would be in conflict with "polluter pays".
    Polluter pays doesn't seem to prevent large neighbourhood bins being provided in Spain and Portugal.

Just a footnote - I don't see it as a legitimate function of government to frighten citizens.

Firstly the comment about Revenue was tongue in cheek, but to be fair that Department is tops of all of them in so many ways IMV.

And as for your comment about Southern European countries, the same applies to many other European countries also. You pay your community charge/Council Tax etc. and you have communal bins adjacent. Very little rubbish around to be fair in any country this applies to.

Ireland is afraid to apply a community charge, either on top of or in addition to the LPT. I don't know why anymore.

The costs of cleaning up the rubbish must be very high, not to mention the eyesore it is for those who do NOT do this, and never would.

It will sadly probably be hijacked by the can't pay won't pay brigade. But they don't care how their communities are affected by dumped rubbish either.

Time for someone with cojones to take a stand.

I won't hold my breath, but the current system is an abysmal failure regarding those who will not pay for bins.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Who's really going to leave their details in the bag?

False flag operation. Gulf of tonkin. Thermite paint. Red herring.

They want you to attribute blame, and go to war. You know who.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,610 ✭✭✭Feisar

There's a poster here that does (clumsy) overt surveillance with a drone...

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 805 ✭✭✭mrmorgan

Feisar wrote: »
    There's a poster here that does (clumsy) overt surveillance with a drone...

oh i would like to see this!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

Hate that. They made you their garbage bitch.
    They’re even so brazen as leaving their address in the bag.
    Nothing you can do now but accept that they’ll dump their rubbish in your bin from now on.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,386 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Bring it back and say they left something behind....

Or put it through their letter box.

piece by piece...

• Registered Users Posts: 21,520 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Write a letter to Dublin County Council, and the local TD complaining that someone dumped rubbish in their bin and asking how should they deal with it.
    Sign it with their name, for their address.

In the meantime, drop it on their door step.

• Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭holliehobbie

Better not to write to Dublin County Council as it doesn't exist anymore! It would be Dublin City Council.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,239 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Write a letter to Dublin County Council, and the local TD complaining that someone dumped rubbish in their bin and asking how should they deal with it.
    Sign it with their name, for their address.

In the meantime, drop it on their door step.

Thread winner.

• Registered Users Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

Forge a letter from the litter warden for a fixed penalty fine and send it to their address.

Use an existing DC form as a template eg.

http://www.dublincity.ie/sites/default/files/content//Documents/Application_Forms/Water_Waste_and_Environment/environmental_complaint_form.pdf

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

It is often settled people dumping their crap in Travellers bins, just FYI.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,150 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Zipppy wrote: »
    Someone just dumped a bag of rubbish in our green bin in outer front garden.. Dublin 7 area.
    Eejits left paperwork with their address on it in bag.. it's around corner...
    What should we do?
    Report to whom?

Simple. Just dump the bag on the doorstep of the local garda station(make sure to highlight their address) Oh and for good measure write a note ' F**k the pigs* and leave that in the bag also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

This happened us. My wife contacted the litter warden who arrived 2 hours later to deliver the rubbish back to its owner along with an on the spot fine

• Registered Users Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

Omackeral wrote: »

More commonly known as caravans!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

Travellers have bins!!!
    So why dont they ****ing use them?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

Simple. Just dump the bag on the doorstep of the local garda station(make sure to highlight their address) Oh and for good measure write a note ' F**k the pigs* and leave that in the bag also.

Use their name and address and write to the Mormons, Church of Scientology and every other crowd you can think of requesting call outs

• Registered Users Posts: 11,179 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Yeah you'd be better of ringing the local litter warden. If they did it once they'd likely do it again. They were silly enough to include a bill, letter or whatever saying who it was. So can only blame themselves.

Just out of curiosity op how far is the address from you?
    If it's on the same street as you that's one thing. If they are two-streets over (example) then you'd have to figure they were dropping bags off stuff into bins as they went.

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Irish_peppa

Somthing similar happened in my work place, after a weekend a mountain of black bags and household furniture was dumped in our carpark. on inspection there was hundreds of pages of personal information bank statements, bills, birthday cards, they must of had a huge clear out. Alas rang the council they said nothing they could do as the industrial estate was private property. No-one seemed to know who owned the industrial estate so we just dumped it all in our bins. its weird someone could be so stupid as to dumping stuff covertly and then leaving all their personal information in said garbage:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

Somthing similar happened in my work place, after a weekend a mountain of black bags and household furniture was dumped in our carpark. on inspection there was hundreds of pages of personal information bank statements, bills, birthday cards, they must of had a huge clear out. Alas rang the council they said nothing they could do as the industrial estate was private property. No-one seemed to know who owned the industrial estate so we just dumped it all in our bins. its weird someone could be so stupid as to dumping stuff covertly and then leaving all their personal information in said garbage:pac:

More likely they paid someone to take it away who wasn't legit and they just dumped it

• Registered Users Posts: 5,754 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

@Irish_peppa...Could be a case of people paying for their rubbish to be taken away but giving the job to a man in a van who is not licenced. Anyone dumping their own waste on that scale would surely take their details out.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,293 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I would walk it back around to their house and empty the contents on the their porch

• Registered Users Posts: 24,293 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

What?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,754 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

lawred2 wrote: »
    What?

Amish lads too.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Amish lads too.

And Maori

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Irish_peppa

@Irish_peppa...Could be a case of people paying for their rubbish to be taken away but giving the job to a man in a van who is not licenced. Anyone dumping their own waste on that scale would surely take their details out.

yes i never thought of that. would make more sense

• Registered Users Posts: 32,202 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Edgware wrote: »
    Use their name and address and write to the Mormons, Church of Scientology and every other crowd you can think of requesting call outs
    Amazing do this defo!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Put a "thank you" note in their letterbox thanking them by name, and a copy of the note in the letterbox of every house beside them.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Should have got together, brought it all back and leave at their address.

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

It's a sad day when you need to lock your bins to stop scabby neighbours dumping their rubbish. I hate people who are too miserable to pay their way.

Not only do our neighbours do it (to the extent that we can't leave the bin out overnight anymore) but they also just dump their rubbish (both household and large stuff like furniture) onto the green and here's the fun part, if the council doesn't come to pick it up (for "free" of course) their kids set fire to it later on in full view of their parents, salt of the earth they are :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

a friend of mine bought a house in a corpo estate, one that was mostly sold off and discovered about three feet of rubbish dumped in his "new" kitchen and front room, mostly in big bags. The neighbours appeared to welcome them in and were friendly enough and my friend asked about the pile of rubbish in the house. The neighbours said that it was a family from up the road had come down, kicked in the back door and tipped their ****e inside. My friend examined the bags and found post addressed to the neighbours on both sides, so he rounded up his three sons and hefted the lot over the walls back into the neighbours yards. Cue shouts and threats until my friend produced the letters with their names on them. After that, it was picture but no sound for a long time.