Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Breaking the rules in club colours

• Registered Users Posts: 28,503 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

No idea who this club is, but the link road from Tallaght to Lucan will have the same cycling club break the rules of the road around 9:40 every Sat morning going from Tallaght to Lucan direction. Cycling 3-6 abreast and taking up both lanes of the roundabout when going straight on.
    That would explain the reports on AA Roadwatch every Saturday about the huge tailbacks on those roundabouts. They must hold up traffic for at least, ooh maybe 15 seconds?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,483 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

CramCycle wrote: »
    I wear my boards jersey for sh1ts and giggles :pac:

I am outraged that you would make all Boards users look bad. We are all responsible for your actions!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,056 ✭✭✭buffalo

ronoc wrote: »
    Speaking as a (five-a-side) footballer they are giving all of us a bad name.

I play a bit of football myself.

burst-frayed-ragged-football-soccer-450w-1109599613.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 815 ✭✭✭1bryan

No idea who this club is, but the link road from Tallaght to Lucan will have the same cycling club break the rules of the road around 9:40 every Sat morning going from Tallaght to Lucan direction. Cycling 3-6 abreast and taking up both lanes of the roundabout when going straight on.

I saw a load of lads in Irish soccer jerseys walking 20 abreast on the road. It was outside the Aviva and a match was just over and I'm pretty sure that was all that turned up to see it.

Still though, 20 abreast is OUTRAGEOUS.

• Registered Users Posts: 815 ✭✭✭1bryan

Why not describe the jersey, quite likely the club is easily identifiable, you can then send the club secretary an email to notify them of the issue

there was a bit in the middle that covers the torso, sleeves to cover the arms, it had a zip on the front and I think (though can't be certain) there was writing on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,088 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

secman wrote: »
    Most likely the angle of your view that makes you think they were 6 abreast !
    The last 2 weeks I was out in groups, riding 2 abreast on every occasion we were beeped at numerous times, for what I have No idea as we were 2 abreast, most likely because we were on road !

Cycling two abreast but offset from each other means you are still taking up the space of 3-4 abreast.

No one cares how many abreast you are, they care how far out into the road you are.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

GreeBo wrote: »
    Cycling two abreast but offset from each other means you are still taking up the space of 3-4 abreast.

No one cares how many abreast you are, they care how far out into the road you are.

By the hundreds, if not thousands of comments, this would seem to be bs, as it seems to be all a lot of people care about.

2 abreast are taking up the space of 2 abreast. Not more, not less.

Why do they care about that?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Or he could just fcuk off with his lunatic allegations.

Weepsie wrote: »
    By the hundreds, if not thousands of comments, this would seem to be bs, as it seems to be all a lot of people care about.

2 abreast are taking up the space of 2 abreast. Not more, not less.

Each pair are taking up the space of 2 abreast but a peloton of offset cyclists are taking up more than the space of 2.

People care about a comparatively slow moving road user(s) that they cant easily pass by.

Why do they care about that?

I'm almost certain you can figure that out for yourself?

Ah...you mean to allow people in cars to squeeze by dangerously. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,290 ✭✭✭Macy0161

We all know why they care about that - not enough room to close pass with on coming traffic.

But two abreast is two abreast, and legal, even if a group should tidy the feck up!

I've only used that road a couple of times (in a car), and I'd still go with it's a reasonable taking the lane to avoid being overtaken on, or cut up coming off, the roundabouts.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,583 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Lord forbid people would overtake vehicles* in a safe fashion rather than flooring it and nearly brushing off people. If being far enough out is required to be treated properly then so be it.

*Bicyles are vehicles too, and they pay the same about as road tax as cars

MojoMaker wrote: »
    Or he could just fcuk off with his lunatic allegations.

Indeed.

Dublin Wheelers.
    photo_8.jpg

Clontarf.
    Alan-Roden-620x310-300x150.jpg

Gorey.
    DSCF1298.jpg

DCU.
    29062815_1015767331903962_4461809952062701568_n.jpg?_nc_cat=104&_nc_ht=scontent-lga3-1.xx&oh=929d69f396d75108cfd92f730ec7fe56&oe=5CF7F22E

I have no issue with someone on a bike being out so far out in the lane to ensure their safety. I would do it myself as I am in a better position to judge what is safe for me than a person in a car behind me that can't see the road ahead.

Of the photos I can see, 1 is clearly either a race or the start of a sportive, and the other one they're queing at bloody lights (NB: not going through red lights).

• Registered Users Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

What do pictures of races and sportive events have to do with commuting cyclists? :confused:

MojoMaker wrote: »
    What do pictures of races and sportive events have to do with commuting cyclists? :confused:
    Or normal club runs!

Greebo....I think you need your eyesight and depth perception tested for most of the photos. Look at the position of the wheels as they are a giveaway. Even taking that into account video is required as some could be in the process of overtaking which is also legal. They all look like organised events where the guards would be involved/aware/escort.

Dublin Wheelers - No evidence of more than 2 abreast.
    Clontarf - Correct me if I'm wrong but that looks like the GDBR.
    Gorey - Does being stopped at lights in view of the guards count. There is no evidence of them cycling more than 2 abreast.
    DCU - No evidence of more than 2 abreast.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Mod Note

Gentle reminder about the forum charter:
    8. Negativity
    There are lots of places on the internet where you can have a rant about cyclists. This isn't one of them. This is a place for people with an interest in cycling to discuss cycling. If you treat it as a venue for holding all cyclists to account for perceived or actual misbehaviour by some, you can expect to find your access swiftly removed. In short, we are not your punching bag. If you really do want do want an answer to your gripe, do a search. The usual topics, such as cycle lanes, cycling two abreast etc. have been discussed, ad nauseam, many, many times before

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Mod Note

This thread isn't about cycling two abreast. Greebo, please don't post on this thread again.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

I'm curious to know if the charter allows me to criticise club members who turn up for club spins without full length mudguards or is it only certain types of criticism that are taboo?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,511 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I'm curious to know if the charter allows me to criticise club members who turn up for club spins without full length mudguards or is it only certain types of criticism that are taboo?
    Winter spins should always be accompanied by full length mudguards, and a dressing down in front of other club members, on boards and all other social media fora that you can access.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

oLoonatic wrote: »
    I haven't been cycling the past week due to chest infection. but i see this every day, in particular people entering and exiting the park. Really grinds my gears (no pun intended).

Please don't break the rules of the road in any colours.

How about...please don't break the rules of the road. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭secman

Winter spins should always be accompanied by full length mudguards, and a dressing down in front of other club members, on boards and all other social media fora that you can access.

Guilty as charged, must try harder and check out decent sets .

oLoonatic wrote: »
    I haven't been cycling the past week due to chest infection. but i see this every day, in particular people entering and exiting the park. Really grinds my gears (no pun intended).

Please don't break the rules of the road in any colours.

How about...please don't break the rules of the road. ;)
    Presumably you NEVER break any of the rules yourself? Never go over the speed limit, check all your bulbs daily, never have a phone in your hand?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,511 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Presumably you NEVER break any of the rules yourself? Never go over the speed limit, check all your bulbs daily, never have a phone in your hand?

Tatranska makes a fair point, regardless of whether in club colours or in regular clothes, you should be aiming not to break the law regardless, this goes for everyone on the road, no matter their mode of transportation. Asking for it doesn't mean you've never done it, and pointing out that they may have does not diminish the point.

I won't take sniping about cyclists breaking red lights from those who routinely break speed limits in motor vehicles, as the vast majority of drivers do.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,496 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i'm struggling to come up with a coherent response to that. are you suggesting that tatranska or CramCycle are said speeding motorists?