Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Back in my day...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

branie2 wrote: »
    Holidays on the costa del Waterford, Wexford or Cork.
    I was born and reared in wexford and holidays were in .... wexford. They were great though , caravan on a farm beside the sea for the summer f..king great times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,513 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Or chicken curry and rice :)

The chicken curry in Hollywood Nights in Stillorgan was fantastic. Depending on how lucky you got (or not) it might be the highlight of the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,986 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Queuing up outside a phone box to ring somebody, with a bag of 5p pieces and when the operator connected you, you pressed button A.

Everyone collecting the phonecards when they were released

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭Silent Running

On frosty mornings we used to pour water on the footpath to make slides of solid ice. Taking a run and sliding on our feet... or going off the ice and breaking our collective bollix.

We knew which houses to avoid: the ould bats that would come out and pour salt on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

On frosty mornings we used to pour water on the footpath to make slides of solid ice. Taking a run and sliding on our feet... or going off the ice and breaking our collective bollix.

We knew which houses to avoid: the ould bats that would come out and pour salt on it.

we had them too bas..rds. sliding along grand then your feet would stop but upper body kept going . DISASTER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

We also had bin men who picked up and carried the bin to the bin truck.
    None of this wheelie bin recycling ****e either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,532 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Bin men, the postman and the milkman knocking on the door to wish you a "Happy Christmas" for their tip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

We had to change the TV channels on the TV itself via knob

CHANNELS ???? That we'd be so lucky...:mad:

We had one channel until RTE 2 came on stream sometime in the late 70s'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

During the summers we went out after breakfast and didnt come home until it got dark. No phones to let anyone know where you were or when you'd be home.

None of these artificial Christmas trees either.
    Every fcukin year my dad bought a real tree and butchered himself with a saw trying to trim the tree bough down to fit in the stand.
    Then he blew the fuses setting up the lights on the tree before going to bed half full of whiskey.

SAMTALK wrote: »
    During the summers we went out after breakfast and didnt come home until it got dark. No phones to let anyone know where you were or when you'd be home.

Same here , came home covered in sunburn, our sun cream was " I warned you bout that sun " from our mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Field east

Our mother used to take the cream from the 20 gallon milk churn on Sunday mornings. as the creamery manager did not take a milk sample to calculate the % fat in the milk. God be with the days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,554 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Nightclubs were called discos.
    Cool kids drank Furstenberg
    There was a slow set at around 1-30 where you sauntered around asking girls out to dance.
    You devoured a Chinese before a racket broke out in the place.
    The designated driver would only have 2/3 pints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,288 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The Lone Ranger was king.
    Hi Ho Silver.

Bins? You mean the black sacks of rubbish :) that one of the neighbourhood dogs would rip to shreds so there was rubbish everywhere.

Now we have wheelie bins blowing over so rubbish everywhere :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,427 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

And if you try telling that to the young people of today, they won't believe you.

Glazers Out!

The National Anthem was played at the end of the disco and lights turned up full !

My kids laughed at A. Calling it a disco and B. playing the National anthem

°°°°°

The same bin men my mother never answered the door to at Christmas when they came around with their hands out.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭WestWicklow1

Flat 7up cured everything

and vick rubbed on your chest :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

And the crows and foxes used to have all the bags tattered and tore for food.
    Foxy loxy can’t work the wheelie bin at all

SAMTALK wrote: »
    lights turned up full !

The sudden realisation of how feckin hammered you were :D

°°°°°

- glass Lucozade bottles in the grandparents drink cabinet contained Poteen.
    - computer games loaded up from cassettes
    - Mars bars were the most expensive item in the sweet shop at 28p
    - free kicks in GAA were taken from the ground

In relation to the glass lucozade bottles, they came wrapped in orange plastic at one stage, like a kind of sh1t giftwrap.

Glazers Out!

nullzero wrote: »
    In relation to the glass lucozade bottles, they came wrapped in orange plastic at one stage, like a kind of sh1t giftwrap.

those glass bottles in the orange plastic were a miracle cure and a must bring item when visiting somebody in hospital.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,733 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

This was a quake only forum.

°°°°°

those glass bottles in the orange plastic were a miracle cure and a must bring item when visiting somebody in hospital.

That's my first memory of them as it happens. You didn't simply drink lucozade on a day to day basis, it was a serious thing.

Glazers Out!

The sudden realisation of how feckin hammered you were :D

:D:D after 3 pints ! and the inevitable punch up outside when waiting on the minibus to arrive to take home about 80 people

°°°°°

Manach wrote: »
    This was a quake only forum.

How many people have no idea what you're talking about?

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Mearings

We had to change the TV channels on the TV itself via knob

"I can't change the channel, sure the cat is on my lap."

Ah lads I miss those days

Or if someone,God forbid, was driving to France they stuck them on the headlights

• Registered Users Posts: 8,195 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

Jelly and a block of ice cream and wafers
    after dinner on a sunday. Dessert on a weekday was unheard of.

Sometimes Tapioca

cjmc wrote: »
    Sometimes Tapioca

Or Sago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

The picture on the telly dwindling to a dot when switched off. The picture on the telly taking ages to appear as it warmed up. Cheese in a shade of orange not known in nature. **** cars, **** buses, **** trains. **** holidays.....if anyone bombs Youghal out of existence, I shall cheer loudly.....CIE taking the ****ing piss, as always. Four and a half hours to go to Cork on a train, which stopped at every rural station not actually closed down since the Emergency. Four and a half hours, allegedly, to go to Cork on a bus, in the days before motorways, when the bus went through Rathcoole, Naas, Monasterevin before eventually reaching Urlingford and draining your bladder only to realise that you were only halfway there. I rejoiced when independent bus companies finally came along and magically,it didnt take half a day anymore!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

Rice pudding as dessert. We called it "flytrap"....

The murderer was found in Great Unprecedented Bizarre Unbelievable circumstances.

The main thing though was that he got a just sentence.

A racehorse was kidnapped.

An Irish train robbery:. Still no movie after all these years.....Wonder what the Irish film industry is spooging on about all this time!

Trying to be the first to open the pint bottle of milk to put the cream on your porridge :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,155 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

A packet of plain crisps with a paper twist of salt inside the packet

A 3p or 6p waver of ice cream as a treat

Sent to the shop for 1 shillings worth of broken biscuits

Sent for a fresh Vienna bread and poking a hole in the crust and eating the white bread

Every room in the house was wallpapered.
    Big flowery patterned stuff. Didn't matter whether the curtains or carpets matched.

Peach coloured toilet, sink and bath, or worse still, avocado or light blue.

No Home of the Year tv programmes back then. Houses were for living in, not showing off

The murderer was found in Great Unprecedented Bizarre Unbelievable circumstances.

An Irish train robbery:. Still no movie after all these years.....Wonder what the Irish film industry is spooging on about all this time!

Grotesque, unbelievable, bizarre and unprecedented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,155 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Stovepipe wrote: »
    Rice pudding as dessert. We called it "flytrap"....

Tabioca for dessert , we called it frog spawn

Watching the animals being slaughtered in the local butchers by looking in the keyhole of the yard door!!!!

There was only about 1 murder a year in Ireland, if even that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭Firblog

No yellow, orange or red wind warnings, it was gale force 10, storm force 11, and hurricane force 12, and none of them shut the bloody schools down.

There was a yellow snow warning, but that was a different thing..

The insurance man that called to the house every payday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,517 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

There was only about 1 murder a year in Ireland, if even that

Surely more paramilitary than domestic murders back then.

Travelling out to the orchards at Baldonnel to rob as many apples as possible.
    My kids cant understand why anyone would want to rob an orchard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

The Famous Five (seventies version) on the telly

Or Angel delight :)

Tapping the public phone....