Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deal breakers and turn-off's in dating!

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭Jim Root

sabat wrote: »
    Works for one of the "big 4" professional services firms or one of the large Irish law firms.

"34, just got back from Australia/Canada after 8 years."

"World traveller"

" Yogi/reiki practitioner/massage therapist"

Thinks Dubai is cool.

"I'm 5"10' and I like to wear heels"

Dresses up in loads of rainbow sh*te for Pride and posts photos of herself with her really annoying looking gay friends.

excellent post, describes a lot of twats in my extended circle! Boarding a plane to an english speaking country is not a life accomplishment.

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Snails pace

Jim Root wrote: »
    excellent post, describes a lot of twats in my extended circle! Boarding a plane to an english speaking country is not a life accomplishment.

Why isn't it an accomplishment? Going to the U.K doesn't count, but to Australia? I've plenty of friends who went to oz who came back different people including myself but it's hardly ever talked about because we've more interesting things to talk about.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Into pseudoscience; anti vaxxing, crystals, angels or any of that hippy dippy stuff.

Vegans, because eating out or in would be a pain forever. Like living with a finicky child.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,811 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

branie2 wrote: »
    Bad manners
    That stuff gets me so worked up I could bust a blood vessel.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,753 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

If she doesn't put her hand in her pocket, there'd be no second date.

What if she puts her hand in your pocket?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,955 ✭✭✭pgj2015

full time mad ba$terd

full time mammy

anyone who say my kids are my world (because they dont work or study or do anything but watch tv and look after their kids)

women who blame the government for everything, even though they are provided with job seekers allowance, medical card, childrens allowance, rent allowance, fuel allowance,BTEA allowance if they werent too lazy to use it etc from said government

sinn fein supporters

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭Jim Root

Why isn't it an accomplishment? Going to the U.K doesn't count, but to Australia? I've plenty of friends who went to oz who came back different people including myself but it's hardly ever talked about because we've more interesting things to talk about.

Ok I'll give you a pass there if you don't drone on about it but I think we all know some folks who went over there clad in their Celtic/Gaa jerseys, sat in Irish bars for the year, swamped social media with boastful posts, came home, and never shut up about it!! If someone mentioned that to me on a first date alarm bells would ring!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

Don’t be a judgmental ****. Don’t be sitting there at dinner or a coffee and judging people around you and then making comments to me. I have no time for that ****e and I will and have walked out (having paid for my dinner tho).

Mean spirited, rude, bitchy and being a gossip are the worst turn offs imaginable. I’ll put up with almost anything else.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,777 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

My deal breaker would be dishonesty., have had enough of that.
    A person who wouldn't make you a cup of tea or go for a walk with you but then buys expensive presents for birthdays and christmas to prove his affection.
    Watches tv all the time
    I don't mind lads who like routines (One guy I lived with liked the same meal on the same day of the week) but when it comes to "I only have sex at night-time" or "I only like sex in a bed" I can't hack it.
    Smokers, sorry can't live with one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Johnny Sausage

"I only have sex at night-time" or "I only like sex in a bed"

ah jaysis hes missing out on a whole heap of fun

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Sinn Fein supporters - dated one once and the rhetoric was painful. Although anyone into politics in general, shysters one and all

Being a tighthole.

Controlling

Being disrespectful to my or her own family

Ill-mannered or outright rude to serving staff or anyone not in a position to call them out. Sure sign of a person of low character.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

sabat wrote: »
    Works for one of the "big 4" professional services firms or one of the large Irish law firms.

"34, just got back from Australia/Canada after 8 years."

"World traveller"

" Yogi/reiki practitioner/massage therapist"

Thinks Dubai is cool.

"I'm 5"10' and I like to wear heels"

Dresses up in loads of rainbow sh*te for Pride and posts photos of herself with her really annoying looking gay friends.

At late 40s, you’d be doing very well to score 20 somethings easily. I think celeb men have skewed expectations in this regard.

Two words; daddy issues.

At late 40s, you’d be doing very well to score 20 somethings easily. I think celeb men have skewed expectations in this regard.

Plenty of women with daddy issues out there!

Edit - Great minds think alike!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

I gave up drinking for about 4 months with the aim of 6 months just for a bit of a change and challenge as opposed to being a dipso. I worked with a girl who said its fairly common for a non-drinker to a be a red flag/warning sign for girls if they meet a lad (purely speaking about those that did drink and don't anymore). A few weeks later I fell off the wagon and got wrecked and rode her. She turned out to be a right c*nt too. Found it to be an interesting deal breaker, although harsh and judgmental going by all the non-drinker lads I know I'd say its actually fair enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 703 ✭✭✭PmMeUrDogs

Being rude to the people serving you in shops/pubs/restaurants.

Insults disguised as humour. No, it's not funny that you're slagging my appearance, I don't care how much you try to convince me it's a joke.

Any kind of controlling or clingy behaviour.

Using your phone on the first few dates - that's rude!

Later on, untreated sexual dysfunction.

Some mental health conditions. Depression and anxiety can be worked with, but I couldn't be with someone who has borderline or is narcissistic.

ah jaysis hes missing out on a whole heap of fun

You want to hear the conversation after I wanted to give him a blow job in his office. (After work I might add) He wouldn't eat lunch in his office cos it's for work so "doing dirty stuff" was never going to happen. :D

I gave up drinking for about 4 months with the aim of 6 months just for a bit of a change and challenge as opposed to being a dipso. I worked with a girl who said its fairly common for a non-drinker to a be a red flag/warning sign for girls if they meet a lad (purely speaking about those that did drink and don't anymore). A few weeks later I fell off the wagon and got wrecked and rode her. She turned out to be a right c*nt too. Found it to be an interesting deal breaker, although harsh and judgmental going by all the non-drinker lads I know I'd say its actually fair enough.

Harsh but fir IMHO, I can see how someone who doesn't drink due to being a problem drinker would be a red flag. What if after she has invested he falls off the wagon?

Still ya got the ride so ya can't complain!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Jealousy. Expecting me to not even look at another female let alone have a conversation with another woman without accusations flying. If you're that insecure see a doctor.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Captain Flaps

No longer looking but if I was.

Vegan/vegetarian - just love meat too much, also we are farmers and I’d have no time whatsoever for their anti-farmers rubbish.

Non-drinker and doesn’t like a good session fairly regularly.

Clingy

Sees going out with the lads regularly as anything other than normal and does her own thing with her own friends too.

Thick and not educated.

Not interested to some degree in doing fairly well in work, having a career.

Not getting on with my family.

Fitness fanatic.

Anti-catholic

This list explains a lot

You want to hear the conversation after I wanted to give him a blow job in his office. (After work I might add) He wouldn't eat lunch in his office cos it's for work so "doing dirty stuff" was never going to happen. :D

I tried to send you a msg but yer inbox seems to be full:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Well I guess, it depends on what he's eating .....

I'll get my coat :pac:

I have actually discreetly put my fingers in my ears during because the noise was putting me off so much! :D

It's some bit of odd wiring in my brain, but certain mouth noises are like nails on a chalkboard. There are certain friends who I avoid eating with over it. Even if someone is dehydrated and their mouth isn't properly lubricated I can't concentrate properly when they're talking to me because I want to punch them. I don't know if it would have been an actual deal breaker but when I started knocking around with my OH I definitely noted "ooh, quiet eater, good stuff".

Feisar wrote: »
    I tried to send you a msg but yer inbox seems to be full:P

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭roper1664

GreeBo wrote: »
    Someone ignorant and/or stupid.
    Someone without interests (other than daily mail or love islandy type ****e)

This was exactly my ex: Love Island, an obsession with the Daily Mail Online and an obsession with her apartment. Other than those, she had nothing going on, except meeting her friends the odd time. Oh, and she was convinced that they have Chippers in Italy, because Italians are famous for good chips. My eyes are now wide open for those things.

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭canonball5

I went on a second date last week with this lovely woman. She had dinner plans with her friend so we only had 45 mins together. She turned up 15 mins late and when I said she was late she accused me of being controlling and that she didn't appreciate being called out on it.... There won't be a third date!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Feisar wrote: »
    Plenty of women with daddy issues out there!

Edit - Great minds think alike!

a950f79dede3ad29a234b885bea2278c1bcb5c1588cb8b375e8c3233ecbbf461.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 17,843 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

canonball5 wrote: »
    I went on a second date last week with this lovely woman. She had dinner plans with her friend so we only had 45 mins together. She turned up 15 mins late and when I said she was late she accused me of being controlling and that she didn't appreciate being called out on it.... There won't be a third date!!!

Only fifteen minutes late ? She was early by many women’s standards!

• Registered Users Posts: 891 ✭✭✭mimimcmc

lucky enough not to be in the dating pool anymore but there's 3 bigun's

Could never date a smoker (himself has one or two every now and again, but not in my presence).

A dead beat dad

a lad with a hairy back - boke

• Registered Users Posts: 13,862 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

if-she-cant-handle-me-at-my-worst-she-doesnt-13544149

• Registered Users Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

I think that's code for they're a wan*er.
    Cause what normal person would ever dream of saying that.

It’s a Marilyn Monroe quote.

The male equivalent is any Anchorman quote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭nkl12xtw5goz70

Not "on the market" but they'd be:

-- Smoking, drug use, or excessive drinking
    -- Bad grammar/spelling
    -- Every third word is "like"
    -- Culturally illiterate. You don't have to be the editor of the Times Literary Supplement, but some awareness of art, literature, music, and culture before 1990 matters
    -- Left-wing politics. A centrist is fine, but I couldn't deal with a Sinn Fein / People Before Profit type
    -- Woke politics. Even worse
    -- Expects a text exchange every 30 minutes
    -- No ambition, goals, or plan in life
    -- Bad table manners
    -- Rudeness
    -- Any signs of controlling or narcissistic behavior
    -- Someone who just wants to complain rather than figure out solutions
    -- Stuck in a rut or unwilling to try new things
    -- Isn't physically affectionate