Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ray D'arcy on RTE Radio 1 **Mod Warning post 1** 27th Jan Forward

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

This was on when I got home as I left the radio on in the house when I went to work this morning and I was busy changing clothes, boiling a kettle etc and became aware of a persistent wearying drone I can't recall what he was going on about but whatever it was it seemed to be depressing him greatly. What ails him? and why is he ailing the public?

Ill probably get a ban for sniggering at that one :)
    Stay on topic, discuss the programme content, and there won't be a problem.

Trying to have a dig at moderation, however obscure you think you're being, is contrary to the charter. This is a warning, and applies also to subsequent posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Buzzkill. But Ray continues on his anti alcohol rants. I think someone should tell him that brewing and drinking alcohol has been around for millennia.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,025 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

what Irish TV chat show host does Partridge remind you of?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭Michael joseph

right Ray, lets see how much you're going to donate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭Michael joseph

nothing it seems, I was sure he was going to throw a few quid at it there

• Registered Users Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭goochy

Ray ashamed yet again to be a man - no fear of Ray challenging her - he would be ****ting himself driving home to Jenny

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Some bloke texted in saying men suffer from stress too. More or less told to "Butt out. This is womens talk".

I love how how felt the need to explain all the AP gags for us as if we're all eejits and he's the intellectual who got them.

Nuacht at 3.59. That's a turn up for the book

didnt find Steve Coogan thing funny - rarely do - Ray seemed to think it was gas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Ray touching on another of his public health touchstones today - the evils of gambling.

He can fill a week of them these days: evils of drink, evils of gamblin, evils of the fags, The Church, running, vaccinations and eating your porridge & greens :)

He plays 2 songs at the same time and blames the producer

• Registered Users Posts: 806 ✭✭✭amlinopta

He was incredibly unprofessional regarding Cheltenham coverage last week, especially on the Tuesday. Fair enough if he has issues with gambling but the way he dealt with it in terms of the handover to the commentators etc was uncalled for and must have irked the powers that be. Whether Ray likes it or not, Cheltenham is a big event and RTE pay a lot of money to cover it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

amlinopta wrote: »
    He was incredibly unprofessional regarding Cheltenham coverage last week, especially on the Tuesday. Fair enough if he has issues with gambling but the way he dealt with it in terms of the handover to the commentators etc was uncalled for and must have irked the powers that be. Whether Ray likes it or not, Cheltenham is a big event and RTE pay a lot of money to cover it.

Missed that do you have a link of the handover ?

saw Brendan o connor on cutting edge last night - RTE must be regretting replacing him with Ray - the tv show is finishing early this season - Brendan must be both annoyed and laughing that it hasnt worked out for Ray on tv - wouldnt imagine they are buddies

Brendan used to be good crack but he's gone as "Woke" as the rest of them now.

i agree to a point but hes still not as bad as the rest - see an interview at weekend he did in The Sun of all places !

"An irishman named Brendan Martin".

No Ray, it was Martin Brennan.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

goochy wrote:
    saw Brendan o connor on cutting edge last night - RTE must be regretting replacing him with Ray - the tv show is finishing early this season - Brendan must be both annoyed and laughing that it hasnt worked out for Ray on tv - wouldnt imagine they are buddies

O' Connors show on Sat night was utter crap. So they took him off that show and gave him a mid week show which is equally crap.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,704 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

sligojoek wrote: »

The dope kept saying he was from Mayo too earlier in the week.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭jelutong

TCM wrote: »
    O' Connors show on Sat night was utter crap. So they took him off that show and gave him a mid week show which is equally crap.

Spot on.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Absolute dog crap of a presenter..going on about questions on 50 year old quiz shows

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

sligojoek wrote: »

Today he called the show “this life” a couple of times :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Dr_serious2

vicwatson wrote: »
    Today he called the show “this life” a couple of times :rolleyes:

Ah here, you cant be expecting Godlike Ray to actually do research can you? He's only on half a million a year.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,717 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

I had to laugh the other day, on my twitter feed a tweet popped up from Will Hanafin with the video of the "Partridge look-a-like" rebel songs from This Time the other night.

Janny Kelly replied a few times with crying laughing emojis etc.

I couldnt help but smile - do they realise that one of them is married to our very own Partridge and the other one is his producer?

What an exciting life that man leads

• Registered Users Posts: 16,717 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

What an exciting life that man leads

Dont tell me he drank two bottles of beer and had a packet of taytos while watching Dancing with the Stars last night. :eek::eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 806 ✭✭✭amlinopta

Some pulminory fibrosis to get the week off to a positive start

BPKS wrote: »
    Dont tell me he drank two bottles of beer and had a packet of taytos while watching Dancing with the Stars last night. :eek::eek:

He had the morning off and made a sandwich

No excitement in his life till DWTS is back next year - he must have some bank balance - wouldnt spend much money socialising

• Registered Users Posts: 20,042 ✭✭✭✭neris

Did he mention yer wan Mairead won it? Or is that a name not permitted in casa darcy