Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
26-03-2010, 11:30   #61
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 9,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by madmoe View Post
I use "A Online Radio" as well but can't find 2FM and some of the others :-(
I may be wrong but think the issue is that RTE aren't using ShoutCast which is what most of the radio apps are relying on.

Here is a link to the Irish radio stations available on ShoutCast.
Stench Blossoms is offline  
Advertisement
26-03-2010, 11:31   #62
Dave147
Registered User
 
Dave147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,070
Just rooted my Hero and wondering what roms you'd all recommend, was thinking Modaco 3.2, anyone have better idea?
Dave147 is offline  
26-03-2010, 12:26   #63
charlie_says
Registered User
 
charlie_says's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,245
GSM on the Hero?

Quote:
Originally Posted by breeno View Post
Lads, I'm in the same boat. My phone is completely dropping coverage about 3/4 times a day, pretty annoying if people are trying to ring text me. I got onto Meteor and they said there's nothing they can do apart from sending it off for repair which wont do anything as it's a network problem! I signed up to an 18 month contract in November last, cant have this issue going on like this until then. Do I have any options?
This is worrying. I am considering moving to Meteor tomorrow as they have offered me a free Hero (today and tomorrow only) if you move to the Surf Plan (500/500 mins/texts 1GB data €55pm).

Is there a way like on my nokia N95 (so ahead of its time) to change the radio to different bands ie use GSM rather than 3G and vice versa?
charlie_says is offline  
26-03-2010, 18:08   #64
Doc Daneeka
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 235
Hi people,

Know this has been asked before but can't find the answer. How can I get my Hero to ring more than 3 times before going to voicemail?

Doc.
Doc Daneeka is offline  
26-03-2010, 19:25   #65
charlie_says
Registered User
 
charlie_says's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlie_says View Post
This is worrying. I am considering moving to Meteor tomorrow as they have offered me a free Hero (today and tomorrow only) if you move to the Surf Plan (500/500 mins/texts 1GB data €55pm).

Is there a way like on my nokia N95 (so ahead of its time) to change the radio to different bands ie use GSM rather than 3G and vice versa?
Ah yeah, you can choose to use 2G networks only through the Menu > Wireless Settings > Mobile Network Settings menu.

Just got a Hero today. HTCSync doesn't work on Windows 7 out of the box, fail.

Where is Android 2.1 and more importantly why isn't it here already if it is on other Andriod phones? Annoying.

ZYB does not support HTC Hero, also annoying.

Having to get used to the touchpad will be intresting for typing stuff.

Meteor is defo faster for 3G than the other networks though, which I like.

The UI on the phone is pretty cool must investigate more. Not able to operate it at speed like my old nokia though.

So far undecided....
charlie_says is offline  
Advertisement
26-03-2010, 21:52   #66
Mr E
Administrator
 
Mr E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 49,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Daneeka View Post
Know this has been asked before but can't find the answer. How can I get my Hero to ring more than 3 times before going to voicemail?
Its in the very first post. Just read it.
Mr E is offline  
27-03-2010, 16:34   #67
neacy69
Registered User
 
neacy69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,771
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlie_says View Post
Where is Android 2.1 and more importantly why isn't it here already if it is on other Andriod phones? Annoying.
2.1 update for Hero is apparently going to be here on the 16th april but i wouldnt hold your breath seeing as its been delayed numerois times already

2.1 has been released as part of the custom roms but no official hero release yet

Quote:
Originally Posted by charlie_says View Post
Having to get used to the touchpad will be intresting for typing stuff.
I would reccomend Swype instead of the stock keypad very handy once you get used to it

Quote:
Originally Posted by charlie_says View Post
Meteor is defo faster for 3G than the other networks though, which I like.

The UI on the phone is pretty cool must investigate more. Not able to operate it at speed like my old nokia though.

So far undecided....
took me a little while to get used to it but love it now....
neacy69 is offline  
28-03-2010, 20:45   #68
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr E View Post
Updated 13/3/2010



What is the Android Marketplace?
The Android marketplace is similar to the App Store on an iPhone. Its a place where you can choose from thousands of apps, games and widgets to download for your phone. In Ireland, you only have access to the free applications in the store. The paid-apps have not been made available to Irish android users yet. This is a restriction put in place by Google - it doesn't matter what operator you are with.
Never knew this. Is this a deal breaker? I've had the Iphone for the last couple of years and was about to change to the HTC Desire when it comes out. I'm not a big apps user but i do have a few useful ones that I use a lot like The guardian or a couple of games. Does this leave Irish users at a big disadvantage? Is there any idea as to when the paid apps will be made available?
conorkieran is offline  
29-03-2010, 01:15   #69
radiospan
Registered User
 
radiospan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by conorkieran View Post
Never knew this. Is this a deal breaker? I've had the Iphone for the last couple of years and was about to change to the HTC Desire when it comes out. I'm not a big apps user but i do have a few useful ones that I use a lot like The guardian or a couple of games. Does this leave Irish users at a big disadvantage? Is there any idea as to when the paid apps will be made available?
Never been a problem for me, most of the apps I want are free.

You can always install Market Enabler to make the Android Market on your phone act as if you are on US or UK networks and see everything.
radiospan is offline  
Advertisement
29-03-2010, 01:21   #70
mooman
Registered User
 
mooman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 480
I wouldn't say it's a deal breaker, most of the most useful apps are free anyway. I moved from an iPhone a couple of months ago and would never go back, I literally find out something about android that's better than OS X every day.
mooman is offline  
29-03-2010, 13:04   #71
radiospan
Registered User
 
radiospan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,183
Fairly good Android 2.1 ROM update for Hero: http://www.villainrom.co.uk/viewtopi...=40&p=181#p181
radiospan is offline  
29-03-2010, 13:56   #72
Mr E
Administrator
 
Mr E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 49,032
I'd wait for Villain 5.1 - some bugs in 5.0 (like automatically converting + in a phone number to 011).

99% of my numbers are stored in +353 XXX format, so this is a deal breaker for me.
Mr E is offline  
29-03-2010, 14:33   #73
mooman
Registered User
 
mooman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 480
The number is a balls alright I flashed 5.0 this morning, its a big improvement on the legend build but I went back to 4.0 until they fix the phone number glitch.
mooman is offline  
29-03-2010, 18:53   #74
marymc
Registered User
 
marymc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by plazzTT View Post
You can always install Market Enabler to make the Android Market on your phone act as if you are on US or UK networks and see everything.
Is Market Enabler only for rooted phones?

Oh wait. Just got an informative google link. It is.
marymc is offline  
30-03-2010, 15:01   #75
How Soon Is Now
Registered User
 
How Soon Is Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,182
Send a message via Yahoo to How Soon Is Now Send a message via Skype™ to How Soon Is Now
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr E View Post
How do I increase the number of rings on the phone before it goes to voicemail?
Key in **61*xxxxxxxxxxx*11*nn# followed by the call/send button and it should update the delay. xxxxxxxxxxx is voice mail number (e.g. 08*5*******). nn is time and can be up to 30. So if your phone number is 087 3333333 and you want a 30 second delay, then the code you enter is **61*08753333333*11*30#. When you enter this code, you'll get a message on screen saying "MMI Code Started", followed by a message that says "Call forwarding - Registration was successful".
Just went and tried this now on my sim free hero and i got connection problem or invalid mmi code
How Soon Is Now is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet