Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best and worst things about christmas

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Family.

Family.

Brilliant !! :D:D

So true tho !!

Im all positive now as I just arrived today, but I'm sure I'll veer toward that 2nd family in the coming days :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Best

Being together as a family.
    Getting cards from far away friends that you only hear from once a year.
    Seeing family members happy with their presents.
    Excuse to over indulge on the food and drink front.

Worst

Christmas hits blaring out of PA systems in town and on the radio.
    Battling with the Christmas tree lights - same story every year!
    Stress waiting for presents to be delivered from Amazon etc.
    Being broke for the first couple of week in January.

On balance I love Christmas despite all the hassle - it's what you make of it.

Happy Christmas Boardsies. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Pac1Man wrote: »
    Listening to the 'I hate Christmas' spiel from the usual few is definitely the worst.

I'm meh towards Xmas, some good ones and some crap ones.

However yeah, I can't stand the bore who bangs on about how commercial it is and it is all about spending money as if they were the first person ever to have that realisation. zzzzzzzzzzzzzz:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

Best:
    Time off work
    Seeing people you don't see very often such as extended and friends
    Spending time with family

Worst:
    Chaotic traffic in the middle of the day during the run up.
    Shear bloody chaos in shop particularly annoying in supermarkets when your just trying to get what you usually get
    Christmas Music
    Work christmas parties
    Boredom sitting around the house

I don't hate christmas but prefer other times of the year such the summer when you go away and the weather is good.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭kerryjack

only after sitting down now with a nice JD and 7up afrer getting everything sorted for the kids, its about now herself puts on the sexy santa outfit but no sighn of it yet so I still live in hope, happy Christmas to ye all and hope its a good one for ye.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,288 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I Just told my family I'm not joining them for xmas. I'm highly proud of myself to take the decision that I won't put up with their crap any longer. They are totally disgusted that they cant control me any longer and that gives me an enormous sense of satisfaction.

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭crazyguy01

Best- almost everything for Christmas with my wife and I is for our daughter and the best is the happiness on her face, as they say it's all about the kids; also enjoyed just meeting people I hadn't seen in years just walking down the street over the last couple of days.
    Worst - missing my mother who we lost 2 years ago and still wanting to share with her, and seeing my dad older and more frail every year.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

Best: The day off.
    Worst: I work in hospitality

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Best and worst: being up at 2am doing Santa and being on here at 3am.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 21,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭entropi

Best thing? Cans.

Worst thing? Hangover.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭erica74

Worst - people saying Christmas is for children, people giving out about commercialism (take a stand and stop taking part then), people going to mass once a year (the amount of extra cars outside all the churches I drove past yesterday was hilarious), people asking what you're doing for Christmas/who you're spending it with but only wanting to hear one answer, today it's raining so walking the dogs will be wet, I prefer a nice crisp cold Christmas Day, having to replace batteries in lights at least twice over the few weeks.

Best - cooking, baking and eating Christmas food, celebrations with my loved ones, playing board games while having a few drinks, getting up early so it feels like every day is longer, giving gifts and knowing you got it just right, getting to spend more time with my husband and our dogs as we have a couple of days off work, the smell of the Christmas food cooking (currently enjoying the smell of my gingerale ham in the slow cooker), mince pies in particular, the decorations, I love the predecorating big clean and putting up the decorations and then sitting back with a glass of prosecco admiring all the twinkling lights (while the batteries are still 100%), driving around looking at the Christmas lights, Christmas music, love Christmas FM, getting to celebrate Christmas exactly as I want to because my husband is a sound man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users Posts: 16,293 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Christmas used to be a big occasion in our house growing up, my mam used to put a lot of work into the christmas dinner and we always had to wait until my dad had the farm work done before we could eat.

We were poor growing up like a lot of people back then but they always tried to get us the toys we wanted and neighbours would call in christmas evening for a few drinks and a chat.

they are all gone now but those memories are the best for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Patww79 wrote: »
    I'd love to see a priest take a stand and ask any of the once a year heads to leave.

My priest did that one year. That was his last Christmas in the parish. Outrage, but something to talk about waiting for Christmas dinner.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,809 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Deedsie wrote:
    All the excess waste packaging. So much plastic

But, but, 'the market', it's good for us, apparently!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

heldel00 wrote: »
    Best: Due baby 11th January
    Worst: Due baby 11th January

(I'm rolling round the place like a big bale of hay trying my best to be festive. Worst bit of my Christmas eve was when even the maternity jeans wouldn't fit this morning)

I feel your pain! I was due last Tuesday ... still preggers.

Anyway, best for me is my family members coming home and spending time with them.

There are no worsts for me! It’s all good.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

I'd love to see a priest take a stand and ask any of the once a year heads to leave.

Ah here now - that would be a Christian thing to do? seriousley? Considering the scandals the church have been embroiled in - they should be happy that anyone turns up tbh. That said religion isn't just for the godly - I think the "sinners" and prodigal son's/ daughters are supposed to be welcome or did I read the wrong bible?

Oh and there's always that extra money on the plate ...

If people want to make their stand against all the scandals that's fine. How do they forget about their principles in December 25th though?

It's not about people's genuine concern about church scandals- it's more about the churches attitude to doing the right thing and not being hypocrites towards others ... as said I don't remember church being just for the 'godly' ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Lol - empty the church

They're empty all year? I knew numbers were down but that's news to me.

If you get sanctimonious ol gits that tell others to leave - chances are everyone bar a very few of the righteous brigade would leave ...

They're empty all year? I knew numbers were down but that's news to me.

Look pat, sorry to be the bearer of bad news here, but Christmas has nothing to do with baby Jesus and religion any more. It's about having a holiday period during the year where kids can be spoiled, bellies can be stuffed, and merriment can be found.

Ok the foundations here are that the "son of god" was born, after immaculate conception no less - but some people would like to just take part in the festivities, and if the price is to endure an hour long sermon just to appease a loved one then are they not entitled to such?

• Registered Users Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

heldel00 wrote: »
    Each to their own and all that but I really don't get this!

He/she might like the community coming together/social aspect of a good mass!

Fcuk that

• Registered Users Posts: 23,481 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

One of the things I dislike are Athiests happily celebrating Christmas without seeing the inherent contradiction in it.

If you're a self professed intellectually superior Athiest with no time for make believe like those religious yokels at least have consistency in your convictions.

• Registered Users Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

Candie wrote: »
    I'll be escorting my Gran to a candlelight service later, and I'll enjoy it because she loves having me there and I love her and anything that makes her happy is good with me.

I'm in no way religious, but some of my clearest moments come to me in religious/contemplative spaces.

That's completely different to the atheist argument here. That's you doing something nice for someone to make their day.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Mr.Wemmick

One thing I don't really like about Christmas is the ordeal people make out of cooking the dinner. You are essentially cooking a big roast dinner and if you do something different you generally have a simple enough recipe to follow. Every year you have to listen to people's struggle with something that is a very basic task!

No. A normal roast dinner is easy, meat & potatoes into one roasting tin, steam the veg, gravy and a tub of ice cream, you're done.

There are so many dishes cooked from scratch on Christmas day, each cooked in batches, re-heated, know your timings.. make cranberry sauce, bread sauce and gravy and there are always at least two puddings, if not three, so no it's not as easy as a straight forward slap up Sunday roast.. oh and I forgot to mention the starters.

I've no problem with that. But why do people take time out from the belly stuffing and brat spoiling to go to mass one day a year at all then if it's nothing to do with it?

As already stated, in the majority of cases I believe it's to appease a loved one, in others it's most likely because people are creatures of habit