Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the stupidest thing you've ever done to yourself?

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,905 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Apparently when I was about 2 years old I shoved a berry up my nose, had to go to hospital and be sedated so they could remove it. I wasn't all that far up, I just kept biting the doctor when he came near me with the tweezer things.

When I was 12 we were on holidays in Spain and I decided to jump backwards into the pool. Instead of doing a good jump that would have propelled me properly into the pool, I just sort of 'hopped' backwards. The result was that I cracked my chin off the edge of the pool, split my chin open (blood EVERYWHERE) and broke 4 of my front teeth. Then when my dad dragged me out of the pool, I saw all the blood running down my front and onto the ground and promptly fainted and cracked my head off the ground.

About 10 years ago I was working in a DIY store. One night I was manning the customer service desk, it was a really quiet night and I was bored out of my tree. There was a tube of that 'Loctite' superglue sitting beside the cash register, and I just started messing around with it. After a couple of minutes the tube burst and there was superglue all over my hands. I'm not 100% sure how I did it, but I managed to glue one of my hands to the cash register. I panicked and tried to wipe the glue off my other hand so I could rescue the stuck hand, however all I managed to do was glue my other hand to my trousers. Had to sit like that for about 15 minutes until one of the managers walked by and got some solvent to rescue me. He nearly died laughing and I nearly died of shame. Lesson learned: when the warning on the glue says 'caution, bonds skin and eyes in seconds', they're not messing.

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭Spr1ngsteen

Kicked a goalpost in frustration after missing a great chance in a football match. Broke my foot.

Fell out of bed pissed one night. Fractured my jaw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

did you get a feel off her

Well it was a soft landing anyway, put it that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭obplayer

shroom007 wrote: »
    When I was about 12 decided to see how far I could cycle with my eyes closed, not very far was the answer about 2 seconds after closing my eyes I smacked straight into my neighbours concrete mixer truck, when I got up he was standing at his door and there was a few people on the street, in complete silence not even laughing at me just looking. What a spanner it still makes me laugh now

Did similar, hit the kerb, flew off head first in to a car bumper.

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭The other fella

Started smoking.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Tripping and smashing my hand through a french door glass screen... giving nasty lacerations on my right hand and forearm.
    GenieOz wrote: »
    Ripped my banjo string.

Ow...

Owww??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 311 ✭✭Silverbling

answered the iron instead of the phone, it hurt

• Registered Users Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

Had a build up of wax in my ear, went to the Internet to find a solution. Google search said use olive oil (it meant dip a cue tip in and use that to soften the wax), I lay on my side and filled the ear to the brim, left it about 5 minutes and then tipped my head over. Very little oil came back out and I couldn't hear anything in the ear, I then decided to fill the ear with warm water (made it worse), Then i tried cue tips. Went to bed thinking that'll fix itself, woke up still no hearing in the ear, the missus was gone to work so I tried her hair drier at the ear. After about 2 days of not being able to hear in the ear I told her and she pissed herself laughing and got some ear drops from the bathroom. Lesson learned

• Registered Users Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

Walking home from School one day someone called me. I looked a back and kept walking not realising that my friend had put her school bag down. I fell over the school bag and landed smack down on my face two front teeth gone. I still have know recollection of how the hell we got home.

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭FudgeBrownie

I poured myself some milk in a wine glass, put that wine glass on top of the fridge, opened the fridge door to put the milk back in, but the glass falls and smashes onto my head. As a result my face was covered in shards of glass and milk.

I didn't bother pouring myself a second glass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

I was twisting and thumbing a dried up tube of superglue cos it was all of that stuff I had left in the house. Cant remember what I tried to repair but must have been important at the time.
    Anyway eventually the tube broke and I got a right splash of it full into my right eye. Now reflex allowed me to close the eye so nothing really terrible happened but of course the eye was superglued shut in an instant, eyelid, lashes the works. I was like Quasimodo for the rest of the day and of course it could have been right nasty.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,905 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Actually just thought of another one. I was rushing out to work one morning and accidentally spilled tea all down the front of my shirt. Had to change into another one, but I hadn't got any other ones ironed. I got the ironing board out and did the quickest ironing of a shirt ever, then pulled it on. I noticed there was a little bit I missed just on the front near the waistline. Being slightly addled at that stage, instead of taking it back off and running the iron over it again, I grabbed the iron and stuck it against the shirt while I was wearing it. Gave myself a lovely burn that morning. My stomach looked like the burglar in Home Alone after Macauly Culkin smacks him in the face with the iron.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 311 ✭✭Silverbling

that reminds me of my most embarrassing one, I had a mouse hole in the wall outside the house that was letting rain in on the floor, got a stupid quote off a builder and decided to fix it myself with expanding foam.

The top would not come off so i cut it off and used my hands to pat it into place.

The staff in a&e laughed, a lot at both my hands in rock solid expanding foam gloves, they kept on laughing while we tried to get it off and laughed even more when I spent 4 hours at a sink with a bottle of wash up trying to get it off, literally every time they passed they would crumple laughing, at least I only needed a sink not a bed

• Registered Users Posts: 593 ✭✭✭sully2010

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

I have awful luck with hoovers and stairs. Every time I carry one down the stairs I manage to trip and tumble down.

The last time I did it, I actually said to myself, jesus this is easy, how did I manage to f*ck it up so many times?

Next thing I know, I'm in pain and my mam is standing over me going 'I told you to ask one of us to help you with it after the last time this happened!'

Another time when I was about 15, my mam used to wake me up for school. I'd open my curtains to make her think I was up, but my bed was underneath them and I was just stretching my arm up while still lying down.

I had a really heavy paperweight on the ledge, a big ball nearly the side of my head. Came down on my head when I pulled the curtain back and I was out for the count. She didn't believe that I knocked myself out until she saw the lump on my forehead. It was almost as big as the weight itself. Still have it, still directly above my head.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭DesperateDan

Terrible travel sickness as a child. One day when I was 9 I'm in a friend's car and his mum is driving us home and I need to be sick. Usually I gave the parents plenty of warning, but because I was in someone else's car this time I was much more reluctant to say anything.

I don't know what speed we were doing but it was fast, and I desperately didn't want to be sick in my friend's car. I guess I didn't realise the car was still moving after I yelled stop. So I opened the door and just jumped onto the road, I landed on my right knee and rolled several times at high speed. Still got a large scar on my knee, there was stitches and much blood. If I had jumped a few seconds earlier I'd most likely be dead.

I have also stapled my fingers on 3 separate occasions, once was just last year - so I have an irrational fear of staplers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭con___manx1

i was laying a carpet in my brothers house while watching the word cup in 2010.when i was cutting a piece of carpet a goal went in and i cut my wrist with the stanley knife. iddddioott ; )

• Registered Users Posts: 12,423 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

In 1976 in Scotland it was my sisters birthday, she had just turned twelve, the family decided to go for day trip out to Luss in Argyll and Bute, Loch Lomond. We had only been there an hour when I accidentally shut the car door locked with the keys in the ignition. The only way we could get in again was to phone our brother in Glasgow to come out by train with the spare set of keys. So my while my folks had drinks in the local hotel bar minors were not allowed in at a certain time me and my sisters had to spend the evening in the bus shelter in the pouring rain while we waited for the brother to show up with the keys. So my sisters twelfth birthday will always be remembered as being ruined by me and my incompetence. Not the stupidest thing I've done but silly enough

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭SuperS54

Was an idiot in my youth...

Bored living in the countryside so would come up with various forms of amusement, generally destructive.

Remember a particularly pleasant sunny day where myself and my brother took turns at shooting a high powered air rifle at stones and rocks to get the cowboy movie rickocet whiiiiinnnnnngggg as the pellet buzzed by our heads. Great fun until one didn't miss, still have a scar on my forehead, could have been much worse.

Found an old book of chemical formulas and discovered gun powder. Amazingly was able to buy all the incredients in several chemists (after learning not to ask for them all at the same time!). Had great fun with gunpowder trails and what not. Decided to take it up a notch and see could we get the stuff to explode rather than just fizzle and burn. Our research showed that a suitable vessel was needed in which the pressure would build up. Got a big coffee jar and quarter filled it with home made gunpowder, plan was that my brother would throw in a match and I'd screw the lid on before hurling it away (I know how dumb that sounds....and was as it turns out...) Jar filled, match thrown, gunpowder fizzles, tried to get the lid on and all I got was a stream of red hot gunpowder gases that burned the heel of my hand away. Had to hide that from my parents for a couple of weeks until it healed, still have a scar to this day, probably should have had plastic surgery...

Decided to take up what seemed like a less dangerous hobby and bought a radio controlled model airplane kit. Didn't have a lot of cash so bought a wooden kit that you had to assemble yourself. Was using an actual medical scapel to trim some parts, was trimming some hardwood with a brand new scapel and putting a lot of pressure on the blade when it suddenly slipped and embedded itself in my thumb. Had to wiggle it to remove as it had stuck in the bone...Didn't hurt till later but bled a whole heap. Took ages to heal as it was such a straight cut, have a nice scar.

Once I finished the plane I bought a second hand engine for it. Was near the end of it's life and not easy to start. Spent ages flicking over the propellor by hand until finally it spluttered into life. With these engines you had to get them running at full speed and then adjust a small knob about half an inch from the back of the propellor in order to tune it. You're supposed to do this from the back. After taking so long to get the thing started it then began to sputter and die, instead of going around behind the thing I tried to reach the needle from the front before the engine died. Unfortunately I miss judged the diameter of the propellor and had the tip of it, which apparently was travelling close to the speed of sound, slice though my middle finger from the the tip, up the nail and to the first joint. Looked like one of those cartoon accidents where a airplane fillets something. Spent the afternoon in hospital having the lose bits of shredded nail pulled out before it could be bandaged up. Hurt rather a lot, still have a wonky nail and scarred finger as a memory...

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Going Strong

shroom007 wrote: »
    When I was about 12 decided to see how far I could cycle with my eyes closed, not very far was the answer about 2 seconds after closing my eyes I smacked straight into my neighbours concrete mixer truck, when I got up he was standing at his door and there was a few people on the street, in complete silence not even laughing at me just looking. What a spanner it still makes me laugh now

I feel your pain. Once in my early teens, when cycling down a very steep hill, I decided it was the perfect time and place to push the front mudguard back into place with my foot. I ended up turning the wheel left, hit the kerb, got flung over the handlebars and just missed head-butting a tree. I was fairly battered and bruised and had chipped a tooth. The bike was grand altogether though and I picked it up and cycled home. It was as I put it in the shed that I noticed that the front forks were bent completely around the wrong way. Instead of curving backwards, they now curved forwards.

I was in trouble already as, a few weeks earlier when racing a friend on our bikes and it got a bit too competitive so I shoved him hard and he crashed into a parked car and broke a headlight. So, when explaining what had happened to my front forks, I claimed that I'd had to swerve to avoid a dog. It worked too and I avoided any trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

I tried to see how far I could cycle with my hands crossed. Jesus that's tricky!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭Duff

Once tried the whole 'cycling with your hands in your jacket pocket' thing. Went well for about 3 seconds until I got a speed wobble and sailed off the bike into a load of wheelie bins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

did the cycling with eyes closed thing too, except I tried no hands too.

Que 5 seconds later and I was laid on top of the bonnet of a car with the owner asking me "WHAT THE FÚCK ARE YOU PLAYING AT!" out of his sitting room window..ahh a shameful little cry and hobble back to my house to inform the mother I'd damaged someones car and she had to pay.

I told everyone that I was swerving to avoid a dog, there was no dog, this is the first time I've ever told the truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Used a contact lens when I was meant to be off them for a year. As it was old I ended up getting a massive eye infection and episcleritis. Almost lost my sight in that eye and cost my parents a fortune with a specialist. Still feel guilty about it. (and stupid)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭mathie

Motivator wrote: »
    I joined a gym when I was about 21. Had never been inside one before & hadn't a clue how to use any machines or how to use the weights area. The first day I was there was a Saturday morning & the place was packed. I was on the threadmill & everything was going grand until in the mirror I noticed a gorgeous girl behind me. I lost concentration for a split second & missed a step on the threadmill which was moving at a fair speed. I lost all balance & fell but managed to regain composure fairly quickly & balance myself but made a massive noise when I fell so when I got back up & running half the gym was laughing at me.

Anyway, feeling a bit hot under the collar I decided to release some tension by using the weight bench. I was wrecked tired from the threadmill, add in the shock & embarrassment of falling & the heat in the gym it was a poor move out of me. I sat down on the bench to compose myself & spotted the lovely girl again. Determined to make up for the embarrassment of the threadmill incident I decided to throw caution to the wind & bench press 50kg. I may not sound a lot but bear in mind I had never touched a weight before & this mixed in with the other factors in hindsight it was a miracle I wasn't killed. Having heard about a "spotter" I didn't know what it was...I wish I had.

With the lovely girl peddling away on her bike I was right in her eyeline. I lay back on the bench & lifted the barbell. Not even halfway up on the first rep my arms buckled & the barbell came straight down on my chest. Broke my breastplate & did huge damage to my ribs. I spent 4 weeks in hospital & another 3 months in rehab being given the confidence to move around. It affected me very badly psychologically as i came very close to dropping the barbell right down on my throat which would have probably chopped my head off.

Hands down the stupidest thing I've ever done to myself & hopefully it will never be topped.

Is your first name Mr?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

A number of years ago, my parents were on holidays and I was the resident house-sitter. One morning I woke up late for work and was rushing like a mad yoke to get out the door. I forgot everything. I closed the front door behind me and just as I heard it close, I realised that both my keys and my phone were still inside. So I had no key to open the porch door. So there I was, for 8 hours, trapped in between the two doors. The postman came and I felt like an awful eejit just sitting in the porch. My rescue came when my next door neighbour finally came home and opened the door with her spare key. I had to shout at her through the letterbox.:pac: I had survived on half a small bottle of water than happened to be in my bag. It was a ROASTING day too.

Gobsh1te!

• Registered Users Posts: 397 ✭✭whitewave

Not as bad as some of the previous stories, but I regularly drop my phone on my face in bed, punch myself in the face trying to pull up the blankets or else elbow myself in the boob trying to get a jumper/t-shirt off

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,151 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

I think I might some special kind of dumb. Maybe I shouldn't cycle home tonight...
    beano345 wrote: »
    Put a black cat banger which I thought was a dud after it didn't go off into my mouth like a smoke[...] luckily it blew outwards and left me with a shocked head and ringing ears....!

Check. Well, I held it in my hand rather than put it in my mouth
    ...slicing my thumb open to almost the bone ...

Check. (Forefinger)
    I've rubbed my eye while chopping chillies ...
    Yup.
    maryfred wrote: »
    Cut my hair with a kitchen scissors when i was 13
    Been there.
    'sure I'll just go out in my pyjamas, be grand'.

I used to put my pants over my pajamas. Cowboy style :D.
    My Mom stood me up on a chair, called my aunt around, and asked me to pull down the pants. Didn't do that again....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭homemadecider

Wurly wrote: »
    A number of years ago, my parents were on holidays and I was the resident house-sitter. One morning I woke up late for work and was rushing like a mad yoke to get out the door. I forgot everything. I closed the front door behind me and just as I heard it close, I realised that both my keys and my phone were still inside. So I had no key to open the porch door. So there I was, for 8 hours, trapped in between the two doors. The postman came and I felt like an awful eejit just sitting in the porch. My rescue came when my next door neighbour finally came home and opened the door with her spare key. I had to shout at her through the letterbox.:pac: I had survived on half a small bottle of water than happened to be in my bag. It was a ROASTING day too.

Gobsh1te!

Winner!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭blastman

I have also stapled my fingers on 3 separate occasions, once was just last year - so I have an irrational fear of staplers.

I wouldn't say it's irrational, then.... :D