Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Drink driving-virtue signaling gone mad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,488 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Amirani wrote: »
    Your right to drive under licence, obviously. Fairly pointless pedantry as I'm pretty sure anyone with half a brain cell would understand that's what someone meant when they talked about a driver's right to drive.
    There is no 'right to drive' with or without a licence. Rights are set out in the constitution or in law. There is no 'right to drive' full stop.

It's not pedantry. It is an important distinction for discussions like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭10pennymixup

vandriver wrote: »
    '...I've lost too many friends over the years as the result of drunk drivers...'

Really?
    Bobtheman wrote: »
    Really?

I've only lost the one..........my little brother..............I feel one is more than enough to have an opinion on the selfish gob****ery that's coming out of some posters holes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Well firstly the limits are too low which is why people are over in the morning and secondly you are in a totally different frame of mind. You have slept, had your breakfast and are awake and ready for the day not on a buzz from a night out etc. Sure it’s only in the last few years anyone even mentioned the morning after, everyone just drove the next day afte a sleep and never even considered it an issue. It’s nanny state stuff as usual.

What about the lad out drinking till 4.30 am and then falls out of the bed for work at 7. Late. Then stumbles out to the car without so much as a cup of tea in him and drives 20 miles to work.

That is why there are drink driving checks in the mornings. For idiots like him, and there are plenty of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

What about streaming music, podcast, radio stations and books or using sat nav? Then passengers etc. also with CarPlay etc you can have your messages read to you and reply etc without ever looking at the phone and all these make those of us who do long drives have a much nicer experience.

It’s an absolutely crazy suggestion to ban data you might as well say we should ban driving.

I also agree with the op, the limit is too low should be set up allow the average man to have 3 pints or so and drive home and morning bagging is a disgrace.
    Sat nav is the only exception I'd make.

I've done long distance driving, I agree it's incredibly boring, I did it before there was sat nav, had to pull over somewhere to look at a map to figure out where you were and where to go next..
    The biggest danger back then was people trying to read a map while driving...

Do I really want to be able to see or comment on the dress my sister is planning on wearing while manipulating 1500kg of steel at 120kph?

If passengers on a bus are slightly inconvenienced before I kill them all in a crash because I was uploading a snapchat is it not a price worth paying?

Steve wrote: »

I've done long distance driving, I agree it's incredibly boring, I did it before there was sat nav, had to pull over somewhere to look at a map to figure out where you were and where to go next..

Do I really want to be able to see or comment on the dress my sister is planning on wearing while manipulating 1500kg of steel at 120kph?

If passengers on a bus are slightly inconvenienced before I kill them all in a crash because I was uploading a snapchat is it not a price worth paying?

I’d rather live with the tiny risks for the massive advantages of having data in the car. I very much enjoy my long drives as I enjoy listening to various different things that involve data.

As I said you might as well say ban driving, ban radios, ban heaters sure they distract you setting the heat, ban kids in cars etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

I wonder will driving bans rocket now because of the lower limit automatically making most people over the limit the morning after. It would be quite embarrassing to get done for drink driving and possibly losing your job because you're over the limit by .01

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,474 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Do you have any stats on the numbers of deaths due to data usage? Is it comparable to drink driving? I'm struggling to see how it's relevant here.

I’d rather live with the tiny risks for the massive advantages of having data in the car. I very much enjoy my long drives as I enjoy listening to various different things that involve data.
    Could you not download them before the journey?

Sometime yes, sometimes I listen to live radio not available here or change what I’m listening to along the way, feel like something different in Spotify etc etc. I also reply to WhatsApp messages etc using CarPlay or dictating to my Apple Watch and generally use data quite a lot while driving. It would be a massive inconvenience for me but look it’s never ever going to happen so not worth worry about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

I wonder will driving bans rocket now because of the lower limit automatically making most people over the limit the morning after. It would be quite embarrassing to get done for drink driving and possibly losing your job because you're over the limit by .01

Well if that's not a serious deterrent, I don't know what is.

Maybe ads for preventing drink driving should show ladies and gentlemen having to remove all their possessions from their office before loading them into a taxi, and then shaking hands with all their ex-colleagues.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

I'm amazed the Dunne hasn't posted here yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭Wailin

"Virtue signalling".....Christ, what have we become. That and "faux outrage" .....two phrases that boils the blood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Elemonator

This is insane.

3 pints affects everyone differently. I've seen lads down three pints and not a breeze on them. I've seen others drink 3 and get sick. Only a few short years ago, a girl I knew was out socialising with friends. Got offered a lift home with a man on a few pints. The journey was 3km. On that straight road, he drove into a wall and killed her instantly.

The tolerance for drink driving should be no pints. If you cannot socialise without alcohol, that's your problem.

Sometime yes, sometimes I listen to live radio not available here or change what I’m listening to along the way, feel like something different in Spotify etc etc. I also reply to WhatsApp messages etc using CarPlay or dictating to my Apple Watch and generally use data quite a lot while driving. It would be a massive inconvenience for me but look it’s never ever going to happen so not worth worry about.
    I'm sure (and let's hope it never comes to this) that a judge would not agree that your 'convenience' was a mitigating factor in an accident that - perhaps- caused the deaths of a school bus full of children, because you were momentarily distracted by loading a spotify feed. :)

That's a good reason not to go drinking on a night before you'll be driving then.

While all entirely legal once you're not actually touching or holding the phone, it has to distract you from safe driving if you're dictating text messages or anything else while driving.

• Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭Sac O Spuds

There are people who drink and drive. They take the chance. The Gardai checkpoints aren't a regular sight at night. In 24 yrs of driving I've encountered less than 10 late night checkpoints.
    What's more the Gardai were cranking up the drink drive arrest figures when in actual fact they weren't setting up the checkpoints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,467 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I realise we have to have laws on this but to be honest I wonder if the checkpoints in the morning should be done way with ? Or perhaps less checkpoints overall?

I honestly think its ok to drive a short distance (1-3 miles) with 3 pints. There I said it . We allow people to drink heavily which is always a health risk but seem hell bent on persecuting people with a few pints? Im talking about rural areas.

No I dont drive drunk. Never have.

I think you're wrong personally but even if I didn't; how would allowing people with three pints driving between 1-3 miles as a law work?

Where's the virtue signaling by the way?

Do you see anti drink driving as a right on cause for SJWs or something?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

What about streaming music, podcast, radio stations and books or using sat nav? Then passengers etc. also with CarPlay etc you can have your messages read to you and reply etc without ever looking at the phone and all these make those of us who do long drives have a much nicer experience.

It’s an absolutely crazy suggestion to ban data you might as well say we should ban driving.

I also agree with the op, the limit is too low should be set up allow the average man to have 3 pints or so and drive home and morning bagging is a disgrace.

No, it's not. If you can't drive without the need to have a few pints on board then you are not fit to be on the roads.

If you're using data through your cars UI then you're not posting on facebook or uploading things to Insta, it's fully voice controlled and you get up your maps, switch between music and podcasts etc. You never take your hands off the wheel or have anything onscreen that needs attention.

I don't see how banning that would make a difference, it's like banning speaking or radios.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Well firstly the limits are too low which is why people are over in the morning and secondly you are in a totally different frame of mind. You have slept, had your breakfast and are awake and ready for the day not on a buzz from a night out etc. Sure it’s only in the last few years anyone even mentioned the morning after, everyone just drove the next day afte a sleep and never even considered it an issue. It’s nanny state stuff as usual.

One sure fire way to not be over the limit the morning after, is to not drink the night before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,624 ✭✭✭votecounts

Elemonator wrote: »
    This is insane.

3 pints affects everyone differently. I've seen lads down three pints and not a breeze on them. I've seen others drink 3 and get sick. Only a few short years ago, a girl I knew was out socialising with friends. Got offered a lift home with a man on a few pints. The journey was 3km. On that straight road, he drove into a wall and killed her instantly.

The tolerance for drink driving should be no pints. If you cannot socialise without alcohol, that's your problem.
    Totally agree, yet there will be idiots like the healy raes and their ilk who say you should be allowed 3 pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,482 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Balanadan wrote: »
    I remember the old days,

about 5 years ago,

Simpler times.

FFS I thought you were going to to say the 50's or 60's

mzungu wrote: »
    One sure fire way to not be over the limit the morning after, is to not drink the night before.

Yeah great solution that :rolleyes:, allow stupid over zealous rules influence your life. A man should be allowed to enjoy this night and go about his business the next day.

I really hate idiotic suggestions like “sure don’t drink” which to me is not a solution as drinking is something I love doing.

We aren’t talking about lads hammered here, the old limit that served us just fine for years and still serves many countries would make a bit difference to the next morning but no idiot Ross had to be let loose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

Yeah great solution that :rolleyes:, allow stupid over zealous rules influence your life. A man should be allowed to enjoy this night and go about his business the next day.

I really hate idiotic suggestions like “sure don’t drink” which to me is not a solution as drinking is something I love doing.

We aren’t talking about lads hammered here, the old limit that served us just fine for years and still serves many countries would make a bit difference to the next morning but no idiot Ross had to be let loose.

A man should be allowed to go about his business and not be cut down by some fool who woke up drunk and got into a car.
    CoBo55 wrote: »
    They have, it's used regularly in the US, walk a straight line, count backwards etc etc.

Those tests don't work unless you're fairly intoxicated.
    The alcohol level we have here is much lower than what those tests were designed to detect.

Couldn't give a toss what you love doing when it reduces your ability to drive safely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I realise we have to have laws on this but to be honest I wonder if the checkpoints in the morning should be done way with ? Or perhaps less checkpoints overall?

I honestly think its ok to drive a short distance (1-3 miles) with 3 pints. There I said it . We allow people to drink heavily which is always a health risk but seem hell bent on persecuting people with a few pints? Im talking about rural areas.

Well firstly, we’re not okay as a society with people drinking heavily and then driving.

Secondly, the legalisation has to cover a wide range of people. The law needs to take into account those who would be not be fit to drive after two or three drinks. I don’t drive but I know I’m impaired after two pints.

It is a great solution. If you feel the need for a drink that badly then you might have a dependence problem? Or perhaps an issue with personal responsibility? You can't go around doing whatever the hell you want just because that's the way that you want to do things.

If you want to have a skinful of pints then either get a taxi the following morning or get somebody else to drive you where you need to go. If neither of those options are available, then just don't drink. Your entire world won't fall asunder if you go out and don't have a few jars.
    Shane Ross is right because there needs to be zero acceptance of the dangerous culture of "having a few for the road" that Ireland was famous for before the 1990s. The old limit did not "serve us fine" at all, we used to have a lot more fatalities.

I am hoping Shane Ross goes further with his anti-drink driving measures as to my mind the limit is still not low enough.

Candie wrote: »
    Now it's virtue signalling to object to drunk driving? It's right up there with snowflake as both an overused and ill-advisedly used term.

Throw ‘fake news’ in there as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

any tool who thinks its clever to drink and drive wouldnt be capable of walking a straight line or counting forward never mind backward.

if a person cant manage to respect the law then either walk or taxi to the bloody pub or just have a drink at home. either way people need to cop on.

Candie wrote: »
    If you're using data through your cars UI then you're not posting on facebook or uploading things to Insta, it's fully voice controlled and you get up your maps, switch between music and podcasts etc. You never take your hands off the wheel or have anything onscreen that needs attention.

I don't see how banning that would make a difference, it's like banning speaking or radios.

It's not like speaking or listening to the radio. The degree of concentration required to interact by voice with any of these apps is in a different league to the degree of concentration required in a normal conversation. It is a distraction to safe driving.

And the women should stay at home and mind the children, right?

Under the 'old limit that served us just fine', about 400 people were being killed each year on the roads. This is now down to about 150 each year, which is still way too much.

It's not like speaking or listening to the radio. The degree of concentration required to interact by voice with any of these apps is in a different league to the degree of concentration required in a normal conversation. It is a distraction to safe driving.

It genuinely is and I wouldn't use it if I thought it wasn't. It doesn't matter if you're saying put on a podcast to your voice command or another person, there's no difference that I can see and I am a very cautious driver. It's much safer than taking your hand off the wheel to select different radio stations in an older car, for example.

If I felt it was in any way a problem, I simply wouldn't use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,653 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Some lads want to go back to these "good old days"

https://twitter.com/Niall_Boylan/status/1082004904397471746?s=19

Anf yes i know its a p1ss take lads but thats how some of you would want it to be by the sounds of things.

Disable all mobile data if the user is travelling over 5kph...

Watch the road deaths drop.
    Really?

Less crashes = less passengers dead... How is that not good?

Road deaths have been steadily on the decline in Ireland since the turn of the millennium (taking in the advent of the mobile era).

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_road_traffic_accidents_deaths_in_Republic_of_Ireland_by_year

I’m sure there are myriad reasons for this but I’d be interested to know how much of a factor mobile phones and then the smartphone era are on road fatalities in Ireland. And how much the increasing stigma of drink-driving has affected those statistics.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,534 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

There is no 'right to drive' with or without a licence. Rights are set out in the constitution or in law. There is no 'right to drive' full stop..

There is more than 1 meaning of the word "right". They're not exclusively legal in nature, you can have moral/ethical or natural rights for example.

I'm not talking about constitutional rights obviously, why you seem to think I am I have no idea.

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

I think people caught drink driving should be publicly flogged, I'm not joking, being flippant or sarcastic, scour the c*nts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

Who's drinking the three pints, though?

I know people who are fine on four or five pints. I know people who are twisted after one and a half. And that's before we start taking into account the strength of what they're drinking. The range can be anything from 4% to 7% alcohol on some of the stuff you can buy in the supermarket.

There has to be some universal denominator.

This. I wouldn't be safe to drive a fisher price trike after a pint and half but I don't really drink so there's that.

BAC is the only way to level the playing field imho

I can almost guarantee with 100% certainty that anyone who drinks posting on this thread has drove over the limit the following morning without realizing.
    It amuses me to watch people post as if they are gods gift and have never put a foot wrong.
    Ps. those tester kits you buy in the shop are not nearly as accurate as the tests the Garda use.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Bobtheman

And if someone did this and killed a member of your family you would be ok with them not being prosecuted because they had only had the 3 pints and driving a short distance?
    Nope. If you are cause an accident then you go to jail. No contradiction there

lawred2 wrote: »

Couldn't give a toss what you love doing when it reduces your ability to drive safely.
    What bull****. Crazy drivers on the road all the time. Most of whom have no booze.
    You base society's views on what? The law doesn't always reflect popular opinion. A lot of people will say one thing and think another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,834 ✭✭✭Allinall

There is no 'right to drive' with or without a licence. Rights are set out in the constitution or in law. There is no 'right to drive' full stop.

It's not pedantry. It is an important distinction for discussions like this.

Of course there is a right to drive.

If you’re not disqualified from driving by age, lack of license or any other reason, then by default you have a right to drive.

You are completely wrong in saying rights are set out in the constitution or in law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭lalababa

Elemonator wrote: »
    This is insane.

Here we go...this is it.. confusing one thing with another. What was the causitive factor in the crash? Was he over the limit? Etc. Brainwashed by the media. I'll say one thing though nearly all of my drinking buddies and alot of the men that used to go to the pub could phisically and mentally not stop at a couple , they literally had to have the 6/7/8+ if they were 'socializing'. The laws are fine ATM but if the limits are reduced anymore God help the person that has the maturity to stop at a few pints!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,678 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

I can almost guarantee with 100% certainty that anyone who drinks posting on this thread has drove over the limit the following morning without realizing.
    It amuses me to watch people post as if they are gods gift and have never put a foot wrong.
    Ps. those tester kits you buy in the shop are not nearly as accurate as the tests the Garda use.

Not me. I walk or get the bus. I only drive once in a blue moon and usually late in the evening. My 9 year old car only has 14,000 km on it.

The garda tests aren't overly accurate either. Hence the requirement to go to the station for urine tests.

You don't really strike me as an authority on anything here based on your postulations and yet you think you are God's gift and guaranteeing with 100% certainty that you are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,329 ✭✭✭CoBo55

Just an idea - there are far more ridiculous laws that aren't enforced.

So - you are saying passengers having internet is more important than all the lives lost every year??

Yes, and me as a driver want internet in my car too, I use it to listen to music/internet radio/ Google maps/ receive or make a call via my in-car Bluetooth system, it is the 21st century we're living in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

I don't see what the logic is of reducing the limit to 50mg, yes there might be slight impairment.
    However I don't see that it has a major impact on actual road safety.
    The UK now has one of the highest limits in Europe yet only one country has safer roads.
    https://ec.europa.eu/transport/facts-fundings/scoreboard/compare/people/road-fatalities_en

Taking resources to process drivers between 50-80mg might be OK if we had unlimited resources but the fact is that at the minute there is basically zero enforcement of things like breaking red lights, the fact you can see drivers breaking that rule literally every five minutes in Dublin to me is a much bigger deal.

Not me. I walk or get the bus. I only drive once in a blue moon and usually late in the evening. My 9 year old car only has 14,000 km on it.

The garda tests aren't overly accurate either. Hence the requirement to go to the station for urine tests.

You don't really strike me as an authority on anything here based on your postulations and yet you think you are God's gift and guaranteeing with 100% certainty that you are?

Hahahaha! "not me" :pac::pac::pac::pac:

Do you think not once in your whole life you have drove over the limit ?
    It doesn't matter if you drive in the evening or you feel 100% fine. If you had a rake of pints the night before or wine you will sometimes be over the limit until later the following night therefore rendering the "evening drive" over the limit.

Lucky for you I am indeed gods gift and BTW a car with 14,000 km over 9 years is actually pretty bad for the car. Why bother having a car at all ? Looks like you might be throwing money down the drain while drink driving :P

Bottom line is the vast majority of drink drivers don't cause accidents. Again I emphasis that we allow people to drink themselves to death unless they get into a car. Yes I know they can kill others in a car but a more flexible law is needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Yes I know they can kill others in a car but a more flexible law is needed.

Why?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

Allinall wrote: »
    Of course there is a right to drive.

If you’re not disqualified from driving by age, lack of license or any other reason, then by default you have a right to drive.

You are completely wrong in saying rights are set out in the constitution or in law.

Lmfao. No. Driving is a privilege.

Really just amazed at the level of discourse boards is capable of

What bull****. Crazy drivers on the road all the time. Most of whom have no booze.
    You base society's views on what? The law doesn't always reflect popular opinion. A lot of people will say one thing and think another.

Who said anything about popular opinion?

Diminished capacity due to alcohol is a proven reality.

There are indeed crazy drivers the road and when they break other road traffic laws they should and sometimes do get sanctioned accordingly.

Drink driving is no different.

To be honest, I'm not even sure why I responded to your incoherent post.

sk8erboii wrote: »
    Lmfao. No. Driving is a privilege.

Really just amazed at the level of discourse boards is capable of

To me boards is the anomaly, I have come across no one in real life who supports morning bagging or the lower limit. Friends, family and acquaintances alike giving out about morning bagging, cursing it to the last and no idea at all why the limit reduction was neceaaary has been a general conversation topic over the last while.