Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fake Railwayana Rogues Gallery

• Registered Users Posts: 12,994 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Put me down for three.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭GBOA

An old Guardsman's hat with a BR logo stuck on...?

Looks like a combination of three items. A soviet military cap, guardsman's peak and BR badge. Complete with awful stitching. I reckon 99p is a rip off.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Sorry for resurrecting an old thread but this from Done Deal today is worth a laugh. :D

WbC67DA.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,796 ✭✭✭Isambard

the amount of plagerism between railway compnies was truly scandalous.

Isambard wrote: »
    the amount of plagerism between railway compnies was truly scandalous.

What is more scandalous is how so many Francis Ormsby's held high ranks in most of Ireland's railway companies. Nepotism perhaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭tabbey

Could they have they not have said 2 pounds instead of 40 schillings?
    Most people never saw a pound note in the 19th century

What's a C.I.E.R.?

Fratello wrote: »
    What's a C.I.E.R.?
    Itis a fake acronym.

There never was a Coras Iompair Eireann Railway. Pure fake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

Fratello wrote: »
    What's a C.I.E.R.?
    I don't know, but I'm sure the BBC didn't ever run any railways! :D

If a D.A.R.T.R. comes up I'm getting it. Keep back the rest of ye its mine!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,803 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

tabbey wrote: »
    Itis a fake acronym.

There never was a Coras Iompair Eireann Railway. Pure fake.

CIE Railways was used as a division name. But it's still a bad fake

• Registered Users Posts: 15,795 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Its supposed to be Ballymena, Ballymoney, Coleraine and Portrush Junction Railway.

40/ was a standard fine seen on many 19th century public notices, unchanged right into CIE days.

Correct. Furthermore Edmundson type tickets were usually priced in shillings and old pence until shortly before decimalisation. Most internal Irish fares were under a pound until the 1960s, but cross channel fares (rail & sail) would typically be something like Boyle to Birmingham 47/6.

Another variation of the infamous DNGR sign (see Post.9.in this thread) which has just turned up at auction. Note the addition of 1916 at the bottom right. Well weathered too - in a crude kind of way. :D

1100007865_PREVIEW.JPG

The history of this should give JD a bit of a laugh.

http://www.gcrauctions.com/sale241/lot186.html

The fake DNGR signs keep on coming, this one is included in a Co. Louth auction next week. Scrap value.

DNGR%2BFAKE.PNG

The history of this should give JD a bit of a laugh.

http://www.gcrauctions.com/sale241/lot186.html

I bet they can prove hardly any of that

Isambard wrote: »
    I bet they can prove hardly any of that

Why not?

A reputable specialist auction house unlike a lot of the chancers here selling junk.

Del.Monte wrote: »
    The fake DNGR signs keep on coming, this one is included in a Co. Louth auction next week. Scrap value.

DNGR%2BFAKE.PNG

I reckon that the family of Francis Ormsby are making these fake signs to flog off to unsuspecting collectors.

Here's one of the crudest fakes yet. For sale in a Northern Ireland auction next week.

CIE%2BR%2BSIGN.JPG

Here's one of the crudest fakes yet. For sale in a Northern Ireland auction next week.

CIE%2BR%2BSIGN.JPG

Is that the reserve? 40 shillings...rip off price

t%2526d%2Bwater%2Btower.jpg

Exhibit .1. in situ on the former Tralee & Dingle Water Tower at Castlegregory Junction.

WATER%2BTOWER%2BSTREET%2BVIEW.PNG

Exhibit .2. Something is missing in this Streetview pic!

T%2526D.PNG

Exhibit.3. on DoneDeal today https://www.donedeal.ie/antiques-for-sale/old-railway-sign/20146352 :rolleyes:

t%2526d%2Bwater%2Btower.jpg

Exhibit .1. in situ on the former Tralee & Dingle Water Tower at Castlegregory Junction.

[IMG]:rolleyes:[/img]

Brazen

• Registered Users Posts: 34,022 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Nice of them to touch up the paint on their stolen sign before flogging it.

Life ain't always empty.

If someone is selling a stolen plaque, it should be reported to the Garda. They probably won't do anything, but such criminal behaviour should not be ignored.

Fair play to Del Monte.

An interesting one currently on eBay: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ANTIQUE-STYLE-IRISH-N-W-R-R-RAILWAY-NOTICE-NEWRY-WARRENPOINT-ROSTREVOR/143373840268?hash=item2161bf2f8c:g:QNIAAOSwZH1dbQP8

Being sold with carefully worded description! Great wear and tear on reverse with evidence of the sign being long fastened to a gate. Serious age wear to holes and even paint looks genuinely ancient - must be a fake though.

FRONT.jpg

BACK.jpg

the classic car shows are stuffed with fake signs such as these. The vendors will often cheerfully admit they are repro, just as the ebay seller here did (in a guarded sort of way). I picked up a Norton motorbike sign for €20 the other day. Nice decorative item which is displayed outdoors without worrying about it.

It's the guys claiming they are real and asking big money are the villains here. There was one appeared on one of the BBC antique shows recently!