Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

GoMo Data speed throttling after 80gb of data used

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Gooser14

I did, it was the 14th when I received my sim. The bill is for the full amount though. On chat, they never said anything about it being pro rata.

I think you will find that the 9.99 billed amount is for the current month and not the month you received the SIM. Outside bundle charges, if any, will be for the previous month.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,045 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Christ, if people are not happy with unlimited calls and texts plus 80gb of data for 9.99 per month, then simple go back to Three or whoever you went to GoMo from and pay much more. I really don't get people whinging over this data cap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭qxtasybe1nwfh2

Gooser14 wrote: »
    I think you will find that the 9.99 billed amount is for the current month and not the month you received the SIM. Outside bundle charges, if any, will be for the previous month.

My latest bill shows a SIM charge of 9.99 for the period 1 to 31 Nov.

This is what I thought. I might have received my sim in the 14th but I'm paying for the full month.

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭cencglob

Aquos76 wrote: »
    Christ, if people are not happy with unlimited calls and texts plus 80gb of data for 9.99 per month, then simple go back to Three or whoever you went to GoMo from and pay much more. I really don't get people whinging over this data cap.

People are complaining because their advertising clearly states that the product is unlimited, that's a lie there is an 80BG cap before it becomes unusable, people don't like being lied to.

Gomo/Eir should just be honest and advertise 80Gb allowance not unlimited.
    Having to read the fine print just to find out that they use "alternative facts" to get away with a lie in advertising is not right and is done to dupe people into believing they are getting the same as, say 3 who do offer unlimited for little more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,793 ✭✭✭✭kippy

cencglob wrote: »
    People are complaining because their advertising clearly states that the product is unlimited, that's a lie there is an 80BG cap before it becomes unusable, people don't like being lied to.

Gomo/Eir should just be honest and advertise 80Gb allowance not unlimited.
    Having to read the fine print just to find out that they use "alternative facts" to get away with a lie in advertising is not right and is done to dupe people into believing they are getting the same as, say 3 who do offer unlimited for little more.
    One person is complaining. Have you started taking action against GoMo yet?
    What's your end game requirement? Them to advertise as 80 gig data?

kippy wrote: »
    One person is complaining.

I'll stop you right there

One person is complaining. Have you started taking action against GoMo yet?
    What's your end game requirement? Them to advertise as 80 gig data?

I didn't even receive the full 80gb before being throttled. Is it OK to complain about that? I have contacted gomo and waiting to hear back.

Their fair use policy is a complete contradiction to "watch Netflix all day and night."

This is what I thought. I might have received my sim in the 14th but I'm paying for the full month.

So you got your SIM on 14 Oct and you are now being billed for 1 to 31 Nov. If that is the case how are you being billed for the full month of Oct? The 9.99 you paid when you placed your ordered was a charge for the SIM and not the monthly rental charge.

Gooser14 wrote: »
    So you got your SIM on 14 Nov and you are now being billed for 1 to 31 Dec. If that is the case how are you being billed for the full month of Nov? The 9.99 you paid when you placed your ordered was a charge for the SIM and not the monthly rental charge.

See my correction to my earlier post.

Yes I understand you now. You're right, my bill says:
    Usage period 01 Nov 19 - 30 Nov 19
    Monthly charge period 01 Dec 19 - 31 Dec 19

I'd sent an email to gomo before your message and I had actually reset my device because I was having an issue with it so I don't have the 80% / 100% messages saved. I sent them a screenshot of a speed test I took the 25th November and my bill shows no usage after the 25th. They haven't said anything about pro rata, they are just saying it didn't happen, IT dept says there's no way the messages were sent unless I reached the 100% so I must be mistaken about receiving them.

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭Mechatronical

I also have had this.

Installed SIM on 9th Nov, on 27th used 100% of monthly fair use allowance.

Use the hotspot at home to watch Netflix and check work emails (no downloading) and just checked my usage on and it says 16GB used, which is nowhere near the limit.

Was a bit suspicious of GOMO as they are backed by Eir who me and my family have had many issues with before but the 10 euro a month deal was too hard to resist.

Contacted them so will see what they say.

Messaged them today on the chat option on phone.

So I used 65GB (which my mobile doesn't show but not going to argue with them about that). When I asked why my internet got limited to unusable (takes 2 mins to load an internet page) when their fair usage policy states 80GB they immediately asked for 7 different details off me (bit over the top but grand).

Basically said because I activated in middle of the month that they had already taken a percentage of my usage from me (as in because I started on 9th November and billing is from 1st-31st of each month I had already used 30% of my fair usage). To me this makes no sense but I could be wrong, it seems very unfair to take 30% of my fair usage from me because I installed my SIM on a certain date, I would have assumed they had a better way of tracking that per individual (seems a blanket system).

Another point to note was the customer service rep said oh it must have been cause you used too much data in small amount of time, when I asked the rep to point out in my contract where this was he was unable to show me and changed the subject (now there may be such a term in my contract but the rep was unable to show me this).

Another thing was the chat app option wouldn't show on my laptop (but it might be my browser), but did on my phone.

Last thing to mention was when I wanted to ask if the fair use limit is a blanket monthly limit (based on above explanation that I had 30% of my fair usage removed because I inserted SIM on 9th November) I got pop up saying " you have not responded in a long time" etc, first time I got one after 2 mins, towards end of conversation I got one after less then a minute and the last one of these messages less then 30 seconds after my last response and then the rep closed window before I could respond.

Basically its very similar to Eir tactics and how they dealt with me and my family in the past, the vague details, the asking for 7/8 details when you ask them a hard question (where 3 only required name/address/DOB) and the closing of the chat window very quickly by the rep is all stuff we experienced before.

As one poster said they wrap it up as a great deal (which Eir are very good at doing) but underneath its still Eir. Stumbled upon a page that reviewed there customer service and its already grim reading (over 70% rating as terrible).

If they pull the same stunt again ill be going back to 3, would rather pay the extra 20 quid a month for none of the BS of dealing with Eir… I mean GOMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Lissavane

Messaged them today on the chat option on phone.

So I used 65GB (which my mobile doesn't show but not going to argue with them about that). When I asked why my internet got limited to unusable (takes 2 mins to load an internet page) when their fair usage policy states 80GB they immediately asked for 7 different details off me (bit over the top but grand).

Basically said because I activated in middle of the month that they had already taken a percentage of my usage from me (as in because I started on 9th November and billing is from 1st-31st of each month I had already used 30% of my fair usage). To me this makes no sense but I could be wrong, it seems very unfair to take 30% of my fair usage from me because I installed my SIM on a certain date, I would have assumed they had a better way of tracking that per individual (seems a blanket system).

Another point to note was the customer service rep said oh it must have been cause you used too much data in small amount of time, when I asked the rep to point out in my contract where this was he was unable to show me and changed the subject (now there may be such a term in my contract but the rep was unable to show me this).

Another thing was the chat app option wouldn't show on my laptop (but it might be my browser), but did on my phone.

Last thing to mention was when I wanted to ask if the fair use limit is a blanket monthly limit (based on above explanation that I had 30% of my fair usage removed because I inserted SIM on 9th November) I got pop up saying " you have not responded in a long time" etc, first time I got one after 2 mins, towards end of conversation I got one after less then a minute and the last one of these messages less then 30 seconds after my last response and then the rep closed window before I could respond.

Basically its very similar to Eir tactics and how they dealt with me and my family in the past, the vague details, the asking for 7/8 details when you ask them a hard question (where 3 only required name/address/DOB) and the closing of the chat window very quickly by the rep is all stuff we experienced before.

As one poster said they wrap it up as a great deal (which Eir are very good at doing) but underneath its still Eir. Stumbled upon a page that reviewed there customer service and its already grim reading (over 70% rating as terrible).

If they pull the same stunt again ill be going back to 3, would rather pay the extra 20 quid a month for none of the BS of dealing with Eir… I mean GOMO.
    I empathise but 3 is not all sunshine and roses either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,678 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Their get out jail free card is they are not charging you until the next month and the 9.99 charge is the sim card charge and we give you the remainder of the month free - this was already extensively discussed on the official GoMo thread.

Understand their reasoning - with all the impracticalities of pro rata billing when you can just have everyone billed at the start of the month instead of multiple billing periods
    So if you have already used all the data in under 3 weeks then it probably isn't the plan for you and go elsewhere and pay more for pretty much the same bar a bit of extra data

I think it's a great plan and suits me to a T - never gone close to 80GB

Lissavane wrote: »
    I empathise but 3 is not all sunshine and roses either.

ya 3 aren't unreal either (signal can be hit and miss sometimes) but at least they are easier to contact and don't limit your speed. I suspect they are easier to get out of contract with also (I had no issues cancelling contract with them anyway).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭thomas anderson.

For €10 a month for life I'm not sure what people are expecting.

It's a great deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,936 ✭✭✭JDxtra

It's €10 per month. Don't expect gold quality customer support. Don't use 80gb data on your mobile. Problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,944 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Or get an upgraded package, or ideally fixed line broadband if that sort of usage is a regular requirement.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Or get an upgraded package, or ideally fixed line broadband if that sort of usage is a regular requirement.

Ya, the fixed line broadband that I got from Eir 3 years back that they charged me 45 yoyos a month for and I got 2mbps (when lucky). That makes perfect sense. At the time I made decision to use hotspot on phone for the house 3 years back there were very limited options. Eir kept me hooked saying fiber broadband on the way, we still dont have it in our area.. . (And it was a nightmare getting rid of Eir)

I think the best I can get in my area from what I've heard lately is 8mbps (which isnt guaranteed) for 40 a month (not sure of usage limit on that plan, will have to check and get back to you)

I think people here are assuming most people are close to Dublin or a well serviced town....

Dont mind paying money if I got service for it, agree with others here, 80gb would handle my needs but I am not getting in the contract I signed up for.

If I was over the fair usage then fair play, charge me or throttle my speed, but I wasn't. Im also sceptical about the amount of data I'm reported to have used.

Fair is fair if you are over the fair usage then fine but that is not the case for most users on this forum, they are just saying they are not getting what they paid for and others can say well its not the plan for you but are not taking the location of that person or the alternative options available to them into account.

Maybe I use 79GB a month, then this is the plan for me cause legally im within the rules of my contract still, if they are not giving you what you paid for it is them that are fault and not the consumer. You don't pay for a sandwich and the person serving you takes a bite out of it and say sher its a great deal anyway so I shouldn't say anything....

• Registered Users Posts: 26 Patchin

Gomo are right to throttle at 80 gigs

Patchin wrote: »
    Gomo are right to throttle at 80 gigs

ya but that's not what they are doing, first post and you post about GOMO being right... hmmmm..…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,112 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Is data speed all that great for everyone? I dual sim a work sim from another provider and Gomo and the 4G response on the work sim is vastly superior! Loading a page on twitter, downloading apps, and general browsing often fail on gomo, as soon as I switch data to the other sim pages load immediately. I'm based in Dublin city, is it that they may have too many connections on the local masts?

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭Qreq

Bambaata wrote: »
    Is data speed all that great for everyone?

I only found site-loading problems after reaching the throttling threshold (80GB) which is when GoMo slows down one's connection down to almost, but not quite, nothing. This leads to a frustrating web experience, so data needs to be rationed daily if buying multiple sims or moving to the 3 network is not affordable. The speed restriction is lifted after midnight on the last day of the month.

If you're confident that data usage is not a problem (nobody's using your phone to download Playstation/Xbox/large mobile games games, PC applications/updates, or watching a lot of videos), you could try contacting support at https://my.gomo.ie/home

I think there have been other threads where people found tweaking some data settings improved things though it may not help if the problem is your location.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,867 ✭✭✭kn

Tasfasdf wrote: »
    Downloading ultra hd porn

I can come close to it by downloading films/docs from the dodgy sights, watching UK programmes using a VPN and the RTE player seems to be a big data user at about 1GB an hour. Add in youtube etc and it can easily be done. And I use wifi a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭tinofapples

ibmyself wrote: »
    Regarding Data: My Experience is you will be slowed down when you have used between 50 and 60GB's of data not 80GB as advertised. And by 'slowed down' they mean completely crippled to 25Kb/s at best.

Also they seem to be slowing the sending of the sim so you can't cancel within your cooling off period, it's already passed by the time you get the sim!

How likely is one to reach these levels with normal use of a household? A bit of Netflix 2 kids although one of them uses their own sim. I have one of these sims in a huawei b315 for a few weeks now and throttling is the only answer I can come up with, I run a speedtest on the sim in the router I get 0.3mbps up and and down I run a speedtest on my phone on 4g (also a GOMO sim) from the very same spot in the house I get 19.9down and 4.5 up :mad:

Edit:
    I initially posted this on my phone, having sat at the laptop and read a bit in the thread it's safe to say "I'm been throttled" which is fair enough. I'll hang onto my previous Three contract if I can and dump this one again.

How likely is one to reach these levels with normal use of a household? A bit of Netflix 2 kids although one of them uses their own sim. I have one of these sims in a huawei b315 for a few weeks now and throttling is the only answer I can come up with, I run a speedtest on the sim in the router I get 0.3mbps up and and down I run a speedtest on my phone on 4g (also a GOMO sim) from the very same spot in the house I get 19.9down and 4.5 up

Are you running the speed tests on the phone with same SIM that's in the router? If not then do a speed test with the phone sim fitted to the router. If the speed test is still slow then it is not throttling that's the problem. It may be your router APN setting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Bif

Do GoMo charge extra if you exceed 80gb of data usage and if so how much do they charge? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,793 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Bif wrote: »
    Do GOMo charge extra if you exceed 80gb of data usage and if so how much do they charge? Thanks.

No,
    They throttle the connection to an almost unusable speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Bif

No,
    Thanks for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,337 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Does anyone know if a gomo sim will work in a pre pay eir broadband device without unlocking it?

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,907 ✭✭✭DopeTech

No,

I'm at 84gb and still haven't been throttled.

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/dopetech.ie

Sir Dosser wrote: »
    I'm at 84gb and still haven't been throttled.

You're at 84GB according to who? Your phone or Gomo? Your phone will tend to overshoot your actual data used. Did you receive an SMS from Gomo saying you had used your 80GB? If not, you probably haven't.

My phone says 84. I got a text when I hit 80% but none when I hit 80gb

You likely haven't hit 80GB yet then. :)

I always thought the phone usage stats where fairly accurate. Maybe you're right though.

You likely haven't hit 80GB yet then. :)

Just got the text now. 84.88GB according to the phone. Speeds down to a crawl. Will just use work data for the next week.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Hey, got throttled 2 days ago, got the text and all. The wife had been home sick watching Netflix last week so I kinda knew it was coming.

Apart from that I'm happy with the service.

My question will I be un-throttled at the start of the month?

Yup, gets reset for the next billing cycle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,482 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Hey, got throttled 2 days ago, got the text and all. The wife had been home sick watching Netflix last week so I kinda knew it was coming.

Apart from that I'm happy with the service.

It's the wife you should have throttled! :pac:

Seriously though, go into the settings on your Netflix account and turn down the streaming quality a tad and that will help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,705 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Im currently throttled, it unusably slow for anything bar email and text based sites like boards. Is their any way to get a data top up to get me to the end of the month?

🙈🙉🙊

• Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 5,843 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quackster

Im currently throttled, it unusably slow for anything bar email and text based sites like boards. Is their any way to get a data top up to get me to the end of the month?

Alas, no. This is where a dual-SIM phone comes in remarkably handy!

• Registered Users Posts: 33 Laura99

According to my bill, I was throttled a few GB before reaching 80gb in Feb. Did this happen to anyone else last month?

Laura99 wrote: »
    According to my bill, I was throttled a few GB before reaching 80gb in Feb. Did this happen to anyone else last month?

Same here, according to the bill I used 77Gb and was cut off (or effectively cut off with bandwidth cut down so much web pages could not load 0.2mbs iso speeds.)
    Even at this by my own logging I was well under the limit and called them to see why it was cut so soon.
    Go mo told me that they did not even have access to see what data usage had been consumed until the bill was published..
    Madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Ten Pin

Maybe it's the short month with pro rata allowance?

(29/30) x 80 = 77.33

Fairly mean if that's what they're doing.

• Registered Users Posts: 33 Laura99

Ten Pin wrote: »
    Maybe it's the short month with pro rata allowance?

(29/30) x 80 = 77.33

Fairly mean if that's what they're doing.

Seems to be what they have done. Kind of ratty. In their t&c's, it says 80gb fair use per billing period, not per 30 or 31 days.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭paddy19

Could it be that GoMo measure upload and download rather than download only?

I notice I use a few GB in upload?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭99nsr125

No 4G today or yesterday

Doesn't even detect and drop back
    Must change to 3G yourself

Have checked settings of other phones
    here and no problem there, also have swapped
    out sim into other phone and still no 4G

Nowhere near my allowance

I've no idea what's going on

99nsr125 wrote: »
    No 4G today or yesterday

Doesn't even detect and drop back
    Must change to 3G yourself

Have checked settings of other phones
    here and no problem there, also have swapped
    out sim into other phone and still no 4G

Nowhere near my allowance

I've no idea what's going on

Could be an issue in your area too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭madmoe

Any chance GoMo will remove the 80GB cap due to the Coronavirus? I will have to work from home soon and use a GoMo SIM in a wireless router. The cap will be an issue!

Cheers,
    M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,482 ✭✭✭✭blade1

madmoe wrote: »
    Any chance GoMo will remove the 80GB cap due to the Coronavirus? I will have to work from home soon and use a GoMo SIM in a wireless router. The cap will be an issue!

Cheers,
    M
    No chance imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Ten Pin

The best you could hope for is that they don't throttle as severely, 2Mbps would be somewhat usable. Or else offer a paid add-on, 50GB for 10 euro or similar.

There's little point in getting a 3 SIM as they're going to get hammered.