Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fighter jets for the Air Corps?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

That's exactly what has to happen. All the facilities and infrastructure and staffing levels need upgrading and a new base established at Galway Airport.

Runways aren't nearly long enough at either Casement of Galway. So that's another enormous expense to do a photoshoot with the occassional Russian bomber.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭jonnybigwallet

Hardly enormous expense at all. Casement has been hosting flights coming in by large aircraft for years. Don't know about Galway, but wouldn't expect a small jet fighter would need a massive runway.

• Registered Users Posts: 675 ✭✭✭Gary kk

A bit of tarmac and the purchase of some land if needed would be the smallest bill

• Registered Users Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Heraldoffreeent

Galway Airport is closed. The reasons for this are many, one of which is the length of its runway, and the inability of the Airport company to purchase land for an extension, not that they didn't have the ability to finance it.

This idea of buying penny packets of scorpians, L139's, FA-50's is just ridiculous gibbering.

For every model you have, you need to establish Logs chains, supply lines and spares holding. You also need to type rate pilots and run Mechs through 3 different training streams.

The PC-9M's are not interceptors, however they would still be needed if we did go toward jets as ab-initio trainers,They're also much cheaper to have 2nd Lieutenants booting about in and doing stupid stuff.

People need to stop reading the Manufacturers bumpf. Top speeds blah blah blah is just Marketing sh1te, throw on missile fit, drop tanks etc and those figures disappear because of the larger signature and extra drag.

Think of this, a 1000 ltr drop tank uses up 30% of its own fuel to lug about.

Can you imagine the furore in the Press/Society when its realised that Jonnys shiney new Cock extension can't catch/Stay with a Tu?

The only realistic option for a FJ capable of intercepting the Tu's is the Saab or one of the cheaper US frontline fighters, mainly due to operating costs, purchase/leasing deals available and ease of operation.

Even thats a massive cost relative to Mil budgets.

First mention of spending 1.6 bills on 16 Fighters(and thats the minimum required considering having a 24hr QRA, Maintainance schedules and training) and the outcry in the media about Houses, Hospital beds, SNA's etc will be epic.

It doesn't seem unreasonable to have two different types of jet fighter in service at the one time. Plenty of air forces do it. Anyway the L39 NG in particular is cheap to run / maintain and is a logical first step towards a faster jet. If you google the website for Galway Airport you will see numerous photos of large jet aircraft there. So would be a logical place to station the QRF. Its better to build up our own capabilities in engineering than to outsource it on a lease package and less expensive aircraft fit the bill just fine.

Anyways...the FA50's are well able to outrun the Russian bombers...and I wasn't suggesting binning the PC9M's. Just adding to the fleet and maybe eventually replacing the PC9'S when appropriate with an upgraded turbo prop of similar capabilities as an ab initio trainer.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭roadmaster

Well the advantage of both the Scorpion and the L39NG is that they provide an upgrade path to more advanced jets in terms of pilot training. Also the Scorpion has the advantage of having two engines. Both are fairly easy to maintain and would enable the corps to improve its engineering capability. Perhaps what is needed is a mixed fleet of (say) 12 Scorpion or L39NG for ground attack and ISTAR and maritime patrol, and 8 of them very fast Korean Eagle jets to scare away Jonny Russian if he comes a visitin.

Ah jonny what's your problem with the Russians they kept Shannon going through the 80's, they are a core customer of the IFSC with there dodgy money and there even I believe taken are beef again. There grand bunch lads!!

It doesn't seem unreasonable to have two different types of jet fighter in service at the one time. Plenty of air forces do it. Anyway the L39 NG in particular is cheap to run / maintain and is a logical first step towards a faster jet. If you google the website for Galway Airport you will see numerous photos of large jet aircraft there. So would be a logical place to station the QRF. Its better to build up our own capabilities in engineering than to outsource it on a lease package and less expensive aircraft fit the bill just fine.

All of this is rubbish.

Well...It seems to me that this thread is full of people who either...

(A) Don't want any fighter jets at all and keep raising objections on the grounds of cost.

Or...

(B) Seem to be in favour of making a quantum leap and leasing about 18 highly advanced aircraft.

Can't see anything wrong meself in going for a middle of the road approach and build things up gradually and buy something more affordable.

Well...It seems to me that this thread is full of people who either...

(A) Don't want any fighter jets at all and keep raising objections on the grounds of cost.

Or...

(B) Seem to be in favour of making a quantum leap and leasing about 18 highly advanced aircraft.

Can't see anything wrong meself in going for a middle of the road approach and build things up gradually and buy something more affordable.

The thread is full of:
    1/ People who know how things work.
    2/ People who have some cop on.
    And
    3/ Gobs1tes.

Which category do you fall into ? It's not very civilised to throw insults at people who have a different point of view to yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Leonidas BL

I think people are being a bit harsh on the Scorpion because it doesn't look good. Lets look at its missions compared to a PC-9 or an L-39.

Scorpion:
    Training
    ISTAR
    Border Security
    Maritime Patrol
    Close Air Support

PC-9
    Training
    Close Air Support

L-39 NG
    Training
    (Open to other suggestions)

It's not going to intercept anything but look at how useful it could be.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Lorddrakul

+1 to the earlier suggestion of Saab.

If we could get some second hand Gripens, their robust design, all round capability and general field operation features would easily suit the Irish situation. Plus, there is really only a need for one primary base and an alternate in terms of being able to land and operate.

Shannon has never been too busy to land a military flight when needed. In the mid 90s, I witnessed, from the front of a hangar on the apron, F-16s do a main gear touch down roll before heading off to do a display.

Casement as the primary and Shannon as the alternate would be fine for any fast jet service here.

Plus I'm note sure about having to have so many to operate. Keeping a flight of four operational should not take 16 jets. 12 should be enough for modern, more reliable and robust aircraft. Would it not?

Lorddrakul wrote: »
    +1 to the earlier suggestion of Saab.

If we could get some second hand Gripens, their robust design, all round capability and general field operation features would easily suit the Irish situation. Plus, there is really only a need for one primary base and an alternate in terms of being able to land and operate.

Shannon has never been too busy to land a military flight when needed. In the mid 90s, I witnessed, from the front of a hangar on the apron, F-16s do a main gear touch down roll before heading off to do a display.

Casement as the primary and Shannon as the alternate would be fine for any fast jet service here.

Plus I'm note sure about having to have so many to operate. Keeping a flight of four operational should not take 16 jets. 12 should be enough for modern, more reliable and robust aircraft. Would it not?

Been saying this for years. Its well up to the job and from what I remember, it only needs 500 meters to take off.

Cheers Leo. The only thing I disagree with is the point about the Scorpion not looking good. I think it looks terrific and quite menacing.

As for supporting the KA50. With the Spanish Air Force about to purchase a pile of them I am sure we could come to some arrangement with them to help out with support and infrastructure costs. Maybe lease some time on their simulator.

I'm of the opinion that the QRF doesn't need to be 24/7. Could be 16/5 unless there was an emergency. Same as Austria.

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭Fritzbox

The 6000 foot runway at Baldonnell is more than adequate for any QRA role with "fighter jets" - the planes won't be operating at there maximum take-off weights anyway. The Norwegians fly their F-16s from 800 metre runways (just under 2,700 ft)

Exactly. And Galway is equally up to the job. Nice to exchange views with somebody who knows how things work and does a bit of research.

Cheers Leo. The only thing I disagree with is the point about the Scorpion not looking good. I think it looks terrific and quite menacing.

As for supporting the KA50. With the Spanish Air Force about to purchase a pile of them I am sure we could come to some arrangement with them to help out with support and infrastructure costs. Maybe lease some time on their simulator.

I'm of the opinion that the QRF doesn't need to be 24/7. Could be 16/5 unless there was an emergency. Same as Austria.

Sorry Jonny, I should've phrased it better. It looks fine but not as sleek and fancy as some of the top of the line stuff. I actually think it liiks quite similar to an f-14 :D

That's what I was thinkin meself Leo. Could probably fool auld Jonny Russian from a distance and send him scurryin back to Moscow with his tail between his legs!

I think people are being a bit harsh on the Scorpion because it doesn't look good. Lets look at its missions compared to a PC-9 or an L-39.

Scorpion:
    Training
    ISTAR
    Border Security
    Maritime Patrol
    Close Air Support

PC-9
    Training
    Close Air Support

L-39 NG
    Training

Why is the scorpion so versatile but the l39ng not? It can carry all that the scorpion can

Well as far as I know, the Scorpion was designed as a tactical jet. L-39 is just a trainer.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Psychlops

Scorpion:
    Training
    ISTAR
    Border Security
    Maritime Patrol
    Close Air Support

PC-9
    Training
    Close Air Support

L-39 NG
    Training

Or the fact the Scorpion is unproven & untested in Combat so we would effectively yet again become a launch customer.

Psychlops wrote: »
    Or the fact the Scorpion is unproven & untested in Combat so we would effectively yet again become a launch customer.

Well yes, and I did read a couple of thing stating that they were having trouble finding a launch customer.

But Textron themselves reckon its made from proven "off the shelf parts" e.g. the engines from the Learjet. They've even flown it to an airshow in england when the F-35 couldn't make it.

https://www.bbc.com/future/article/20140903-low-cost-fighter-jets-take-off

Well as far as I know, the Scorpion was designed as a tactical jet. L-39 is just a trainer.

"The Aero L-39NG is a Czech turbofan-powered military trainer and light combat aircraft"

"The L-159 has seen active combat use by the Iraqi Air Force against ISIS"

The l39 is also already in use and we know exactly what it can carry. Scorpion is still a bit vague in the brochure

• Registered Users Posts: 23,839 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

All of that is pointless.

We don't need light strike, we don't need ground attack, we don't need subsonic, we don't need air superiority fighters.

We need interceptors to protect the airspace, challenge incursions, shadow bombers and recon aircraft and provide escorts and /or aerial inspection to civilian aircraft that may be in difficulty one way or another.

While I'd love the idea of a Gripen squadron on dry lease, realistically the F-16 platform is ideal for our needs.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Larbre34 wrote: »
    We need interceptors to protect the airspace, challenge incursions, shadow bombers and recon aircraft and provide escorts and /or aerial inspection to civilian aircraft that may be in difficulty one way or another.

We don't. We really, really don't.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,244 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

In the meantime, in a demonstration as to what's possible within a private budget, a chap named Don Kirlin has just bought 46 fully functional F/A-18 Hornets. He already owns ten Hawks, six L-39s and two MiG-29s.

https://www.thedrive.com/the-war-zone/32869/this-man-owns-the-worlds-most-advanced-private-air-force-after-buying-46-f-a-18-hornets

• Registered Users Posts: 40,179 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

In the meantime, in a demonstration as to what's possible within a private budget, a chap named Don Kirlin has just bought 46 fully functional F/A-18 Hornets. He already owns ten Hawks, six L-39s and two MiG-29s.

https://www.thedrive.com/the-war-zone/32869/this-man-owns-the-worlds-most-advanced-private-air-force-after-buying-46-f-a-18-hornets

well its not like he bought them to fly for jollies. The DoD must be paying him good money to play opfor

What? 6 L39s you say?

Larbre34 wrote: »
    All of that is pointless.

We don't need light strike, we don't need ground attack, we don't need subsonic, we don't need air superiority fighters.

While I'd love the idea of a Gripen squadron on dry lease, realistically the F-16 platform is ideal for our needs.

Ok, well I guess we may as well just retire the air Corp completely because you won't be getting 30 million plus machines.