Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have ye read this absolute tripe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Goose76 wrote: »
    As a female, I 100% agree.

I'm nearly 30 and I still find there to be enormous pressure for women to be obsessed with celebrity culture and beauty products, etc etc. I would have thought that sh1te would have stopped after my mid-teens, but no. Needless to say, all the pressure comes from other women.

Genuinely think an article listing 30 ways women can be better towards other women would be much more useful.

Ps: who the hell is Carrie B?
    I still remember the office full of basic women who b1tched behind my back that I was 'boring' because my interests were sports, travel, languages, aviation, etc. instead of celebrity magazines and acrylic nails. They truly believed that I was the one with the problem. Apparently they were really vicious one time I'd mentioned going to meet someone to have a language exchange with after work. That apparently was really sad and pathetic, whereas spending hours talking nastily about other people and celebrity gossip is grand :confused::confused:

I’ve had this too. I once was in a workplace where I was completely out of the loop because I didn’t want to talk about celeb gossip or speak at length about the outfit I’m planning on wearing to the wedding I’m going to next week. I remember these women looking at me like I had two and a half heads when I said that I don’t buy a new outfit for each wedding I attend.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,496 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

givyjoe wrote: »
    Why do you think men's sport is infinitely more popular, among men AND women?

People want to watch the best of the best, simple. Testosterone is the reason why in almost every sport, this is men. If women's sport is so interesting, why will there be tens of thousands of women at the next Ireland men's rugby match, and not at the next women's game?

Because they will have seats, and won't have a six foot man blocking their view.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

P-M. Some nonsense in that list alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,659 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Goose, you bring hope to an old Moggy's heart.
    As to who that person(?) is; we don't care, Gosling. And we're better for it, trust me.

She’s currently one of the most well known female artists in popular culture. I’m not a fan of her music or anything but geez, it’s difficult to ignore the fact that for many young women she is their role model that they aspire to.

Why do you think men's sport is infinitely more popular, among men AND women?

People want to watch the best of the best, simple. Testosterone is the reason why in almost every sport, this is men. If women's sport is so interesting, why will there be tens of thousands of women at the next Ireland men's rugby match, and not at the next women's game?

I’m only giving my views on what I like in athletics. I have no idea who watches what and for what reason.

I sometimes like women’s races (athletics and swimming) more than men’s. Sometimes I like men’s races more than women’s. It depends on how each individual race pans out. There doesn’t tend to be much of a pattern. And the men’s versions being faster generally has the square root of fück all to do with how exciting a race will be, from my own experience. Races are made exciting by comebacks, strategies and close finishes. These things happen, no matter the gender. The fastest race can be the most dull, if someone dominates.

I can’t speak for anyone else.

She’s one of the most currently well known female artists in popular culture. I’m not a fan of her music or anything but geez, it’s difficult to ignore the fact that for many young women she is their role model that they aspire to.

Just like top professional footballers getting paid 200K a week are "role models" for boys. It is a ridiculous aspiration for 99% of young people. If they can be dissuaded from such notions, all the better.

• Registered Users Posts: 307 ✭✭dubdaymo

podmu80 wrote: »
    Being told to watch women in sport is one thing. But being instructed to vote for women, for no other reason than they are women, is beyond ridiculous. How is that equality?
    How about we judge politicians on policy, not identity.
    You're right. Look what we got instead.

Theresa May - FFS

Mary Lou McDonald - FFS

Arlene Foster - FFS

Michelle O'Neill - FFS

Karen Bradley - FFS

Katherine Zappone - FFS

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭wobatkicker23

Just like top professional footballers getting paid 200K a week are "role models" for boys. It is a ridiculous aspiration for 99% of young people. If they can be dissuaded from such notions, all the better.

People shouldn’t be dissuaded from their dreams.
    But that’s why you haven’t achieved yours.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

I’m only giving my views on what I like in athletics. I have no idea who watches what and for what reason.

I sometimes like women’s races (athletics and swimming) more than men’s. Sometimes I like men’s races more than women’s. It depends on how each individual race pans out. There doesn’t tend to be much of a pattern. And the men’s versions being faster generally has the square root of fück all to do with how exciting a race will be, from my own experience.

Come off it, you can't speak for anyone else but you're obviously capable of working out why people want watch top level sport... Because it's top level sport. People (most/the berahe person) want to watch the best of the best, that's why there aren't tens of thousands of people in my local park watching the local men's seniors.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

It's very possible to ignore if you've never heard of her.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,362 ✭✭✭✭nullzero

In fairness, you've ignored all the good points. The 'locker room talk' one is particularly relevant. Amazing how many men who consider themselves sound sit there silent, or laughing along, as other men refer to women as b1tches, sl*ts or talk degradingly about them.

The Diet Coke ad point is good as well, as are some of the others.

Have you ever been in a men's locker room(I'm assuming you haven't) we're usually too busy getting dressed to sit around having misogynistic conversations.

The Diet Coke ads etc are evidence of the double standards in relation to how the genders view each other. Women drooling over half naked young lads is a bit of fun while a man caught looking in the direction of a fully clothed woman is creepy or pervy.

Glazers Out!

Come off it, you can't speak for anyone else but you're obviously capable of working out why people want watch top level sport... Because it's top level sport. People (most/the berahe person) want to watch the best of the best, that's why there aren't tens of thousands of people in my local park watching the local men's seniors.

Come off what? :confused:

What are you getting all het up about? You appear to have it all figured out so what’s the issue here exactly?

You say that but you don’t give any reason as to why young people should be dissuaded from aspiring to be more like their role models? Anyone who considers her a role model or their favourite footballer a role model is a good thing for them to aspire to, precisely because it gives them someone to aspire to! If young people don’t have something or someone to aspire to, then they have no motivation to better themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

Must admit I don't know who Cardi B is either and my shampoo is the Tesco own brand one. I thought the article was cringey. For the craic and as an experiment I substituted the sexes for each other just to see how this ''equality'' works. Who condescends to and patronises their own sex like this and thinks this is cool? Fecking eegits do.

1 Don’t be afraid to identify as a masculinist. Recognise that masculinism benefits everybody – yes, even women – and ignore those who equate it to “woman-bashing”.
    2 But don’t expect Brownie points for doing the bare minimum either. So you’re a masculinist but stay silent when friends engage in “mean girl talk”? That don’t impress me much. Don’t just talk the talk. Walk the walk.
    3 Consume more art and media by men. Did you know men can write books, make podcasts and direct films? And did you know that women are allowed to watch, read or listen to them? Crazy, I know.
    4 Watch men’s sports. And not just when Ireland are in contention for a gold medal.
    5 Stop bragging that you don’t know who [insert random celebrity here] is. Not knowing Cardi B is neither a talent nor a virtue.
    6 Don’t dismiss men as shallow for saying “uh” or “yup” too much. In fact, just stop policing how men talk.
    7 Stop saying that you “don’t like” beard rash. I don’t like paying extra for guacamole, but I make do.
    8 Please don’t use our expensive razors. Run out of your£33 shampoo purchased because it was recommended by Haim? Do not under any circumstance blindly reach for my Aldi 6 in 1. That stuff is precious gold.
    9 Embrace your inner Instagram girlfriend. There is nothing worse than asking someone (read: a woman) to take a photograph of you only for her to half-heartedly snap four photos and completely miss your light in all of them. If Michelle Obama can do it, so can you.
    10 While you’re at it, learn your own angles. Anyone who has ever combed through Tinder will tell you that women are largely incapable of taking a flattering selfie. There is a reason why every discussion about a woman includes the phrase, “She doesn’t look like her photos.” It doesn’t have to be this way. Make like a famous chick and ask a man in your life to teach you the art of the selfie.
    11 Ask men about themselves every now and again. You would be surprised how often women will be having a conversation with a man and won’t once think to ask, “What about you?”
    12 Try have a smidge more spatial awareness at gigs and festivals. Don’t wave your arms directly in front of men shorter than you and proceed to block his view and mosh. It’s a buzzwrecker.
    13 Another spatial awareness tip? Don’t insist on pushing in front of us at the bar. A small gesture that makes men feel infinitely less fcuked off.
    14 Stop saying you’re “minding the kids” when you’re looking after your own children. I wasn’t aware that The Mammy and Merlot Club was about adult women minding their own children for a few hours on a Saturday night.
    15 Buy presents for your own father. He minded you. The least you can do is buy him a bottle of Old Spice.
    16 Get better at remembering the names of your friends’ kids. How is it that you can recall with perfect precision who won the Eurovision in 1995 and yet you can’t remember Mary’s son’s name?
    17 Put up the toilet seat. Don’t force a man to go through the indignity of putting up on a toilet seat covered in speckles of wee.
    18 Don’t point to Magic Mike and the Diet Coke ads as evidence that men and women are objectified equally. Are you really trying to equate two pieces of pop culture with centuries of men being objectified?
    19 Don’t complain about men having body hair. Chances are you’re not bald and hairless from the neck down. Why would it be any different for men?
    20 Offer your seat to elderly men. Whether you’re on the Luas or in a hospital.
    21 Recognise that you don’t have to reply to every tweet. Especially if you’re womansplaining or trying to fact-check a man’s joke. Sometimes a like or retweet will suffice.
    22 For the love of God, learn the difference between a prostate and a prostration . This stuff is on Wikipedia, gals.
    23 Don’t tell a man he doesn’t know how to be happy. Men are allowed to look glum or neutral. It’s not their fault if that makes you uncomfortable.
    24 Read and share articles on issues affecting men. Very often, it is left to men to consume and disseminate stories gender discrimination, domestic abuse, health and more. Educate yourself on the issues affecting the other 50 per cent – and tell your friends.
    25 If a man who is an actor, musician, comedian or athlete you like defends himself from accusations of sexual assault, don’t automatically assume he is doing it because he is lying. There are far easier ways to get attention.
    26 If a man shares a bad experience with a woman, don’t immediately get defensive. Don’t #NotAllWomen him. Listen to him and take stock of what he’s saying.
    27 Don’t preface a statement with “As a mother of sons . . .” It shouldn’t take having sons to recognise that men are human beings who deserve to be treated with respect. Learn to care about men who aren’t blood relatives.
    28 Vote for men or women. Curb your own biases and support the best political candidates.
    29 Refrain from jock-shaming. Stop reinforcing archaic double standards and demonising men for enjoying sex. Don’t look down on male porn stars either.
    30 Don’t be that bore who think she’s clever by asking, “When is International Women’s Day?” It’s March 8th. Next.

Come off what? :confused:

What are you getting all het up about? You appear to have it all figured out so what’s the issue here exactly?

Het up about?! What are you talking about. I'm asking you a simple question, and you're pretending to be, or perhaps even more strangely, unable to figure out why men's sport is more popular than women's. It's not rocket science.

• Registered Users Posts: 263 ✭✭SnazzyPig

Women, stop pretending that you know nothing about football. Not knowing the offside rule is neither a talent nor a virtue.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,728 ✭✭✭Naos

I sometimes like women’s races (athletics and swimming) more than men’s. Sometimes I like men’s races more than women’s. It depends on how each individual race pans out. There doesn’t tend to be much of a pattern. And the men’s versions being faster generally has the square root of fück all to do with how exciting a race will be, from my own experience. Races are made exciting by comebacks, strategies and close finishes. These things happen, no matter the gender. The fastest race can be the most dull, if someone dominates.

Okay and these things happen regardless of the level of athleticism. That's the point I and a few others are trying to get across.

Would you watch ten average runners race 400m race? Would that be as exciting as the worlds best race 400m? Why not ten people who have never raced before, surely that will also be exciting?

What sport do you actually like/follow?

Of course, I said it was difficult to ignore the fact that she is a role model for many young women.

In the same time as it took you to tell everyone you’d never heard of her, you’re not such an old moggy that you’re incapable of using google to find out who she is.

Het up about?! What are you talking about. I'm asking you a simple question, and you're pretending to be, or perhaps even more strangely, unable to figure out why men's sport is more popular than women's. It's not rocket science.

My posts about sports on this threads were responses to Naos about why I very honestly like women’s athletics as much as men’s. I was only ever talking on a personal level. I don’t know how you have extrapolated from that that I think women’s sports are as popular as men’s.

So, yes, you ARE getting het up. You are asking me questions based on stuff you think I said rather than what I actually said. If you going to question me, you need to read my posts more carefully.

• Registered Users Posts: 882 ✭✭✭JPCN1

dubdaymo wrote: »
    You're right. Look what we got instead.

Theresa May - FFS

Mary Lou McDonald - FFS

Arlene Foster - FFS

Michelle O'Neill - FFS

Karen Bradley - FFS

Katherine Zappone - FFS

You cant leave MMOC out FFS.

SnazzyPig wrote: »
    Women, stop pretending that you know nothing about football. Not knowing the offside rule is neither a talent nor a virtue.
    Neither is knowing it.

Likewise, neither is explaining, with the aid of beer mats and condiments, why a goal was disallowed to someone who doesn't care and already knows the difference between 'in front' and 'behind', it having been covered by Bosco and his pals comprehensively through the medium song and dance back in 1981.

My posts about sports on this threads were responses to Naos about why I very honestly like women’s athletics as much as men’s. I was only ever talking on a personal level. I don’t know how you have extrapolated from that that I think women’s sports are as popular as men’s.

So, yes, you ARE getting het up. You are asking me questions based on stuff you think I said rather than what I actually said. If you going to question me, you need to read my posts more carefully.

Again, not getting 'het up' whatever that is. And you could do with reading my posts more closely, you're saying you've no idea why other people like X sport versus y sport, and can only speak for yourself. I asked you a very simple question, which I highly doubt you're unable to answer.

Of course, I said it was difficult to ignore the fact that she is a role model for many young women.

In the same time as it took you to tell everyone you’d never heard of her, you’re not such an old moggy that you’re incapable of using google to find out who she is.
    The point being, why should I care enough to look up someone I've never heard of if my interests lie elsewhere? Why assume that as a female I would know or give a ****e?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭lainey_d_123

SnazzyPig wrote: »

I don't know anything about football because I don't like it and don't care about it. Do you know everything about every sport?

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭wobatkicker23

I don't know anything about football because I don't like it and don't care about it. Do you know everything about every sport?

I see you still haven’t withdrawn your idiotic boxing comparison.

I’ll wait.

To save young people having to google what "Bosco" is.

Zorya wrote: »
    Must admit I don't know who Cardi B is either and my shampoo is the Tesco own brand one. I thought the article was cringey. For the craic and as an experiment I substituted the sexes for each other just to see how this ''equality'' works. Who condescends to and patronises their own sex like this and thinks this is cool? Fecking eegits do.

She’s not condescending and patronising her own sex though, she’s condescending and patronising to some men who have asked themselves these questions -

Men, that’s where you come in. As we celebrate International Women’s Day, some men out there might be asking themselves, “Am I being a true male ally? Is there anything I can do to make women’s lives easier?”

And giving those men a list of ways in which they can make life easier for the women in their lives. She isn’t speaking to represent all women, and she isn’t aiming her demands at all men either. She’s aiming the list at the small number of men who spend their lives trying to signal to women how virtuous they are.

Zorya wrote: »

She’s not condescending and patronising her own sex though, she’s condescending and patronising to some men who have asked themselves these questions -

Men, that’s where you come in. As we celebrate International Women’s Day, some men out there might be asking themselves, “Am I being a true male ally? Is there anything I can do to make women’s lives easier?”

And giving those men a list of ways in which they can make life easier for the women in their lives. She isn’t speaking to represent all women, and she isn’t aiming her demands at all men either. She’s aiming the list at the small number of men who spend their lives trying to signal to women how virtuous they are.
    They'd be pretty dissapointed if they 'signaled their virtue' at me based on that article.

The point being, why should I care enough to look up someone I've never heard of if my interests lie elsewhere? Why assume that as a female I would know or give a ****e?

Ah, I get where you’re coming from now. She wasn’t assuming that because you’re a woman you should know who Cardi B is, she was making the point aimed at men who consider themselves “allies to women”, that it’s not cool pretending they don’t know who a woman is talking about when she mentions (for example) her interest in Cardi B. She isn’t saying every woman should know who Cardi B is either.

I take her point to mean - don’t be breaking a girls balls just because you don’t know who they’re talking a about, it’s neither clever nor funny is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

Well, I guess she is patronising and condescending to everyone maybe...the women she patronises by making them out to be silly goms, and the men she patronises by giving them an abc on how to be human. This ally crap is silliness anyway. Do you even ally? :rolleyes: