Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have ye read this absolute tripe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

International Womens day is a load of rubbish. And I'm a woman.
    I attended an event run by my workplace yesterday where some male and female captains of industry were rabbiting on about getting to 50 and gender balance.

Could've been worse.
    Could've been a Belly dance while Basket weaving Babes Brunch.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Zorya wrote: »

International Womens day is a load of rubbish. And I'm a woman.
    I attended an event run by my workplace yesterday where some male and female captains of industry were rabbiting on about getting to 50 and gender balance.

Could've been worse.
    Could've been a Belly dance while Basket weaving Babes Brunch.
    I kid you not; I have seen belly dancing at an event for IWD. Followed by a make up class.

Sardonicat wrote: »
    I kid you not; I have seen belly dancing at an event for IWD. Followed by a make up class.

Oh I know, I know, followed no doubt by tea and scones and a round of wimmins poems. It's all too earnest for me, I'm afraid.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭Yester

I thought you were supposed to put it down?

Yes you are right. God, I'm a terrible feminist.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,584 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

What was the protest on O'Connell bridge about yesterday ?

Yester wrote: »
    I thought you were supposed to put it down?

Yes you are right. God, I'm a terrible feminist.
    Well, the article was blathering on about putting it up. I'm now confused about which toilet seat position opresses me...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Keep the noise down I'm trying to watch the Women's Rugby.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,611 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

thebaz wrote: »
    What was the protest on O'Connell bridge about yesterday ?

About the bridge being named after a man?

What about the Ha'penny Bridge? Is that not a female tribute?
    / ok, I'm leaving now.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭Yester

Well, the article was blathering on about putting it up. I'm now confused about which toilet seat position opresses me...

I'd say we will have to get rid of the toilet seats altogether.

Yester wrote: »
    I'd say we will have to get rid of the toilet seats altogether.

There is a serious issue with toilet seats. If someone leaves it up and you go for a wee in the middle of the night but don't turn on the bathroom light so the shine from it doesn't wake up anyone else, being thoughtful like, and then you sit down and nearly fall back into the bowl because you were expecting a plastic rim, and there you are on the verge of a heart attack from the fright. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,116 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

There is a serious issue with toilet seats. If someone leaves it up and you go for a wee in the middle of the night but don't turn on the bathroom light so the shine from it doesn't wake up anyone else, being thoughtful like, and then you sit down and nearly fall back into the bowl because you were expecting a plastic rim, and there you are on the verge of a heart attack from the fright. :mad:

There are few feelings more horrible than sitting directly onto the porcelain. Shudder

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    There are few feelings more horrible than sitting directly onto the porcelain. Shudder

It's a feeling all of its own genre. And worse still everyone laughs about it when you recount the nights horrors. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 23,681 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

For you Z :pac:

I’m now off to question my life choices which have led to this moment :o

• Registered Users Posts: 28,714 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    My daughter, on the other hand, also describes herself as a feminist but has merely imported American identity politics wholesale: supporting "people of colour" in Ireland even though the non-white population of Ireland is minuscule, decrying "male privilege," even though her own lifestyle is luxurious beyond what many Irish men could dream of and claiming that people should be "body positive" and "beauty exists at any size" just because she's too fat for the boys she likes to fancy her. Nothing about tangibly helping women in worse positions than her, just posturing and thoughtcrime in the form of pressuring people to change their own opinions to suit her.

This is what concerns me most about stuff like the article in the OP. It's no longer just idiocy contained to a small handful of identity politics extremists on the Internet, it's increasingly seeping into everyday life - in Ireland - where many of the agendas and issues (being direct imports from the USA) aren't relevant to our culture, history or general attitudes.

The Irish have always had this "need" for validation and approval IMO (everyone loves the Irish etc), but in the Age of the Outraged, it seems that, like a sponge, we're soaking up the worst of this virtue-signalling nonsense wholesale and raising an entire generation who think it's "normal"

professore wrote: »
    I remember when the Irish Times reported serious news in a well researched and pretty unbiased way. Now it's just a dumbed down tabloid rag. Very sad.

This is a problem with mainstream media and news sources generally these days and a result of the above as these teens and 20-somethings find jobs in these places. What used to be confined to the tabloids or someone's blog, can now be "viral" within minutes and picked up by news agencies struggling to fill virtual column inches (no such thing as quality control when you have infinite page counts it seems), and boom - next thing you know, it's suddenly legitimate news by a (formerly) respected outlet.

Add that to the "sponge" factor I referenced above and it's no wonder that this nonsense is spreading further and faster into everyday life here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Naos wrote: »
    Why not just watch 10 average swimmers race? A race between 10 average swimmers is going to have comebacks, a quick start could make all the difference etc.

It's simple - why watch elite sports?

Because elite athletes have great form and are a pleasure to watch. And in the things I like to watch, sometimes the women’s events are more of a pleasure. Sometimes the men’s are. But they are all elites.

Sure, I could watch average runners. But it won’t be as beautiful to watch and they won’t have the skill of elite athletes. Natch. This needs to be spelled out to you?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,728 ✭✭✭Naos

Because elite athletes have great form and are a pleasure to watch. And in the things I like to watch, sometimes the women’s events are more of a pleasure. Sometimes the men’s are. But they are all elites.

Sure, I could watch average runners. But it won’t be as beautiful to watch and they won’t have the skill of elite athletes. Natch. This needs to be spelled out to you?

No, no - you're doing just fine.

So you watch the elite athletes because they have better skill, better form and more of a pleasure to watch.

Well in general, males have higher skill levels & better athletisiscm than females, hence why it's more exciting & intriguing to watch, much like it's more exciting to watch elite level sports than amateur.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Naos wrote: »
    No, no - you're doing just fine.

So you watch the elite athletes because they have better skill, better form and more of a pleasure to watch.

Well in general, males have higher skill levels & better athletisiscm than females, hence why it's more exciting & intriguing to watch, much like it's more exciting to watch elite level sports than amateur.

Oh, well, in the sports I watch, that’s not always the case. In fact, it often isn’t. The men are always faster. But that’s it really. As I said before, the time in which the clock is stopped is often the least interesting part of the event. The other things elites do in the race (lest you bring up average schlubs again) is what makes them gripping and great to watch. I don’t watch all the sports so naturally I’m going to talk about the ones I do watch. I take each race as it comes. Sometimes a men’s race will be the best spectacle, sometimes a women’s race will be. It’s someone’s loss if they elect not to watch the women’s version of a race at, say, the Olympics simply because they’ll finish a few seconds slower than the men.

Watch Ann Packer’s win in the 800m at Toyko 1964 on Youtube and tell me that’s not awe-inspiring. In the home strait, she makes it look like the other runners are going backwards. I have no idea if she broke a world record or what the men’s 800m winner’s time was at that meet. Who cares?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,584 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Oh, well, in the sports I watch, that’s not always the case. In fact, it often isn’t. The men are always faster. But that’s it really.

Men are stronger too - and that is the biggest issue I have with certain female - sports - rugby/GAA football /combat stuff - UFC/Boxing - other sports I prefer (or am equal) watching women - tennis/hockey athletics/ swimming.
    Soccer I struggle to watch the women game , women for some reason are not as skillfull as men.

These days I want as many people (men and women) participating in sport as possible, but sometimes I think certain sports get forced on society that really just arent suited to females, and to question this is deemed sexist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Consume more art and media by women. Did you know women can write books, make podcasts and direct films? And did you know that men are allowed to watch, read or listen to them? Crazy, I know.
    I don't have a clue who directs most of the films I watch. I don't avoid ones directed by women but I'm not going to seek them out either. I just want to watch something entertaining.

And why would anyone care what someone else watches or reads? How exactly does that affect her life?
    Stop bragging that you don’t know who [insert random celebrity here] is. Not knowing Cardi B is neither a talent nor a virtue.
    I don't know who she is. I've heard her name and know she's some kind of rapper or singer but that's it. That's not a brag, it's the truth. And what the fuck does that have to do with feminism? I have no interest in listening to any other current chart drivel either regardless of whether they're male or female.

Does the author know who Joni Mitchell is? Has she ever listened to a Kate Bush album? Has she heard Tapestry by Carole King? How about Jefferson Airplane with Grace Slick?
    Try have a smidge more spatial awareness at gigs and festivals. Don’t stand directly in front of women a foot shorter than you and proceed to block her view and mosh. It’s a buzzwrecker.
    I once went to a festival where Bob Dylan was playing. I went early and everyone just ran to the front to get a good view. I managed to get to the front of the crowd, although I was off to the side a bit. Later that night a woman arrived out of nowhere, pushed past people who had been there all day and made a nuisance of herself. Another woman told her she was being rude and she said "but I really love Bob Dylan". She then completely ruined my enjoyment by fucking headbanging to Bob Dylan, screaming in my ear, falling over and grabbing my arm to pull herself up. Out of all the people there she was the only one making a nuisance of herself.

Judging by her comments about Instagram selfies I'd say she's a self involved 19 year old. I have no idea what all that shite is about. I stopped reading halfway through.

• Registered Users Posts: 419 ✭✭Tacklebox

I wish there was more women like Katie Hopkins :D

• Registered Users Posts: 14,546 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

JPCN1 wrote: »
    29. Don't buy the Irish Times and give oxygen to this crap.

Don't mind the ambivalence, embrace the notion that they are actually finding interests outside of the kitchen and bedroom, mutual backslapping is only to be encouraged, they wouldn't be doing it if it wasn't to impress us.

Tacklebox wrote: »
    I wish there was more women like Katie Hopkins :D

I suppose being able to start a fire by flapping your lips could be considered a talent in some circles....

It all depends if you are easily ignited, but I can see what you mean.

She's more suitable to people who aren't moral Mary's.....

It all depends if you are easily ignited, but I can see what you mean.

She's more suitable to people who aren't moral Mary's.....

I actually like her, I just wish she could switch off the need to grab the entire spotlight when she gets to the podium.

• Registered Users Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Hobosan

I think if men tried to walk in women's shoes they'd find it very difficult to fit in.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,611 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Hobosan wrote: »
    I think if men tried to walk in women's shoes they'd find it very difficult to fit in.

But the high heels would give them a great view at music festivals.

I actually like her, I just wish she could switch off the need to grab the entire spotlight when she gets to the podium.

Yes she's not unique though, a lot of women like her in the UK.

I met her year's ago, she's a bit old fashioned and calls a spade a spade.

Quite an attractive looking woman, she has that hot babysitter 80's look...
    I have an attraction to strong feminine women, I'm able for the firey attitude because she's practical and straight to the point.

My girlfriend's very similar, stands up to flakes and moaners.
    Loves men who are alpha and strong, she tells me off in such a way it doesn't feel hurtful more like get a grip of yourself man, do you want a cuppa tea, and I bought you those lovely custard pastries from lidl , any chance you'll get a bucket of coal...

Then we'll melt into the couch for the evening...

Bliss, because my exe was a narcissistic social justice warrior and tried to break my balls.

There was always a strop or something I'd say which would trigger the whole trauma bonding process.

Give me a real woman any day...

Yes she's not unique though, a lot of women like her in the UK.

I met her year's ago, she's a bit old fashioned and calls a spade a spade.

Quite an attractive looking woman, she has that hot babysitter 80's look...
    I have an attraction to strong feminine women, I'm able for the firey attitude because she's practical and straight to the point.

My girlfriend's very similar, stands up to flakes and moaners.
    Loves men who are alpha and strong, she tells me off in such a way it doesn't feel hurtful more like get a grip of yourself man, do you want a cuppa tea, and I bought you those lovely custard pastries from lidl , any chance you'll get a bucket of coal...

Then we'll melt into the couch for the evening...

Bliss, because my exe was a narcissistic social justice warrior and tried to break my balls.

There was always a strop or something I'd say which would trigger the whole trauma bonding process.

Give me a real woman any day...

Look, there's no easy way to say this so...

If you're a man then you're the one pumping the custard, right, and not a liddle but a lot, ok.

..and get the couch fixed...

but, you are better off away from the axe...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Hobosan wrote: »

Men and women are different but both are intrinsically vital. There is no need to walk in each others shoes, indeed we will carry each other when one cannot walk.

First they came for the socialists...