Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Turkish forces have started bombing and attacking Kurdish people in Syria

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭crashadder

It began in 1915 when Turkey was called the Ottoman Empire.
    between 700,000 and 1.5 million were killed.
    There is a memorial in Christ Church in Dublin.

Turkey still deny the genocide happened til this day.

America gave Sadam the green-light to invade Kuwait in 1990.
    But then they double crossed him.

It's no secret that the US and Europe are fed up with Turkey.
    So Turkey invaded Armenia and killed 1.5 millions ? is that how its happened ?

FTA69 wrote: »
    I wouldn't even bother arguing with the Turkish bots who have popped up on this site. Turkey and their jihadi mates are trying to set the scene for a massive program of ethnic cleansing in northern Syria, we should do everything we can to oppose them.
    I am not a bot .Why bother in an Irish message board. LOL .
    I think it is easier to believe what you want to believe because you are biased. Turkey is home to 4 million Syrian refugees. 10 % are Syrian Kurds. i repeat Syrian Kurds. 19% of the Turkeys population are Kurds. I repeat. Kurds. They are inseparable in Turkey. How is this an ethnic cleansing then ?

It's no secret that the US and Europe are fed up with Turkey.
    Is Europe fed up with the US and UK ? is Europe fed up with Israel ?

• Registered Users Posts: 39,651 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

We can lend the kurds a hand by boycotting turkish products. Here we buy a lot of Beko stuff. Beko is owned by a turkish company named Arcelik (pron Arslik, no kidding), whose majority owner is a turk named Koc (also not kidding).
    Every time we buy a turkish product we contribute to the turkish arsenal that is killing kurds and freeing the turkish funded Daesh from prisons.

I wouldn't buy Beko in a fit anyway.

But they do sponsor Barcelona and Premier league.

I mean I feel for sorry for the Kurds but fúck that.

We can lend the kurds a hand by boycotting turkish products. Here we buy a lot of Beko stuff. Beko is owned by a turkish company named Arcelik (pron Arslik, no kidding), whose majority owner is a turk named Koc (also not kidding).
    Every time we buy a turkish product we contribute to the turkish arsenal that is killing kurds and freeing the turkish funded Daesh from prisons.
    you could have lent that hand the Kurds when they fled Saddams genocide. Turkish president at that time (Kurdish descent btw) asked Europe to share the responsibility of the Kurdish refugees with Turkey but got refused. but yeah Turkey hates Kurds

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

crashadder wrote: »
    So Turkey invaded Armenia and killed 1.5 millions ? is that how its happened ?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Armenian_Genocide

For anyone interested in the Armenian Genocide, this is the crime against humanity the Turkish bot above is attempting to justify. A helpless people burned en masse, drowned in the sea and the river and also marched into the desert and left to die of thirst.

FTA69 wrote: »
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Armenian_Genocide

For anyone interested in the Armenian Genocide, this is the crime against humanity the Turkish bot above is attempting to justify. A helpless people burned en masse, drowned in the sea and the river and also marched into the desert and left to die of thirst.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/ireland-not-recognising-armenian-massacres-as-genocide-1.2185236

I am not trying to justify anything. All i am trying to say is that it didnt happen the way you claim it happened. Turkey is definitely responsible for the death of those people and should pay for it. But just because Ottoman Empire committed such crime 100 years ago doesnt mean Turkey is trying to do the same thing in Syria with Kurds today. god. this is unbelievable. Erdogans wife is Kurdish / Arab. ffs . https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Emine_Erdo%C4%9Fan

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/ireland-not-recognising-armenian-massacres-as-genocide-1.2185236

I am not trying to justify anything. All i am trying to say is that it didnt happen the way you claim it happened. Turkey is definitely responsible for the death of those people and should pay for it. But just because Ottoman Empire committed such crime 100 years ago doesnt mean Turkey is trying to do the same thing in Syria with Kurds today. god. this is unbelievable. Erdogans wife is Kurdish / Arab. ffs . https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Emine_Erdo%C4%9Fan

So what exactly are Turkey doing? Air strikes and ground troops doesn’t sound like a discussion with their Kurdish brethren on how best to rehome Syrian refugees.

Turkey wants to create a safe zone 30 km in Syrian border because YPG (a branch of PKK) have been equipped by US significant amount of arms. This is a great threat to Turkeys national security. This pro Kurdish terrorist group were established to fight and separate Turkey. Nobody gets killed if they leave the area or surrender. They have been killing in Turkey since 1987. suicide bombings, arson, abductions you name it. Last year they executed a police officer in front of his pregnant wife in broad day light. and if you are against the Turkish offensive in the region you are basically suggesting that we should instead carry on getting killed regularly and live in fear that a bomb might go off when we are in a busy area. The most important item in Turkeys agenda is not rehoming Syrians. Its national security. Who do you think YPG will target next once the fight with ISIS is over and they have all those weapons ?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

19% of the Turkeys population are Kurds. I repeat. Kurds. They are inseparable in Turkey

Really, not really sure where you get that from.

Human rights of Kurdish people in Turkey
    Kurds have had a long history of discrimination and massacres perpetrated against them by the Turkish government. Massacres have periodically occurred against the Kurds since the establishment of the Republic of Turkey in 1923

The conflict between the Turkish Republic and Kurds almost 100 years ago was started by the Turkish government. The Kurds pushed back against them and the Turkish military slaughtered tens of thousands of Kurds.

K.Flyer wrote: »
    Really, not really sure where you get that from.

Human rights of Kurdish people in Turkey

So it is ok to kill innocent people when you feel like your human rights are violated ? hmm catalans should do the same then ? oh wait . IRA. they are legit then ? btw Kurdish issues in Turkey is one thing, what PKK (YPG) wants is another thing. They want land. They kill Kurdish ppl in the area because they wouldn't help them. Kurdish teenagers are summoned to join PKK. if they dont they suffer the consequences .

Nope, that's not what I said.
    I was just pointing out some very interesting history pertaining to the conflict between Turkey and the Kurds, how it started, who started it and why it continues.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 271 ✭✭lleti

Must be hard to devote ones time to all the protests.

I've got climate protests, Trump protests, China protests, Brazil protests, Hong Kong protests and now this. Not sure I can devote myself full time to the old slactivism.

You're better off not worrying about these things. You can't impact it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Odhinn

I am not a bot .Why bother in an Irish message board. LOL .
    I think it is easier to believe what you want to believe because you are biased. Turkey is home to 4 million Syrian refugees. 10 % are Syrian Kurds. i repeat Syrian Kurds. 19% of the Turkeys population are Kurds. I repeat. Kurds. They are inseparable in Turkey. How is this an ethnic cleansing then ?

If they're inseparable why have they a number of large seperation movements? The craic?

Odhinn wrote: »
    If they're inseparable why have they a number of large seperation movements? The craic?
    I dont know really. I remember at least 2 presidents that of Kurdish descent. So that means they can reach that level in the country. there are many wealthy Kurdish business ppl in Turkey ask them if they want separation

I dont know really. ...........

Here's a hint - its not because they're "inseparable".

"Authorities have refused to release a political prisoner despite the completion of her seven-year sentence at a prison in the northwestern province of Kocaeli on the grounds that she sang a song in Kurdish. "
    http://www.hurriyetdailynews.com/prisoner-remains-in-jail-for-singing-kurdish-song--15370

https://web.archive.org/web/20070930181201/http://www.todayszaman.com/tz-web/detaylar.do?load=detay&link=115171&bolum=109

https://www.hrw.org/reports/2005/turkey0305/3.htm#_Toc97005223

Here's a hint - its not because they're "inseparable".

"Authorities have refused to release a political prisoner despite the completion of her seven-year sentence at a prison in the northwestern province of Kocaeli on the grounds that she sang a song in Kurdish. "
    http://www.hurriyetdailynews.com/prisoner-remains-in-jail-for-singing-kurdish-song--15370

https://web.archive.org/web/20070930181201/http://www.todayszaman.com/tz-web/detaylar.do?load=detay&link=115171&bolum=109

https://www.hrw.org/reports/2005/turkey0305/3.htm#_Toc97005223

I dont really see the correlation here. Its not only Kurds. Erdogan himself did time in jail for reading a poem in a public address. How about that ? https://amara.org/en/videos/ShIyp0uVT9AC/info/tayyip-erdogan-poem-that-landed-him-in-jail/

accusing Turkey over ISIS is quite shallow too. between 2014 and 2017, 304 ppl killed in Turkey due to ISIS terror attacks. Turkey fought against ISIS in the previous cross border campaign and lost 74 soldiers . https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Operation_Euphrates_Shield

• Registered Users Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Fattybojangles

The Kurds have done the only sensible thing they could do and have allied to the Syrian Arab Army and returned to the fold as Syrians and hopefully as an allied force will defeat Turkey's head hacking terrorists. The Syrian Arab Army is on course to liberate every inch of Syrian soil.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭nthclare

Does anyone think there will be a confrontation between the Turkish army and Syrian army ?

Who'll capitulate ?

Or will it be two opposing army's slogging it out ?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,050 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

accusing Turkey over ISIS is quite shallow too. between 2014 and 2017, 304 ppl killed in Turkey due to ISIS terror attacks. Turkey fought against ISIS in the previous cross border campaign and lost 74 soldiers .
    How did European jihadist terrorists (aka 'moderates') make their way to Syria?
    How did so many impressionable under age girls unaccompanied by an adult manage to arrive in Turkey and make their way to Syria with no questions asked?

I dont really see the correlation here. Its not only Kurds. Erdogan himself did time in jail for reading a poem in a public address. How about that ? https://amara.org/en/videos/ShIyp0uVT9AC/info/tayyip-erdogan-poem-that-landed-him-in-jail/

There are laws against the use of Kurdish in public life.....

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

How did European jihadist terrorists (aka 'moderates') make their way to Syria?
    How did so many impressionable under age girls unaccompanied by an adult manage to arrive in Turkey and make their way to Syria with no questions asked?

Who was buying ISIS’s oil?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,114 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Ah jaysus lads will you stop asking those inconvenient difficult questions of our Turkish Erdogan supporting folks.

They mentioned that they fought against ISIS, but they don't mention how difficult it was for the US to get permission to use their bases in Turkey for the air sorties.

ISIS were involved in attacks on Turkey in 2013 and 2014, but it wasn't until July 2015 before Turkey really got involved in fighting ISIS.
    Up until then they had once attacked ISIS in Jan 2014.

And it was only in July 2015 that the Turks allowed the US use it's airbases in Turkey for attacks on ISIS.

Why did it take them so long to get in on the action ?
    Was it because that oil flowing over the border was too good to turn down ?

And it is also quite astonishing how many foreigners, especially the likes of young Brits and the odd Irish person, were able to make it over the border from Turkey into ISIL.

It's interesting to see how Erdogan (an Islamist) is slowly turning Turkey away from Ataturk's secular republic and move it towards an islamic state, more like Morsi's idea for Egypt.

Wasn't Erdogan's son accused of being involved in the shady ISIS oil movements into Turkey?

Maybe deep down Erdogan is an ISIS sympathiser, hence the ease of passage thru Turkey for the jihadis. Maybe it was only when things started to really heat up and the pressures were put on him he realised further non-cooperation would completely ruin any chances of e.u. membership so he allowed use of the bases.
    His current actions may have set back any chances of that.

Ironically enough, the conflict between Turkey and the Kurds started because the Kurds did not want to recognise Ataturk's changes to the country and wanted to retain their old Islamic ways in their own area.
    Ataturk was furious with them for not capitulating so went on a massacre rampage killing thousands of them

There are laws against the use of Kurdish in public life.....
    yeah take half-truths and spin spin spin!!
    This is blatantly incorrect .
    There is a state owned TV channel which is Kurdish only. TRT Kurdi. watch live if you want . http://www.trt.net.tr/anasayfa/canli.aspx?y=tv&k=trt6
    One of the top University has a Kurdish major. https://ts.sabanciuniv.edu/en/courses/language-courses
    I dont know what is worse. Ignorance or lying

I am not saying that Turkey is fully innocent and that there is no conflict with Kurds. All i am trying to clarify on this thread is that Turkey is not targeting Kurds in Syria. When Greece are moaning about 10 thousand refugees , Turkey is home to 4 million of them . 10% are Syrian Kurds. as much as i hate the guy, Erdogan is not stupid to target Kurds in Syria when there are 15 million of them at home. Why would he want to provoke them ? oh wait. maybe the thats exactly what terrorist want to achieve right ? If it is Kurds who Turkey attacks in Syria then England attacked Irish not IRA. Kurds defeated Arabs not ISIS.

jmayo wrote: »
    Ah jaysus lads will you stop asking those inconvenient difficult questions of our Turkish Erdogan supporting folks.

They mentioned that they fought against ISIS, but they don't mention how difficult it was for the US to get permission to use their bases in Turkey for the air sorties.

ISIS were involved in attacks on Turkey in 2013 and 2014, but it wasn't until July 2015 before Turkey really got involved in fighting ISIS.
    Up until then they had once attacked ISIS in Jan 2014.

And it was only in July 2015 that the Turks allowed the US use it's airbases in Turkey for attacks on ISIS.

Why did it take them so long to get in on the action ?
    Was it because that oil flowing over the border was too good to turn down ?

And it is also quite astonishing how many foreigners, especially the likes of young Brits and the odd Irish person, were able to make it over the border from Turkey into ISIL.
    1- I hate Erdogan. Thats why i dont live in Turkey anymore. but you might now say. "well he has been ruling for 17 years what took you so long to leave" and i dont have an answer to that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

All going well Ergodan will come good on his threat and release 3.5 million refugees into Europe.
    Trump needs to step up his game first and put turkey back in its place.

Blueshoe wrote: »
    All going well Ergodan will come good on his threat and release 3.5 million refugees into Europe.
    Trump needs to step up his game first and put turkey back in its place.
    That shouldnt be a problem right ? 400 thousand of them are Syrian Kurds too. That would be humane thing to do. Take them . You are expecting Trump to help ? Thats sad.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

How did European jihadist terrorists

Seems plenty of Chechens made there way from mother russia and apparently nobody noticed