Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Options for a council owned shooting range.

• Registered Users Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Uinseann_16

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Check that out over on the airsoft forum here...Apparently, even iPSC matches with airsoft is illegal here in the ROI. According to a X post we had on it .
    So planning a "heat" style bank raid scenario,or "storm the Dail", practise and utilise all sorts of small unit tactics in a combat scenario,like a squad stacking, bounding overwatch, carrying a man down and shooting as airsoft is all ok.

But shoot a competition, that is a sport discipline with so much as anything that represents a "door" or "window" with highly tuned non-combative firearms as you can get in both toy and real guns is looked as at"combat training" here in Ireland...Where do we even start with this utter clusterfuk of logic???:rolleyes:

Ah I know IPSC NI have a course for Airsoft first which graduates to rimfire/centrefire it's like a theory test and lessons before they let you take the real test :) , so I suppose it's only a hour and a half drive from me to NI .... That's always an option

• Registered Users Posts: 14,950 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Airsoft IPSC is big over in Korea, Japan, China, etc. Where owning a real gun is a difficult proposition, but airsoft, not at all. It's recognised as a class of its own in IPSC competitions.Fuk it,even Zimbabwe allows it with real firearms...:rolleyes:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 471 ✭✭jb88

SupaCat95 wrote: »
    The last thing you want to do is to put yourself and rifle in the trust of a politician/civil/public servant.
    I would much prefer a "private member" style club. As long as you are of good character and pay your fees you are welcome. Private member clubs can move much faster and cut through red tape much faster than some slow witted public servant.

A private members club is what all clubs are really in Ireland. You have to be signed in by a member or have the authorisation of the range owner to turn up and shoot.

Im against anything public now, Irish people are too thick, not capable of doing what they are told so how would a public range be any better.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭tudderone

jb88 wrote: »
    A private members club is what all clubs are really in Ireland. You have to be signed in by a member or have the authorisation of the range owner to turn up and shoot.

Im against anything public now, Irish people are too thick, not capable of doing what they are told so how would a public range be any better.

Yup. Case in point, animal charities etc pleading with people not to buy a dog during lockdown, as when they went back to work, there would be no one to look after the dog at home. People all went off and bought dogs :rolleyes:.

jb88 wrote: »

I must sadly concur,with your statement on that JB.

And I don't know why it is such a problem for people to use a firearm safely.
    Its a pretty basic tool, and requires a lot less life-threatening or technical decisions per minute to operate safely than say, driving a car.

I said this to herself when we went out to zero her rifle.If you can drive a car safely,you can shoot a gun safely,as there are 4 basic rules of gun safety,and over 40 for driving on a road."

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    I must sadly concur,with your statement on that JB.

And I don't know why it is such a problem for people to use a firearm safely.
    Its a pretty basic tool, and requires a lot less life-threatening or technical decisions per minute to operate safely than say, driving a car.

I said this to herself when we went out to zero her rifle.If you can drive a car safely,you can shoot a gun safely,as there are 4 basic rules of gun safety,and over 40 for driving on a road."

The only safety issue I seen over the years (and it's a big one!) is muzzle awareness. Some lads have zero thought as to where their barrels are pointed when crossing drains/ditches/gates/etc. Notwithstanding a gun should be broken when crossing obstacles.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Uinseann_16

Feisar wrote: »
    The only safety issue I seen over the years (and it's a big one!) is muzzle awareness. Some lads have zero thought as to where their barrels are pointed when crossing drains/ditches/gates/etc. Notwithstanding a gun should be broken when crossing obstacles.

This is a huge one here and so simple , I've seen such poor muzzle discipline things like "be grand" "it's not loaded" are common responses.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Zxthinger

Anyway, we are probably one step closer now as Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council have open up a free putting green in Marary Park..

Shooting sports must surely be on their radar..

• Registered Users Posts: 39,024 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

A bit late to the thread, but I think looking at the Council as a potential ranger owner/operator is the completely wrong angle. They have the land. But they are not in a position to manage a shooting facility.

Councils are local entities. They operate local facilities. Like pools, football pitches, tennis courts. That service the local area, and are generally pretty basic - even below basic standard. That would cut it with firearms imo.

A shooting facility would need to be a national facility. There are two options. One being managed and funded by the department of sport. An example being the London Shooting Venue, or the Sydney International Shooting Centre. Both built for their respective Olympic Games.

If Ireland wants to bid to host world class sporting competitions. That type of venue would be a benefit.

The other option would be a Dept of Defence owned facility. As in a shooting facility for armed forces to train and practise. But with certain days during the month were the public club could arrange to utilise the range.

Both options would be viable. The first more suited to Olympic type sportIng disciplines. The latter more to long range shooting.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

The end game for the authorities here in Ireland is no more guns so I think we can forget about a council owned shooting range or any kind of public shooting range.

Can anyone here honestly see our Government building something (smaller version obviously) like the London Shooting Venue or the Sydney International Shooting Centre? Nah. I've a good imagination but it's not that good.

I think that end game is being a bit paranoid. If they was actually the masterplan, they wouldn't need to be secretive about it. They could simply make all firearms illegal tomorrow. We don't have any constitutional protection here, they would be little grounds for a SC challenge.

The government also isn't some dystopian hive mind, or singular totalitarian entity. There are people in all walks of life that think firearms should be banned, mainly out of ignorance (as you've seen in threads on other forums on boards). No doubt individuals in various governments also have similar ignorant views. But that's not the same as being party or government policy. Making policies on a government level is really difficult. It would need to appear on a lot of agendas, and documents in order to get any sort of widespread traction. I just can't see a grand de-arming conspiracy being a high priority.

I used the London and Sydney venues as examples as both countries would have similarly conservative firearms laws as Ireland. We're obviously not in a position to make an olympic bid, so could never go with something of that scale. But the principle of being back for the Dept of Sport is the same. Although to receive the necessary funding, the olympic disciplines and the sport as a whole probably needs to be much more popular.

Just because I'm paranoid doesn't mean that I'm wrong. It's death by 1000 cuts. If they get rid of guns in one foul swoop, the Government know they'd be voted out of office by the farmers. So they are doing it slowly, one gun type at a time, one new restrictive rule at a time......and so on.

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭tonysopprano

Just since 2009,

Ban CF handguns, but thankfully a grandfather clause

Limit RF handguns to 5 rounds, damage, so no resale value

Announce in 2015 intention to ban SACF, wait 8 years to enact so no compensation

2019: Mag capacity reduction, 6 months to get rid of, but to where?. No compensation

Lead Ban, all common ammunition now to be made illegal

FEC consultation????. STRINGENT new security criteria costing thousands, NV and Thermal and sound suppressing now impossible to get/use, no compensation

Definitely an AGENDA, death by 1000 cuts, with no compensation to be paid

If you can do the job, do it. If you can't do the job, just teach it. If you really suck at it, just become a union executive or politician.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,330 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Councils are local entities. They operate local facilities. Like pools, football pitches, tennis courts. That service the local area, and are generally pretty basic - even below basic standard. That would cut it with firearms imo.

there's one huge difference between operating a pool, say, and a firing range. the pool is open to anyone who can pay the small fee for use. only a tiny fraction of the population would be able to use a firing range.

why would the council dedicate several acres of land to an 'exclusive' activity (exclusive in the sense that the vast majority of the population would be excluded from using it)?

The farmers rely on aid from the government. They aren’t nearly as big a lobby group as people make out.

And even then, it would be trivial to placate the farmers and screw everyone else.

Its also not like there are pro and anti firearms parties they would give firearms back. You are claiming the “government” when it’s likely each party contributed when in power.

We’re each of those decisions made by the sae party? You take of the government as a single group. I’ve never checked, but I’d assume each action was actually made by a different controlling party.

And there was obvious a motive to restrict firearms. Under the guise of public safety. I haven’t disputed that. I’m saying I doubt there is a current co-ordinated plan between multiple parties to take away all firearms. If they actually wanted to do that, they could just do it.

Not sure if you meant to quote somebody else. But I didn’t suggest the council could or should run a range.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,330 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

I was expanding on your point.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,029 ✭✭✭clivej

"If they get rid of guns in one foul swoop, the Government know they'd be voted out of office by the farmers."

And who pray will be voted in??? Only the same Government under a different name. There are only 4 parties here in Ireland and they all want firearms gone.

I don't think there's a hive mind at work however the net effect is the same. Things will only tighten and no one will put their neck out to relax any regulations due to being vilified the next time a gang shooting happens or some poor sod commits suicide.

Because they have all the land..

They can’t discriminate against different sports..

As for Hive mind.

More like the UN and EU teacher's pet. Ireland's govts have over the year slavishly followed and signed us up for any and every right and civilian liberty restricting legislation proposed by those two utterly foul and corrupt organisations.The UN has had a plethora of civilian disarmament programmes and treaties restricting "Internation arms trafficking".While supposedly to stop 3rd world countries' local warlords from arming up 10-year-old kids to fight in their military. It affects us the civilian gun owner more than any multi-millionaire warlord who buys whatever they need in blood diamonds or drugs contrary to the UN's directives.

Think ITAR legislation and why your surplus ammo boxes and shotgun cartridge sleeves have a UN designation code printed on them.It's not there for fun.

How much debate was given in the Dail to the EU arms directive[aka the mag ban]? About all of 60 seconds probably. The Dail rushes thru legislation whether it is EU or national under two utterly despotic measures that should have NO place in a democratic parliamentary party. A guillotine and a party whip system.

Also, guess what it SUITS the Irish body politic too. Ever since 1974, Ireland has left critical international decisions to the "grownups in Brussels" It absolves the Dail and its denizens to be taken to account on having to make adult political decisions about the fate of the nation, when you can easily say "Shure Brussels decided it, its THE LAW we must obey it lads, and here's some of our own "gold plating" to show we are really good little serfs!"

So no, they don't have to ban anything,all they have to do is follow what Mammy UN and Daddy EU tell them to do on this or any other issue.

I don't always agree with your POV and delivery at times however you're a wealth of info.

Agree with that. It’s a general tightening and restriction to only what is seen as necessary. That very different is a covert masterplan to ban all guns. It that were the case it would just happen.

As the years go by, less and less will be deemed necessary. General tightening and restriction, if it keeps continuing, will eventually leave people with fcukall guns or drive people away from gun ownership due to all the restrictions. Every few years we lose something, be it a firearm type or magazine size etc. Next up is semi-auto centrefire rifles and then it will be night vision/thermal stuff that will be curtailed. What'll be after that......smallbore pistols, restricted shotguns, restricted rifles, moderators????

I stick by my death by 1000 cuts comment.

I fully agree that there will be more restrictions over time. But I'm saying that's not the same as there being a current masterplan to take all firearms away. Certainly would mean that is an agenda to block support for shooting sports.

The biggest obstruction to restrictions is participation. But I don't know if that will improve. Ironically also goes back to the topic of the thread, building a facility. Very often the best pathway to support for sports is through the scholastic and collegiate routes. Doesn't Trinty college have a range? That was set to get a huge upgrade too iirc.

• Registered Users Posts: 925 ✭✭✭freddieot

I've seen indoor rangefacilities in Germany and The Netherlands that basically occupy the same campus as Judo halls and basketball arenas. However, that probably speaks to the culture and history in those countries. The issue here is that any heritage we had of target firearms as a common part of life, with the exception of clay shooting was seriously damaged with the great grab during the 70s. It's taken a huge amount of work to bring things even to where we are now. I can't ever see council's or other public entities having either the political guts or indeed enough public support to even contemplate providing any local resources for a project like that. Unfortunately.

You're right about the universities and they helped keep airgun sports alive in particular. Again, the impact is very limited as even their facilities are for students only as I understand.

Surely building somthing like this to acceptable DOJ range standards and finding a disused lot,farm yard or similar with a sympathetic owner in every county of Ireland is not beyond our skills? Instant and portable ranges in a 40 foot container?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DjeJZ-uWPkY&ab_channel=ARCADA

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭tonysopprano

If the government cannot build/supply a range for the army or gardai without having to resort to using private enterprise, then all hope is lost

If you can do the job, do it. If you can't do the job, just teach it. If you really suck at it, just become a union executive or politician.

If the government cannot build/supply a range for the army or gardai without having to resort to using private enterprise, then all hope is lost

They [AGS]went and bought apparently six of these container shooting ranges @appx 1million Sterling.Made in NI . So yeah...http://www.generalranges.com/

In truth, I can see the complexity of trying to get Council staff to run a range, but there are a myriad of public golf courses that are all state ran.. or state funded.. so how are we not being funded too.

These golf courses are all probably all ran on a tender with prospective bodies offering their services. A potental range would also be managed in this format.

At the end of the day Its just the reabsorption of tax payers money into the community. Just like.every other sport..

A running track,

Football pitches

Bike track

Walking Routes

Miniature Rail way

Outdoor Gym Equipment

Public swimming pool

Pitch n Putt

Lakeside Fishing platforms - piers

Community Stables

The ideal starting place would be an air rifle range that could be be incorporated into any moderate park or outdoor space.

Something that syncs with a relaxation in licencing and storage of sub 12 foot pound rifles and is possible open on Saturdays and Sundays.. That might be considered as a parallel to pitch and putt vs 18 hole full sized course..thus the air rifle.range might be compared to the lowly pitch and putt.

If they deemed such an installation to be a task that is beyond their abilities then they should consider finance-funding and access to military ranges and allow hunters and others the use of these facilities even if was only on a special occasion. Open Days might serve to promote the defence force as a career option for some.??

It might just be worth hassling the LA to provide land for the purposes of forming a new range. The seek funding to build and run it..

But sitting here and not getting the word out that we are here and we want aid only serves to make the sport more elusive and appear more fringe than mainstream..

Regards Zx