Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Weird, Wacky and Awesome World of the NFL - General Banter thread V3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

TOss Sweep wrote: »
    This new NFL rule for dropping your head is going be a disaster. As much as I agree they need to curb leading with the head but going to be so many flags thrown at defenders when they couldn't avoid the hit. RBs lowering their heads first is going to lead with defenders getting caught out. Eagles Pats game perfect form tackle by Eagles defender and Gillislee drops his head late and contact made. Not the Eagles player fault at all.

It's ridiculous. They really could be killing the game with this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,768 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭Blut2

Hopefully hes just very busy shopping for winter clothes. Wisconsin gets a lot chillier than Oakland to be fair.

Blut2 wrote: »
    Hopefully hes just very busy shopping for winter clothes. Wisconsin gets a lot chillier than Oakland to be fair.

He should look at defensive players that swapped from Oakland to Wisconsin and see how good the career went

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,638 ✭✭✭phatkev

How much do ye reckon Oakland could get if they traded him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭Blut2

The Packers will need to clear some cap space so I'd say one reasonably well paid player would head to off to Oakland in return anyway - possibly one of of Matthews/Perry. Then one of the Packers first round picks for next year on top of that for sure. And maybe the other first round pick, or at least a second or third round pick as well.

Blut2 wrote: »
    The Packers will need to clear some cap space so I'd say one reasonably well paid player would head to off to Oakland in return anyway - possibly one of of Matthews/Perry. Then one of the Packers first round picks for next year on top of that for sure. And maybe the other first round pick, or at least a second or third round pick as well.

They won't get a player and two first rounds in I'd say a player a first and a third personally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,338 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

https://operations.nfl.com/media/3277/2018-nfl-rulebook_final-version.pdf

2018 rule book for those who wish to use it for reference and it has the updated helmet rule.

Edit: just looking at the highlighted part of rule 12 which covers the helmet rule this year. There is a part where it instructs that officials if they are in doubt to throw the flag. That's a bit worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Jolly Red Giant

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Edit: just looking at the highlighted part of rule 12 which covers the helmet rule this year. There is a part where it instructs that officials if they are in doubt to throw the flag. That's a bit worrying.

Why - footballers repeatedly suffer long-term physical and mental issues as a result of head trauma from playing football.

Anything that is designed to reduce this should be welcomed - and if the officials have any doubt then they should always err on the side of caution.

After last weeks games we had people on here claiming that there was a 'perfect tackle' that had a flag thrown. If a flag was thrown it was not a perfect tackle. Defenders will have to adjust - if RBs drop their head then the defenders will have to be conscious of that and make sure that they adjust their tackling technique accordingly.

As for those who claim it will 'ruin the game' - do you want to base your enjoyment of a violent sport to be paramount over the health and well-being of the people participating in that sport? Rule changes happen all the time - and this is just one more - it is up to players and teams to adapt.

They should just stick flags on everyone and have them pull them off to represent a tackle.

Patww79 wrote: »
    They should just stick flags on everyone and have them pull them off to represent a tackle.

What an original and insightful comment

Your stock boards reply #324 has been noted and taken under consideration. Thank you for your input.

Admitting everyone doesn't agree with you, nor do they have to, is the first step.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭TOss Sweep

Why - footballers repeatedly suffer long-term physical and mental issues as a result of head trauma from playing football.

No one is denying that there has been plenty of threads about it. Catch up.
    Anything that is designed to reduce this should be welcomed - and if the officials have any doubt then they should always err on the side of caution.

No one is saying that they shouldn't try minimize it.
    After last weeks games we had people on here claiming that there was a 'perfect tackle' that had a flag thrown. If a flag was thrown it was not a perfect tackle. Defenders will have to adjust - if RBs drop their head then the defenders will have to be conscious of that and make sure that they adjust their tackling technique accordingly.

Sorry but this is just nonsense. The refs themselves are far from perfect and you are naive if you think the part in bold is true.

As for the RB dropping his head. Do you even know the rules?

First Accidental contact does not equal Leading with your head, that rule has not changed:
    using any part of a player’s helmet or facemask to butt, spear, or ram an opponent (Note: This provision does not prohibit incidental contact by the mask or the helmet in the course of a conventional tackle or block on an opponent);

Now we come to Article 8
    ARTICLE 8. USE OF THE HELMET

It is a foul if a player lowers his head to initiate and make contact with his helmet against an opponent.

Notice 'A Player" not exclusive to defenders. RB lowering his head should have flag thrown on him. Not going down the road of asking a defender who has already broken down into a proper form tackle to pull out of it or "adapt". Do you know how hard it is to come out of a tackle after committing to it? Do you also know how dangerous that action can be? Of course you don't.
    As for those who claim it will 'ruin the game' - do you want to base your enjoyment of a violent sport to be paramount over the health and well-being of the people participating in that sport? Rule changes happen all the time - and this is just one more - it is up to players and teams to adapt.

As someone involved in the game and someone who coaches proper form tackling and the heads up method I can tell you so far in the pre-season the refs have gotten it wrong more than once. Proper form tackles have been called as penalties. That is the key here.

When you take away fundamentals of tackling and throw a flag on it you take away the game itself. It wont ruin the sport but unless the refs sort out what is and isn't leading with the head it will take the enjoyment out of the sport and lead to unnecessary calls. They have asked players to play with their heads up and use proper fundamentals to tackle and for the most part players have responded well and done so. But if you start throwing flags on proper tackling you might as well tell the guy to avoid the tackle all together.

The refs and the NFL need to sit down and review the video of the pre-season and look at the flags thrown and distinguish the difference of a form tackle that ended up with accidental contact which is still allowed and also figure out what is leading with your head. They need to be consistent with this rule and get it right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Jolly Red Giant

As someone involved in the game and someone who coaches proper form tackling and the heads up method I can tell you so far in the pre-season the refs have gotten it wrong more than once. Proper form tackles have been called as penalties. That is the key here.

When you take away fundamentals of tackling and throw a flag on it you take away the game itself. It wont ruin the sport but unless the refs sort out what is and isn't leading with the head it will take the enjoyment out of the sport and lead to unnecessary calls. They have asked players to play with their heads up and use proper fundamentals to tackle and for the most part players have responded well and done so. But if you start throwing flags on proper tackling you might as well tell the guy to avoid the tackle all together.

The refs and the NFL need to sit down and review the video of the pre-season and look at the flags thrown and distinguish the difference of a form tackle that ended up with accidental contact which is still allowed and also figure out what is leading with your head. They need to be consistent with this rule and get it right.

Was there helmet-to-helmet contact?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭TOss Sweep

Was there helmet-to-helmet contact?

No. Shows you clearly missed the point of why people are complaining and I was right you clearly didn't read the rule on it or understand the rules. You don't get why so many hope the refs sort their sh1t out. Doesn't surprise me though. But I await your long paragraphs telling me I am wrong and how you are right etc etc etc. Simple case of you gave your opinion but you are wrong and don't understand the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

Refs throwing flags when in doubt is nothing new.
    Just because a flag is thrown doesn't mean there's a penalty, the ref who saw something can consult with the other refs and then wave it off if they discuss the incident and decide there was no infraction.
    They cant really have a chat after a play is dead and then decide to throw a flag.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Outside the NFL but does cover football and a former NFL man Johnny Manziel.

See he was sat during their last CFL game on concussion protocol, the game before he took an arm/elbow to the head trying to dive into the endzone which knocked him out, was surprised at the time that they allowed him to play on and didn't really assess him.

In more NFL related news, and a former teammate of Manziel, Josh Gordon is back at training camp, Hard Knocks next week should be good!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Adamocovic wrote: »
    In more NFL related news, and a former teammate of Manziel, Josh Gordon is back at training camp, Hard Knocks next week should be good!

That WR room could get very egocentric if Dez Bryant signs with the Browns too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭Guffy

brinty wrote: »
    That WR room could get very egocentric if Dez Bryant signs with the Browns too.

Browns current wr room has been together all off season so dont see any issues. I dont think dez will be added tbh, especially with Gordan back.

On Gordon, it's absolutely mad to think he's been with the Browns since 2012.

What a waste of a talent he has been.

2012 - Rookie year, great first year and one of the best of the Rookies.
    2013 - Pro Bowl, despite suspension for drug use
    2014 - Misses pretty much entire season due to a DUI, then suspended by Browns for breaking team rules
    2015 - Suspended for entire year due to drugs
    2016 - Fails another drug test, reinstated but suspended for a number of games. Finishes suspended games but enters rehab. Misses entire season.
    2017 - Only reinstated to the league after 13 weeks.
    2018 - Misses start of training camp for vague reasons. Says working on overall health which sounds more like rehab again.

Really this should be his final shot. Even with his talent he is lucky the Browns have stuck with him. Sooner or later if he doesn't get his act together they will have to cut the ties with him. Also madness that the Browns haven't been able to sort him out.

Adamocovic wrote: »
    On Gordon, it's absolutely mad to think he's been with the Browns since 2012.

What a waste of a talent he has been.

2012 - Rookie year, great first year and one of the best of the Rookies.
    2013 - Pro Bowl, despite suspension for drug use
    2014 - Misses pretty much entire season due to a DUI, then suspended by Browns for breaking team rules
    2015 - Suspended for entire year due to drugs
    2016 - Fails another drug test, reinstated but suspended for a number of games. Finishes suspended games but enters rehab. Misses entire season.
    2017 - Only reinstated to the league after 13 weeks.
    2018 - Misses start of training camp for vague reasons. Says working on overall health which sounds more like rehab again.

Really this should be his final shot. Even with his talent he is lucky the Browns have stuck with him. Sooner or later if he doesn't get his act together they will have to cut the ties with him. Also madness that the Browns haven't been able to sort him out.
    If he is gone to rehab again fair play to him for trying to sort himself instead of hoping for the best

It's hard to know what he was up to, basically said he went away to sort himself out and look after his overall health. Some rumours it was actually regarding unpaid child support for his children.

He looks like an absolute beast at the moment and I want him to come good but it's crazy how much trouble he's gotten himself into. His raw talent is brilliant but now he's 27 and has very little to show for it as of yet.

I'm hoping I'm proving wrong but I'm keeping expectations for him to a minimum this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭D9Male

This story is certainly weird and wacky.

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2018/aug/21/richie-incognito-police-custody-alleged-funeral-home-threats

Incognito has been acting the bollix again. Obviously a tough time for him, but lots of people manage to go through bereavement without threatening to shoot people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

D9Male wrote: »
    This story is certainly weird and wacky.

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2018/aug/21/richie-incognito-police-custody-alleged-funeral-home-threats

Incognito has been acting the bollix again. Obviously a tough time for him, but lots of people manage to go through bereavement without threatening to shoot people.

He's obviously not right mentally and needs help at this stage.

Key thrown away is what he needs at this stage. Absolute vermin of a man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

You're both right - he's always been a horrible scumbag, but that kind of carry on would also make me hope he finds himself under a brain scan sooner rather than later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭JaMarcus

Billy86 wrote: »
    would also make me hope he finds himself under a brain scan sooner rather than later.

The results will come back negative.

No brain found.

JaMarcus wrote: »
    The results will come back negative.

No brain found.

I guess you could say his brain has gone *puts on glasses* incognito

Poor Incognito, never lived up to his name :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,902 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Cool dog, awful announcers...except when one of them called it new Mexico States longest run of the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭Guffy

Mass shooting at a Madden tournament. Was live stream and multiple shots heard. Video is genuinly disturbing.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,666 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

yeah pretty terrible.

Early reports say it was a player who got beaten, went and got a gun and came back shooting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,902 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

yeah pretty terrible.

Early reports say it was a player who got beaten, went and got a gun and came back shooting
    ****ing hell, that's horrific.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,148 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

OBJ close to agreeing a 5 year deal with the Giants to make him the highest paid WR in the league

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Only WR I'd pay long term crazy money for is Antonio Brown to be honest. Good money sure, but it's not a position that I would break the bank for in terms of just one guy (a good, deep corps on the other hand can be money very well spent).

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,666 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

yeah, i'd agree, he's worth money, but what is the cost to the rest of the team.
    Though one would assume Eli isnt there for much longer so his salary can be used to pay and they'll get a rookie QB in

95 million with 65 of it guaranteed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Actually thought the deal might be more than that tbh. Not awful for the Giants.

Collins has to be kept next year, although hopefully safety market can keep his contract somewhat feasible.

Brett Hundley to the seahawks for a 2019 sixth rounder

Are the hawks shedding picks cos they know they're going to get a higher pick from Dallas??

brinty wrote: »
    Brett Hundley to the seahawks for a 2019 sixth rounder

Are the hawks shedding picks cos they know they're going to get a higher pick from Dallas??

They overpaid

That leaves Kizer. Christ they better wrap Rodgers in cotton wool and hope the backup tackles never have to play.

Teddy traded to the Saints for a 3rd rounder. He was on the Jets team bus leaving for Philadelphia when it had to be stopped to let him off

3rd rounder for 1 year. That's eh, a bit mad? Especially if Teddy is looking to be a starter next offseason.

Brees' last year, maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,338 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

paulie21 wrote: »
    Teddy traded to the Saints for a 3rd rounder. He was on the Jets team bus leaving for Philadelphia when it had to be stopped to let him off

They kind of lane kiffined him then.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Knex. wrote: »
    3rd rounder for 1 year. That's eh, a bit mad? Especially if Teddy is looking to be a starter next offseason.

Brees' last year, maybe?

Can only see it making sense if everyone involved assumes he is the starter there next year. Will be very interesting to see what kind of deal they can get him to extend on if he gets no playing time mind you.

Jeez will the saints have a pick in the 2019 draft.
    Didn't they give up there first and their fifth to Green Bay to go up and get Davenport and now the third for a one year rental on Teddy B..

Did someone let Mike Ditka back into the Superdome???

The Browns have cut Kendricks for the insider trading thing.