Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beef Plan Movement (READ OP BEFORE POSTING)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,058 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

This is the crux of the matter , subsidy provides margin for farmers , processors and retailers take a cut and consumers stay peaceable on cheap food.
    Subsidy is being weaned off farmers in many ways ; EU cuts , the dilution to advisory groups , vets, red tape etc .
    Farmers amazingly now are turning down potential subsidy ie suckler cow payment .
    Live exports which have been curtailed by Govt regulation on the behest of the processors are the main release valve on beef prices , these need to be reinstated and give exporters free reign to compete with processors and retailers.
    The movement is a good idea and withholding of supply in an organised farmers union is the only way to face down processors but as stated earlier the Irish model of stack it high and sell it cheap on Uk shelves does not leave much wriggle room on prices to farmers.

Where is live exports curtailed by the Government, I'd say Irish farmers paying too much for stock is the only thing curtailing exports.
    Exporters can't compete

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭Seaba

Peter90 wrote: »
    True, facts appear wrong, when the meat is taken off the bone there will be waste, retailer getting 50% I would believe this, no matter the product retailers are making 50% be it good, furniture, appliances it’s a 50% mark up on purchase price. I am all for an increase in price but we need to be realistic. Subsidies were put in place to provide the consumer with a cheap affordable meat. Surly it should be more subsidies we should be targeting. I have spoken to organisers of the beef plan, asked questions & received little or no answers suggested problems as we have been told was shot down accused of not reading the plan eventually not getting answers to my texts. Plan imo is set up to fail, refuse to send cattle,if it happens supplies get tight increase of say 10c on previous week, what is the man with say 30 head of cattle ready to send to the factory? Continue to hold out I think not 10c by 350kg Carcus x 30 cattle extra €1000 in his pocket, those that think this wouldn’t happen are being naive

Every farmer has their own priorities but if the above, in bold, is true, then that farmer with 30 Charolais bullocks, has serious problems if he/she needs to take the extra €1,000 (€30 a head) the factory are offering.

Should that farmer not be of the mindset - stick your €1,000 - considering how much it costs to get my Charolais bullocks ready for the factory, I should be getting e.g. €4.40 kg a head as opposed to €3.80 and gain an additional €6,000 (€180 a head)?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

wrangler wrote: »
    Where is live exports curtailed by the Government, I'd say Irish farmers paying too much for stock is the only thing curtailing exports.
    Exporters can't compete

https://www.independent.ie/business/farming/beef/beef-trade/new-live-export-ship-expected-to-pass-inspection-and-continue-exports-36571067.html

The cost of exporting is being driven up by lobby groups ,granted as more ships reach the required standard this trade has increased .
    With the price of cattle this year the exporters might have a chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭Peter90

Seaba wrote: »
    Every farmer has their own priorities but if the above, in bold, is true, then that farmer with 30 Charolais bullocks, has serious problems if he/she needs to take the extra €1,000 (€30 a head) the factory are offering.

Should that farmer not be of the mindset - stick your €1,000 - considering how much it costs to get my Charolais bullocks ready for the factory, I should be getting e.g. €4.40 kg a head as opposed to €3.80 and gain an additional €6,000 (€180 a head)?

It should but being realistic once prices rises farmers will think about themselves naturally and cash in, not saying cash in at a 10c increase necessarily but once prices increase cattle sent to factories will increase, if for arguments sake farmers held off for 1 month, & prices increased you now have 5 weeks worth of cattle ready & sent to factories prices will tjen drop, if factories don’t increase prices farmers will have to cave & send anyway due to age bonus’s and the price of keeping them

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭Keep Sluicing

gerryirl wrote: »
    Id say the taxman was licking his lips over you..:D. sad when thats the way its gone. Your not alone but its whats happening country wide

While he will get more than normal, I'd been preparung for rhis for nearly 2 years. Farming as a limited company also helped greatly.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭148multi

I think live export and a slaughter scheme for calves are the only long-term solution. But when the dept of agriculture help finance the ISPCA who in turn object to live exports and promote vegan-ism, you have to ask are we fighting a losing battle.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,165 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Peter90 wrote: »
    I have said I would target more subsidies, they were put in place to provide a margin for farmers while providing affordable food so surly it is the subsidies that are failing? While there is room for increase in factory price it would have to be substantial to affect everyone from finishers to those that sell weanlings

Where will the money come from. The EU is reducing the CAP budget every year. Our present subsidies are worth about 50% in real terms compared to 2002. Apart from that Glas is a mere shadow of REPS. In the mid noughties I drew about 5K from REPS for 7 yeras( bought a small bit of land so had to redo plan) today GLAs is worth about 1500 to me and the discussion group is 750. The costs in the mid noughties was about 600 euro once off and 50 a year to do SFP. At present DG is costing 120/year to vet over 1K to planner for plan and nutrient plan. Finally teagasc get 500/year for my DG and charge me another 200ish I think

148multi wrote: »
    I think live export and a slaughter scheme for calves are the only long-term solution. But when the dept of agriculture help finance the ISPCA who in turn object to live exports and promote vegan-ism, you have to ask are we fighting a losing battle.

Lads that talk about a calf slaughter scheme are STUPID, STUPID,STUPID,STUPID,STUPID,STUPID,STUPID,STUPID,STUPID,STUPID,STUPID,STUPID,

The reason I say thsi is the only winner will be the dairy farmer as it will put a floor of about 60-80 euro minimum on any calves.

And we will lose it will look brillant can you imagine Vegan and animal right group showing video's of calves being loaded on trailers and being unloaded into abatoirs and lads pulling and dragging the half dead ones. It will work real well for our dairy export image and our nice green beef image.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Where will the money come from. The EU is reducing the CAP budget every year. Our present subsidies are worth about 50% in real terms compared to 2002. Apart from that Glas is a mere shadow of REPS. In the mid noughties I drew about 5K from REPS for 7 yeras( bought a small bit of land so had to redo plan) today GLAs is worth about 1500 to me and the discussion group is 750. The costs in the mid noughties was about 600 euro once off and 50 a year to do SFP. At present DG is costing 120/year to vet over 1K to planner for plan and nutrient plan. Finally teagasc get 500/year for my DG and charge me another 200ish I think

Lads that talk about a calf slaughter scheme are STUPID, STUPID,STUPID,STUPID,STUPID,STUPID,STUPID,STUPID,STUPID,STUPID,STUPID,STUPID,

The reason I say thsi is the only winner will be the dairy farmer as it will put a floor of about 60-80 euro minimum on any calves.

And we will lose it will look brillant can you imagine Vegan and animal right group showing video's of calves being loaded on trailers and being unloaded into abatoirs and lads pulling and dragging the half dead ones. It will work real well for our dairy export image and our nice green beef image.

Allot of what we can't do there, but at least you gave us the why.
    So is there anything we can do, anything that will work anyway in your opinion? Or should we just continue to take it up the ass until the last coloured cow is culled. And we present ourselfs humble and prostrated on the ground before our factory and retailer overlords?
    I'd say I can nearly guess your anwser!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

I wouldn't do a slaughter scheme rather a payment or top up scheme for every calf sold out of the country to exporters for dairy farmers, and a grant or tax relief of some sort to the exporters to help shift numbers. If you can squeeze the numbers a good bit it will have long lasting good hunger for our animals. No amount of protesting or holding cattle for a few weeks or sitting down talking to the factorys will work. Taking away the raw materials will.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

I wouldn't do a slaughter scheme rather a payment or top up scheme for every calf sold out of the country to exporters for dairy farmers, and a grant or tax relief of some sort to the exporters to help shift numbers. If you can squeeze the numbers a good bit it will have long lasting good hunger for our animals. No amount of protesting or holding cattle for a few weeks or sitting down talking to the factorys will work. Taking away the raw materials will.

The dariy farmer has enough dont ya think.
    Only one fool in system is lad buying calves. Pays too much, exporter cant compete . simples

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭Base price

The Dept already reduced the cost of their admin for calf exports, from memory to the tune of €2 per head.

The only way I see prices improving is to get the numbers of cattle slaughtered in Ireland down by increasing live exports. Also when sexed semen becomes more reliable this will help reduce dairy bull calf numbers. I was talking to a dairy farmer on Monday and he had 8 heifers out of 10 sexed semen straws. He was saying that it is his best success rate so far.

Dept aren't obstructing live exports, thats just more barstool talk.
    Plenty of exporters fecked off to some other country to get cheaper cattle even after they got their boat passed by Dept

The dariy farmer has enough dont ya think.
    Only one fool in system is lad buying calves. Pays too much, exporter cant compete . simples

Completely agree they have enough and have the whole thing fcuked from tillage to beef but how else do you get them to sell to the exporters instead of nutters at the mart.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Have ye seen Beef Prices across the rest of Europe? They ain't exactly buzzing.

https://www.bordbia.ie/industry/farmers/pricetracking/cattle/pages/selectedeuprices.aspx

'The Bishops blessed the Blueshirts in Galway, As they sailed beneath the Swastika to Spain'

https://www.bordbia.ie/industry/farmers/pricetracking/cattle/pages/selectedeuprices.aspx

Poor grain yealds and drought across Europe with the increase of dairy cows being culled across Europe with a huge fodder shortage is bound to depress the market.

Ireland is 2nd lowest in most..

It's a huge advantage to be selling into the home market as opposed to exporting most of the produce.
    Beef in England and lamb in France are prime examples,

• Registered Users Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

I’m surprised the factories are only getting 29%. Does that include the fifth quarter? Is it not the retailers that need to push back more of the profit to farmers? And a big help(which they have mentioned in their plan) would be sorting out all the stupid rules and regulations, like the movements, qps and age limits

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭Base price

wrangler wrote: »
    Dept aren't obstructing live exports, thats just more barstool talk.
    Plenty of exporters fecked off to some other country to get cheaper cattle even after they got their boat passed by Dept
    Business is business and that I think is our problem/failure. IMO most/some farmers don't treat/look at their farms as a business.

• Registered Users Posts: 783 ✭✭✭oldsmokey

pat73 wrote: »
    I think your missing the point in my text,I have plenty 10 euro notes if u want some ,all these could add up to 400,00 euro.it isn't like we haven't seen an organisation representing farmers with people on huge wages doing very little.

Thsts right, so anyone but the ifa has to be worth a tenner...only reason they get my money is the (possibly useless) personal accident insurance inclided in the sub.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

A couple of issues with any plan.
    Beef processors are private companies, not coops. All they give a ****e about is their bottom line.
    Retailers are The same, all they care about is their bottom line. They have been squeezing suppliers for years. Perhaps the processors due to their scale may be able to get a larger share off them than veg or whatever and the fact that meat is less likely to be used as a loss leader to get people in the door.
    The subsidies are allowing the factories to pay less as the subsidies end up propping up the farmer. A lot of beef farmers are working also, with the day job in some cases subsidising the farm as well.
    With factories and retailers being private entities and operating in a free market supply and demand are going to rule the roost. Farmers need to look at the bottom line and see if the farm can pay for itself. If not something has to change. If you are subsidising the farm with a day job you are essentially subsidising everyone else up the line. Either the system has to change to make a profit or set it up to adjust with the supply and demand or survive it

At the end of the time the best solution is:

The setting up of producer's groups backed by legislation which is being proposed at EU level which will force processors to forward price cattle over a 3-4 months period.
    The control of feedlots being directly controlled or contracted to processors being used as market controlling measure's. However even in the last few weeks an ex President of the IFA spoke against this.
    The prevention of market control measure's used by processors to prevent the live trade in cattle.

After that it would be mainly up to market forces but these measure's would prevent processors manipulation of supplies
    TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Allot of what we can't do there, but at least you gave us the why.
    So is there anything we can do, anything that will work anyway in your opinion? Or should we just continue to take it up the ass until the last coloured cow is culled. And we present ourselfs humble and prostrated on the ground before our factory and retailer overlords?
    I'd say I can nearly guess your anwser!

Titanium I have quoted part of a post I already posted. Most people cannot understand what effect that producers groups would have on the market. The first thing is that all farmers would have access to forward pricing. So you could decide if it was profitable to hold or sell.

It would require farmers to educate themselves as well. You might make as much money selling in a trough or going into a trough rather than at a peak or hitting one. You could decide to house cattle and finish for Christmas if Autumn pricing was too poor.

At present processors use feedlots beef which is either contracted at higher prices than we are paid or is produced by there own directly controlled feedlots as a loss leader to use to control prices at peak times. If you can see prices 3-6 months in advance you can control your own supply, as well you can not produce if store price versus you costs and final price is not profitable.

This would prevent processors as well of dropping prices to anyone that had pre booked cattle maybe 2,3 or 4 months in advance. However there would still be a certain amount of selling on the day but these lads might be still hammered.

Take this summer If I had cattle pre booked for July in April processors would have to pay the price agreed at the time but if I had extra cattle I would have to take the spot price. The lads culling cows because of the drought would still have being hit hard but most specialists finishers would not have had there cull cow hit.

Contracted and controlled Feedlots are having a bigger and bigger impact on beef prices. Processors used them to back up supplied at certain times of year especially around Christmas and June. As well if supplies start to strenghten processors will kill all cattle in contracted and owned feedlots and back up supplies further to collapse the market.

Finally you have lads that pay too much to dairymen for calves. There is no reason that good Fr calves should not trade in the sub 100 euro mark and that HE and AA heifers be around the same. Lots of farmers buying direct from dairy men last spring paid 50-80 more than the mart trade. But then supid is what stupid dose.

Finally you have the amount of cattle that are finished on ration. Any weight gained by feed ration is at best low margin. Someone somewhere has to have lost for a lad to make a margin on these cattle and even then this margin is minimal. I have exited winter finishing as for the work and risk involved it was not worth my while.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 4,928 ✭✭✭alps

Base price wrote: »
    The Dept already reduced the cost of their admin for calf exports, from memory to the tune of €2 per head.

The only way I see prices improving is to get the numbers of cattle slaughtered in Ireland down by increasing live exports. Also when sexed semen becomes more reliable this will help reduce dairy bull calf numbers. I was talking to a dairy farmer on Monday and he had 8 heifers out of 10 sexed semen straws. He was saying that it is his best success rate so far.

Base.....sexed semen could lead to more dairy bull calves, or at least bull calves from the dairy herd.
    Dairy replacememt rearing has become uneconomic. Dairy farmers will now inseminate with sexed female straws to get just about the minimum required replacement figure..app 20% and if male sexed beef semen became available, the rest will get that..

alps wrote: »
    Base.....sexed semen could lead to more dairy bull calves, or at least bull calves from the dairy herd.
    Dairy replacememt rearing has become uneconomic. Dairy farmers will now inseminate with sexed female straws to get just about the minimum required replacement figure..app 20% and if male sexed beef semen became available, the rest will get that..

No after cows are inseminated for to breed replacement heifers bull will be ran with herd so as to have tight calving pattern

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Sexed semen is a a good bit away from being reliable with every batch so I don't think that it will come into it for a while. Know a few lads who pick up fr bulls to clean up as they can get 2 fr bulls for the price of an aa or HE and they factory the bulls then at the end of the summer.

Producer groups is likely the best way to deal with factories but they will have to be run properly

Mooooo wrote: »
    Sexed semen is a a good bit away from being reliable with every batch so I don't think that it will come into it for a while. Know a few lads who pick up fr bulls to clean up as they can get 2 fr bulls for the price of an aa or HE and they factory the bulls then at the end of the summer.

Producer groups is likely the best way to deal with factories but they will have to be run properly

Is sexed semen better in the us

• Registered Users Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

..... The first thing is that all farmers would have access to forward pricing. So you could decide if it was profitable to hold or sell.

It would require farmers to educate themselves as well. You might make as much money selling in a trough or going into a trough rather than at a peak or hitting one. You could decide to house cattle and finish for Christmas if Autumn pricing was too poor.........

Would a Beef Futures market not have the same effect?

'The Bishops blessed the Blueshirts in Galway, As they sailed beneath the Swastika to Spain'

Titanium I have quoted part of a post I already posted. Most people cannot understand what effect that producers groups would have on the market. The first thing is that all farmers would have access to forward pricing. So you could decide if it was profitable to hold or sell.

It would require farmers to educate themselves as well. You might make as much money selling in a trough or going into a trough rather than at a peak or hitting one. You could decide to house cattle and finish for Christmas if Autumn pricing was too poor.

At present processors use feedlots beef which is either contracted at higher prices than we are paid or is produced by there own directly controlled feedlots as a loss leader to use to control prices at peak times. If you can see prices 3-6 months in advance you can control your own supply, as well you can not produce if store price versus you costs and final price is not profitable.

This would prevent processors as well of dropping prices to anyone that had pre booked cattle maybe 2,3 or 4 months in advance. However there would still be a certain amount of selling on the day but these lads might be still hammered.

Take this summer If I had cattle pre booked for July in April processors would have to pay the price agreed at the time but if I had extra cattle I would have to take the spot price. The lads culling cows because of the drought would still have being hit hard but most specialists finishers would not have had there cull cow hit.

Contracted and controlled Feedlots are having a bigger and bigger impact on beef prices. Processors used them to back up supplied at certain times of year especially around Christmas and June. As well if supplies start to strenghten processors will kill all cattle in contracted and owned feedlots and back up supplies further to collapse the market.

Finally you have lads that pay too much to dairymen for calves. There is no reason that good Fr calves should not trade in the sub 100 euro mark and that HE and AA heifers be around the same. Lots of farmers buying direct from dairy men last spring paid 50-80 more than the mart trade. But then supid is what stupid dose.

Finally you have the amount of cattle that are finished on ration. Any weight gained by feed ration is at best low margin. Someone somewhere has to have lost for a lad to make a margin on these cattle and even then this margin is minimal. I have exited winter finishing as for the work and risk involved it was not worth my while.

In lamb producer groups there is no forward pricing why would there be forward pricing in beef ones?

Would a Beef Futures market not have the same effect?

Not necessarily. The future markets work in the US because they have a huge market. As well Future markets cost money whether you buy or sell beef. In essence with a future you commit generally to buy or sell at a price but you must commit cash to cover that option AFAIK.

The other thing about producers groups is access to price. Say at 10am Monday morning. There might be prices announced for a 4-8 week period. The amount of cattle at these price will be specified. You can lock in at that price no matter if you have 4, 10 30 or 130 cattle. If you are too late you lock into the next week or the week before. The big thing would be prices would be available to all producers in the group and it would be up to you to avail of it

Slava Ukrainii

In lamb producer groups there is no forward pricing why would there be forward pricing in beef ones?

The reason there is no forward pricing is because the Cartel decide that there is no forward pricing< that is why there is a requirement for legislation. There is forward pricing at present but it is only available to contracted feedlots.

Slava Ukrainii