Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

This week's classic tractor I'm not buying

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭divillybit

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/1994-ursus-4512-c-w-loader/26801729

Dinky little ursus like this might be the best you'll get for under 10k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

divillybit wrote: »

They'd be nothing wrong with her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Few auld boys buy calves off me have one, swear by it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,261 ✭✭✭Grueller

Neighbour here has one from new in 95. Great little tractor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,415 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

fits wrote: »
    Yes it would. Mainly bringing round bales of hay or haylage out to field. Would do a bit of rolling/harrowing, topping, turning hay. Budget around 6-7 k. Really want something that works without needing much attention. Sold a Ford 3000 a few years ago which worked well but it had no loader.

€6k - €7k is a tight budget. If you only require a loader for bringing out hay/haylage you need to be careful in what way you go. Would taking the bales out on a spike or a bale lifter not suffice?
    If this is for out-wintering livestock a front end loader on a tractor can be hard on the ground - especially a 2wd tractor - needs the really broad front tyres to stop them from ploughing the ground.

For you budget, you are looking at something like this:
    Zetor 8045 c/w loader and quick attachment- €7250:
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/zetor-8045/25950619

Zetor 8011 c/w loader (not sure about attachments for it though €6500:
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/zetor/27374691

International 784 €6800
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/international-784/27276131

Or if you can stretch a bit:
    MF 565 c/w loader €8500:
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/massey-fergusom-565/26304949

Ford 6610 €8500
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/ford-6610-1984/27080060

Nice Marshall 802 €8500:
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/marshall-802/26961988

Bear in mind most of these may need a weight block on back as a counterbalance.

However, if you can do without the loader, you can get a better type of tractor - maybe even into a 4wd machine, if you keep your eye out.

John Deere 2140 €7000
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/john-deeee-2140/27587981?campaign=3

Ford 4630 - a bit light at the back maybe for some, but might do a job for you. Tidy. £8500
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/ford-4630/26721771

If you're looking something that doesn't require much attention then something I think might have to give - loader or budget. The plus point is at the price range it will be all levers and mechanicals - no electrics, so most mechanics and/or yourself could work on them.
    Taking fodder out to stock on a front end loader with 2wd in a field is not something I'd recommend in winter - although I don't know what your land is like so take this with a pinch of salt.

I know its easy to say bump up the budget, but I think you'd need to get another €1k at least onto the top of your budget to meet your criterion. I'd be worried about taking home some of those cheaper ones - unless you fancied a project - and even then you'd be better off paying up front for a better starting point - in my opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭mythos110

blue5000 wrote: »
    In a word; electrics. They were the last all mechanical tractor over 100 hp made. If you had to you could start it with a pull. Even f140s are rising in value now because ppl can't afford the 110-90.

Would this lift a fusion bale?

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/massey-ferguson-165/26430604

You could buy a Renault Temis with mechanical everything up to about 2004 which were 105 to 148hp. I've owned a few fiats in my time (100-90/F130) and now have a few Temis'. They have the Iveco engine (Fiat) and the back end from the Renault 54 series. As close to bullet proof as you can get in a tractor. Better still, some of them have the sprung cab, and electric splitters and Fwd/rev making them a far more usable tractor than the 90 series fiats. They are starting to creep up in value now as well

lab man wrote: »
    Saw her she was rough very rough and lived in a bog he had a turf hopper too for sale there

Saw her in the flesh this morning as I bought a fert spreader there on sat she was worth max 4 maybe 4.5 k as I thought she is stone rotten new cab have to be got they said it had 3250 hrs I'd say tis 32500 hrs they ment gearbox was done too as its hopping outta 3rd gear this happens on these I believe after the box is redone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,644 ✭✭✭✭fits

€6k - €7k is a tight budget. If you only require a loader for bringing out hay/haylage you need to be careful in what way you go. Would taking the bales out on a spike or a bale lifter not suffice?
    If this is for out-wintering livestock a front end loader on a tractor can be hard on the ground - especially a 2wd tractor - needs the really broad front tyres to stop them from ploughing the ground.

For you budget, you are looking at something like this:
    Zetor 8045 c/w loader and quick attachment- €7250:
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/zetor-8045/25950619

Zetor 8011 c/w loader (not sure about attachments for it though €6500:
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/zetor/27374691

International 784 €6800
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/international-784/27276131

Or if you can stretch a bit:
    MF 565 c/w loader €8500:
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/massey-fergusom-565/26304949

Ford 6610 €8500
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/ford-6610-1984/27080060

Nice Marshall 802 €8500:
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/marshall-802/26961988

Bear in mind most of these may need a weight block on back as a counterbalance.

However, if you can do without the loader, you can get a better type of tractor - maybe even into a 4wd machine, if you keep your eye out.

John Deere 2140 €7000
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/john-deeee-2140/27587981?campaign=3

Ford 4630 - a bit light at the back maybe for some, but might do a job for you. Tidy. £8500
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/ford-4630/26721771

If you're looking something that doesn't require much attention then something I think might have to give - loader or budget. The plus point is at the price range it will be all levers and mechanicals - no electrics, so most mechanics and/or yourself could work on them.
    Taking fodder out to stock on a front end loader with 2wd in a field is not something I'd recommend in winter - although I don't know what your land is like so take this with a pinch of salt.

I know its easy to say bump up the budget, but I think you'd need to get another €1k at least onto the top of your budget to meet your criterion. I'd be worried about taking home some of those cheaper ones - unless you fancied a project - and even then you'd be better off paying up front for a better starting point - in my opinion.

Thanks for all that. Some great info. Our land is reasonably dry and not heavily stocked. I think we will have to forego the loader for now and focus on getting a good tractor.

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/zetor-8520-finance-options/27577658?campaign=6

Im not really a fan of older zetors but I like these ones, it's a UK import, and Brexit has pushed up the costs to import machines.. Would 15k buy it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/zetor-8520-finance-options/27577658?campaign=6

Im not really a fan of older zetors but I like these ones, it's a UK import, and Brexit has pushed up the costs to import machines.. Would 15k buy it?

Reagan's are expensive but 10 k should go a long way in buying it. Here is a 6441 admittedly selling without a warranty. He obviously allowed a bit too much in trade in and it will not sell as a 20k tractor

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/zetor-proxima-6441-4wd/26516447

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭hopeso

It's a nice looking example alright. The fact that it's only 2wd should keep the price down a bit. Sure give Olivia a call and find out.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭muddle84

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

I worked with a farmer who had a new 1995 one of them 4512 and tanco loader. it did a power of work before it traded it for 10k punt in 2001 for a new 4wd ursus . neither of them 2 ursus had a spanner to them as main tractor on a 500 acre farm

no comfort no style but did its job everyday

Have a MF 165 that runs and drives, but needs a good bit of work done to be roadworthy. They seem to sell really quickly on done deal. Are they all going for export or guys just fixing them up as a project? Is that part of the charm of these tractors, y'know a project to work on... I'm inclined to sell it as it is as we need a bigger 2nd tractor at home and I don't think I'd get the return if I spend a few 2k fixing up the 165, I don't think it'd be worth 2k more to a buyer

A 135 made 4800 in portlaoise on sat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

A 135 made 4800 in portlaoise on sat

Must have been in good nick for that money was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,415 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

muddle84 wrote: »

Looks like a recent respray judging by the backend. Hitch is perfect - no rubbing or chips.
    Wonder why they would do it up and not add a pic or two of the interior.
    They are a great yoke, although the hydrostatic steering in some of them could be a handful on the road.

Looks like a recent respray judging by the backend. Hitch is perfect - no rubbing or chips.
    Wonder why they would do it up and not add a pic or two of the interior.
    They are a great yoke, although the hydrostatic steering in some of them could be a handful on the road.

Ya I was wondering about the interior myself. However I know a lad that dose up a tractor's mostly old cases or international's and sells than on again it just an interest by him. I do not think he makes anything out of it.

However if the tractor was mechanically sound and electrics ok the interiors are relatively easy to do up. You wlll buy a decent seat new for 4-500 euro, I am not sure about the upholstery for the inside

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,219 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I wonder what " custom front tyres" means?
    And he's gonna find it a hard sell when he stipulates " no calls or texts"!

And here is dreamer if the month. Case 4230 2wd. I know the hours are low and I taught he was a bit strong on the price ever before I saw it was + vat. She is a non shuttle version and stockman as well. She be a nice tractor for a lad with under 50 acres on goodish ground. Even with present market 12 k would be a good price for it vat inc

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/tractor/27279118

Slava Ukrainii

Didnt know they had left hand shuttle! How much I wonder

kevthegaff wrote: »

That your task for today. Ring him and let us know

Better still call up and give them the once over and your opinion on them😜

Slava Ukrainii

If the 110s had a Lh shuttle they be sought after even more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭hopeso

The left hand shuttle is actually a large floor mounted gear lever to the left of the seat...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭muddle84

If the 110s had a Lh shuttle they be sought after even more

Are you sure that shuttle isn't on the 110's? Its about 8 years since i drove one but i'm nearly sure i remember having that shuttle there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,465 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Are you sure that shuttle isn't on the 110's? Its about 8 years since i drove one but i'm nearly sure i remember having that shuttle there?

Definitely not.

I had 4 here all 4 were great tractors the best of all was a 89 ky one she had a 30k box was perfectly geared for cutting with a jd 1350 at the time both machines never gave a both of trouble is safely say we put 10 or 12 k up on the 110 and thousands af acres through the mower wore through the conditioner twice I think once for certain

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/renault-106-54/27443518

This Renault is keenly priced, not much electronics on these tractors. Should sell quick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,219 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I didn't even realise it was on an 80-90.
    Thought you had to go to the 94 range to get the manual shuttle.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    I didn't even realise it was on an 80-90.
    Thought you had to go to the 94 range to get the manual shuttle.

We must have had 10 fiats and some had middle gears but none had shuttles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,668 ✭✭✭maidhc

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/renault-106-54/27443518

This Renault is keenly priced, not much electronics on these tractors. Should sell quick

Really strong tractor. MWM engine but its a 6 cylinder. They have a shuttle of some sorts. Problem can be parts. Know a lad that paid over a grand for an exhaust for a Renault. She has a massive rear lift capability at over 7 ton that why she needs the full set of weights. She has 13k hours on her. I would not be afraid of the engine it the Hydraulics on her I want checked. If I was buying I really want to know what the lad was selling it. It cheap HP for the money and TBF the tyres are very good on it.

I really want to check it completely before I would buy it

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭MIKEKC

Really strong tractor. MWM engine but its a 6 cylinder. They have a shuttle of some sorts. Problem can be parts. Know a lad that paid over a grand for an exhaust for a Renault. She has a massive rear lift capability at over 7 ton that why she needs the full set of weights. She has 13k hours on her. I would not be afraid of the engine it the Hydraulics on her I want checked. If I was buying I really want to know what the lad was selling it. It cheap HP for the money and TBF the tyres are very good on it.

What are people's opinions on the basic tractors like Tumousan, Armatrac, etc. These seem to be overtaking Zetor

MIKEKC wrote: »
    What are people's opinions on the basic tractors like Tumousan, Armatrac, etc. These seem to be overtaking Zetor

i know of one of each sold to different people.....have never heard any complaints.... the tumosan in particular would be doing alot of work,admittedly none of it over hard,but a good livestock tractor

Depreciation for both wouldnt be an issue as neither would be selling anytime in next 20 plus years anyway,if stay trouble free.........

Given present prices for second hand stuff,i gave serious contemplation to pricing.a 70ish HP 2wd one with loader during summer (be loads for what i need)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,365 ✭✭✭Robson99

I would imagine 20k for non loader and 24 or 25 k for one with loader

I dont like when a private seller is selling something with good tyres, why would they put tyres on it if their about to sell it. Maybe theres an underlying problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,137 ✭✭✭endainoz

I dont like when a private seller is selling something with good tyres, why would they put tyres on it if their about to sell it. Maybe theres an underlying problem

Would that bit be to just increase the chances of selling it?

endainoz wrote: »
    Would that bit be to just increase the chances of selling it?

Not really there is about 2 k worth of tyres in it. If you dropped the price by 2K it would be more attractive. Some lads are great to source stuff. If a contractor bout this tractor he might have one pair in the yard that would fit it.niw having said all that the owner may have sourced a good value similar workhorse and had not planned on changing but took the opportunity to vat arose

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭MIKEKC

i know of one of each sold to different people.....have never heard any complaints.... the tumosan in particular would be doing alot of work,admittedly none of it over hard,but a good livestock tractor

Depreciation for both wouldnt be an issue as neither would be selling anytime in next 20 plus years anyway,if stay trouble free.........

Given present prices for second hand stuff,i gave serious contemplation to pricing.a 70ish HP 2wd one with loader during summer (be loads for what i need)
    Wouldn't it be very hard to value used tractors with so few secondhands available. Thinking about 2018 Tumousan 70 Hp with loader. I feel most of these would have less than 1000 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Here's a Fiat 80/90 loader & shuttle looks well priced

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/fiat-80-90/27633413

If interested Reggie might pop over for a look.....

Better be quick it wont hang around for long at that price if it's straight.

Not really there is about 2 k worth of tyres in it. If you dropped the price by 2K it would be more attractive. Some lads are great to source stuff. If a contractor bout this tractor he might have one pair in the yard that would fit it.niw having said all that the owner may have sourced a good value similar workhorse and had not planned on changing but took the opportunity to vat arose

Is it worth fixing up old MF 165 in the hope of getting a much improved price for it? Néed a better 2nd tractor at home so I'd like to replace it... Ours runs and drives, albeit poorly... Would need a steering overhaul. hitch replaced, new cab etc... Id say its worth 3.5 - 4k based on whats being asked on done deal and 165's are selling quick from what ads I've been following.. Could easily spend 4k on it but I don't think it would be a 8 k tractor if it were fixed up..It'd still be a 165 at the end of the day and they arent able to manage alot of new implements

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,465 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Is it worth fixing up old MF 165 in the hope of getting a much improved price for it? Néed a better 2nd tractor at home so I'd like to replace it... Ours runs and drives, albeit poorly... Would need a steering overhaul. hitch replaced, new cab etc... Id say its worth 3.5 - 4k based on whats being asked on done deal and 165's are selling quick from what ads I've been following.. Could easily spend 4k on it but I don't think it would be a 8 k tractor if it were fixed up..It'd still be a 165 at the end of the day and they arent able to manage alot of new implements

No.

It’s nearly always a case of a sunk cost fallacy

The cost of parts and labour is impossible to recoup on a sale

Yeah that's what I'm thinking. It'd be a good fixer upper project, but equally good for export...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,137 ✭✭✭endainoz

Yeah that's what I'm thinking. It'd be a good fixer upper project, but equally good for export...

Yeah might be best to get rid of it if they're still making crazy money.

No.

It’s nearly always a case of a sunk cost fallacy

The cost of parts and labour is impossible to recoup on a sale

Only think 3-4k is hand money for a second tractor unless you have a friend that will sort a bit of work if you have a problem with a tractor.

Recently saw a lad pay over 2 k to get a clutch done on a 390. He has to go to a place that sell tractor's ( not a main dealer even). His problem was an small independent lads has 3-3 weeks work on in front of him. He was able to get a friend to feed every 2-3 days and did a bit of pushing and piking himself. He had an old Zetor on the place and had sold it only last summer for 2 k as it was lying around the place. He have battled away with it if he had to for a month if he had not sold it.

Slava Ukrainii

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Just keep it in a dry shed, do little bits of work to it yourself as you get time. Keep an eye out for parts that you know you need all the time. It might never be an 8k tractor but if you sold it what would you get for 4k?

Over the last few years the 5000 here has got a new clutch, hydraulic pump, 2nd hand Dromone puh, bigger back wheels and tyres (used) and this year a water pump. I haven't spent €1000 on parts and all diy. Young lad helped me on a lot of these jobs so he's learning too.

You say it's too small for modern implements, but a 2nd tractor, even an old one is still capable of a lot of handy jobs around a farm. Now I admit you're not going to put a 2 ton fertiliser spreader on the back of your 165......:eek:

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

There are alot of this type Renault's in clare as joe whelan was the main agent before he had Massey ferguson /agco alot of these are well minded and only do tipping around I've only heard of 1 giving trouble and that was the owners fault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

jimmy G M wrote: »
    Here's a Fiat 80/90 loader & shuttle looks well priced

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/fiat-80-90/27633413

If interested Reggie might pop over for a look.....

Better be quick it wont hang around for long at that price if it's straight.

Gone now, less than 24 hours up...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭mayota

jimmy G M wrote: »
    Gone now, less than 24 hours up...

Saw that.