Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

The Freeze bites back -6th December onwards (All discussion here please)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭irish1967

Jaysus Pangea.. you must have something falling by now !! Raintoday has you getting whacked !!:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭Pangea

lol nothing yet, its dry out there, but I do see some cloud coming over the mountains ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,633 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

The 00Z GFS appears to have upgraded the snow potential for the East tomorrow:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭snow ghost

Temp 1.5 and rising here at the mo, very cloudy to the west off me rolling in off the sea.

Seems to be drizzling out there, wasnt expecting snow anyways.

• Registered Users Posts: 981 ✭✭✭mountainy man

Cloud "walking" through the garden here now, -3.3c, birds scattering:eek:

Nothing here yet... me thinks... non event !

• Registered Users Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Temperature is going down somehow in west Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

I woke up at 7am and it was -5 (Shankill area) this morning way to cold for having a smoke outside brrr.
    Temps now are -2/-1 roads are frozen solid & slippery.

Not going to bother driving into work today, working from home instead.

irish1967 wrote: »
    I looked outside cant tell if its stopped drizzling or not ,otherwise no sign of any precipation. IM logging off ,will log on if theres any sneachta. Doubt it though :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 981 ✭✭✭mountainy man

irish1967 wrote: »

great big blobs on radar to the west of you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

An odd flake starting to fall here now

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 26,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

The notoriously optimistic thermometer clock in Suffolk Street was showing -5C at 8.15am. :eek:

Light grauple here now.

Light Sleety rain here ,same auld story im afraid.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,289 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

snowing in donegal town now - will i get home tonight ?

Ok. Will use this pic as a marker pic.
    a164fbc1.jpg

Heavy grauple/ light snow now

snowing in donegal town now - will i get home tonight ?

Just took a drive down town. Main roads fine. Drove round diamond and out to psc. Side roads slippy but ok with care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Harps

Whats going on with this thing? Raintoday has it right on the edge of Letterkenny for the past hour yet all we've had so far is a light 2 minute shower and its cleared up again..?

It was proper snow with some massive flakes but it doesnt exactly seem like its going to do anything interesting

SNOW !!!! Heavy now.. white out conditions approaching !! :D:D:D

Irish I really hate you lol
    Its pouring here, Inland feckers!
    Yous are not even inland the bay comes into the town so its suprising.

compare to post 318

30094d77.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 16,637 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

watch irish1967 keep it all for himself, and us further south will just get the scraps from this:mad:

the front will likely decay rapidly as it moves inland. this is the curse of fronts from the north when the land is so cold. it seems if we want heavy snow on this side of the country then we need a potent arctic northerly blast- better still a polar low to arise in such a situation, you'll nearly always get 2-3 hours of moderate-heavy snow, throughout much of the country, with the passage of the low from north to south.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Harps

Spoke too soon here as well, heavy snow!

Edit: Spoke too soon once again, heavy rain!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,289 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

quick snap - must work instead of worrying about the drive home

138342.jpg

eased off again now thank god

• Registered Users Posts: 7,316 ✭✭✭naughto

how come where not seeing any thing of this front its right over castlebar and we have nothing.and even better news that the college is closed:D:D

watch irish1967 keep it all for himself, and us further south will just get the scraps from this:mad:

the front will likely decay rapidly as it moves inland. this is the curse of fronts from the north when the land is so cold. it seems if we want heavy snow on this side of the country then we need a potent arctic northerly blast- better still a polar low to arise in such a situation, you'll nearly always get 2-3 hours of moderate-heavy snow, throughout much of the country, with the passage of the low from north to south.
    Yeah but polar lows are as rare as Liverpool being on top of the table.
    So its not even worth mentioning in my opinion.

compare to 318 & 323

0cca9988.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 7,138 ✭✭✭snaps

I cant work these radars out, massive Orange over me for the past hour but its still blue sky.