Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

New Dail / New Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭ceegee

SF will have to spend and spend to do what they promised. In order to do that debt have to go up ie the public will be borrowing alot more or taxes go up. Tax wise the populist 'tax the rich ' is not going to pay for anything.. it's the middle class that pay the majority of tax...

According to their manifesto they plan to bring in an extra 3.8 billion a year by taxing the "rich" and give back 2.6 billion in tax cuts.
    The plan is to use that 6 billion (1.2b X 5 years) to fund 22 billion in extra current and capital spending, while increasing our budget surplus.

Not sure how that math works for them...

• Registered Users Posts: 545 ✭✭✭zeebre12

If I were looking for lots of likes on my post, I would put up something derogatory about Mary Lou like a huge number of posters did.

It's just funny that the demographic posting here are so at odds with the view of a good proportion of the electorate. She's a fine orator and seems like a very decent person on the whole. Comparing Mary Lou to Trump and Johnson makes no sense.

People didn't have much issue with Varadkar when he was appointed and many of those people turned a full 180° in the time since he's been Taoiseach because of his wheeling, dealing and general disdain for anyone outside of his circle. The difference between him and Mary Lou is that he always intended to exploit the power of his authority to benefit his own end.

I stand to be corrected if it turns out that I'm wrong, but Mary Lou might actually be one of those rare politicians who tries to do the best they can to genuinely improve life for a lot of people. I have little to lose with that wager; worst-case scenario is that nothing changes and the country is still awfully run. The best outcome would be a fair and supportive society with a safety net for hard-working people who happen to fall through the cracks.

I just don't know where the hell half my earnings are going at the moment.
    Give every f##ker that never worked a day in their lives a 'forever home' while others commute from Wexford to Dublin. That's where we are going.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Millionaire only not

Not going to address your 'stupid' comment or how you mixed me up with another poster while calling me 'stupid'?

Did Mary Lou not call Slab Murphy a "good republican" btw?

Is he not her boss !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭dixiefly

OMG,

labour are in freefall

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/election-2020/former-tanaiste-joan-burton-set-to-lose-dail-seat-38939564.html

5.2% of first preferences after being out of power and with a left leaning wind at their back.

It could be the beginning (or well into the path to) the end of them as a political entity.

This is one of the big stories of the election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

I have to ask who the sinn fein director of elections was?

Whoever it is a ball was dropped by not running an extra 10-15 candidates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

I have to ask who the sinn fein director of elections was?

Whoever it is a ball was dropped by not running an extra 10-15 candidates.

Hindsight is great. After their results in the locals and europeans nobody expected this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭FixitFelix

Spoiler alert

They never back up their promises so it will never happen , so glad i never vote

You mean like FF, FG? If you don't vote you shouldn't be on here talking about any of the issues that may or may not arise.

easypazz wrote: »
    Hindsight is great. After their results in the locals and europeans nobody expected this.

The last poll before nominations closed sf was on 21%.

It's fair to suggest that someone dropped the ball by not nominating a few extra candidates.

That said I wonder if it there was a deliberate decision not to fight to be the largest party.

easypazz wrote: »

CHANGE was a great mantra, as voters assumed change for the good. Yeah, plenty of scope for change for the worse. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,365 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

zeebre12 wrote: »
    Give every f##ker that never worked a day in their lives a 'forever home' while others commute from Wexford to Dublin. That's where we are going.

Who’s going to pay for all the new houses?

German bond holders. :pac:

And then the taxpayer. :mad:

Labour used to be broad a broad centre left party and the far left socialists would inevitably transfer to them. Sinn Fein was seen as the disrespectful party that no one would really want to associate themselves with.

Now we have Social Democrats and the Greens positioning themselves as left and Sinn Fein and PBF/solidarity as viable farther left parties.

Too many leftist parties and Labour aren't top of the pile. They either need to distinguish themselves from the leftist mess or merge with one of them or they will remain a small soft left party.

• Registered Users Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Nevin Parsnipp

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    I have no problem with Mary Lou, I think she is great.

But I don't think she will be after this election, they only contested 42 seats? Please correct me if I am wrong here.

If anything it looks like Sinn Féin have dropped the ball, they should have contested more seats.

You are spot on there buddy.....made a right mess of it.....dropped a potential six seats at this point.

Would like to see them getting a shot at the trough and see how they behave themselves.

Early signs not promising .....Unlikely winners here might be the Wolf Tones ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,643 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

CHANGE was a great mantra, as voters assumed change for the good. Yeah, plenty of scope for change for the worse. :(

Any voter who votes for someone because they were promised and expected this great "change" thing, should be stripped of their vote for life.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭eggy81

Co-living will be added in as well, each bed will likely bed counted as a 'unit'.

100k figure is such nonsense in fairness anyway and I wonder who SF proposes to build all these homes considering they seem to hate developers and banks (except for the one up north that was robbed in 2004, but that had nothing to so with SF nor the IRA of course.....)
    The banks actually do the robbing down here though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

You are spot on there buddy.....made a right mess of it.....dropped a potential six seats at this point.

Would like to see them getting a shot at the trough and see how they behave themselves.

I thought the Dessie Ellis led " get out you black n tans " chorus, before midday on a Sunday it is worth adding, was particularly uncouth and borderline disconcerting.

I wouldn't say it to his face though. He mightn't take too kindly to my reservations on how he adapts his nationalist tendencies. I wouldn't fancy " sparking his fuse" or detonating any adverse reaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

The Labour party does have a future, it is certainly not finished and does not need to join with other players. First, it needs to be far more savvy with the media, it needs to keep itself in the news all the time not just once every four weeks. It also needs to find some backbone as it stands it looks a bit meek. To get the votes back it could do with a few characters who wear jeans and tee-shirts and the odd guy on a motorbike. It would work wonders for its image and yes, image is everything.

Maybe get Brendan to wear an eye patch and ride around on a Honda 50, doubt he'd be able to handle anything bigger anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

Can't see Sinn Fein wanting to go into power, they would be happy out consolidating their position and leave FG prop FF.

it would suit perfectly if FG prop up FF to keep SF out

but they are gunning to get into power so it will be seen by the electorate as a denial of the wish for change

• Registered Users Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Nevin Parsnipp

I have no problem with Mary Lou, I think she is great.

But I don't think she will be after this election, they only contested 42 seats? Please correct me if I am wrong here.

If anything it looks like Sinn Féin have dropped the ball, they should have contested more seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,649 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Catalonia flag sales are way up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

eggy81 wrote: »
    The banks actually do the robbing down here though.

True

Any voter who votes for someone because they were promised and expected this great "change" thing, should be stripped of their vote for life.

While I agree that 'change' is nothing more than empty buzz word, surely stripping people of their right to vote is not particularly democratic.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Every single citizen of the state has the right to a vote. The day that changes is the day our republic dies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Every single citizen of the state has the right to a vote. The day that changes is the day our republic dies.

Not true at all. Adults only and residents only (except diplomats, military I think overseas and some recent emigrants)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭eggy81

As opposed to what? Voting for someone because it's just what weve always done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,643 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

While I agree that 'change' is nothing more than empty buzz word, surely stripping people of their right to vote is not particularly democratic.

I'm in two minds over whether or not I mean this, to be honest. ON the one hand, I agree with you; on the other: it would save a lot of trouble...

Ah I don't know, while normally I think the word 'change' is nothing but a sub for the word 'b0ll0x' I think this time Slab Murph.....ahem I mean Mary Lou (our new puppet in chief) can make some real 'changes' around here.

Be nice to get petrol and diesel at border prices down here.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭Lavinia

If this does not speak for itself what does? lol

502375.JPG

eggy81 wrote: »
    As opposed to what? Voting for someone because it's just what weve always done.

As opposed to actually doing some researcxh and finding out what problem they want resolved, what solutiosn exists, what will the reults of these solutions be and then finding out if any of the canddiates on offer have actually done the same research or are they just spouting "change" because they know idiots will vote on the word "change" and not do said research.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,543 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Spoiler alert

They never back up their promises so it will never happen , so glad i never vote

Do any of the parties?

Pearse would be good over Finance and also as Tanaiste

Martin wants to be Taoiseach but will he align with Mary Lou and SF

I wouldn't mind Mary Lou as the first female Taoiseach

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Do any of the parties?

Pearse would be good over Finance and also as Tanaiste

Martin wants to be Taoiseach but will he align with Mary Lou and SF

I wouldn't mind Mary Lou as the first female Taoiseach

She'll be grand as Teeseach. She can just kneecap anyone who disagrees with her. ..or bury them in a bog.....or maybe her big back garden in Cabra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭boetstark

True

Sure and when SF tax the banks who do you reckon will be paying higher bank charges and interest rates.
    But that won't affect your typical SF groupy

• Registered Users Posts: 15,214 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Surely this is not possible. Is it?

SF are not going to have more seats than FF, so in a SF/FF coalition she would not be Taoiseach.
    If, which is possible, SF have more seats than FG, in a SF/FG coalition she would become Taoiseach.

Lavinia wrote: »
    If this does not speak for itself what does? lol

502375.JPG

I don`t know what that says tbh, as it only covers 55 seats out of the 160.:confused:

Percentage of the total first preference vote is a true reflection of voting trends.

charlie14 wrote: »
    SF are not going to have more seats than FF, so in a SF/FF coalition she would not be Taoiseach.
    If, which is possible, SF have more seats than FG, in a SF/FG coalition she would become Taoiseach.

From what is being said most senior FG TD's have stated they are not going into a coalition with SF. Most Dublin effeffers won't either, but if the likes of Eamonn O'Cuiv get their way it is likely FF will.

At this point I wouldn't rule out anything, certainly not something like FF, FG and labour and/or the Greens.

How the transfers pan out in the morning is going to be massive. It is looking like the SF surplus is generally going to PBP or SD.

From what is being said most senior FG TD's have stated they are not going into a coalition with SF. Most Dublin effeffers won't either, but if the likes of Eamonn O'Cuiv get their way it is likely FF will.

At this point I wouldn't rule out anything, certainly not something like FF, FG and labour and/or the Greens.

How the transfers pan out in the morning is going to be massive. It is looking like the SF surplus is generally going to PBP or SD.

FG do not seem to be keen on a supply and demand agreement with FF, and there is little or no chance of a FF/FG coalition so that limits the possibilities.
    A FG/SF coalition, a FF/SF coalition, or back to the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,720 ✭✭✭Cartman78

Never mind Taoiseach, give her a stint as Minister for Health and see how the SF maths stack up in the real world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Party alliances aside i'd like to see a woman as Taoiseach for the first time. Think it's well overdue and will be a sign the country is moving out of the dark ages.

I know some who rooted for Maggie Thatcher and are now for Ms. McDonald. Honest! If you put a knickers on a donkey some of them would vote for it. Maybe all males should have a sex-change op to get further in the world.

charlie14 wrote: »
    FG do not seem to be keen on a supply and demand agreement with FF, and there is little or no chance of a FF/FG coalition so that limits the possibilities.
    A FG/SF coalition, a FF/SF coalition, or back to the country.

The most likely at this stage is FF/SF. But that will depend on the effeffers having a TD only vote. A lot of Dublin TD's will not support it.

I certainly would not rule out a FG/FF coalition, maybe supported by the greens or labour. They have form here...

I certainly don't see a rainbow coalition led by Mary Lou, I don't think there is enough seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

And any voter who voted for a candidate that filled a pothole should be treated likewise....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Party alliances aside i'd like to see a woman as Taoiseach for the first time. Think it's well overdue and will be a sign the country is moving out of the dark ages.

I know some who rooted for Maggie Thatcher and are now for Ms. McDonald. Honest! If you put a knickers on a donkey some of them would vote for it. Maybe all males should have a sex-change op to get further in the world.

boetstark wrote: »
    Sure and when SF tax the banks who do you reckon will be paying higher bank charges and interest rates.
    But that won't affect your typical SF groupy

Reckon it will be me and you paying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

As opposed to actually doing some researcxh and finding out what problem they want resolved, what solutiosn exists, what will the reults of these solutions be and then finding out if any of the canddiates on offer have actually done the same research or are they just spouting "change" because they know idiots will vote on the word "change" and not do said research.

If someone's priority when voting is a return to the era of large-scale state involvement in the construction, ownership and management of public housing, in the context of FF killing this formerly successful policy and both FF and FG categorically refusing to restore it, while other parties such as Labour, Green etc have happily facilitated FF and FG's abdication of responsibility in this regard, SF becomes for many people the only party which is even stating that they want to implement such policies, never mind actually suggesting that they'll get it done and know how they'll get it done.

FG and FF are ideologically opposed to the concept, and that is something that every young person I know who voted against them today is fully aware of. That even in a perfect world with an unlimited supply of the resources necessary to build 100% social housing, they still wouldn't do it because removing housing from the mercy of greedy f*ckers is something they are ideologically opposed to.

SF are not ideologically opposed to the concept, which in the eyes of anyone for whom this is their #1 policy priority, automatically makes them superior to either FF or FG, and that's why so many people, young people in particular, went for SF and refused to allow their transfers to go anywhere near FF or FG.

People lucky enough to be insulated from the reality of paying €1,500 a month for a studio apartment or living at home until they're well into their 30s are massively, massively underestimating the sheer volume of young people who are white hot furious at how the property owning class, which FF and FG unashamedly and undeniably represent before they represent any other demographic of Irish people, have pulled the ladder up behind them and left everyone else to drown. Anyone who honestly doubts that this is by far and away the single biggest issue driving young voters towards SF is obviously lucky enough not to be personally affected by it; and lacking in the empathy needed to understand what this crisis is doing to their fellow Irish peoples' quality of life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭20silkcut

If someone's priority when voting is a return to the era of large-scale state involvement in the construction, ownership and management of public housing, in the context of FF killing this formerly successful policy and both FF and FG categorically refusing to restore it, while other parties such as Labour, Green etc have happily facilitated FF and FG's abdication of responsibility in this regard, SF becomes for many people the only party which is even stating that they want to implement such policies, never mind actually suggesting that they'll get it done and know how they'll get it done.

FG and FF are ideologically opposed to the concept, and that is something that every young person I know who voted against them today is fully aware of. That even in a perfect world with an unlimited supply of the resources necessary to build 100% social housing, they still wouldn't do it because removing housing from the mercy of greedy f*ckers is something they are ideologically opposed to.

SF are not ideologically opposed to the concept, which in the eyes of anyone for whom this is their #1 policy priority, automatically makes them superior to either FF or FG, and that's why so many people, young people in particular, went for SF and refused to allow their transfers to go anywhere near FF or FG.

People lucky enough to be insulated from the reality of paying €1,500 a month for a studio apartment or living at home until they're well into their 30s are massively, massively underestimating the sheer volume of young people who are white hot furious at how the property owning class, which FF and FG unashamedly and undeniably represent before they represent any other demographic of Irish people, have pulled the ladder up behind them and left everyone else to drown. Anyone who honestly doubts that this is by far and away the single biggest issue driving young voters towards SF is obviously lucky enough not to be personally affected by it; and lacking in the empathy needed to understand what this crisis is doing to their fellow Irish peoples' quality of life.

Yes this is like the game of monopoly where the person with nothing on the board catches the board and throws it up in the air.
    Guess we will have to start a new game,
    But it will end up the same again in time.
    Just different players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

We had Trump and Boris. Now Mary Lou

20silkcut wrote: »
    Yes this is like the game of monopoly where the person with nothing on the board catches the board and throws it up in the air.
    Guess we will have to start a new game,
    But it will end up the same again in time.
    Just different players.

This is because in said game of monopoly, the only difference between the players is a few lucky dicerolls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

We had Trump and Boris. Now Mary Lou

We have Trump and Boris. Not had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭20silkcut

This is because in said game of monopoly, the only difference between the players is a few lucky dicerolls.

Yes 100 years ago the people of Ireland threw the monopoly board up in the air started a new game and voted en- masse for a party called Sinn Fein.

Cartman78 wrote: »
    Never mind Taoiseach, give her a stint as Minister for Health and see how the SF maths stack up in the real world

I'm glad we'll find out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭Field east

Will she not be too busy building 100,000 public homes in 5 years?

Cos unless she grabs a shovel herself, along with everyone else, how the **** is that particular promise going to happen?

Will only happen if the min finance gives enough € to the min for housing or equivalent eg fr mcverry