Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Dail / New Taoiseach

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,253 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Do any of the parties?

Pearse would be good over Finance and also as Tanaiste

Martin wants to be Taoiseach but will he align with Mary Lou and SF

I wouldn't mind Mary Lou as the first female Taoiseach

She'll be grand as Teeseach. She can just kneecap anyone who disagrees with her. ..or bury them in a bog.....or maybe her big back garden in Cabra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭boetstark

True

Sure and when SF tax the banks who do you reckon will be paying higher bank charges and interest rates.
    But that won't affect your typical SF groupy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,703 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Surely this is not possible. Is it?

SF are not going to have more seats than FF, so in a SF/FF coalition she would not be Taoiseach.
    If, which is possible, SF have more seats than FG, in a SF/FG coalition she would become Taoiseach.

Lavinia wrote: »
    If this does not speak for itself what does? lol

502375.JPG

I don`t know what that says tbh, as it only covers 55 seats out of the 160.:confused:

Percentage of the total first preference vote is a true reflection of voting trends.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

charlie14 wrote: »
    SF are not going to have more seats than FF, so in a SF/FF coalition she would not be Taoiseach.
    If, which is possible, SF have more seats than FG, in a SF/FG coalition she would become Taoiseach.

From what is being said most senior FG TD's have stated they are not going into a coalition with SF. Most Dublin effeffers won't either, but if the likes of Eamonn O'Cuiv get their way it is likely FF will.

At this point I wouldn't rule out anything, certainly not something like FF, FG and labour and/or the Greens.

How the transfers pan out in the morning is going to be massive. It is looking like the SF surplus is generally going to PBP or SD.

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    From what is being said most senior FG TD's have stated they are not going into a coalition with SF. Most Dublin effeffers won't either, but if the likes of Eamonn O'Cuiv get their way it is likely FF will.

At this point I wouldn't rule out anything, certainly not something like FF, FG and labour and/or the Greens.

How the transfers pan out in the morning is going to be massive. It is looking like the SF surplus is generally going to PBP or SD.

FG do not seem to be keen on a supply and demand agreement with FF, and there is little or no chance of a FF/FG coalition so that limits the possibilities.
    A FG/SF coalition, a FF/SF coalition, or back to the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,163 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Never mind Taoiseach, give her a stint as Minister for Health and see how the SF maths stack up in the real world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,634 ✭✭✭feargale

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Party alliances aside i'd like to see a woman as Taoiseach for the first time. Think it's well overdue and will be a sign the country is moving out of the dark ages.

I know some who rooted for Maggie Thatcher and are now for Ms. McDonald. Honest! If you put a knickers on a donkey some of them would vote for it. Maybe all males should have a sex-change op to get further in the world.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

charlie14 wrote: »
    FG do not seem to be keen on a supply and demand agreement with FF, and there is little or no chance of a FF/FG coalition so that limits the possibilities.
    A FG/SF coalition, a FF/SF coalition, or back to the country.

The most likely at this stage is FF/SF. But that will depend on the effeffers having a TD only vote. A lot of Dublin TD's will not support it.

I certainly would not rule out a FG/FF coalition, maybe supported by the greens or labour. They have form here...

I certainly don't see a rainbow coalition led by Mary Lou, I don't think there is enough seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Any voter who votes for someone because they were promised and expected this great "change" thing, should be stripped of their vote for life.

And any voter who voted for a candidate that filled a pothole should be treated likewise....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,634 ✭✭✭feargale

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Party alliances aside i'd like to see a woman as Taoiseach for the first time. Think it's well overdue and will be a sign the country is moving out of the dark ages.

I know some who rooted for Maggie Thatcher and are now for Ms. McDonald. Honest! If you put a knickers on a donkey some of them would vote for it. Maybe all males should have a sex-change op to get further in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

boetstark wrote: »
    Sure and when SF tax the banks who do you reckon will be paying higher bank charges and interest rates.
    But that won't affect your typical SF groupy

Reckon it will be me and you paying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

As opposed to actually doing some researcxh and finding out what problem they want resolved, what solutiosn exists, what will the reults of these solutions be and then finding out if any of the canddiates on offer have actually done the same research or are they just spouting "change" because they know idiots will vote on the word "change" and not do said research.

If someone's priority when voting is a return to the era of large-scale state involvement in the construction, ownership and management of public housing, in the context of FF killing this formerly successful policy and both FF and FG categorically refusing to restore it, while other parties such as Labour, Green etc have happily facilitated FF and FG's abdication of responsibility in this regard, SF becomes for many people the only party which is even stating that they want to implement such policies, never mind actually suggesting that they'll get it done and know how they'll get it done.

FG and FF are ideologically opposed to the concept, and that is something that every young person I know who voted against them today is fully aware of. That even in a perfect world with an unlimited supply of the resources necessary to build 100% social housing, they still wouldn't do it because removing housing from the mercy of greedy f*ckers is something they are ideologically opposed to.

SF are not ideologically opposed to the concept, which in the eyes of anyone for whom this is their #1 policy priority, automatically makes them superior to either FF or FG, and that's why so many people, young people in particular, went for SF and refused to allow their transfers to go anywhere near FF or FG.

People lucky enough to be insulated from the reality of paying €1,500 a month for a studio apartment or living at home until they're well into their 30s are massively, massively underestimating the sheer volume of young people who are white hot furious at how the property owning class, which FF and FG unashamedly and undeniably represent before they represent any other demographic of Irish people, have pulled the ladder up behind them and left everyone else to drown. Anyone who honestly doubts that this is by far and away the single biggest issue driving young voters towards SF is obviously lucky enough not to be personally affected by it; and lacking in the empathy needed to understand what this crisis is doing to their fellow Irish peoples' quality of life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭20silkcut

If someone's priority when voting is a return to the era of large-scale state involvement in the construction, ownership and management of public housing, in the context of FF killing this formerly successful policy and both FF and FG categorically refusing to restore it, while other parties such as Labour, Green etc have happily facilitated FF and FG's abdication of responsibility in this regard, SF becomes for many people the only party which is even stating that they want to implement such policies, never mind actually suggesting that they'll get it done and know how they'll get it done.

FG and FF are ideologically opposed to the concept, and that is something that every young person I know who voted against them today is fully aware of. That even in a perfect world with an unlimited supply of the resources necessary to build 100% social housing, they still wouldn't do it because removing housing from the mercy of greedy f*ckers is something they are ideologically opposed to.

SF are not ideologically opposed to the concept, which in the eyes of anyone for whom this is their #1 policy priority, automatically makes them superior to either FF or FG, and that's why so many people, young people in particular, went for SF and refused to allow their transfers to go anywhere near FF or FG.

People lucky enough to be insulated from the reality of paying €1,500 a month for a studio apartment or living at home until they're well into their 30s are massively, massively underestimating the sheer volume of young people who are white hot furious at how the property owning class, which FF and FG unashamedly and undeniably represent before they represent any other demographic of Irish people, have pulled the ladder up behind them and left everyone else to drown. Anyone who honestly doubts that this is by far and away the single biggest issue driving young voters towards SF is obviously lucky enough not to be personally affected by it; and lacking in the empathy needed to understand what this crisis is doing to their fellow Irish peoples' quality of life.

Yes this is like the game of monopoly where the person with nothing on the board catches the board and throws it up in the air.
    Guess we will have to start a new game,
    But it will end up the same again in time.
    Just different players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

We had Trump and Boris. Now Mary Lou

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

20silkcut wrote: »
    Yes this is like the game of monopoly where the person with nothing on the board catches the board and throws it up in the air.
    Guess we will have to start a new game,
    But it will end up the same again in time.
    Just different players.

This is because in said game of monopoly, the only difference between the players is a few lucky dicerolls.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

We had Trump and Boris. Now Mary Lou

We have Trump and Boris. Not had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭20silkcut

This is because in said game of monopoly, the only difference between the players is a few lucky dicerolls.

Yes 100 years ago the people of Ireland threw the monopoly board up in the air started a new game and voted en- masse for a party called Sinn Fein.

Cartman78 wrote: »
    Never mind Taoiseach, give her a stint as Minister for Health and see how the SF maths stack up in the real world

I'm glad we'll find out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,464 ✭✭✭Field east

Will she not be too busy building 100,000 public homes in 5 years?

Cos unless she grabs a shovel herself, along with everyone else, how the **** is that particular promise going to happen?

Will only happen if the min finance gives enough € to the min for housing or equivalent eg fr mcverry

Just heard Pearse Doherty suggesting this on Rte1 - thoughts..

Of much more interest will be who will fill the finance position -probably not FF because it crashed the economy a few times; the health , housing and social welfare ministries

marvin80 wrote: »
    To be fair they've all made promises they won't be keeping.

Except for SF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

20silkcut wrote: »
    Yes 100 years ago the people of Ireland threw the monopoly board up in the air started a new game and voted en- masse for a party called Sinn Fein.

While it's a long time since I've played, I don't remember the game ever lasting that long.

But my point is simple: the only difference between rich people and poor people iin many, many cases is fortune.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

fergus1001 wrote: »
    tax breaks for the people that need it/encourage work in areas needed

why are we building f***ing offices with tax breaks if there are no houses to house the damn workers

I must be living in a different world. Was in Dublin two was ago and saw high rise cranes towering over at least 4 sites building accommodation blocks - and this was in a very small part of dublin

daheff wrote: »
    Does that mean we'll get cash for ash in the Free State now too??

Yes, as they say ‘ it’s payback time’. The outgoing gov have been sooooooo tight with the country’s finances - notwithstanding the fact that it inherited an unprecedented deficit in 2011 and had no surplus money to invest for MOST OF THE NINE YEARS it was in power🏝😀!!!

Hermy wrote: »
    So Sinn Féin don't want to abolish the Special Criminal Court?

Please do educate me.

It has not said that it wants to get Rid of the SCC. It wants to set up a committee - of one judge- to review it. To me, SF is taking the the ‘ tourist route’ to have it ‘ regigged’ or got rid of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Field east wrote: »
    It has not said that it wants to get Rid of the SCC. It wants to set up a committee - of one judge- to review it. To me, SF is taking the the ‘ tourist route’ to have it ‘ regigged’ or got rid of
    They did want to scrap it until recently so this is a crablike shuffle on that. Mary Lou would not give straight answer on it in the last debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

I hope the homeless are looked after by this incoming government. Nobody should be forced to live in a tent in this day and age. Anyone would be better than the previous incumbent as the Minister for Health, let the replacement prove their mettle and get the Children's Hospital finished at no extra cost. Reduce waiting lists. Ensure the old do not have to wait 36 hours or more in A&E frozen in a hard chair.

Carers and the vulnerable should be looked after better and have cuts restored, retrospectively if possible.

Move jobs outside Dublin and improve the national public transport system so people won't have to commute as long and buying a house an hour or more outside Dublin is a more attractive option. Childcare should be free or subsidized. Right now those who struggle to pay for a house in the extreme commuter belt cannot have a proper family life due to money and time constraints.

Taxpayers want to see their contributions put to work constructively. Not into the pockets of those who profit from the misery of others, ie direct provision landlords.

A lot of working people feel that things will not change no matter what the make up of the new government is.

1 Brexit is done
    2. If you think Sein Fein in Westminster given what went on over there would have changed things you are very sorely mistaken

(1) the relevant aspect of brexit is just about to start
    (2) we are all experts in hindsight. A lot of the voting was very tight at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Field east wrote: »
    (1) the relevant aspect of brexit is just about to start
    (2) we are all experts in hindsight. A lot of the voting was very tight at the time
    For now the same team are in place on Brexit and could be for quite a bit!