Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Dail / New Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Think the problem is the present not the past.

SF are still connected to the IRA, that makes them untouchable for me, they're nearly as bad as the DUP up the north, same people with different views. (See horseshoe theory).

You do know there was an agreement 20 years ago which resulted in the IRA disbanded which was backed up by the RIC and Whitehall and many other sources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

Sinn Fein and tax breaks in the same sentence

tax breaks for the people that need it/encourage work in areas needed

why are we building f***ing offices with tax breaks if there are no houses to house the damn workers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

tipptom wrote: »
    You do know there was an agreement 20 years ago which resulted in the IRA disbanded which was backed up by the RIC and Whitehall and many other sources.

Oh shít sorry I forgot about that, the RA are gone now.....also Gerry was never in the IRA ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

FLaris wrote: »
    Ireland is long out of the dark ages. Yes a female Taoiseach is over due, but it not having yet occurred does not mean we’re in the dark ages. We had a female president 30 years ago

Having a female president means nothing in Ireland. It's a talking shop position.

I'd love to see Mary Lou given the chance.

Sawduck wrote: »
    Does this mean the black and tans won't get that medal leo planned to give them

They will indeed, sure it's medals, houses and cakes for everyone now.....gotta love election 'promises' (lies is the correct term), especially promises of 'change'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭kevcos

Fingers crossed SF get to form a government.

Now Mary Lou, don't go reneging on that generous manifesto you promised.
    I dearly hope all who voted you in get to experience every aspect of living in your resulting socialist utopia.

I'm disappointed to have moved away and not be there to join the march for change comrades.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,610 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

For your part about SF and the SCC,well that's just lies on your behalf or you just need to educate yourself before commenting.

So Sinn Féin don't want to abolish the Special Criminal Court?

Please do educate me.

Genealogy Forum Mod

Oh shít sorry I forgot about that, the RA are gone now.....also Gerry was never in the IRA ;-)

So you are either being sarcastic or just peddling lies.

Couldn't care less if Gerry Adams was in the IRA or not, nor anyone else by the looks of these polls but you feel free to fap away about it if you want.

Your a relic of our past

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭daheff

Does that mean we'll get cash for ash in the Free State now too??

Hermy wrote: »
    So Sinn Féin don't want to abolish the Special Criminal Court?

Please do educate me.

No they don't.

I'm not here on a Sunday to educate your ignorance of what party's are promising

Go look it up yourself before commenting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Panda Killa

No they don't.

I'm not here on a Sunday to educate your ignorance of what party's are promising

Go look it up yourself before commenting.

They actually do want it abolished, have said that for years...
    but have now tempered their language to say "major reform"
    Doesn't change the fact they want it abolished

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Party alliances aside i'd like to see a woman as Taoiseach for the first time. Think it's well overdue and will be a sign the country is moving out of the dark ages.

As a shirt lifter myself, I could say the say the same about a gay Taoiseah but where did that get us?

So you are either being sarcastic or just peddling lies.

Couldn't care less if Gerry Adams was in the IRA or not, nor anyone else by the looks of these polls but you feel free to fap away about it if you want.

Your a relic of our past

No I just don't like far left politics (or far right for that matter), especially a party with connections to the IRA. Far left 'houses for everyone' style politics has never and will never work, but by all means enjoy your 'change' if you voted for the "good republican" Slab Murphy et al.

I'm 31 btw with no party affiliation, I don't believe any politicial spin and unfortunately I tend to remember things rather than believe empty promises of 'change'.

But anyway it is facinating to watch people swallow politicial BS it time after time.

They actually don't,they want it reviewed.

I actually disagree with them,i would want it abolished and a new court formed free of FG/FF judges and attorney generals or any politicians involvement and other issues ironed out.

Much the same as the Greens but this is never mentioned as they are not about to take seats of FF/FG.

Of course they want it abolished, I'd imagine it poses a threat to a lot of their friends.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Even if Sinn Féin are given the opportunity to help form a government, it is highly unlikely they will be allowed implement their mandate, they will have to sacrifice a lot of it.

I would say the Central Criminal Court reform would be a deal breaker, so I cannot see it happening.

The best they could hope for is some negotiation on their housing proposals. But you are into window dressing when if comes to being a minority coalition member. It never goes well in general.

No I just don't like far left politics (or far right for that matter), especially a party with connections to the IRA. Far left 'houses for everyone' style politics has never and will never work, but by all means enjoy your 'change' if you voted for the "good republican" Slab Murphy et al.

I'm 31 btw with no party affiliation, I don't believe any politicial spin and unfortunately I tend to remember things rather than believe empty promises of 'change'.

But anyway it is facinating to watch people swallow politicial BS it time after time.

I have already told you the IRA disbanded 20 years ago so you are a relic of the past as in your still living in 1998.

Does abhor you that a party would actually try and house people and maybe succeed,if they build quarter of what they say it will be a major success compared to FF/FG.

As for political promises,isnt that what they all do and don't deliver and SF should go the same way if they don't deliver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,102 ✭✭✭Lavinia

@op Should include poll yes no :d

I have already told you the IRA disbanded 20 years ago so you are a relic of the past as in your still living in 1998.

Does abhor you that a party would actually try and house people and maybe succeed,if they build quarter of what they say it will be a major success compared to FF/FG.

As for political promises,isnt that what they all do and don't deliver and SF should go the same way if they don't deliver.

Not the past I'm afraid mate, they're still connected and denying it looks even worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Will she not be too busy building 100,000 public homes in 5 years?
    Cos unless she grabs a shovel herself, along with everyone else, how the **** is that particular promise going to happen?
    It is only 55 houses a day, every day including Saturday and Sunday for five years, or 77 houses a day if you give the lads the weekend off.
    If China can build a hospital in a week, we can build 375 houses a week, every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭I see sheep

By far the best leader.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

kevcos wrote: »
    Fingers crossed SF get to form a government.

Now Mary Lou, don't go reneging on that generous manifesto you promised.
    I dearly hope all who voted you in get to experience every aspect of living in your resulting socialist utopia.

I'm disappointed to have moved away and not be there to join the march for change comrades.

Well they clearly can't form their own government, so they'll have plenty of wiggle room to talk about compromises and whatnot involved with being in a coalition. The manifesto will disappear.....

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Mod Note

More sanctions have been issued for people being abusive to other posters. If you can't be civil, don't post

Not going to address your 'stupid' comment or how you mixed me up with another poster while calling me 'stupid'?

Did Mary Lou not call Slab Murphy a "good republican" btw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,158 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

listermint wrote: »
    Assume tax breaks and land availability.

The builders are here. They're just building offices and hotels due to the same tax breaks.

It's .... Money... Not resources.

Fierce bang of Celtic Tiger FF off that.

That said, I wonder how many of those 100k social homes will be apartments, that could bring the cost down a fair bit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

If it happens we all become tangoed

It will become the law. While all tangoed, some will be more tangoed than others.

Apologies to George...

Fierce bang of Celtic Tiger FF off that.

That said, I wonder how many of those 100k social homes will be apartments, that could bring the cost down a fair bit.

Co-living will be added in as well, each bed will likely be counted as a 'unit'.

100k figure is such nonsense in fairness anyway and I wonder who SF proposes to build all these homes considering they seem to hate developers and banks (except for the one up north that was robbed in 2004, but that had nothing to so with SF nor the IRA of course.....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Did Mary Lou not call Slab Murphy a "good republican" btw?

Did Bertie not tell the people who forecast the crash to go commit suicide.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Trump
    Boris Johnson
    Mary Lou, shur, if the rest of the countries are taking the piss :rolleyes:

We have fairly taken the piss ourselves TBF,
    Charlie
    Bertie
    Enda
    Leo

Start at your own door....;)