Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
23-01-2019, 15:00   #46
asharkman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by kungfual View Post
Is this Hub Alexa or Google compatible?

..barely any information on the website
had a look on the nest site and it is.
https://nest.com/support/article/Nest-and-Amazon-Alexa
asharkman is offline  
Advertisement
23-01-2019, 15:07   #47
Creamy Goodness
Registered User
 
Creamy Goodness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 24,472
would there be a way to get two of these for €260 or am I being cheeky? Added 2 to the cart and it goes up to €400.

also are these the latest version (3rd gen)

Last edited by Creamy Goodness; 23-01-2019 at 15:14.
Creamy Goodness is offline  
23-01-2019, 15:14   #48
asharkman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by whatawaster View Post
I moved to Electric Ireland recently.

Signed up with their 200 cash back offer and then a week later when the account was fully active I availed of the 130 Nest offer.

The guy on the phone advised me to do it this way for the best deal
I'm with bord gais, so basically with this i'll swap to EI and get the nests for more or less free!

I've a two zoned system and the blurb says just to order two of them.
Great deal!
asharkman is offline  
23-01-2019, 15:15   #49
asharkman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Creamy Goodness View Post
would there be a way to get two of these for €260 or am I being cheeky? Added 2 to the cart and it goes up to €400
That's what i was hoping to do. one of the other posters was saying they just put in two orders with exactly the same details.
i'm not sure they'll honor that though.
asharkman is offline  
Thanks from:
23-01-2019, 15:17   #50
asharkman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by asharkman View Post
That's what i was hoping to do. one of the other posters was saying they just put in two orders with exactly the same details.
i'm not sure they'll honor that though.
Or get it delivered to your work and tell em you don't need them to install it.
asharkman is offline  
Advertisement
23-01-2019, 16:06   #51
Honestfrank01
Registered User
 
Honestfrank01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by godtabh
Got my Hub Controller installed yesterday
How is it?? Were you waiting long for the install and does in connect through alexa?
Honestfrank01 is offline  
23-01-2019, 16:34   #52
Soarer
Registered User
 
Soarer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by asharkman View Post
That's what i was hoping to do. one of the other posters was saying they just put in two orders with exactly the same details.
i'm not sure they'll honor that though.
They honoured my 3 orders, and I'm even paying for them interest free over 12 months.
Soarer is offline  
23-01-2019, 16:42   #53
audi02
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 288
I was going to put in 2 separate orders now.

2 things:
Where does it state that it comes with a google home mini?

And its looking like I will have to take 2 different installation dates, is there any way around this?

Thanks guys
audi02 is offline  
23-01-2019, 16:51   #54
Soarer
Registered User
 
Soarer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by audi02 View Post
I was going to put in 2 separate orders now.

2 things:
Where does it state that it comes with a google home mini?

And its looking like I will have to take 2 different installation dates, is there any way around this?

Thanks guys
Haven't a clue about the Google Homes.

I had to 3 separate dates. But after yer man came the first day, I gave him the next two order numbers, and he did both on his next visit.
Soarer is offline  
Advertisement
23-01-2019, 16:53   #55
audi02
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soarer View Post
Haven't a clue about the Google Homes.

I had to 3 separate dates. But after yer man came the first day, I gave him the next two order numbers, and he did both on his next visit.
Brill if I could do that it would be great. Did you get Google minis with yours

Edited to say out of curiosity why did you order 3?

I currently have a 3 zoned timer ..upstairs downstairs and hot water. Will 2 nests be enough?

Last edited by audi02; 23-01-2019 at 17:10.
audi02 is offline  
23-01-2019, 18:10   #56
Tusky
Registered User
 
Tusky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 16,218
How do Electric Ireland rates compare to other suppliers?
Tusky is offline  
23-01-2019, 18:46   #57
L1011
Moderator
 
L1011's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by asharkman View Post
Or get it delivered to your work and tell em you don't need them to install it.
They are brought out by the installer. The European model Nest is not considered self-installable by Nest themselves - but the docs are in the box and really aren't that hard to follow. Think they're panicky about it being mains whereas the US model is either 12 or 24v for a control circuit which is the norm there.

European model has a "heat link" that replaces your old switch/timeswitch and the Nest itself which is USB powered but can be powered off the supply for a thermostat if you want (if I read the docs right). The US one replaces the switch itself.
L1011 is online now  
Thanks from:
23-01-2019, 19:28   #58
How Soon Is Now
Registered User
 
How Soon Is Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10,451
Send a message via Yahoo to How Soon Is Now Send a message via Skype™ to How Soon Is Now
Just quick question on this I've no idea how it works!

I'm in rented accommodation atm say I got one of these installed what does it replace and would I be able to remove it and bring it with me if I moved?
How Soon Is Now is offline  
23-01-2019, 19:45   #59
L1011
Moderator
 
L1011's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by How Soon Is Now View Post
Just quick question on this I've no idea how it works!

I'm in rented accommodation atm say I got one of these installed what does it replace and would I be able to remove it and bring it with me if I moved?
You will need landlord permission to install it and you would need to reinstate the old system before leaving. It replaces the main timeclock or on/off switch if no timeclock for the heating.
L1011 is online now  
Thanks from:
23-01-2019, 19:53   #60
How Soon Is Now
Registered User
 
How Soon Is Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10,451
Send a message via Yahoo to How Soon Is Now Send a message via Skype™ to How Soon Is Now
Quote:
Originally Posted by L1011 View Post
You will need landlord permission to install it and you would need to reinstate the old system before leaving. It replaces the main timeclock or on/off switch if no timeclock for the heating.

Permission isn't a problem its more the fact im just wondering if it can be removed easy enough and used again.


How big a job would reinstating the older system be?
How Soon Is Now is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet