Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Tommy Robinson jailed

• Registered Users Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

JohnMc1 wrote: »
    Oh look. It s Capt. Oblivious again. Here to post another worthless post.

I figured that's stump you alright. So not only are you defending a man who had jeopardised a child abuse trial, you also believe the police should be responsible for keeping the victims of that abuse away from that same man for their own good. Do you have any concept of personal responsibility?

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭Its all alt right

Still not sure what it was Tommy did at the court yet. I don't understand, if it is so easy for a mistrial to be called by someone turning up and saying stuff...why don't the accused just pay one of their lackeys to turn up and do whatever whatever it was Tommy did?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

I figured that's stump you alright. So not only are you defending a man who had jeopardised a child abuse trial, you also believe the police should be responsible for keeping the victims of that abuse away from that same man for their own good. Do you have any concept of personal responsibility?

You couldn't stump a wooden log. You're post was and worthless. Where did I say I that? Prove it or shut the **** up.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,939 ✭✭✭20Cent

thebull85 wrote: »
    No one was called muslim paedo outside the court, you're talking through your hole. They were asked what they were in court for. The reaction from them speaks for itself, guilty men that dont give a f**k about the law. Child rapists, and according to their supporters and family its the childrens fault because they are slags..

These guys should be locked up for a long time. A mistrial seems to be their best bet Robinson is helping with that.

Here's his video https://youtu.be/dE4Q8c_Pm5c

You couldn't stump a wooden log. You're post was and worthless. Where did I say I that? Prove it or shut the **** up.

Right here

If protections weren't put in place to protect the children [special entrance,etc] then that's the British Police and Court's fault. Not Tommy Robinson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,312 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Why is tommy different from the hundreds who turned up daily to shout abuse at Rolf Harris when he was in court?

Were they there because they hated australians?

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭Its all alt right

Why is tommy different from the hundreds who turned up daily to shout abuse at Rolf Harris when he was in court?
    Well that's the question really. I just can't imagine there is a system in place that could make mistrials so easy to bring about. Maybe I'm missing somthing here..

20Cent wrote: »
    These guys should be locked up for a long time. A mistrial seems to be their best bet Robinson is helping with that.

That explains the breach of the peace arrest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

Seen this video last year, what is the problem here?

That would take some actual courage on their part to stand up against Islam. Better to stick to easier targets like White Men and Air Conditioning.

So you hate muslims, feminists and you think police are fascists. If you could say something about jews or a media conspiracy I'd win the right wing bingo.

BTW, you never did say if you thought it was the polices fault for not putting a second entrance in place to protect the victims from Tommy Robinson.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,939 ✭✭✭20Cent

That explains the breach of the peace arrest.

Thats thw video that got him a suspended sentencea year ago. He was told not to do ot again as a condition of the suspension. He did it again so is now in jail. He's not the smartest of people.

• Site Banned Posts: 218 ✭✭A Pint of Goo

Grayson wrote: »
    So you hate muslims, feminists and you think police are fascists. If you could say something about jews or a media conspiracy I'd win the right wing bingo.

BTW, you never did say if you thought it was the polices fault for not putting a second entrance in place to protect the victims from Tommy Robinson.

Well he has a point. Where are the feminists? Why don't they care?

Yeah but if that's the way he acts outside courts it's not surprising he had a suspended sentence already and why they arrested him this time before he acted the same again.

If it means so much to the courts to keep these guys identity a secret then why arent they brought in by a police escort through a back door?

Because they expect people to obey court orders in relation to identifying them. And they weren't in custody either were they?

Right here

Are you stupid? NO don't answer. I already know that you are. You've proven it plenty of times. That statement does not suggest a support for a mistrial.

Because they expect people to obey court orders in relation to identifying them. And they weren't in custody either were they?

They expect people not to want to know the identity of rapists living among them? Really?

Thats thw video that got him a suspended sentencea year ago. He was told not to do ot again as a condition of the suspension. He did it again so is now in jail. He's not the smartest of people.

Or else he just wants the attention. He broke the law twice and now he's a martyr to the right wing cause. Look at the way people are defending him here. Even though he knew what would happen he still portrays himself as a victim.

Plus there's all the conspiracy stuff. The police were out to get him etc... He was there for a fcuking hour before they arrested him. It's not like they were lying in wait. All the idiots on twitter saying there was a reporting ban and no-one allowed say he was arrested. Despite the fact that if you google it there's loads of stories. Right wingers love to feel victimised.

Media black out in UK on his arrest is the BIG story posters are skipping over
    How many others have been locked up in secret?

I'm going to put this in block caps so maybe you'll read it.

"THERE'S NO MEDIA BLACKOUT"

Google it. There's loads of stories. there's links to them on this thread. It's easily available information. And there's loads that are in the UK media. The OP even put one in his post.

Edit: the post and poster appears to be gone now. So I guess he's been banned a rereg.

Or else he just wants the attention. He broke the law twice and now he's a martyr to the right wing cause. Look at the way people are defending him here. Even though he knew what would happen he still portrays himself as a victim.

Plus there's all the conspiracy stuff. The police were out to get him etc... He was there for a fcuking hour before they arrested him. It's not like they were lying in wait. All the idiots on twitter saying there was a reporting ban and no-one allowed say he was arrested. Despite the fact that if you google it there's loads of stories. Right wingers love to feel victimised.

There has also been a load of news outlets than ran the story of the arrest and then got rid of quite quickly. Last i heard even breitbart were not reporting on it ffs

Are you stupid? NO don't answer. I already know that you are. You've proven it plenty of times. That statement does not suggest a support for a mistrial.

You didn't specify what you wanted proof of. Your continued defence of actions that would jeopardise a trial is the evidence that you don't care if the trial is successful or not.

They expect people not to want to know the identity of rapists living among them? Really?

They expect people to obey the legal restrictions which have been established to ensure a fair trial.

Also media blackout?

There has also been a load of news outlets than ran the story of the arrest and then got rid of quite quickly. Last i heard even breitbart were not reporting on it ffs

The stories are all still there. You can just google them. None of the links that were put up here have gone dead. And one of the stories I linked to was from last night.

I'd say there's been a slowdown because there's not much to say until he's arraigned.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭pitifulgod

If that is all it takes to cause a mistrial then the British Justice System is in a sad state of affairs.
    Where did I say that? I said that if that's all it takes to cause a mistrail than the British Justice System is in a sad state of affairs.

External influences on a jury can cause mistrials anywhere with a high quality justice system. Ireland, the US, UK etc. It's pretty fundamental to the judicial system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

pitifulgod wrote: »
    External influences on a jury can cause mistrials anywhere with a high quality justice system. Ireland, the US, UK etc. It's pretty fundamental to the judicial system.

Are there jurors in this trial? And there is a gag order.

Captain Obvious you are probably correct about there being no media blackout.

But on Friday after it happened there were articles up online on about 4 different sites that got pulled for whatever reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Fair play to him showing up outside court. Saw that 2017 video before and liked the “go on , do something then”. No they won’t because they are cowards.
    More people should be protesting at these court hearings.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭pitifulgod

Are there jurors in this trial? And there is a gag order.

I'm referring to the trial he disrupted. Here's the judge's statement.... He was negatively affecting the judicial process and the rules are there for a reason.
    “This is not about free speech, not about the freedom of the press, nor about legitimate journalism, and not about political correctness,” the judge told Robinson at the time

“It is about justice and ensuring that a trial can be carried out justly and fairly, it’s about being innocent until proven guilty.

“It is about preserving the integrity of the jury to continue without people being intimidated or being affected by irresponsible and inaccurate ‘reporting’, if that’s what it was.”

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/crime/tommy-robinson-arrested-leeds-court-child-grooming-trial-edl-founder-latest-a8368821.html

seachto7 wrote: »
    Fair play to him showing up outside court. Saw that 2017 video before and liked the “go on , do something then”. No they won’t because they are cowards.

Same as the scumbag yesterday, running away from Tommy then when he got about 20 feet away start giving it the big i am.

They are known for being cowards.

Ah brainfart. Yea I'm a bit torn. it is stupid in that it could give defendants a slim possibility of appealing (although after being convicted I don't know how this could be argued). But I do think there is some weirdness going on the UK.

seachto7 wrote: »

Not punching someone outside a courthouse is cowardice?

Now because the guy is behind a mask I can't say who he is so I have no idea if he did something horrific. There's a good chance that he's a complete bastard and he was found guilty of horrible crimes. However I do have to argue with the logic that someone is a coward because they won't attack someone who's taunting them outside a courthouse. And if we flip it on it's head it makes no sense. That would mean that someone who punches someone outside a courthouse is brave.

And no, I'm not defending a rapist. If that guy was one he's scum and deserves to be in jail. I'm just pointing out that your logic makes no sense.

Now because the guy is behind a mask I can't say who he is so I have no idea if he did something horrific. There's a good chance that he's a complete bastard and he was found guilty of horrible crimes. However I do have to argue with the logic that someone is a coward because they won't attack someone who's taunting them outside a courthouse. And if we flip it on it's head it makes no sense. That would mean that someone who punches someone outside a courthouse is brave.

And no, I'm not defending a rapist. If that guy was one he's scum and deserves to be in jail. I'm just pointing out that your logic makes no sense.

well he went to put it on tommy and when tommy stood up to him he backed off. Thats a coward, Trying to intimidate and failing.

Ah brainfart. Yea I'm a bit torn. it is stupid in that it could give defendants a slim possibility of appealing (although after being convicted I don't know how this could be argued). But I do think there is some weirdness going on the UK.

In most countries they have strict rules about what can and can't happen in a court case. Jurors for example aren't allowed watch news about the case it a lot of places. It's designed to make sure they are impartial. In some high profile cases they'll even put the jury into a hotel. Having someone outside the court approaching them could be considered contempt if it taints their view.

Here's the thing though. I haven't heard of a case like this recently where people have gotten off. The justice system may have been slow to react but no-one can say that the court system isn't working. These people are going to trial and being found guilty.

So it's weird that right wingers would protest about a system that's actually working and jailing rapists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

The ban on reporting on his case is in force until the case against the pedophiles has concluded...

deco nate wrote: »
    The ban on reporting on his case is in force until the case against the pedophiles has concluded...

Which is insane in anyone's book surely? Can someone justify that?

Apparently he's locked up for 13 months now the papers can't report on it

That's a catch 22 question to ask. The reason the ban is in place according to that document, assuming it's real (where did it come from), is to protect an ongoing case. It would have to be because of a piece of information that, if disclosed, could prejudiced the ongoing abuse case.
    However you're asking people to say exactly why. People can't since it's currently protected information. You're asking people to answer a question that's currently impossible to answer.

Edit: I've tried for a couple of minutes to find a similar doc online and I can't. However the few court documents I found have a letterhead with a crest and/or a stamp. Not saying it's not real, it's just that there have been so many lies flying about on twitter, and even a few here, that I'm taking some of this stuff with a pinch of salt.

That's a catch 22 question to ask. The reason the ban is in place according to that document, assuming it's real (where did it come from), is to protect an ongoing case. It would have to be because of a piece of information that, if disclosed, could prejudiced the ongoing abuse case.
    However you're asking people to say exactly why. People can't since it's currently protected information. You're asking people to answer a question that's currently impossible to answer.

Edit: I've tried for a couple of minutes to find a similar doc online and I can't. However the few court documents I found have a letterhead with a crest and/or a stamp. Not saying it's not real, it's just that there have been so many lies flying about on twitter, and even a few here, that I'm taking some of this stuff with a pinch of salt.

Fair enough. That is the problem, it is hard to find solid information. My ears go up when I hear of someone being sent to jail (for whatever reason) and there is a gag order. There has been other fruity things the UK has been doing recently which means I'm not just looking at this in isolation.

You didn't specify what you wanted proof of.

You just wanted to run your ignorant mouth again.

Full stream that got Tommy 13 months.
    Make your own minds up

https://youtu.be/TTdJaHWvLbk

Fair enough. That is the problem, it is hard to find solid information. My ears go up when I hear of someone being sent to jail (for whatever reason) and there is a gag order. There has been other fruity things the UK has been doing recently which means I'm not just looking at this in isolation.

If by midway through next week there's no proper news I'll think that it was probably a gag order. On a Sunday though, when he was arrested on a Friday afternoon, I'm not 100% sure.

Full stream that got Tommy 13 months.
    Make your own minds up

https://youtu.be/TTdJaHWvLbk

Jaysus, that's an hour long. Don't suppose you have a transcript?
    (semi serious. I could read that in 10 minutes. However I don't want to spend an hour on a Sunday evening listening to that)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

He was all mouth and shapes until he was asked to “do something”. Ran off like a rat.

Jaysus, that's an hour long. Don't suppose you have a transcript?
    (semi serious. I could read that in 10 minutes. However I don't want to spend an hour on a Sunday evening listening to that)
    Lol. No I don't, but breach of the peace looks like a stretch. Just finished watching it myself. He puts out some stats about grooming gangs, facts that 90 per cent of pedophiles are white, and goes into the stats of Muslim grooming gangs vs white grooming gangs.

Edit:he called them alleged pedophiles, was respectful of people walking into court and not videoing them. He did ask a couple of the accused questions. They told him to do something to his mum. Lots of people asking for selfies. Ect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,010 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Tommy is stitched up by the cops and his leg is in danger from the Muslim gangs in the prison he is in. He needs to be kept in solitary confinement for his own safety

Lol. No I don't, but breach of the peace looks like a stretch. Just finished watching it myself. He puts out some stats about grooming gangs, facts that 90 per cent of pedophiles are white, and goes into the stats of Muslim grooming gangs vs white grooming gangs.

Edit:he called them alleged pedophiles, was respectful of people walking into court and not videoing them. He did ask a couple of the accused questions. They told him to do something to his mum. Lots of people asking for selfies. Ect

An arrest can be made for breach of the peace were the police believe a breach has occurred or will occur. It sounds like he was arrested for the latter based on his previous actions which were shown in the video above.

Tommy is stitched up by the cops and his leg is in danger from the Muslim gangs in the prison he is in. He needs to be kept in solitary confinement for his own safety

That was a good episode of Oz

An arrest can be made for breach of the peace were the police believe a breach has occurred or will occur. It sounds like he was arrested for the latter based on his previous actions which were shown in the video above.

That was a good episode of Oz
    Did you watch the full video I posted?he even referred to his suspended sentence, he was going by the book so as not to be arrested. Or are you talking about the year old video?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,605 ✭✭✭✭Sand

You have to hand it to the UK police. They're very good at silencing political dissent. Not so good at protecting British children from grooming gangs.

Did you watch the full video I posted?he even referred to his suspended sentence, he was going by the book so as not to be arrested. Or are you talking about the year old video?

You can be arrested for breach of the peace if your actions are likely to cause a breach of the peace. There is evidence, in the video from last year, that his actions outside the court are likely to occasion a breach of the peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Sand wrote: »
    You have to hand it to the UK police. They're very good at silencing political dissent. Not so good at protecting British children from grooming gangs.

So your looking for a mistrial?

Why would there be a mistrial?