Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE fantasizes about African-Americans seeking refugee status in Ireland..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Mr. Karate wrote: »
    A Woman my Mom used to work for said "Having a Degree doesn't make you smart." she was right. These professors prove that.

“Some ideas are so stupid that only intellectuals believe them.”

That quote is applicable to nearly everything these people push. You'll find little wisdom in the halls of academia.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

TomTomTim wrote: »

That quote is applicable to nearly everything these people push. You'll find little wisdom in the halls of academia.

Definitely. Most of them have been there for so long they've been sheltered from reality.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

TomTomTim wrote: »

You can find plenty. And plenty of diverse views. The problem comes when some twit with a media "degree" filters it. Ergo this example of RTE's ballsology.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Cal4567 wrote: »

'African-American asylum seekers who may eventually be successful in their application for refugee status in Ireland may not need to fear lethal violence from gardaí. However, they may be just as likely to encounter racist treatment and attitudes in Ireland as in their country of origin'
    The main reason why RTE posted their article is because of the last line above. It just gave them another opportunity to call us all in Ireland racist.

And remember folks ............ RTE is our national broadcaster, and we are each paying €160 every year for this "service".
    And also remember that at the start of the Covid pandemic in Ireland, RTE presenters were going ballistic with their daily bombardment on their news programs of the inevitability of virus carnage at Direct Provision centres all around the country. At the same time there was not a peep out of them about the vulnerability of our older citizens in nursing homes .........
    Bunch of hypocrites.

Kivaro wrote: »
    The main reason why RTE posted their article is because of the last line above. It just gave them another opportunity to call us all in Ireland racist.

And remember folks ............ RTE is our national broadcaster, and we are each paying €160 every year for this "service".
    And also remember that at the start of the Covid pandemic in Ireland, RTE presenters were going ballistic with their daily bombardment on their news programs of the inevitability of virus carnage at Direct Provision centres all around the country. At the same time there was not a peep out of them about the vulnerability of our older citizens in nursing homes .........
    Bunch of hypocrites.

We should use that next time they coming knocking for license "Surely RTE wouldn't want money from us racist. Now would they?"

• Registered Users Posts: 23 nyc-dublin

No black American would leave america let alone seek refugee status in Ireland of all places. Ffs lol

nyc-dublin wrote: »
    No black American would leave america let alone seek refugee status in Ireland of all places. Ffs lol

Many of them won't admit, but they realize they have it good in the US.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,520 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Mr. Karate wrote: »
    Many of them won't admit, but they realize they have it good in the US.

So, so good.
    An estimated 5.1% of all persons in the United States will be confined in a State or Federal prison during their lifetime, if incarceration rates recorded
    in 1991 remain unchanged in the future. The lifetime chances of a person going to prison are higher for men (9.0%) than for women (1.1%) and higher for blacks (16.2%) and Hispanics (9.4%) than for whites (2.5%). At current levels of incarceration a black male in the United States today has greater than a 1 in 4 chance of going to prison during his lifetime, while a Hispanic male has a 1 in 6 chance and a white male has a 1 in 23 chance of serving time.

I expect that many who post in the CA/IMHO forum would actually like to see some African Americans apply for asylum in Ireland so they could use it as evidence of how much of a welfare state the country is.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

The reason there are so many black people in US prisons is that they commit a sh1t load of crime. Mostly against other black people.

• Registered Users Posts: 415 ✭✭SlowMotion321

I expect that many who post in the CA/IMHO forum would actually like to see some African Americans apply for asylum in Ireland so they could use it as evidence of how much of a welfare state the country is.

Absolutely! I am so tired of complaining about the Polish, Roma and Nigerians, I need a new drum to beat! (edit) They've been hear too long can't really call them bloody foreigners any more!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,515 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

biko wrote: »
    These criteria don't fit black Americans.
    In fact they don't even fit many immigrants into Ireland today.

Quite right , my previous neighbours were Nigerian , grand family had no issues with them . They were flying back to Nigeria via the UK 2-3 times a year, you would just have to wonder under what pretense were they granted asylum here if they were frequently home with no issues ?

• Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,655 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Bonniedog wrote: »
    The reason there are so many black people in US prisons is that they commit a sh1t load of crime. Mostly against other black people.

Mod: Try harder. Don't post in the thread again.