Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

How stuck for news is 'De Leader'?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Vanquished

Oh it gets worse!

Written by the man himself. This really is an incredible level of nonsense!

http://www.limerickleader.ie/news/home/228967/limerick-priest-celebrates-christmas-mass-despite-breaking-his-leg.html

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Please point out a local paper anywhere in the country that does anything different.

The LL doesn't market itself as a local paper though, it sees itself as a regional paper.

Vanquished wrote: »
    Oh it gets worse!

Written by the man himself. This really is an incredible level of nonsense!

http://www.limerickleader.ie/news/home/228967/limerick-priest-celebrates-christmas-mass-despite-breaking-his-leg.html

Fr. Macken’s patience finally ran out when one mass goer, confused by the communion wafer he just received, mistook the ritual for Ash Wednesday, placing the wafer on his forehead.

I am going to write to Pope Francis to ask for special dispensation for priests who break their ankles...they should be allowed marry for eight weeks during recovery

http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2016/12/24/nice-of-you-****ers-to-show-up-for-once-points-out-priest-at-midnight-mass/

Hard to tell the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,981 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Are these actual articles which are actually in the paper or just some online stuff only.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Are these actual articles which are actually in the paper or just some online stuff only.

I thought they might be just online but they are actually for the hard copy of the paper!! The article of the priest with the broken ankle is priceless, they must just be taking the piss at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

It's starting to remind me of that Catholic Newspaper you'd find in a basket at the back of the church

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭Shapey Fiend

Website advertising collapsed a couple of years ago that's why all you see on the pages is clickbait top 10 celebrity stretch mark promoted stories. Revenue goes straight to Facebook and Google. This is why nobody can do journalism unless they're volunteering to do it for free.

Future points to crowd funded, non ad supported media IMO. How well that'll work for local media I don't know. Perhaps sports clubs will donate to have their matches photographed and written about then it'll spread to the arts, political and general coverage once it's gone a while and people miss it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Aragneer

The writing in the Leader is very poor at times. Not talking about the actual articles and their titles - as we all know their quality - but the actual quality of the writing and sentence structure. It actually makes me cringe. It's on par with some of the writers at the Daily Mail.

Obv, some of the journalists are good at what they do, despite working for this paper, but some articles..just wow.

• Registered Users Posts: 925 ✭✭✭OfTheMarsWongs

Asked the same of The Post last week.

Turned out it was one of those fake advertising front pages. Spent far too many seconds wondering why they had two front page articles about a shoe shop's birthday. Haha.

Anyway those fake front pages are pure annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭Reputable Rog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,903 ✭✭✭zulutango

. I can anticipate the jokes if this goes national.

I've no doubt they're hoping for it to go national.

One of the longest articles I've ever seen posted on the Limerick Leader website. Predictably it's about a priest. They just love giving the Catholic church a platform!

Another slow non-news week for the Leader http://www.limerickleader.ie/news/home/230585/limerick-td-tom-neville-steps-out-with-fair-city-girl-jenny-on-italian-holiday.html

I did lol at this:
    Tom Neville, who is more likely to hit headlines for his speeches in the Dáil

Tom Neville has barely spoken in the Dail and the vast majority of his Parliamentary Questions are in relation to private individuals welfare payments. https://www.kildarestreet.com/search/?pid=441&pop=1&p=4

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

panda100 wrote: »
    Another slow non-news week for the Leader http://www.limerickleader.ie/news/home/230585/limerick-td-tom-neville-steps-out-with-fair-city-girl-jenny-on-italian-holiday.html

I did lol at this:

Tom Neville has barely spoken in the Dail and the vast majority of his Parliamentary Questions are in relation to private individuals welfare payments. https://www.kildarestreet.com/search/?pid=441&pop=1&p=4

Hes an awful TD an attention seeker.Wants to be a superstar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

I did lol at this:

Talk about tabloid news!! I'm surprised they accompany the article with some scantily clad pictures.

This weekend's main headline is a suicide story by Aine Fitzgerald. Aren't the media meant to be reporting on suicide very discreetly and not emblazoning the issue across front pages? Supposedly this kind of reporting can lead to an increase in the number of suicides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,859 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

zulutango wrote: »
    This weekend's main headline is a suicide story by Aine Fitzgerald. Aren't the media meant to be reporting on suicide very discreetly and not emblazoning the issue across front pages? Supposedly this kind of reporting can lead to an increase in the number of suicides.

I don't see why it should be swept under the rug either though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Its like the search and rescue facebook giving updates on bodies found maybe families want it private

I don't see why it should be swept under the rug either though.

I think that's fair enough, but we should listen to the experts at all times.

The Leader approach seems to contravene much of this detailed advice from The Samaritans.

http://www.samaritans.org/media-centre/media-guidelines-reporting-suicide/advice-journalists-suicide-reporting-dos-and-donts

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,188 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

I did lol at this:

They actually took this from Wednesdays Indo. It got half a page with loads of pics in the Indo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭vkid

They actually took this from Wednesdays Indo. It got half a page with loads of pics in the Indo.

Such a bastion of good journalism for the leader to emulate ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭black & white

I think that's fair enough, but we should listen to the experts at all times.

The Leader approach seems to contravene much of this detailed advice from The Samaritans.

http://www.samaritans.org/media-centre/media-guidelines-reporting-suicide/advice-journalists-suicide-reporting-dos-and-donts

Correct, most, if not all reputable news organisations follow Sams guidelines.

bigpink wrote:
    Its like the search and rescue facebook giving updates on bodies found maybe families want it private

I find their, and Limerick Suicide Watch, 'updates' on social media abhorrent. Anyone working with vulnerable people or with any insight into supporting those in these difficult situations would think their updates are completely inappropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,916 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I find their, and Limerick Suicide Watch, 'updates' on social media abhorrent. Anyone working with vulnerable people or with any insight into supporting those in these difficult situations would think their updates are completely inappropriate.

What I can't stand is when I hear the S&R helicopters fly overhead and within 10 minutes my newsfeed is full of comments about it. It's like concern porn (and possibly a stealth brag that you live near the river :confused:) without thought for the fact your status update might actually concern a loved one of one of your friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,289 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

7f73b5a85b46887c6dc49bf091a2aead.jpg

That's just nauseating!

The perfect combination of a woman desperate to get her face in the newspaper and that paper being absolutely desperate to publish as much catholic orientated material as possible!

The Leader is pretty much toilet paper at this stage.

It's like a Catholic newsletter.

Has there been any stories lately that are actually critical or even questioning of the catholic church?

I am still not sure if it's a case of trying to promote the church or a recognition that this kind of rubbish sells newspapers.

Now, Emily is willing to front a campaign to bring Pope Francis to Limerick, and would love to perform the ballad Papa Francis for him if he does decide to come.

Completely bonkers.

Is a whole article really necessary?

Bird's bright idea to nest in Limerick traffic light

http://www.limerickleader.ie/news/home/232538/bird-s-bright-idea-to-nest-in-limerick-traffic-light.html

Is a whole article really necessary?

Who could deprive Limerick of all these 'quacking' puns from our esteemed Limerick Leader journalists :rolleyes:
    It's not such a ‘bird-brained’ idea as it is getting free heat and light courtesy of Limerick City and County Council. It could be an interesting excuse in court if a motorist ‘flew’ through a red light but the judge would hardly ‘swallow’ it.

As the nest is overflowing onto the red light you may want to ‘duck’ if you pass it.

The individuals who sent in the pictures asked that the exact location not be divulged for fear of vandalism or anybody ‘robin' it but it is in the Castletroy area.

It shouldn't stop ‘tweets’ from ‘flying in’ from all over the county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,859 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

What's worse is that the Limerick Post had this story first.

Another classic!

Why does The Leader think people would be offended by this ad? The 'cleaning up ****e' line?

I really need to unfollow them on FB 😆

http://www.limerickleader.ie/news/home/233621/limerick-farmer-isn-t-selling-a-pig-in-a-poke-with-unique-job-advert.html#.WJNZ7UGDOOc.facebook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,096 ✭✭✭Jofspring

The articles are gone so bad I'm actually raging I clicked on that link and gave them the extra hit on their page.

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭Harambe

I blocked them on Facebook a few days ago, sick of the sight of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Brennans Row

Nope, it wasn't Vincent Browne that exposed this carry on,

Nor the Irish Times, or the Sunday Business Post or the rest of the Dublin based media.

But our so called parochial "De Leader" had the balls to do it. :cool: (RTÉ Investigates: Universities Unchallenged)

418388.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,152 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Yeah but to be fair the Limerick Leader has a vendetta against the University going back a few years. Bound to dig something up newsworthy eventually.

I did watch expose on the TV the other night and it's shocking to see their attitudes to the PAC like creating companies and appointing staff to it so they can breach the pay cap and also refuse to declare the accounts of the company because they're outside of the remit of the PAC.

NUIG seems to be a disaster in that respect.

• Registered Users Posts: 207 ✭✭AlanOB

A testament to the strong editorship of Alan English, who had the courage to stick to his guns even when he was personally pursued by the University.

Fair play to him. The Leader was lucky to have a man of his caliber at the helm.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Berty wrote: »
    Yeah but to be fair the Limerick Leader has a vendetta against the University going back a few years.

What's that all about?

The Leader deserves credit for pursuing the UL story. Let's hope they pursue other leads with such vigour in future.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Brennans Row

Yeah but to be fair the Limerick Leader has a vendetta against the University going back a few years.

Austerity has for years, hit everybody hard in this country and it's sickening to read for example of a €100,000 order placed by UL for watches and pens, when at the same time elderly people are spending 24 hours on an UL Hospital trolley before being admitted.

The jeweler who received the order happens to be a member of UL governing body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,817 ✭✭✭Comhrá

Austerity has for years, hit everybody hard in this country and it's sickening to read for example of a ?100,000 order placed by UL for watches and pens, when at the same time elderly people are spending 24 hours on an UL Hospital trolley before being admitted.

The jeweler who received the order happens to be a member of UL governing body.

Doesn't that just sum up how business is done in Ireland, whether it's our institutions like the Gardai, the banks, the big charities, our planning authorities and so on. Just check the Ryan report, the Moriarty Tribunal, the Flood Tribunal, The Morris Tribunal - and these are only the ones that were carried out. Many many more wrongdoings were covered up successfully.

Yeah, a grand little nation of fiddlers, crooks & chancers.....and that's the people in charge.

• Registered Users Posts: 207 ✭✭AlanOB

The Leader deserves credit for pursuing the UL story. Let's hope they pursue other leads with such vigour in future.

Highly unlikely, unfortunately, but, as you say, credit where it was due.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,592 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

Well done Limerick Leader standing up to a powerful bully, brave thing to do against a state funded entity.

The arrogance of the UL leadership is astounding although I supposed they viewed the leader as a small backward local paper who would fold against they're financial pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,152 ✭✭✭✭Berty

CatFromHue wrote: »
    What's that all about?

First link I could find

http://www.limerickleader.ie/news/home/207719/UL-withdraws-legal-action-against-the.html

You can figure why the paper doesn't really get on with UL

First link I could find

http://www.limerickleader.ie/news/home/207719/UL-withdraws-legal-action-against-the.html

You can figure why the paper doesn't really get on with UL

Hardly evidence of a "vendetta". The Leader published what were proven to be factual and accurate details of irregularities and malpractice in UL. The University were obviously angry that these details were uncovered and released in to the public domain.

The dismissal and denial of the reports by UL were shown to be complete and utter lies. Their stance changed when the investigations unit in RTE sent them details of the evidence they had uncovered and intended to broadcast in a special programme. Having ruled out co-operating with an independent enquiry. They now have been left with no other option. Don Barry is seriously tainted by this whole episode.

So what? It's a local paper and believe it or not the novena is still a pretty big deal for quite a lot of people.
    I honestly don't know what people are expecting. It's no different to any other local paper in the country.

So what? It's a local paper and believe it or not the novena is still a pretty big deal for quite a lot of people.
    I honestly don't know what people are expecting. It's no different to any other local paper in the country.

And if I'd posted a link to an article with actual news you'd have come back with your usual criticism.
    That you Eugene?

And if I'd posted a link to an article with actual news you'd have come back with your usual criticism.
    That you Eugene?

I have no time for the leader or their editorial choices, but I do understand what a local paper is and what a local interest story is.