Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dee Forbes banging the RTE TV licence drum again 60m uncollected fee *poll not working - pl ignore*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Are 'budget cuts' the reason RTE doesn't have any tv listings for tv3, or 3e?

Case in point. https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/listings/television/#!blank-hpdv-1529496000000

They are there :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,281 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

They are there :confused:

That's mad, they don't show on my connection at all.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,827 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.
    TG4's budget is €32.5 a year.

Neither do we need RTE competing in the crowded pop music space with 2 FM. That entire station should be privatized.
    2FM doesn't get licence fee money as it's a commercial opperation.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,500 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Can RTE go bust, is there any chance for examinership where the fat can be cut or at least brought to light or would the government just bail them out.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,299 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Varik wrote: »
    Can RTE go bust, is there any chance for examinership where the fat can be cut or at least brought to light or would the government just bail them out.

You made me laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

2FM received €3.74c of every licence fee in 2016.

Before Gerry Ryan's death it actually turned a profit, but regardless of that RTE should be compelled to sell it off, it should raise a decent amount in a growing economy.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,411 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Course it does. It also loses millions.

2FM received €3.74c of every licence fee in 2016.

Before Gerry Ryan's death it actually turned a profit, but regardless of that RTE should be compelled to sell it off, it should raise a decent amount in a growing economy.

And before Gay Byrne stepped down from hosting the Late Late show, the licence fee was pretty much frozen-because RTE didn't need it. The money they were making from adverts shown during the Late Late was incredible-literally ask what they wanted, and they got it.

Gay Byrne steps down-and the ratings, and advertising revenue, from the LLS fell dramatically. I think RTE thought they were sorted when they got 1 million viewers a night on Who wants to be a Millionaire-and then the ratings gradually fell to 300 000 average and it lost its sponsor.

RTE always seem to put money/ gamble on a 'sure thing' since then-and then it's money wasted.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,843 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Say 20,000 homes are built on average for the next few years. 85% compliance rate. The thieving scum are getting more and more each year!

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭Here we go

One of the first to say rte is **** and wouldn't watch it by there showing every game of the World Cup and I hazard a guess rte 2 is on from 12/8 in most houses the past week

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭Here we go

One of the first to say rte is **** and wouldn't watch it by there showing every game of the World Cup and I hazard a guess rte 2 is on from 12/8 in most houses the past week

• Registered Users Posts: 17,843 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Here we go wrote: »
    Yeah but is that worth e640 over four years?! Make it subscription, the vast majority that watch the RTÉ rubbish are older people who don’t even pay for the privilege!

Here we go wrote: »

But how many could be watching it on ITV/BBC - not really that big a scoop for RTE when there are for most other ways to watch it

• Registered Users Posts: 81,404 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Ten Pin wrote: »
    Any organization that tells ya to "love your orchestras" and have the neck to charge you for doing so, is just taking the piss, big style.

€11.36 (7.1%) of your annual licence fee goes towards funding the orchestra, a crazy percentage and more than RTE spends on its entire online services. The orchestra is entertainment for the few, not the many, it should be funded outside the licence fee.

http://www.thejournal.ie/rte-orchestra-licence-fee-3689617-Nov2017/

€11.36 (7.1%) of your annual licence fee goes towards funding the orchestra, a crazy percentage and more than RTE spends on its entire online services. The orchestra is entertainment for the few, not the many, it should be funded outside the licence fee.

http://www.thejournal.ie/rte-orchestra-licence-fee-3689617-Nov2017/

A very select few - less than 4% of the population (of both orchestras and including all performances) see it and that's assuming there is no one attending a performance more than once! And on top of that in most cases you are paying to go watch them perform

All for performing arts of all kinds but if they can not be more self sustaining then they are just showing themselves up as being the same as RTE with the attitude ahh well we're getting loads of money for doing nothing

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Yeah but is that worth e640 over four years?! Make it subscription, the vast majority that watch the RTÉ rubbish are older people who don’t even pay for the privilege!

They've earned that privilege-unlike RTE's code of Omerta
    (not paying I mean).

Everyone else is using netflix, amazon or youtube-even the rte player is pretty terrible.
    The TV3 player is far superior, and they don't get anywhere near the license fee money rte get.

M

Also the RTE Orchestra members are allowed claim flat rate expenses by Revenue of €2476 a year, the highest of any profession by far. A nurse is allowed €536 a year, a teacher €518, a plumber €205, what a great little country to live in.

https://www.revenue.ie/en/employing-people/employee-expenses/flat-rate-expense-allowances/index.aspx

https://www.revenue.ie/en/personal-tax-credits-reliefs-and-exemptions/documents/flat-rate-expenses.xls

• Registered Users Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

Also the RTE Orchestra members are allowed claim flat rate expenses by Revenue of €2476 a year, the highest of any profession by far. A nurse is allowed €536 a year, a teacher €518, a plumber €205, what a great little country to live in.

https://www.revenue.ie/en/employing-people/employee-expenses/flat-rate-expense-allowances/index.aspx

https://www.revenue.ie/en/personal-tax-credits-reliefs-and-exemptions/documents/flat-rate-expenses.xls

Feck sake.. Do you have any idea how much a Stradivarius costs??

Colm Hayes reackons RTE is slow and bumbling,and progress is stifled by unions and the sheer size of the organisation.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/radio-novas-colm-hayes-slams-12803297

kneemos wrote: »
    Colm Hayes reackons RTE is slow and bumbling,and progress is stifled by unions and the sheer size of the organisation.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/radio-novas-colm-hayes-slams-12803297

I imagine there's some bitterness about how him and Jim Jim were treated like royalty, then treated like paupers.

I think anyone who saw the Colm and Jim Jim quiz show knows how crappy it was-but it's not not as surprise RTe are in the crapper.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

kneemos wrote: »

He's some fella to talk. He was getting well over 200k when on Colm and JIMjim on 2fm. Jimjim took court case because he was only getting 90k.

Jimjim took court case because he was only getting 90k.

The horror of only getting 90k for working all those hours

fritzelly wrote: »
    The horror of only getting 90k for working all those hours

Yeah-whatever happened to Jim Jim?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭GhostyMcGhost

He was only getting 90k. Ya wouldn’t get out of bed for that now sure

Writing for The Sun it seems

• Registered Users Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭mikeym

Did anyone ever ring Joe Duffy to say they dont pay for a tv licence and that its a farce?

• Registered Users Posts: 43,027 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

mikeym wrote: »
    Did anyone ever ring Joe Duffy to say they dont pay for a tv licence and that its a farce?

Emperor Duffy has a time delay on the calls if anyone dared sail that close to the wind they would get a bad line and he would switch immediately to an ad break advertising RTE's two orchestras

The old USSR hadn't a patch on this crew

mikeym wrote: »

Ahh but sure he's worth a grand an hour to listen to people moaning.

When will RTE ever get out of this deluded mentality if we don't pay them what they want then someone else will get them
    Helllooo, nobody else wants them. FFS anyone can do Liveline, LLS is a piss poor attempt at entertainment recycling the same ol' ****e of a celebrity circus

Is there really any job at RTE that needs anyone been paid more than 100/150k a year?

And don't get me started on O'Callaghan - biggest waste of space on TV, she cannot do political, can't even do presenting tbh. At least Pat Kenny had some cop on with that stuff.

fritzelly wrote: »
    Ahh but sure he's worth a grand an hour to listen to people moaning.

When will RTE ever get out of this deluded mentality if we don't pay them what they want then someone else will get them
    Helllooo, nobody else wants them. FFS anyone can do Liveline, LLS is a piss poor attempt at entertainment recycling the same ol' ****e of a celebrity circus

Is there really any job at RTE that needs anyone been paid more than 100/150k a year?

And don't get me started on O'Callaghan - biggest waste of space on TV, she cannot do political, can't even do presenting tbh. At least Pat Kenny had some cop on with that stuff.

Not just saying it,but she is a dire interviewer. Anytime I've seen her glaringly obvious questions get ignored for the ones on her card.
    The constant mmmm does my head in as well.

M

To be fair Dee only gets €338k a year...
    The RTÉ annual report also lists a total remuneration package for Director General Dee Forbes as €338,000. This includes a salary of €250,000, a car allowance of €25,000 and retirement benefit contributions of €63,000.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2018/0626/973359-rte-annual-report/