Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Boyracers at petrol stations

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Well, you learn something new everyday, as they say.

Not if its crap, as they say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Ohbethehokey

liam7831 wrote: »
    Not if its crap, as they say

Was it yourself? Just getting a closer look at the soccer pitch with the horizontal drivers seat? :pac:

Im guessing your in the United States of America as thats where they play soccer....
    They have soccer pitches in ireland too! Unrecline your sest and Grab a cushion for yourself if you can't see out the window

Where are the soccer pitches in Ireland, I think in your making a silly mistake confusing soccer and football.

Now stop derailing this thread and get back on topic.

Where are the soccer pitches in Ireland, I think in your making a silly mistake confusing soccer and football.

Now stop derailing this thread and get back on topic.
    Lame

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

So a bunch of folk who don't enthuse about as you say"boy racers " your opinion are a bunch of old folks on a bus moaning a ringing Duffy?
    To not "enthuse" is one thing, being "down with this sort of thing" is another. And yes in among the extremely understandable "WTF are these muppets doing doughnuts at 3 in the morning" opinions, we also have the "I don't understand this, therefore it must be wrong and I will condescend and whinge about it" opinions. I have found whinging almost always follows condescension. In place of wit and debate it is the easy route to take. Which is perfectly grand for what it is, but it's hardly surprising others will read that, push back and think quite logically "out of touch/humourless killjoys/were they ever young?". After that it's also hardly an unsurprising leap to Joe Duffy callers.

The age thing seems to be another thing boiling your spuds. I seem to recall - though my memory such as it is.. - that you're younger than me. Ok… Dunno what to do with that TBH.
    People are entitled to their opinion,
    No? Really? :eek: Well I never… You don't say. Must have missed that memo. Oh wait… nope... I didn't. That you go full fail on missing the irony of this statement and railing agin opposing opinion says much. Bless.
    Lame
    Oscar Wilde will hardly be troubled in his Parisian resting place with that retort. Is your pony limping, or are you aping an American loan word?
    I have a really nice daily driver and a couple of classic cars.
    Nice. *thumbsup* OK you have your classics and god knows how many dopey Jeremy Clarkson types might think of you as a flat cap wearing old fart addicted to breaking down. In winter. And how daft would they be? Very. That's the thing W, your "Boyracer" of today is much more likely to be the classic car nutter like yourself of tomorrow. Both of you breath exhaust fumes like it's ambrosia and blood sacrifice chickens to ward off the tinworm. :D You are both cut from the same cloth.
    Why would I be jealous of a subaru impreza?
    Again, cast your mind back W. I'm quite sure there were people flipping out about guys and gals whizzing about in MG T's and those treacherous Austin Healeys. Actually no quite about it, there were. Letters to the Times and such. And Oh My God, those RS Escorts and Alfa Spiders were the very devil in metal. See what I mean? The Scooby Impreza/Mitzi Evo/Civic Type R/etc are the Austin Healey of another generation. And rightfully so.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Soccer is an English word. It comes from association. Less donuts and more education is needed for the boyracers.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Wibbs wrote: »
    That's the thing W, your "Boyracer" of today is much more likely to be the classic car nutter like yourself of tomorrow. Both of you breath exhaust fumes like it's ambrosia and blood sacrifice chickens to ward off the tinworm. :D You are both cut from the same cloth.

Hmm, an interesting idea. If we end up with driverless cars, they will be, won't they..
    I do feel solidarity with them because I assume they like driving as much as I do. I suppose I just need my sleep at my age, what with all of the breakdowns at the roadside and so on...

You have a lovely turn of phrase. I might borrow the lame horse remark someday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

My brother and his friends would have been considered "boy racers" when they were younger. Two of his buddies are mechanics now and one is a rally driver. I know a bit about cars because of them. And always have someone to sort out my car if anything needs done! Like only this morning my brother fixed a scratch for me. They never cause any trouble.

Only thing that does annoy me about boy racers is the sound of exhausts. Feckin hell. I'm from Killarney and had to endure boy racers that came around for the rally of the lakes every year. Non stop vroom vroom for 3 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,478 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

A boyracer passed me at about 150mph yesterday. I passed him about 5 mins later, car rammed into a ditch. :D

I suppose he died.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

I saw a girl racer earlier in Topaz.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I suppose he died.

No, luckily he didn't, car was in sh!t though

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭Bronco Bullfrog

One should address boy racers (with dodgy cars) with the following quip:-

Nice Car! When are you taking it back to the Circus?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Autecher

One should address boy racers (with dodgy cars) with the following quip:-

Nice Car! When are you taking it back to the Circus?
    One should also wear a stab proof vest while doing so.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Autecher wrote: »
    One should also wear a stab proof vest while doing so.

And a time machine for getting back out of this thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

A 3 year old thread bumped with what reads like a 3 year old joke.

It’s a bittersweet symphony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,743 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Thank fcuk these tools are history.

Along with the ‘yella boots in Spar,the NY shopping sprees, the builders with the van covered in coffee cups and invoices, the teachers buying into shopping centers,the lads with the two or three places in Bulgaria,the taxi man with the property in Portugal.........alll fcuking gone......

And no fcuking loss, band of tossers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Along with the ‘yella boots in Spar,the NY shopping sprees, the builders with the van covered in coffee cups and invoices, the teachers buying into shopping centers,the lads with the two or three places in Bulgaria,the taxi man with the property in Portugal.........alll fcuking gone......

And no fcuking loss, band of tossers.

The tiger has been back with a few years now. Also a fierce amount of Toyota Dynas have re-appeared after sitting in the shed for years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

All lined up side by side, not buying anything in the place, but just beeping at random people going into shop. Why do they do this ? :confused:

Because as anyone who has worked in any kind of retail will tell you ...the general public are FREAKS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,527 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

The tiger has been back with a few years now. Also a fierce amount of Toyota Dynas have re-appeared after sitting in the shed for years

Still heaps of donuts around and not the confectionery sort.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/motorists-doing-doughnuts-a-problem-in-west-cork-court-told-922800.html

Ah yes, the Rally of the Lakes, attracts them like flies to sh1t.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/twelve-arrested-for-dangerous-driving-after-attending-rally-of-the-lakes-event-922460.html

The tosser who drives the low Honda with the loud exhaust up and down the main drag seems to be gone though.

No harm there, little cretins with thin moustaches and heads like golf balls.

The tosser who drives the low Honda with the loud exhaust up and down the main drag seems to be gone though.

Oh no.
    Lived in a suburb of Cork until recently and loud exhausts and dumpf-dumpf music was heard particularly after dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,840 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

When I was a teenager/early twenties. You'd want to be seen seen in mk 5/6 and even the mk 7 Cicvic and they were easy to come by but no lad would really want a mk 8 Civic.
    It's Passat's and A4's now! With the odd Jetta/Bora.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭keithkk16

Donegal is hell during rally weekend especially at night. There is a good number of people that are there to enjoy the rally stages and stay safe, but there is always more trouble than goodness that comes out of it. What goes on throughout the weekend at petrol stations and on the main roads is a balls tbh.

I worked in a 24hr Applegreen last year during the weekend and it was horrible, lads coming in looking to buy toilet paper and baby wipes to clean blood off their faces after fighting, lads drink driving buying coffee to sober up, every rally head doing a donut before leaving the exit and there could be a queue of lorries behind them, throwing rubbish out windows like there isn't about 20 bins in the place, stealing road signs on the main road. They blocked the entrance/exit so no one could come in or out so they could set up a drift track with cones. Rang Garda and heard nothing after 30 mins so I just played a police siren over the outside speakers and they started to leave slowly. Never actually seen the Garda that night cause I found out later they were too busy dealing with lads in Letterkenny to come down to where I was. I could go on more and more, but I think I've made my point about "boyracers" during rally weekend. 60 people arrested in 2017, 80 people arrested in 2018 and 3 Garda in hospital with injuries and it's just gonna get worse this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Rallying seems to have a very unsavoury following these days.

These days!!

H mmmm……:rolleyes:

These days!!

H mmmm……:rolleyes:

It had a following of little scrotes with their scrotemobiles for the last 10 or 15 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

You must live somewhere very nice Brendan. Around where I am, they're like the IRA. To paraphrase Gerry Adams, they never went away you know.. :D

Luckily I’m on a cul de sac Urs.

But I haven’t seen or heard them in my area recently.