Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jimmy Saville exposed

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,568 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

It appears now that all totally separate independent versions of sexual related attacks bear similarities which its considered by some, just too much coincidental in detail/techniques, etc not to be just made up.

Was listening to Ester Ranzen (of TV and Childline fame) just now on News At Ten (ITV) and she was saying sadly and reluctantly that she herself had no doubts now that the evidence goes far against Mr Saville.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

No point in saying it's not what it is.

I fail to see the point in painting the world at large as some Daily Mail decreed cesspit, overrun by paedo's, rapists and their ilk.
    Hopefully things will be better in the future. The question is: how to stop sex offenders?

Obviously not enough being done in this area at the mo.

You simply cannot prevent sexual offences from occurring. Unless something Orwellian awaits us down the line, that will always be so.

We can only strive to broaden our understanding of what motivates sexual offenders to act upon their dysfunction, how best to treat those with such an inclination from a medical, psychological and jurisprudence perspective and be hopeful that the tangible improvements apparent in education, forensics and victim support continue apace.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

Yamanoto wrote: »
    I fail to see the point in painting the world at large as some Daily Mail decreed cesspit, overrun by paedo's, rapists and their ilk.

You simply cannot prevent sexual offences from occurring. Unless something Orwellian awaits us down the line, that will always be so.

We can only strive to broaden our understanding of what motivates sexual offenders to act upon their dysfunction, how best to treat those with such an inclination from a medical, psychological and jurisprudence perspective and be hopeful that the tangible improvements apparent in education, forensics and victim support continue apace.

I agree, and maybe less tolerance by those in power - look at all the recent cover ups. Hopefully huge lessons have been learned there.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

Or you could lock them up for a very long time after their first offence.

That would almost definately stop them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Castrate them

Simples:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 85 ✭✭Madam Marie

In the following Savile hae procured two kids for a famous pop star. Dressed up in adult clothes, the children can be seen cavorting and gyrating along with the man.

At the very end of the video the pop star bends down and kisses the female girl child's face and if you pause it at that point, it's not very hard to imagine all sorts of sexual utterances that may or may not have been said to the girl.

The pop star then gets between both children, with a hand carefully placed on each one's shoulder, and gyrates his hips in what is clearly a sexual gesture, not unlike the maneuver made famous by one Elvis Aaron Presely.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

Boombastic wrote: »
    Castrate them

Or both

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭cometogether

Castrate them

Doesn't actually work all the time. It removes the physical capability but the mental impulse remains. They could still attack using foreign objects.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

At the very end of the video the pop star bends down and kisses the female girl child's face and if you pause it at that point, it's not very hard to imagine all sorts of sexual utterances that may or may not have been said to the girl.

You're the poor mans Chris Morris :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Doesn't actually work all the time. It removes the physical capability but the mental impulse remains. They could still attack using foreign objects.

Lock them up aswell.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Here's a link to the fake transcript from Have I Got News For You. However, some of it did happen
    http://www.users.zetnet.co.uk/rogerb/jokes/HIGNFY.txt

Go to about 9 min 35 seconds and he does say he's feared in every girls school
    http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xrk76a_hignfy-s17e07-jimmy-savile-diane-abbott_fun

that is all

Is it just me or does the black woman give a bit of a double take, like she heard something along those lines before. Hislop and Merton almost look as if they want to say something.

Another argument against immigration.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Squarewave

I knew the foreigners had some involvement in this.
    Even when it was the bears I knew it was them.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

To play the devil's advocate here, could he his behaviour have been seen as acceptable at the time?

None of this could have happened without the cooperation of the girl's parents, his co-workers, school and hospital staff, agents and assistants etc etc.

Some of the links in this thread were to pieces broadcast at the time on national t.v.

How many complaints came in about them then?

Where the social and sexual mores at that time quite different from now?

The girls interviewed in the ITV programme are between the ages of 14 and 16.

Savile would have been mobbed by girls of this age at the time.

It's not unusual for men to be attracted to girls in this age bracket depending on their level of maturity.

Without doubt some girls were abused by Savile but the guilt is not his alone.

Saying that it was all down to one bad apple leads people to think, that now that the apple is gone, the problem is gone. This is a big mistake and slows the correction of the wider problem of societal acceptance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

ah ffs

• Registered Users Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

barone wrote: »
    just how widespread is child abuse ! ?

seems to be cover ups on a huge scale in all aspects of life, in every class.

sick disgusting animals.
    it will soon all come out about the cover ups by the masonic club,remember mr saville was also linked to the channel islands mason child abuse scandal,it goes to the very top of goverment

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I take it you've never suffered sexual abuse then?

I don't think you can really comment on when victims of abuse decide to come forward. It's a very hard thing to do.
    No I haven't, and yes I've no doubt that it's hard to come forward. I've taken note of the post that people are afraid to come forward until after the abuser is dead, but at the same time you'll have to admit that the victims are victims and no-one can say otherwise, as the one person who could say otherwise can no longer say otherwise.

After? Too late, then.
    Castrate them

A rapist don't need a (functioning) dick to rape someone.
    Wombatman wrote: »
    None of this could have happened without the cooperation of the girl's parents, his co-workers, school and hospital staff, agents and assistants etc etc.
    The catholic church and a famous person both wield a lot of power. This power can be used to do good, but can also be used to do a lot of bad.

Todays Times (England): http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/news/uk/crime/article3554717.ece
    Sir Jimmy Savile said Gary Glitter ‘did no wrong'

Sir Jimmy Savile was recorded saying that disgraced former singer Gary Glitter did nothing wrong when he was arrested for downloading child pornography, it emerged today.
    A tape recording is due to be aired during an ITV documentary this week, which accuses the former ‘Jim’ll Fix It’ presenter of sexually abusing young children who were guests on his television shows.

In the tape, recorded in 2009, Savile says: “Now Gary, all he did was to take his computer into PC World to get it repaired. They went into the hard drive, saw all these dodgy pictures and told the police and the police then ’Oh we’ve got a famous person... Oh my goodness, yeah we’ll have them’.
    “But Gary has not sold ’em, has not tried to sell ’em, not tried to show them in public or anything like that. It were for his own gratification. Whether it was right or wrong is, of course, it’s up to him as a person. But they didn’t do anything wrong but they are then demonised.”
    Glitter, real name Paul Gadd, was jailed for four months in the UK in 1999 for downloading child pornography and later jailed for child sex offences in Vietnam.

Another section:
    The documentary about Savile, called ‘Exposure: The Other Side Of Jimmy Savile’, will air the claims of three women from Surrey who say that his alleged abuse often occurred behind a curtain in an alcove in his BBC dressing room, and that he made them perform sex acts on him, in return for sweets, cigarettes and tickets to the BBC1 series Clunk Click, which he hosted in 1973-74.

One also claims that she was present as Savile watched two other television stars — who are both still alive — molest another minor.
    Family and friends of Savile, who died in October last year, have angrily condemned the programme and asked why those who made the allegations did not do so while he was alive.
    However, the former detective who presents the documentary says his alleged victims “lived in fear” of speaking out against the TV legend.
    “We know that children don’t disclose abuse straight away; sometimes that takes a long time, for many, many reasons - their whole life changes, the circumstances change,” Mark Williams-Thomas said.

“And particularly talking out against Sir Jimmy Savile, who of course was a TV legend, [it is] very difficult to talk out about that, and they have been reassured of some confidence by talking now that he has died.”
    Last night, Esther Rantzen, the journalist and former television presenter, said that rumours of his allegedly inappropriate behaviour with minors had circulated around television studios for years.
    “There was gossip. There were rumours going around all the time that he was behaving inappropriately with children, but you can’t proceed on the basis of rumours alone. I don’t know how far up the TV ladder it went,” she said.

Asked whether former employers of Savile, including the BBC, should further investigate the allegations, Ms Rantzen said: “Yes, I think it would be worth doing that, not from the point of view of casting blame, but for the purpose of finding out who knew what.”

Make of that what you will.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,851 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Those that turned a blind eye should be done for aiding and abetting.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

He always had the look of a kiddie fiddler about him.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Those that turned a blind eye should be done for aiding and abetting.

You mean like this country has done with Cardinal Brady?

:(

Our traitorous government who has given 1.1 billion away today (total now 17 billion) and another 18 Billion next year, has decided to so far see that our own Irish people escape prosecution.

(I totally agree with you by the way)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,851 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Biggins wrote: »
    You mean like this country has done with Cardinal Brady?

:(

Our traitorous government who has given 1.1 billion away today (total now 17 billion) and another 18 Billion next year, has decided to so far see that our own Irish people escape prosecution.

(I totally agree with you by the way)

Brady and a whole host of other vermin should be locked up for helping child rapists and the Catholic church should be proscribed.

FF/Labour's grand theft of the Iris people is a disgrace. Some stunt by Kenny pointing the finger of blame at Adams to deflect from his own criminality. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

Show Time wrote: »
    He always had the look of a kiddie fiddler about him.
    i knew jimmy in his early years when drinking with him in salford,he would hang around with most of us when we docked,i always felt it was strange that he dident pick up any of the woman who hung around with us,at the time i would think it was because as he was a manager of a dance hall in manchester he did not need to slum it with the kind of girls we would end up with,as a person to meet he came over as OK,but he must have had a dark side even then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Wombatman wrote: »

Savile would have been mobbed by girls of this age at the time.

It's not unusual for men to be attracted to girls in this age bracket depending on their level of maturity.

Without doubt some girls were abused by Savile but the guilt is not his alone.

Jesus.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Biggins wrote: »
    Todays Times (England): http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/news/uk/crime/article3554717.ece
    Sir Jimmy Savile said Gary Glitter ‘did no wrong'
    Pity that clip didn't come to light earlier! I'd almost wonder were they waiting for his death?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

I wouldn't be surprised if it were true, but I have a problem with accusers waiting until the accused is dead and cannot defend himself, and the fact they wish to remain anonymous.

I would have issues with this coming to light after the man is dead, even if he was one, he's dead, who you gonna call? Ghostbusters?

On what he said about Gary Gicker, mental.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Here's a link to the fake transcript from Have I Got News For You. However, some of it did happen
    http://www.users.zetnet.co.uk/rogerb/jokes/HIGNFY.txt

Go to about 9 min 35 seconds and he does say he's feared in every girls school
    http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xrk76a_hignfy-s17e07-jimmy-savile-diane-abbott_fun

that is all
    that is the most surreal thing I have ever read! Love they way deayton was on board at the start and even he had to "opt out"!!

the_syco wrote: »
    Pity that clip didn't come to light earlier! I'd almost wonder were they waiting for his death?

Maybe - just maybe!

Just imagine any one MAJOR loved person in Ireland who might also really have a dark side which few have suffered because of - then imagine a small lone voice speaking out - would they really get far and be listened to?

Add to that in Jimmy's case, the British Queen had personally given him awards - so having the dubious job of exposing a person who the queen says is godly like and should be a nations hero, is a formidable thing to take on!
    ...Add to that, a victim might be taking on the BBC who no doubt at that stage would have defended their royal awarded star tooth and nail for a number of reasons - one being if only to save face and see their own asses were covered for not exposing him earlier!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

That's some world view, must be tough living there.
    I have a great life and I surround myself with great people but that is a harsh reality.