Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Jeremy Kyle AXED

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

ziedth wrote: »
    If I remember right it happened to one of the "Big" day time talk shows in the US in the 90's? (Sally or something maybe) and it cancelled the show...... Hard to pull back from something like that especially these days
    I don't know of one that led to a suicide but there was a literal murder on the back of the Jenny Jones show - it was a "Guess who has a crush on you?" edition. One of the people who was revealed to have a crush on a male guest was another man. The guy was not impressed with his crush being a man, and felt humiliated... so he shot the guy...
    It was absolute crap but it was bound to happen now we are living in the age of snowflakes culture.
    The man killed himself - ffs is that really the right context in which to use the "snowflake" jibe?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭buried

ITV may have AXED it but sure all that means is some other grim TV station like DAVE/DEL BOY/ RODNEY fm or whatever the f**k else is just going to sign this lads shtick right back up anyways

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

They're not using that positively. And Jeremy Kyle does not empower the working class (at least, not intentionally).

I want to be clear. Jeremy Kyle is a cnut of the highest order. But all those beautiful, ugly, ordinary, and most of all *real* people? I think they're genuinely wonderful. Their life stories vary from Greek tragedy ('I'm in love with my brother-in-law' ) to the surreal ('Who stole my baby's golden bangle?').

It is human life at its most elementary and most valid. Don't knock it!

The lengths you’ve gone to to defend this show on this thread disturbs me.

Something tells me Tyrant might not be entirely serious... ;)

Actually, I really am. In fact, I thought a lot more people would be similarly intrigued by the programme. It wasn't just me who watched it, after all.

You don't have to like Jeremy Kyle to have watched the show. You don't have to hate the poor to have enjoyed it (quite the opposite. I mostly watched it hoping that someone would smash Kyle's face in)

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

Kyle's probably on about £300k a year and 'worth' £4m to produce this garbage, if he finds these chavs so appalling as his perma-frown suggests then why doesn't he and his ilk spread a bit of their wealth and opportunity around a bit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

That show gives me shivers just thinking about it. It almost justifies eugenics, the state of the guests, ugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭98q76e12hrflnk

It's cute that you think these people vote.

A typical know it all looking down on people.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

It's cute that you think these people vote.

Brexit is probably the one thing they did go out and vote for

That show gives me shivers just thinking about it. It almost justifies eugenics, the state of the guests, ugh.
    that's a very interesting reaction. Would you look upon some people you admire and declare that they "almost justify eugenics" (in the sense that we should select for their traits?)

I suspect you would not. Yet, when you are confronted with people whom you dislike, one of your reactions to to swerve towards genocide.

This brings me back to a point I was trying to make earlier. The real tragedy of Jeremy Kyle isn't on the stage, but among the angrier members of the audience. Some people just go crazy for the sins of others, and almost become obsessive about it.

You see the same thing in those hysterical social-welfare threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,642 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

that's a very interesting reaction. Would you look upon some people you admire and declare that they "almost justify eugenics" (in the sense that we should select for their traits?)

No, just Kyle (and I certainly don't "admire" him)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

I don’t watch Jeremy but why should it be axed I’d love island is still on the air 2 people killed them selves are the show and yet it’s still on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,854 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I don’t watch Jeremy but why should it be axed I’d love island is still on the air 2 people killed them selves are the show and yet it’s still on

The guests that go on jerky Kyle are likely psychologically a lot more screwed than those that go on love island. Doesn’t massively surprise me if something happens to a jk guest. But the love island ones are awful !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Breaking news on sky: The show has been cancelled

Its been axed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,953 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Good , no matter who the guests were or how bad they may have been , Vile Kyle was like a badger baiter , shouting , derogatory , just waiting for the participants to kill each other .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

It is human life at its most elementary and most valid. Don't knock it!

I have my doubts to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,474 ✭✭✭pgj2015

pity it was axed, will miss it. you cant say that that guest killed himself because he was on the show, who knows why he really killed himself, only he knew why he did it. what if someone goes on who wants to be a millionaire and leaves with nothing, takes it really badly, everyone laughing at him in the pub and on the street, he kills himself, do they then axe the show?

The outrage society is really pathetic. as someone said on a thread lately, years ago we had men running at machine gun fire, now we have college students playing with dogs on campus because they are stressed at doing an arts degree exam lol

Actually, I really am.
    I don't believe you - because of all the over wrought language. But I am giving you a reaction which is what you want.

However, I will say that you're speaking about the guests in a condescending way that would have them responding with just :confused:

Middle-class people being "down" with the proletariat is cringe. And extremely middle-class.

What will Jezza do now?

pgj2015 wrote: »
    pity it was axed, will miss it. you cant say that that guest killed himself because he was on the show, who knows why he really killed himself, only he knew why he did it. what if someone goes on who wants to be a millionaire and leaves with nothing, takes it really badly, everyone laughing at him in the pub and on the street, he kills himself, do they then axe the show?

The outrage society is really pathetic. as someone said on a thread lately, years ago we had men running at machine gun fire, now we have college students playing with dogs on campus because they are stressed at doing an arts degree exam lol
    Yeah oh for the days when we weren't such pussies and suicide didn't bother us.

This would have happened any time - a man ended his life. Trying to conflate it with today's snowflake thingie is distasteful. We don't know that he would have killed himself if not for the show either.

The thing about students is irrelevant. A man killed himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,758 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Which do you think is better?

Leroy42 wrote: »
    Lol yeah - damn this world and its lack of wars!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

It was only a matter of time.

When you bring vulnerable, often unhinged people onto a platform and poke them with a stick you can expect it all to implode at some stage.

I haven't watched it in years. It always left me feeling depressed.

cisk wrote: »
    Its been axed
    WAT?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

Pretty sure that a century ago the Jeremy Kyle show would probably have been viewed negatively because it's sleazy to say the least. Now it's also recognised as exploitative and ethically questionable. Gameshows are not comparable to misery porn of people with mental health issues.

Is this the 1st such incident? The show has been running for quite a few years I believe and thus surely this one incident, when the vast majority of quests don't suffer afterwards, seems to be a bit of an over-reaction.

In the bits I have read, it seems this guy had an affair or a fling or something, denied it, and the show said he was lying. I have no idea one way of the other, but any rational person would either A) accept he had been caught out or B) realise is GF had no trust in him anyway and he was better off.

The fact he committed suicide, to me, points to far deeper problems. And whilst the show may well have exacerbated these issues, it is likely that he would suffer in one way or another.

Surely the better option is to give better supports. As was alluded to in an earlier post, 2 Love Island stars recently committed suicide, why is that no taken off the air? It is all down to the supports given to these people who are private people suddenly trust into the spotlight (and of course one can say they choose it but the point still stands).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭Reati

The pessimistic side of me says they wanted a reason to cancel the show and got one. Look at the speed they took it off the air then axed it. Given the apperant amount of money that show was said to make it all seems very fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Vile as many of the guests are (among them that utter piece of sh1t Mick Philpott) they have been dragged up in deprivation the way their parents were dragged up. What's Jeremy Kyle's excuse for his vileness?

I dunno, according to wiki,
    His father was an accountant and personal secretary to the Queen Mother. ... He attended the Reading Blue Coat School, a boys' independent school in Sonning, Berkshire
    so why he devoted his life to pleb-baiting is a mystery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Dickens was offering a critique of the social and economic conditions that prevailed in Britain during his lifetime. He believed people could and should aspire to better. He certainly wouldn't pretend that his lower class characters were fully liberated agents -- quite the opposite, they were depicted as victims of the existing social order. There is nothing romantic about Dickensian poverty.

well, there is a bit. Dickens was very suspicious of any kind of radical change, his politics were basically, "rich people should be a bit nicer" - great essay by George Orwell http://orwell.ru/library/reviews/dickens/english/e_chd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Reati wrote: »
    The pessimistic side of me says they wanted a reason to cancel the show and got one. Look at the speed they took it off the air then axed it. Given the apperant amount of money that show was said to make it all seems very fast.

22% audience share apparently!

The fact that ITV also makes/commissions Love Island isn't insignificant, they've gotten a lot of bad press over contestants' suicides there. I'd say they either see more legs in Love Island than Kyle, Kyle is more expensive to produce, or they see fcuk it, we have 1000s of episodes of Jeremy Kyle which we can quietly start showing/selling as repeats vs three seasons or whatever of Love Island.

So apparently the answer to " how many participants have to kill themselves to get a show pulled" is "more than two, but only one show at a time" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

goose2005 wrote: »
    I dunno, according to wiki,

so why he devoted his life to pleb-baiting is a mystery

One word. Money.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭chrissb8

We had better cancel Dickens, so

Yes, because a 19th century person has so much in common with a 21st century person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Was going to google "TV shows that killed people" but it's probably not wise in work.
    Noel Edmunds had one which was cancelled when a guy died in a prank, there's some ski jump one where several people seem to have been seriously injured but that's still going afaik.
    There's probably a more tenuous link between this and the Love Island deaths but you're inviting trouble with those kind of shows.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

People have much affection for the characters portrayed on 'Young Offenders' and they wouldn't be all that dissimilar to those turning up on AXED.

What's up with that?

• Registered Users Posts: 761 ✭✭✭youreadthat

declan2693 wrote: »
    A typical know it all looking down on people.

I’m only 6ft so I look down on most people but not all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

branie2 wrote: »
    What will Jezza do now?

Shout "Get a job" at himself over and over again.

Many a fight was prevented by Steve and the other security guards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,474 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Leroy42 wrote: »

its not about which one is better, i was pointing out how soft some people are these days, its a shame when people bow down to outrage like this.

A guy killed himself. This goes far beyond finding offence in something trivial. There are people who are extremely easily offended but there is also a fashion now of calling people snowflakes even when they have cause for grievance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Think there was nobody killing themselves over romantic loss back then or something?

The generation of men who "ran towards machine guns" were the generation of men who started the process of PTSD being identified. Plenty killed themselves, because of what they'd seen and done and because they were expected to come home and just get on with it, don't be so soft. Interesting side bar, many of those British soldiers who couldn't reintegrate were unleashed over here as the Black and Tans. And anyways, the people who ran towards machine guns would have been shot or hanged if they didn't.

There are children in different parts of the world running at machine guns right now, should we ship some over here, harden us up so we can stop with the puppies?

Its a fake comparison though. In one we had men (mainly) being forced into acts that they wouldn't normally dream of. In many cases it wasn't a case of being brave, it was a case of this being the least worst option to try to save themselves and their friends.

Edit: Just to clarify, I am in no way saying these men were not brave, they are brave beyond anything I can even dream of being. I am saying that they didn't do the action because it was brave, or that those that didn't were cowards.

We are now in a situation where, thankfully, those of us in the west of not faced with such situations. The majority of us are reasonable safe, have food, healthy, money etc etc.

Surely that is what we all set out to do. And having all that means that we have more time to think about the higher issues in life, such as mental health etc. So I don't see students needing dogs as a step backwards, I see it as proof that we are advancing.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

Good riddance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

A guy killed himself. This goes far beyond finding offence in something trivial. There are people who are extremely easily offended but there is also a fashion now of calling people snowflakes even when they have cause for grievance.

Easily offended, and appearing on that shíťê hawks programme dont really go hand in hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

If only they could axe or ban the reruns.

We won't have to see bad teeth ever again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Probably fill the slot with an American version of pure sh1te....

Namely Jerry Springer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

I doubt the cnut will starve....

Pity ;)