Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jeremy Kyle AXED

• 14-05-2019 11:00am

Whether it's been axed or pulled, it's my tabloid headline and I say (dramatically) it's AXED.

Did you read about this? Jeremy Kyle's show. It's been AXED after a guest killed himself. West Yorkshire's most popular news service, Examine 'er Live, has said that:

https://www.examinerlive.co.uk/news/tv/jeremy-kyle-guest-found-dead-16271198I
    Mr Dymond took a lie-detector test to convince his fiancee he had not been unfaithful but they split after he failed, according to The Sun.

ITV said staff at the broadcaster and the show's production team were "shocked and saddened" at the death and the episode will be reviewed.

As someone who grew up with the Jeremy Kyle Show, I have to say nothing could punch me quite so badly in the guts as to have this AXED. It is an institution.

What do you think of this? What are your fave Jeremy Kyle moments?

AXED

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

It was pure sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Good riddance

The man is a vile excuse for a human being

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

`You mention axed 6 times OP :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,273 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

What are your fave Jeremy Kyle moments?

When it was AXED.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

It's a weird format, made in the USA. Anytime I've seen it I'm always amazed that the people want to be on tv discussing how moronic they are in all its lurid detail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

As someone who grew up with the Jeremy Kyle Show, I have to say nothing could punch me quite so badly in the guts as to have this AXED.

Really? Isn't it just TV about peasants, made for peasants to watch?
    Maybe you grew up with it, but shouldn't you have moved on since?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭PinotNero

I wish it was a real axe :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Like a machete from the jockstrap

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

It looks like they are waiting for public feedback, no definite decision made yet.

https://www.theguardian.com/media/2019/may/14/jeremy-kyle-itv-urged-to-ditch-show-after-guests-suicide

I hate the show and it's premise. He is so nasty.

If there is no public outcry the show will survive. They won't be showing the episode in question however. A TV show is a business, waaay too much money to be made.

Effects wrote: »
    Really? Isn't it just TV about peasants, made for peasants to watch?
    Maybe you grew up with it, but shouldn't you have moved on since?
    Maybe you should have moved on from calling people things like peasants.

I don't care what kind of economic category you've placed me into, I love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

I don't care what kind of economic category you've placed me into, I love it.

Its not your economic category; its your mental one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭B-D-P--

Jeremy Kyle is not just entertaining tv for the simple minded,
    If fuels a philosophy that its ok to cheat steal and Lie, all will be forgiven in the end once you go on that show. You say its just tv, but its planting seeds in back of your mind that this sh1t is normal. This seed may never come to bloom, or one night, when your arseholed, and brains not 100% your morals are depriciated because of the normalisation of the scum you watch on tv.

Its a disgrace and glad its gone.

Next, its time to axe the soaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

gimli2112 wrote: »
    It's a weird format, made in the USA. Anytime I've seen it I'm always amazed that the people want to be on tv discussing how moronic they are in all its lurid detail.

UK version, he follows ambulances now or hospital or some crap like that.....

Jesus he is a twat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,512 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

I feel sorry for some of the dreggs of society that end up on it. Half of them clearly don't want to be on TV in the first place only for "the other half", so to speak, so desperately wants it.

It being axed would be amazing. But they'll just make something new like it with a new presenter called Keremy Jyle

First Up wrote: »
    Its not your economic category; its your mental one.
    Yeah grand, but at the start of the thread shall we just clear one thing up? Epithets against economic status or mental health are childish (literally, sadly), but that doesn't matter since I have about as much shame as your average Jeremy Kyle contestant anyway.

Can't believed I've missed my opportunity to apply, tbh.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,530 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I feel a great disturbance in the Force, as if millions of unemployed suddenly cried out in terror and were suddenly bored and unsure about what to do with their afternoon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Jeremy Kyle is a ****, show is a circus that takes advantage of people.

Good riddance to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,615 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

I bet there was some weeping and wailing in the dole queue when that news broke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭KikiLaRue

major bill wrote: »
    Jeremy Kyle is a ****, show is a circus that takes advantage of people.

Good riddance to it.

Totally agree, it was an exploitative show that used very dubious methods. His singular goal was to create car crash tv, he didn't want to help those people.

Lie detector tests are unreliable and a man may be dead now because of a very public humiliation for something he may not have even done.

I'm only surprised something like this didn't happen sooner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Whether it's been axed or pulled, it's my tabloid headline and I say (dramatically) it's AXED.

Did you read about this? Jeremy Kyle's show. It's been AXED after a guest killed himself. West Yorkshire's most popular news service, Examine 'er Live, has said that:

Mr Dymond took a lie-detector test to convince his fiancee he had not been unfaithful but they split after he failed, according to The Sun.

ITV said staff at the broadcaster and the show's production team were "shocked and saddened" at the death and the episode will be reviewed.

As someone who grew up with the Jeremy Kyle Show, I have to say nothing could punch me quite so badly in the guts as to have this AXED. It is an institution.

AXED

That sounds like child abuse.

As to the subject in question, my only regret is that it wasn't done literally.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

DrPhilG wrote: »
    I bet there was some weeping and wailing in the dole queue when that news broke.

There was some weeping and wailing in the canteen this morning when the news broke.

Thankfully I was alone before the others arrived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,615 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Mickeroo wrote: »
    I feel a great disturbance in the Force, as if millions of unemployed suddenly cried out in terror and were suddenly bored and unsure about what to do with their afternoon.

That's brilliant.

AXED

don't you mean anyone who likes it belongs in an institution??
    It's exploitive TV at it's lowest and lets not forget it mirrors Jerry springer which was axed for the exact same reason when a guy went home and shot
    himself... so what's to like really? you need to get out more if that's a staple on your TV diet TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I find the show mildly amusing. Great to tune in when eating your breakfast whilst 'sick'.

I'm especially tickled watching this camp-voiced guy wearing a suit and protected by bouncers fearlessly shouting lectures at utter council scheme scum. Like a kitten meowing at lions in their enclosure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Old diesel

He treated the lie detector result as the absolute truth.

I wonder how many prople have had inaccurate results.....

For example you failed the lie detector but were telling the truth.

Or you lied through your teeth but managed to pass.

If lie detector tests were beyond question - then surely the Courts and Gardai would use them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,825 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

ARE YOU PROUD OF YOURSELF? WELL?
    YOU BLOODY DISGUST ME.

Glazers Out!

The reality is that the show highlights the chronic unemployment problem which Britain has had since Maggie Thatcher closed the mines down. The grandparents and parents of all those participants were former working class, whose livelihoods were taken off them in the 80's.

The remnants of that decision is what you see on the show now. It was decided that it would be cheaper to increase the social welfare budget than what it would be to keep the mines open. So they did. 30 years ago they would have all been too busy working away to have time to have been giving sly blow jobs to their cousins boyfriend down the back of Wetherspoons. There would be no TV show otherwise.

The show is literally full of white unemployed trash, it is really sad.

All Jeremy Kyle does is stand there and shout at them, he is nasty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

I'm fcuking delighted, he was a scumbag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

"Ladies and gentlemen, the Clown Show has been put on hiatus for retooling."

It will be reviewed and the production team will include an additional term in the waiver forms, the legalese of which will say in layman's terms "You confirm that you are of sound mind and you have no immediate plans to kill yourself as the act of you doing that can get our program, which will bully and badger you, into serious trouble and by signing this you absolve the Clown show of being liable for your suicide"

rusty cole wrote: »
    don't you mean anyone who likes it belongs in an institution??
    It's exploitive TV at it's lowest and lets not forget it mirrors Jerry springer which was axed for the exact same reason when a guy went home and shot
    himself... so what's to like really? you need to get out more if that's a staple on your TV diet TBH.
    What I liked about it were the glimpses at honesty.

It's precisely why I enjoy boards.ie threads about people describing in hilarious and graphic detail how they took their latest shít

I don't mean to sound pretentious (another thing JK Show hasn't suffered from) but such honesty is the epitome of human freedom. If you try to find a common thread, you'll see all of his guests were existentialists. They knew people saw them as trash, but they only cared about their own values, and they pursued lives they sincerely believed were ideal.

Marvellous people, and I mean that sincerely. Their 'kind' has probably always been representative of the most successful human, and always will be.

I'm aware this post sounds like a troll, that's genuinely not intended. I think JK guests have tended to be themselves, and fairly honest, and natural. They've been that most elusive thing -- real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭TAFKAlawhec

The Jeremy Kyle Show - television's equivalent of arse cancer.

You'd be surprised at some of the demographics that watch that show. They're definitely not all self-described "yummy mummies" or deadbeats living of the dole, I remember a decade ago arriving in London to visit some relatives and was greeted at the door by my privately educated cousin who had just finished her A-Levels and was working part time as a waitress at the time before going on her gap year, and walking into the living room what was on but the Jeremy Kyle show on ITV2. Thinking as to why someone like her would watch that crap, she just shrugged and said it was something to pass the time. Said cousin now has a doctorate in political science. Be afraid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,551 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Always struck me as odd, that a recurring theme was person A cheating on person B with person C.

These people were having tonnes of sex, but when you looked at them, you wondered - really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,551 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

What I liked about it were the glimpses at honesty.

It's precisely why I enjoy boards.ie threads about people describing in hilarious and graphic detail how they took their latest shít

I don't mean to sound pretentious (another thing JK Show hasn't suffered from) but such honesty is the epitome of human freedom. If you try to find a common thread, you'll see all of his guests were existentialists. They knew people saw them as trash, but they only cared about their own values, and they pursued lives they sincerely believed were ideal.

Marvellous people, and I mean that sincerely. Their 'kind' has probably always been representative of the most successful human, and always will be.

I'm aware this post sounds like a troll, that's genuinely not intended. I think JK guests have tended to be real, fairly honest, and natural. They've been that most elusive thing -- real.

sparkleturd.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    The reality is that the show highlights the chronic unemployment problem which Britain has had since Maggie Thatcher closed the mines down.

And the chronic alcohol and drug problem too.

The researchers must look for guests outside of methadone clinics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,591 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

No doubt a lot of them play along,but some seem genuinely disturbed from the little I've seen if it.

Yet man is an odious **** though.

BattleCorp wrote: »
    And the chronic alcohol and drug problem too.

The researchers must look for guests outside of methadone clinics.

I massively agree. But for me their drug problem is directly related to the human obsolescence. They have nothing else to do. Think Merthyr Tydfil, enough said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Google image search Jeremy Kyle teeth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

He's an absolute hypocritical cnut of a man.
    Statements now being made that they were allowing folk on who were in care at the time of recoding but allowed out on day leave.

Sad thing is, if it does get axed something else will take its place.

Good news for Homes under the Hammer and Four in A Bed afternoon tv though!
    Both could be titles for episodes of his show though it has to be said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

Yeah grand, but at the start of the thread shall we just clear one thing up? Epithets against economic status or mental health are childish (literally, sadly), but that doesn't matter since I have about as much shame as your average Jeremy Kyle contestant anyway.

I wasn't talking about mental health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

All that show did was exploit & manipulate people from poor socioeconomic backgrounds with low levels of intelligence.

Its gave them a platform to air their "grievances" under the guise of offering help & support but all it did was make a mockery of people in vulnerable situations.

I used to always watch it when I was hungover during my college days but after awhile it started making me feel uneasy & icky.
    A judge in a Court case relating to an incident that happened on the show once said that the format was akin to poking angry bears and then watching them fight for entertainment, and I think that's pretty accurate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Vile as many of the guests are (among them that utter piece of sh1t Mick Philpott) they have been dragged up in deprivation the way their parents were dragged up. What's Jeremy Kyle's excuse for his vileness?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

He was a saint compared to Jerry Springer I mean some of his shows were all out in out fist fights. Plus it was more entertaining than Kyle in a some kind of intelligence way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,240 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Sky King wrote: »
    Google image search Jeremy Kyle teeth

That's ****ed up :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Honey Langcaster-James, a TV psychologist who has worked on ITV shows including Love Island, said: “I think that the format of the Jeremy Kyle Show is one that we could and should be moving away from.”

Well said Honey. If only all television programmes were as highbrow as Love Island.
    The behavioural psychologist Jo Hemmings, who has worked for shows including Big Brother, said it was time for ITV to decommission the programme. “It’s an archaic kind of show, it probably was when it was first commissioned, but now it seems very out of step with our attitude with mental health issues.”

Big Brother. Even better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,579 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Knew aa guy who had family members on that show. I don't think he was very proud of it.

81UO5B653mL._SY445_.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Well said Honey. If only all television programmes were as highbrow as Love Island.

Big Brother. Even better.

There's a link between high/low brow and mental health now? Please, do go on.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

There's a link between high/low brow and mental health now? Please, do go on.
    You'd have to ask the people they quoted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

It being AXED though doesn't remove the issues it shows.
    I think shows like the Jeremy Kyle show show a deep deep sickness in society, ditto for Jeremy Springer in the US.

The absolute utter dregs of society, subhumans paraded out to entertain the mass of idiots.
    I mean, would you laugh at mentally handicapped people ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I just can't understand how people watch this shíte. I'm absolutely baffled as to why anyone would go on it.

I really just don't understand the world these days:confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Mean Laqueefa

I looked after a patient in my old job, a right head case, was sectioned for being a peado and rape and all manners of horrible ****, low IQ on the spectrum.

Sat there with him and the whole ward watching Jeremy Kyle and his family appear on it something about debts and incest. They all laugh when he points out thats him mam up there. It was ****ing horrific, i should have known better from reading the psych reports of him and his family, and that **** is up there exploiting it and making money. Glad he is put off air is true, its actually mental that someone hasn't killed themselves after appearing after all the poxy years he has been on