Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meet the Londoners - an introductions & general chat thread

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭iambrazil

hey, I'm Darren. Moved over from Dublin six months ago as my girlfriend (the brains of the operation) is doing a masters in UCL and had been working over here for a year before that. We're probably going to be here for a long time as there are very few jobs in her profession in Ireland.

I like to spend my free time going to gigs, buying records and seeking out new craft beers/ales/pubs. I'm also a big fan of mma and (please don't laugh) pro wrestling.

Hoping to make it along to the next beers anyway.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,015 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Folks, it says "NO CHAT" in the thread title for a reason. If you want to have a natter, post in the off-topic chat thread. I've pruned a couple of posts here that were drifting away from the point of the thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭pirateninja

Hi, I'm Siobhán. Moved over on Tuesday and I'm here for the next 6 months hopefully. I've an internship starting in June but himself is over here so I said I'd move over and try and pick up some temping work till then! Living in SW London and loving it, I definitely picked the right week to move over! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 14 byrnesylimk

Hi, I'm Sarah, 26, newbie to london. I only moved here a month ago and living in east london, so I'm on the job hunt at the moment. :eek: Hopefully I'll find something soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Looks like I'm the old Londoner of the group - Moved here in 2004 after being in university in the north (Carlisle) so I've been in England for 11 years in total! Working for the BBC in West London!

John

• Registered Users Posts: 45 Woolly_Jumper

Hi

I'm Theresa, have been in London a year and a half, living in East London with a good gang of housemates.

I love doing things in London especially some of the free events that are on. Am always up for trying out new things (as long as they are interesting/fun/don't end in injury!).

• Registered Users Posts: 10,184 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Lump wrote: »

Looks like I'm the old Londoner of the group - Moved here in 2004 after being in university in the north (Carlisle) so I've been in England for 11 years in total! Working for the BBC in West London!

John

You're only a recent blow in; been here since Feb 1996 (a different millennium), moved over with the accounting firm i'd worked for in Dublin (advising banks on tax). Spent five and a half years there before jumping to a bank (city then wharf) for 9 years and now sitting out up to three years gardening leave. Life's changed a lot since I arrived; the docklands bomb went off on my second night, a guy who was 2 years behind me in school blew himself up on a bus in my second month. Now no one associates Irish people with such things. Live atop an old factory in Bermondsey pondering life, travelling (spend a week a onth in Ireland) and trying to avoid responsibility!

• Registered Users Posts: 747 ✭✭✭caesar

It's about time I posted here.

I'm Keith, I'm 23 and from Mayo. I moved over in January. After a bit of a struggle I eventually found a place in Clapham North that will be my home until the end of June, gonna have to start my search again soon with the Olympics coming up.

I work for a small online financial services business in the city. I probably couldn't have found a better fit. I get to utilize my degree and masters which is a decent achievement in my industry.

I haven't really had the chance to sample London properly but I'm hoping to get to know more people as I don't know too many and see what London has to offer.

I'd love to get to more gigs and events as going out to pubs is good fun and all but I'd like to mix things up a bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭RosyLily

Hi!

I'm Eilis, moved over here on Tuesday. Staying in Kingston until next Friday then I'm into a hostel! Currently on the job hunt. Hoping I'll have better luck here than at home.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Hey,

I'm Enda. Living in Battersea for 8 months now where I moved from Belgium. Working in a supercar company just outside London.

Mainly into food, coffee, markets, parks, theatre, music, pubs etc. :). So London works for that.

See ye all later!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

RosyLily wrote: »
    Hi!

I'm Eilis, moved over here on Tuesday. Staying in Kingston until next Friday then I'm into a hostel! Currently on the job hunt. Hoping I'll have better luck here than at home.

Two or three good Job agencies in Kingston including 'Reeds', + one or two just up the road in Walton on Thames, the job centre on New Zealand Avenue (opposite the police station) comes to mind! - Good luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 952 ✭✭✭Fiii

Hello all...

I'm Fiona, originally from Dublin, and I just moved over last week for work. Have a 7 month gig, so staying until November at least.
    Living in Blackheath, which I'm really enjoying.
    I'm working 6 days a week at the mo, so haven't had much chance to enjoy London, but once I get my weekends back, I fully intend to explore.

Will def try to come along to the next beers :)

F

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭clikityclak

Hi All!

I'm currently finishing up in Uni in another part of the UK, but have been spending a lot of time in London as my boyfriend is living here. After months of the long distance thing I'm moving down next week and can't wait. I'll be doing my thesis and looking for work over the summer, but v.excited to 'officially' settle in Laaandan... Will be living in Fulham/broke for a while :eek:
    I'm hoping to come along to a beers/quiz night soon(total meet-up newbie).

Ali :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭NeoSlicerZ

Huh, did not realise this forum existed...

Anyhow, just moved to London in Jan for my PhD @ UCL. Was in Stockholm the previous 2 and a half years, which I miss dearly. I guess I like the fact that London has more things to do (when I have the time, the life of a phd student ;_;). In most other regards I prefer Stockholm though ;).

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Hello everyone, my name is Mike and I'm an alcoholic.

Um...

Oh, I mean, I'm 29 and I moved over on Tuesday. Lived in London before from 2004-2007 and now I'm back. Hopefully moving to Finsbury Park in the next couple of days.

Big fan of Arsenal, Game of Thrones, coffee, craft beer and making new friends.

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭Bluezar

I'm Patrick, 22 and just finished college at home in Waterford. Moved over two weeks ago looking for work and got lucky already so starting working in City of London in two weeks time.

Like socialising, football and playing poker. Also looking fora place to live so give me a shout if ye have anything.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 952 ✭✭✭hytrogen

I'm Steve, just moved in with my girlfriend in south London, won't say where exactly but it would remind you of Ranelagh back in Dublin a bit and has The Irish shop.
    Work at sea, enjoy basketball, rugby, reading, cooking, travel, pints & sailing. Recently started doing a bit of voluntary work during the weekdays with a group who provide sailing sessions to disabled people both young & old in Surrey Quays called tidalwaves Sailability. If you would like to find them they are based beside the Southwark watersports centre in Surrey Quays.

• Registered Users Posts: 834 ✭✭✭The Agogo

Hi I'm Colin. I moved here four months ago and still looking for a job (might have to go back to Ireland soon!)

Can't believe how difficult it's been to find work.

Anyway, I live in Southgate and enjoy running, reading, and of course Landan - :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Awayindahils

Hi All,

I'm Hilary...moved over on Sunday. Currently subletting in Camden but probably going to move SW in a month or two, combination of the sublet being up/all of the sports I want to be involved in are more easily accessible in SW.

I work with Bord Bia selling food/am a masters student in Smurfit...going see how it goes for the year. So far, so good...speed flatmating was an interesting experience last night!

Hils

• Registered Users Posts: 6 John_P_S

Hey Londoners, names John, 24. Just moved over from Donegal last Monday started work on the Tuesday. Living temporarily in North Finchley for a few months. Finding the change of pace difficult at the minute!

The Agogo wrote: »
    Hi I'm Colin. I moved here four months ago and still looking for a job (might have to go back to Ireland soon!)

Can't believe how difficult it's been to find work.

Anyway, I live in Southgate and enjoy running, reading, and of course Landan - :)

What type of work are you looking for?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,015 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

I've changed my mind about how this thread works, and think that it makes more sense to allow for general chat as well as introductions and welcomes.

With that being said, belated hellos to Awayindahills and John_P_S :)

• Registered Users Posts: 306 ✭✭audi a4 2008

hi all,martin here living in uxbridge ,working all over london ,just love it here:D

Fysh wrote: »
    I've changed my mind about how this thread works, and think that it makes more sense to allow for general chat as well as introductions and welcomes.

With that being said, belated hellos to Awayindahills and John_P_S :)

Oops, thanks :D

hi all,martin here living in uxbridge ,working all over london ,just love it here:D

Hi martin! Glad to hear you're enjoying it here - have you been here long?
    enda1 wrote: »
    Oops, thanks :D

To be fair it was reading your post that made me realise the "no chat" rule kind of stomped all over the introductions, so you're grand :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭x43r0

John_P_S wrote: »
    Finding the change of pace difficult at the minute!

From my point of view I'd say it doesn't get easier but you will get better at handling it and it becomes natural

I found myself in a similar state when I first moved but now I find whenever I go home the place is so slow it drives me up the wall

• Registered Users Posts: 306 ✭✭audi a4 2008

Fysh wrote: »
    Hi martin! Glad to hear you're enjoying it here - have you been here long?

hi there,im here 6 odd months now,got lucky got a good job.you do need to have youre cv in order as it does count when geting a job even in construction and never lie on it as u will be tested:)

i do get lonely to be honest im very shy and dont drink or smoke so social side not there yet but well happy so far here.theres plenty of work if u just want to work at anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Longfordian in London

As name would suggest , Im from Longford , living here nearly two years now , currently in Fulham , 35 , and we are expecting number 1 in 5 weeks !! ... dont know too many here in London , so always interested in meeting up for GAA / Rugby / Football .
    Myself and another lad have season tickets for Fulham , if anyone is in same boat , get in contact

• Registered Users Posts: 8 smelloween

Hi there, I'm new to the London thread. I'm living in east London for the past few months, and so far so good. I could do with increasing my social circle though, so hi all!

• Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭Funky Kingston

Hi everyone, I'm Trish, been living in London for over a year now but recently moved into central London and would love to join in on some of your nights out etc, I want to increase my social circle now that I'm within night bus territory!