Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The PGA Championship Official Thread

• 15-05-2019 8:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,106 ✭✭✭✭

Hard to look past Brooks, he's been playing some nice stuff recently and he's the man for the big competitions. No doubt DJ and Woods will contend. McIlroy also should be close but I fancy a new major winner, Fowler or Rahm, can't decide which.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭akelly02

Ive a serious liking for Tony finau after hearing his story at the masters, has he much of a chance this week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,491 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

akelly02 wrote: »
    Ive a serious liking for Tony finau after hearing his story at the masters, has he much of a chance this week?

I think he could be up there. Hopefully he wins a major soon, but his record ain't great either. Seriously likeable guy, moreso than most IMO

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,197 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Look at the different names on major wins this last decade, could be anyone, hit it long and hit it straight and you have a huge advantage....Rory the PGA leader in strokes gained off the tee and GIR so even with poor putting he could do it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 473 ✭✭Pissartist

It's Brooks for me, he's a killer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,253 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Sergio FTW.
    Always does well around there and now has the no-major monkey off his back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,070 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

maybe i'm missing something.
    what story at the masters?
    the broken ankle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,106 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Tom Pieters opens with a triple bogey followed by a bogey and then double. Started on the harder back 9.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

This looks gruelling.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,256 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Plus figure winning this weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,070 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

it was weird in march with the players
    its weird now with no players
    its weird now to have a major
    its gonna be weird in august now with no major.

IMO, they are to bunched up, should wait till august for the last one of the year

charlieIRL wrote: »
    Plus figure winning this weekend?

I'm going to guess 7 under wins.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,914 ✭✭✭Russman

Good call.
    I reckon unfortunately they're all playing for 2nd behind Koepka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,740 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

What's Koepka at in the other 40 odd weeks of the year they aren't playing majors? He has a bizarrely major-centric record

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭Donald Trumped

Back to back birdies for Tiger to move to +1 through 11 and playing the easier front nine too for his last 7 holes. I expect him to finish round one in the red.

IS there a specific PGA championship leader board for this major.

I dont remember there being one but the normal one is miles behind so I must be wrong

• Registered Users Posts: 16 CackHand

IS there a specific PGA championship leader board for this major.

Yes it's on the pga.com website (rather than pgatour.com). I can't post the link but you will find it there.

did tiger have a bad start lads is he under pressure already?

He did (3 over after 9). But from the 10th its

Birdie
    Birdie
    Par
    Eagle

1 under for the 15 time major winner, through 13.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,637 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Crazy looking scorecard...4th a par 5 measuring 517, seems reasonable. But then the 7th, measuring 524 is a par 4

Tiger drops 2 shots in the space of 3 holes to fall back to +1 through 16. Meanwhile Brooks Koepka looking very good at the moment at 6 under. He leads by 2 from Luke List. Personally Rory McIlroy will be absolutely be loving the conditions and the way the golf course is set up. I have a funny feeling that Rory could do something special this week. Looks like a bombers paradise, with the soft conditions, which is right up Rory's street.

Meanwhile Graeme McDowell has just finished his day at level par. While Shane Lowry three putted from 8 feet for a bogey five at the last, to finish round one at 5 over. Padraig Harrington will tee off in the next 5 minutes.

Rickie's pance is a shocker.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Rory paired with Phil and all Day. He'll need patience of a Saint.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,997 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

First time watching .

Jaysus the rough.

Surprised with how low score is from keopka.

Fairly ballsy press conference the other day.

Basically saying in majors he knows most of field not up to it.

Fair play to him calling it as it is and backing himself.

I don't like him . But good stuff.

John Daly can hardly walk.

No way he should be out there.

WARNING BROOKS KOEPKA IS A SAVAGE GOLFER
    NO COURSE OR MAJOR IS SAFE
    WEAK MINDS OR PLAYERS SHOULD NOT TAKE HIM ON

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭Raving_Magic

Best golfer in the world Koepka

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭paulos53

And what is your 72 hole prediction? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,231 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Looks like Shane Lowry wants the weekend off again.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

Looks like Shane Lowry wants the weekend off again.

If you can’t drive straight at this place you may as well book your flight out for Friday evening. His form is very up and down so no real surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭tobsey

If you can’t drive straight at this place you may as well book your flight out for Friday evening. His form is very up and down so no real surprise.

His putting seemed to let him down most of all from what I could see in the shot tracker. Hit it inside 10 feet a couple of times and failed to make birdie. All summed up then with a three putt from nowhere on the last.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Lefty on a roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,843 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Sky commentator as the leaderboard scrolls through: "All the big names are up there" just as Jazz Janewattananond appears on the screen:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

Mcilroy, dreadful putting. Could easily be level Par or under here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,656 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

+3 for Rory thru 16,more or less out of it already

Hardly, 6 off 3 under which is where scoring should be. Kooepka and Lee with godly grounds that wont happen again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,231 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Another that wants the weekend off again.

Rory can’t make a putt unfortunately. He’s playing ok but unless he gets on a streak tomorrow then hard to see him doing anything over the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

McIlroy banjaxed already.

TCM wrote: »
    McIlroy banjaxed already.

Should knock this in for +2

Birdie at the last his first of the day. 9 shots off the lead but not out of it.

First time watching .

Jaysus the rough.

Surprised with how low score is from keopka.

Fairly ballsy press conference the other day.

Basically saying in majors he knows most of field not up to it.

Fair play to him calling it as it is and backing himself.

I don't like him . But good stuff.

If he is the future dominant star i will lose interest fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

If Koepka wins this week would people fancy him to get to 7/8/9 majors and all-time legend status? Hard to bet against it, he's got the mental toughness and obviously the skills too. He's so nonchalant though, a strange one.

NDWC wrote: »
    If Koepka wins this week would people fancy him to get to 7/8/9 majors and all-time legend status? Hard to bet against it, he's got the mental toughness and obviously the skills too. He's so nonchalant though, a strange one.

Absolutely, win or lose this week he should get to double figures. Has the game but more importantly has the mentality.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,914 ✭✭✭Russman

Absolutely, win or lose this week he should get to double figures. Has the game but more importantly has the mentality.

He could well do. He has that hardness about him. I saw a piece the other day about him, can't remember if it was with Feherty or a different interview, and he said he felt he could get to double figures.
    I don't really like him, but I think we can probably give him this one already, I mean if he shoots one under in each round that's left he probably wins by 3 or 4. If he was to manage something like 67 or 68 today they may all go home. Almost all the field are already out of it after one round, unless of course he goes backwards, which is possible I suppose.

As for Rory, I really hope I'm wrong as I'm a huge fan, but I fear he's becoming a bit of a Greg Norman or Jimmy White - supremely talented and gets hot maybe once a year to win a random tournament, while churning out top 10s/20s most of the rest of the time. Brilliant for most mere mortals but you feel he should do so much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,741 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Koepka prob would have won the masters if he didn’t hit the water on back nine. He’s phenomenal

how did finau get on yesterday lads, seen he was -2 at one stage but ended up at level par.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭moycullen14

AdamD wrote: »
    What's Koepka at in the other 40 odd weeks of the year they aren't playing majors? He has a bizarrely major-centric record

Getting his 0.1s back for the Majors!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,961 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

It is hard to see past Koepka with that start but you have to remember that this is Bethpage Black. This course can chew you up and spit you out at any stage if you make a mistake.
    Brooks got away with a couple of loose drives yesterday, one in particular went so far right he ended up where the spectators had trampled down the grass, another one was way left and he got a perfect lie in the bunker and a lovely angle to the pin. He missed some short putts too but holed some long ones.
    He could easily shoot 72-74 today and things will be a lot tighter.
    Two guys who should be a lot closer are DJ and Jason Day, both normally excellent putters they lacked big time in that department yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭paulos53

2 early bogeys for Danny Lee so Koepka's lead is out to 3 shots